Homework: Numbers in your PYP Exhibition

 

We will be basing quite a bit of our work on this homework task so please take this seriously, think carefully, deeply and beyond the obvious.

How are numbers connected to your PYP Exhibition work?

  • Did you need to calculate the cost of anything?
  • Did you need to count money?
  • Did you gather data?
  • Did you calculate percentages?
  • Did you count the number of people you spoke to?
  • Did you measure anything?
  • Did any of your research contain numbers?
  • Was time important in your exhibition?
  • Was distance relevant to your exhibition?

Think about the questions above and also any other ways that numbers may have been involved in the work that you did at any stage in the PYP Exhibition. Make a comment to explain and to give as much detail as you can with the information you have at home.

  1. May 17, 2012 at 4:29 pm

    Hi 6SS,

    Numbers are related to my PYP Exhibition because I needed to collect the sticker data that I made. Time was really important in my exhibition because I made lots of things and I needed to do it carefully.
    Other than that, numbers weren’t used in my exhibition.

    Jimin

    • Mr. Sam
      May 17, 2012 at 5:05 pm

      Hi Jimin,

      Can you explain a little more about the “sticker data”?

      Also, can you think of ways that numbers could make you more persuasive in trying to get people to eat less junk food?

      Mr. Sam

      • May 17, 2012 at 5:17 pm

        So for the sticker data,
        I made this green board, and it says: Vegetables vs Junk food. So people put stickers on the Vegetables’ side or the junk food side.

        I can show people the data of how many people get diseases from junk food.

        Jimin

        • Mr. Sam
          May 17, 2012 at 6:50 pm

          How does it show that data?

          • May 21, 2012 at 1:35 pm

            Oops sorry!

            I meant that I would show people the data of “How many people shifted their thinking after my exhibition”. I can show that data because I made them vote after my exhibition. Most of the people chose Vegetables. So people know that I shifted people’s thinkings.

            Sorry I made you confused….

            Jimin

            • Mr. Sam
              May 21, 2012 at 2:02 pm

              No problem. So, can you tell us the data?

  2. Caitied : )
    May 17, 2012 at 4:51 pm

    Hi,
    I used numbers in my Exhibition because I needed to calculated how much posters cost (each poster cost 100 bath each. I made four posters. I paid 400 bath for the posters). Also I calculated how many bookmarks I needed for the class and for the Exhibition. I also used numbers when I did a gratefulness survey of the class. I used numbers when i was buying canvases because I needed to know what size canvas I needed.
    Caitie

    • Mr. Sam
      May 17, 2012 at 5:04 pm

      Hi Caitie,

      How about the printing of the bookmarks. Did that cost money? If so, how much?

      What were the measurements of the canvases and how much did they cost?

      Mr. Sam

      • Caitie
        May 21, 2012 at 2:05 pm

        Hi,
        The first canvase is 21×60 and the second canvase is12x69. I am not sure how much the canvases cost are I will find out and comment later. I printed the bookmarks at home so it was free.
        Caitie

        • Caitied : )
          May 21, 2012 at 6:01 pm

          Hi,
          The first canvas cost 200B. The second canvas I got from school.
          Caitie

  3. May 17, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    From the data I have collected at the exhibition I can calculate the percentages of people’s thinking I have shifted.

    I can also to count the number of people who before watching my movie thought in the stereotype I have discovered and I can calculate their percentage.

    Stefan 🙂

    • Mr. Sam
      May 17, 2012 at 5:03 pm

      Hi Stefan,

      How can you calculate those percentages?

      Mr. Sam

      • May 21, 2012 at 1:28 pm

        Hello Sir Sam,

        I was planning on counting the number of people who’s thinking I have shifted. To do this I have to multiply the numbers than divide by 100

  4. Mari
    May 17, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    HI!!!!

    Yasmin and I don’t need to count any cost.
    We also don’t need to count money.
    We did not caluclate the percentages.
    We have counted the people we spoke too. It’s on the interview sheet.
    We didn’t measure anything.
    Our resarch did contain numbers. Our bulit points of why people dislike cats are in numbers.
    Time was so important in our exhibition. We had to work hard because we kind of pannicked that we wouldn’t be enough time.
    I am not really sure if distant was very relevant to our exhibition.

    The time was really important for us because we had appointments with Mr.Simon and we were painting. We also wre posting posters around school and we always had to look at the time to make sure it is not snack time etc. Money was really nothing to do with us because donation was not what we really need. What we needed was behavior from students. We did some interviewing.

    Mari!!! 😀

    • Mr. Sam
      May 17, 2012 at 5:02 pm

      Hi Mari,

      Actually, you do need to calculate the costs of the printing so that I can work out how much money we have to pay out of our budget.

      A2 posters cost 125 baht each
      A3 posters cost 50 baht each

      Can you work out how much money all of your posters cost?

      • May 21, 2012 at 1:45 pm

        Sure but we have to go around school finding how many posters we printed to count the cost of the posters. We also have to continue to put posters because we have some left. We are going to measure how long it is from 6ss to Mr.Simon’s office.

        • Mr. Sam
          May 21, 2012 at 2:10 pm

          OK. Make sure you share all this interesting data when you have finished getting it.

          • May 21, 2012 at 4:03 pm

            We have it but we just didn’t make it to a good data.

  5. 19tamannas
    May 17, 2012 at 5:42 pm

    Hello 6SS,

    In the PYP exhibition I used numbers by date, time , gathering data and distance between my energy. I used dates because I needed to know when I could express my energy. My energy was the pledge and I had to know when was it the right time to put it because the secondary students don’t bother to sign it because they just don’t care about anything and if a teacher tells them to do it they will do it cause the teacher said to do it. Also I used dates to have my meetings with my linch pins who are Mr. Julian, Ms. Tina , Mr. Doug & Ms. Kate I needed to know the right day to have a successful meeting not a rushed one because my work is important it is not something that you can click and it just finishes so I need to know every detail about it. I also used it with my blog I put a new posting almost every day on my blog. I will still need to use dates right now because I need to know when to put my posters and where to put my small pledge to remind people that they signed it and they made a promise. I used time because the exhibition was close and I needed to know the right time to do everything I can to make this successful. I needed to know how to make the shift in people’s thinking because I did not have the time to do anything big so I started off with a blog and I raised awareness by telling Mr. Julian to put my blog link on the secondary notices. I gathered data by my pledge and seeing how may people are actually agreeing with me and by seeing who care and who don’t so I pretty much got a lot of information.

    Tamanna

    • Mr. Sam
      May 17, 2012 at 6:51 pm

      Hi Tamanna,

      Can you tell us how many people signed your pledge?

      Mr. Sam

      • 19tamannas
        May 17, 2012 at 8:14 pm

        I haven’t done a number count yet because some people wrote their names many times.

        • May 18, 2012 at 7:29 am

          Hmm… maybe you should do it.

          • 19tamannas
            May 21, 2012 at 1:36 pm

            Hello Mr. Sam,

            I will count the number of people who signed my pledge and tell the secondary that this is how many people signed is that one of you and you promised but you are not keeping it. I still see rubbish on the floor.

  6. 19yasmina
    May 17, 2012 at 6:01 pm

    Hey 6SS!!!

    • In my exhibition i didn’t need to calculate the costs of anything. I could’ve calculated the total cost of my posters, but Mr.Sam did it.
    • In fact I didn’t have to count money either cause I didn’t do one of those things where people have to donate money or buy something. I could have been counting money if I had to pay for the treatment, for the cats. I could have asked people to buy something or donate money to pay SCAD.
    • I did gather data. I gathered data when I needed peoples opinion on something or I needed people to answer questions about the cats. I did it by hand writen and email. I didn’t really show the data, so it feels like it doesn’t count.
    • I didn’t count the percentages.
    • I didn’t really count the number of people I spoke to, but I have on a sheet who I spoke to. I think that ok enough for me.
    • I didn’t measure anything. The only thing I kind of measured was how many days left till the exhibition presentation to get the traps.
    • Acording to my research, it didn’t contain any numbers. Exept for how many cats there are in the school, but I don’t really think that counts or does it?
    • Time was really important in my exhibition because I needed to know when SCAD will take the cats. Also in the exhibition presentation, I needed the song to be a good length. Other wise if it was like 3-5 minutes, people would get bored because it it to long. A very important time when we time was relevant, was when I had appointments with Mr.Simon. So far it was bad cause I missed 2 apointments.
    • Distance wasn’t very relevant in my exhibition, it could have been. it could have been because I could have worked out the right the distance from 6SS to Mr.Simons office, then work out a good time to leave 6SS to go to Mr.Simon’s office, to be there on time.

    • Mr. Sam
      May 17, 2012 at 6:55 pm

      Ha ha ha! I love the last idea – measuring the distance from our classroom to Mr. Simon’s office so that we can work out different speeds and how long it takes to get there. I reckon we should do that!!!

      It might be a good idea for you to find out how much the treatment of the cats will cost – maybe we should be trying to raise the money for that instead of expecting SCAD to do it?

      I haven’t calculated the total cost of your posters yet. I gave Mari the details of how much the posters cost EACH. Can you work out the total cost of all your posters?

      • May 17, 2012 at 8:17 pm

        I agree!!!!! We can measure that!!!

        • May 18, 2012 at 7:29 am

          What tools would you use to measure something like that?

          • 19yasmina
            May 21, 2012 at 1:37 pm

            I think the tools we could use are a trundle wheel.
            We could also use a measuring tape, but that would take a very long time.

            • May 21, 2012 at 4:05 pm

              For speed we can use a timer can’t we Yasmin?

      • 19yasmina
        May 21, 2012 at 1:33 pm

        Hi Mr.Sam,
        SCAD is shutting down, so they won’t have the nuture program anymore. We asked Mr.Simon if we could bring the cats to the vet, and people donate money so that we can bring them to the vet.

        I already figured out the total cost of my posters but not Mari’s. We will definitively figure out the total cost of Mari’s posters..

        Mari and I also have to put up more posters, last time we didn’t have time to put up all of them.

    • May 17, 2012 at 8:16 pm

      Yasmin,
      We have to count the cost of the posters!!!

  7. 19melisa
    May 17, 2012 at 6:06 pm

    Hi 6SS,

    Numbers were a big part of my Exhibition since I was selling my book, I used a chart in my bubblecatcher to write down the cost and I had to keep track of all the money I made and whether I reached my goal yet.

    I think that I did manage my time well because the book was printed just in time but I could have gotten it printed earlier so that I could catch up on other things like the quotes and printing the blurb and all that.

    I did speak to a lot of people kids, teachers, parents but mostly teachers and parents but I did get a lot of kids interested in my book and reading it.

    To be honest I didn’t show any data in my Exhibition because my main aim was to keep on writing but I did use a chart during the Exhibition to keep track of the money, how many books there was left and all the people I spoke to.

    Melis 🙂

    • Mr. Sam
      May 17, 2012 at 6:56 pm

      Can you tell us the details of how much it cost to publish the books and how much money you have earned from book sales?

      • 19melisa
        May 18, 2012 at 3:28 pm

        One book cost 27 baht, it was glossy cover, back-to-back and black and white.

        And I made around 11,00 baht but I still have a lot more from the pre-order lists so I need to catch up on that.

  8. May 17, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    For my exhibition I needed to calculate a few costs, like the donations that I got. I don’t remember the exact amount of money.
    I did not count the number of people coming to my exhibition because I think it is not quantity, it is quality.
    I did research about how many children there are in Thailand. I got many different estimates because no one really knows how many children really are in child labor, because lots of them are there illegally. I do know that 99% of the registered children in Thailand go to school. At least that is what I read, and remembered.
    Time management was something I really had to look at, because I had to always remember what time it was, and where I was supposed to be. (I had to go to appointments) Knowing the date was also important, because I had to go out of school a lot of times, and for that I needed to have a permission slip, and other material to go talk to the children.
    Numbers nearly always connect with organization, because dates and times, and calculations all relate to organization.

    Hannah

    • Mr. Sam
      May 17, 2012 at 6:57 pm

      Can you calculate exactly how much money you got in donations? It is very important that you donate that money to the organization you decided to work with and let people know where there money went.

  9. May 17, 2012 at 6:24 pm

    Hi 6SS,

    I calculated the cost of the things I would buy for the orphanage. I have noticed tha I do not have enough money to buy many things for the orphanage.
    I needed to count all the money I had and trust me that was hard…..I had to count it a lot to just keep a check on it.
    I gathered some data about what people at NIST think about orphans lives. As well as what they would do if they were an orphan.
    I didn’t really need to calculate percentages but one part where I really did was when I had to find the percentages to the data I gathered.
    I didn’t really count the number of people I spoke to but I did take in ideas from there opinions or ideas.
    I didn’t need to measure anything apart from how often I should visit the orphanage.
    None of my research contained numbers apart from the phone numbers of the orphanages I visited.
    Definitely if I had less time I probalaby wouldn’t have been able to go to the orphanages at all befor the exabition.
    Distance was quite relevant to my exhibition because I needed to know how long it would take me to get to the orphanages.

    Cheers,

    Billy

    • Mr. Sam
      May 17, 2012 at 7:01 pm

      Hmmm… perhaps you can come up with some more fundraising schemes once you have made your first real connection with the orphanage. Once people see that you really mean business and that you are really “walking the talk” then I guarantee they will be happy to donate more or buy things or pay for tickets or whatever you decide to do!

      I like the idea of calculating the distance between NIST and the orphanage. Once you have that information you can do all sorts of other interesting calculations… let’s use that idea for some maths inquiries over the next few days.

      • Mr. Sam
        May 17, 2012 at 9:57 pm

        I think we can use Google Maps to do this… let’s take a look tomorrow, if we have time!!!

      • May 21, 2012 at 1:35 pm

        Yes i will have some more fundraising. I will do it once or twice every 3-4 months.

  10. May 17, 2012 at 6:26 pm

    How are numbers connected to your PYP Exhibition work?

    Did you need to calculate the cost of anything?
    Did you need to count money?
    Did you gather data?
    Did you calculate percentages?
    Did you count the number of people you spoke to?
    Did you measure anything?
    Did any of your research contain numbers?
    Was time important in your exhibition?
    Was distance relevant to your exhibition?
    · I needed to calculate all the money I spent to make sure that I didn’t buy any expensive makeup for no reason.
    · I needed to count money when I was buying new products for when we had to present our exhibition.
    · I collected data about what products test on animals and what products don’t test on animals.
    · I didn’t calculate any percentages.
    · I didn’t ask anyone about anything yet, but I am going to because I’m making a petition and I sent an email saying ‘Please give me some of your cosmetics’ and so I’m going to calculate the people that came to me.
    · I didn’t measure anything
    · A little bit of my research contained numbers because I was checking the price of the cosmetics I wanted to buy to show that ‘These are the cosmetics that DON’T test on animals’.
    · Time was very important in my exhibition, because I wanted to make sure that I rolled out my paintings as soon as the we finished presenting what we were doing for the past.. about 8/10 weeks? also I wanted to make sure I finished my paintings because I didn’t want to paint WHILE the exhibition was starting was I?
    I’m not very sure what the last question means.. Sorry:[
    Mara:]

    • May 17, 2012 at 6:28 pm

      Sorry I put the questions down. I put that there when i do HW because i’m not bothered scrolling up. Sorry I forgot to delete it. :[

    • Mr. Sam
      May 17, 2012 at 7:02 pm

      It would be interesting to know if products that are tested on animals are more or less expensive than ones that are not tested on animals. It would also be very interesting to know how much some cosmetics companies spend each year on animal testing.

      • May 18, 2012 at 4:43 pm

        Yes, I thought about doing that. I will do it while we are carrying on with our exhibition:]

  11. May 17, 2012 at 7:03 pm

    hi

    for my exhibition i really only had to gather data to see who could choose their passions and who couldnt. i also have a little bit about how manny poeple i talked to because i asked their emails so i could ask them what their passion is but i sometimes forgot to ask them so i have about half of the poeple there.

    • Mr. Sam
      May 17, 2012 at 7:33 pm

      Hi Victor,

      Seriously… please use capital letters when you write on here. You know how to use capital letters… so DO IT!!!

      Approximately how many people gave you their email addresses? And, what were the percentages of people who could or could not choose their own passions?

      • May 21, 2012 at 1:28 pm

        50 could persue their passions 68 couldnt 35 didnt know what their passion was and 38 parents gave me their emails.

  12. May 17, 2012 at 7:06 pm

    Hey Everyone,

    For my exhibition, I used numbers while I was calculating the cost for my compliment cards. Each card cost 12 baht and I printed 200 cards. So, I spent 2,400 baht in total (12 x 200 = 2,400) for my cards. Another way I use numbers in the PYP exhibition is when I plan my compliment experiments with the class. Time is really important when planning a lesson. I also used numbers during the first week of exhibition when I was collecting data. I collected data by interviewing people and asking them things like ‘How often do you get complimented?’ and ‘How often would you like to get complimented?’ I recorded this data by using tally marks.

    Apart from the reasons above, I don’t think numbers were a big part of my exhibition.

    • Mr. Sam
      May 17, 2012 at 7:36 pm

      Can you give us more details about the data you collected during the first week?

      You got your cards printed for a very good price. Perhaps you should set up some whole school “compliments days” and sell your cards. Then, you could cover the cost of the printing and maybe even earn back some of the 2,400 baht you spent on the first batch. What do you think? I can help you set that up if you like?

      You are right about the importance of time when planning a lesson, by the way!

  13. May 17, 2012 at 7:30 pm

    For my exhibition I used numbers to measure what size I want my canvas to me. I want to thank Andrea, for helping me with that! The tip was writing the number down because I kept forgetting what size it was! I realized how important a math book is to caculate things. I did gather data about this question: ‘What is a friend to you?’ At the end it wasn’t useful but it was interesting of knowing different perspectives of people and who they think is a real friend. I gave 14 people (including teachers and students in 6SS) surveys that was on recycle paper. Then, I asked them about the photo: http://www.flickr.com/photos/53771866@N05/7040908861/ (That’s the URL to my photo)
    and what solutions they think can help this girl. I will also thank Tammana, Jimin, Andrea, Hannah and Mari for being the models in the photo. I seperated this data in to similar answers the people who participated gave. When I was finding my spark and showing people why I did this, I showed the data of the sucide rate. Time was very important to me because I couldn’t really find the real energy for me until I decided to art to express my topic. This was my passion and I loved doing art. But I worked really hard to not get paint in to the mat and I the hardest part was: getting the artwork done in 15days. And… I did it!

    Conclusionly,

    I’ll say that the numbers in the exhibition was very important to me!

    • Mr. Sam
      May 17, 2012 at 7:37 pm

      What were the measurements of the canvas?

      What was the suicide rate data that you found and from what country?

      • May 21, 2012 at 1:50 pm

        Hi Mr.Sam,

        here is my canvas size:

        Height:87.8cm
        Width: 119.4 cm

  14. May 17, 2012 at 8:02 pm

    Hi,

    For my Exhibition I had to use numbers to count how many people came to my Badminton Club so that I can use it for my evidence. I also needed to use this data to compare the first day that people came and the second, third, fourth, fifth etc so I can keep track of the amount of people that are coming each day.

    Another thing that involves numbers that I use pretty often is the Date, things to do with the calender or time because I need to book the gym and I have to be aware of the date or in case I have to go somewhere to meet someone. For example sometimes I have to book the gym with Ms Jane and when she tells me what day I can have the gym I have to note it down in my calender in case I forget. Another example is when I have my personal training with other people and they tell me when they are free, I have to make sure I am free and remember to go at the place on time and not late so that they have to wait.

    Petanque

    • Mr. Sam
      May 17, 2012 at 9:55 pm

      Can you give us some more details about how many people came to your events on different days?

      • May 21, 2012 at 1:39 pm

        Hi,

        The First Day 40 kids came, mostly from Year 6 and a few from Year 5. The Second day 60 kids came, all of them were from Year five because during that time we had our Exhibition. On the Third day they were 55 kids from different Year Levels.

        Altogether there were 155 kids playing Badminton.

        Petanque

  15. 19vint
    May 17, 2012 at 9:57 pm

    Hi,
    for my Exhibition I found out the percentage of tobacco tax that increased due to a few laws implemented by the government. I also found data about how many men and women smoke in Thailand, as well as in other countries. Using that data, we made a comparison for the number between countries.

    What I did had a lot to do with numbers, statistics etc. I found a lot of data about death tolls, sale numbers, and more. Each year 6 million people are killed due to smoking, 600,000 people are killed by second-hand smoke. China has more than two thirds of the world’s population of smokers, which results in more second-hand smoke.

    I also needed to have a organized schedule and calendar because I had to go on field trips and also to have filming sessions to make the movies.

    To conclude this posting, I would like to say that time and data was very closely intertwined in my exhibition and I had to be really organized in order to manage them both really well. I think my team and I did so, and we had amazing results.

    • Mr. Sam
      May 17, 2012 at 10:00 pm

      I love that word… “intertwined”!!!

      Some amazing data you have there… particularly the one about China. I told you about my Assistant’s wedding in China didn’t I?

      Can you share more your data in a comment tomorrow, such as the data about how many men and women in Thailand smoke and so on?

  16. May 19, 2012 at 4:40 pm

    Hi, everyone!!

     How are numbers connected to your PYP Exhibition work?
    Did you need to calculate the cost of anything?
    I needed to calculate the cost of the price of my posters and the price of the tobacco packages that I bought for display. I also needed to calculate the price of the stationary that I bought for the group.

     Did you need to count money?
    Yes. I needed to count a lot of things that I used in my exhibition and I will probably need to count money a lot more times in Future Park.

     Did you gather data?
    I gathered tons of data and I used a lot of the data in my exhibition work. Here are some of my data and numbers which I researched.

    The global tobacco kills nearly 6milion people each year, of which more than 600,000 are exposed to second hand smoking. Unless urgent action is taken, the annual death toll could rise to more than 8 million by 2030, of which more than 80 % will live in low and middle income countries.

    Nearly two thirds of the world’s smokers live in 10 countries: China, India, Indonesia, Russia, U.S.A., Japan, Brazil, Bangladesh, Germany and Turkey. It is said that 30% of the world’s smokers live in China and India has 11.2% of the world’s smokers and Indonesia has 4.8%.

     Did you calculate percentages?
    I did calculate percentages in my work.

    According to WHO’s data on Thai tobacco use in November 2010, current male smokers are 45.4% and female are 2.8% and in total 23.5% of Thai adult are smokers.

    I also found out that the Thai government set the tobacco tax to 55% in 1992 but they increased it to 85% in 2009 because of the three laws that ASH helped making. They are called Tobacco Control Act which was introduced in 1992, Non-Smoker’s Right to protection Act which was implemented also in 1992 and the latest one Health Promotion Act which was made in 2002. Thanks to the Health Promotion Act anti-smoking organization and the Thai Health Promotion Foundation could get enough money to do campaigns because 2% of Tobacco tax goes to these organization by this law.

    I also found out that smoking causes 92% of Oral cancer which shows quite strong correlation.

     Did you count the number of people you spoke to?
    I didn’t. But too many to count. I guess more than 100 people.

     Did you measure anything?
    Yes, I measured the length when I made my hand made tobacco packet.

     Did any of your research contain numbers?
    Yes, these are some of my information with numbers.

    One interesting information that people who start smoking in their youth – aged 11 to 15 are three times more likely to die a premature death than someone who takes up smoking at the age of 20.

    About second hand smoking, it contains 4.7 times more carbon monoxide than the main stream smoke, 2.8 times more nicotine than main stream smoke and 3.4 times more tar than the main stream smoke. Second hand smoke has over 4000 chemicals, 200 chemicals that are harmful and 60 that can make you get cancer.

     Was time important in your exhibition?
    I think time was really important for me throughout exhibition because within limited time I got to know my strength and weaknesses. I got to know a lot more about my friends to work with and about their character. I got to know what I was capable of and what my goal should be.

     Was distance relevant to your exhibition?
    Yes. Me and my group had to travel to many places around Bangkok. We went to ASH’s headquarter, we went to print our posters and we went to Siam City Hotel to do our exhibition. And we would have to travel one more time to Future Park at Rangsit on 31st May 2012.

  17. 19patc
    May 19, 2012 at 10:14 pm

    Hi everyone,
    So here are the questions and answers.

    Did you need to calculate the cost of anything?
    I didn’t need to calculate the cost of anything because the things that used money was getting the prizes. But that was covered by my sponsor FBT.
    Did you need to count money?
    No I did not need to count money for my exhibition.
    Did you gather data?
    Yes the things that I gathered data were. One if people wanted to play Ping Pong or not. Two how many people came late. Because just coming late can make you waste a lot of money. So from my sources I found out that Ping Pong can make people come to school earlier because people want to play Ping Pong.  I also put the gathered info into my Power Point and persuaded Mr Doug to get Ping Pong tables out.
    Did you calculate percentages?
    Yes I needed to calculate percentages how many people want to play Ping Pong and how many people came late. So that I could make pie charts out of my data to put in my PowerPoint.
    Did you count the number of people you spoke to?
    Yes I got 114 visitors.
    Did you measure anything?
    Yes I measured the wins and losses in the Ping Pong competition
    Did any of your research contain numbers?
    Yes the part of making pie charts contained numbers the data needed calculations.  Recording the Ping Pong competition also contained numbers.
    Was time important in your exhibition?
    Yes for me time was very important because one I needed to get permission to get the Ping Pong tables out in time for the competition. Two I needed to get my blog ready. Three I needed to get a sponsor  in time for giving out the prizes for the Ping Pong competition.
    Was distance relevant to your exhibition? 
    Yes my exhibition is relevant to distance because I needed to go to the FBT headquarters to collect the sponsored prizes.
     

  18. 19zolah
    May 21, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    Dear 6SS,

    So far I have not needed to calculate anything. But my next step is to calculate how much money i need to spray 5 more bins. I will find out how much money i need buy calculating how many spray cans i used for the first 5 bins.

    1 spray can- 50 baht

    1 bright color can= 100 baht

    Zola

  19. Caitie
    May 21, 2012 at 2:03 pm

    Hi,
    The first canvase is 21×60 and the second canvase is12x69. I am not sure how much the canvases cost are I will find out and comment later. I printed the bookmarks at home so it was free.
    Caitie

  20. May 21, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    Wow. 60 Comments! Nice job. We eat the Record!! 😛

    • May 21, 2012 at 4:07 pm

      WE EAT THE RECORD!!!! WHOOOOOOHOOOOOOO

      • May 21, 2012 at 5:17 pm

        Uh huh, we EAT the record.. lol

  21. May 21, 2012 at 4:14 pm

    We have measured how long it is from 6ss to Mr.Simon. I am going to put it in my mathbook and also in the exhibition folder. As many of you know we measured it with the trundle wheel.
    I also had a idea that we can measure from 6ss to the cat place. (Near the W.L building)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

