Homework: What do you think of this strategy?

Watch this video and then make a comment to answer these questions:

  • Why do you think someone organized this? What might they have been hoping to achieve?
  • Why do you think people reacted the way they did?
  • Do you think they really have to tell people to0 “say something nice”? Why?
  • What effect would a strategy like this have at NIST?
  1. 19zolah
    April 18, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    Hi 6SS,

    I think that this stradigie is getting people involved with what the people are doing. They were hoping to achieve that lots of people did the speaker. They organised this so that it would brighten up the people’s day. Just like the escalator thing.

    They reacted that way because some of them wanted to share there talents but other just complemented everyone. I think they did not have it they wouldn’t know what it was for so they wouldn’t touch it. Or maybe they would say mean thing s in the speaker. It would maybe brighten peoples day but the next day at NIST they would just forget about. But if they did it continually it would make an affect.

    Zola

  2. Caitied : )
    April 18, 2012 at 5:19 pm

    Hi,

    Why do you think someone organized this? I think they organized it to have a bit of fun and to make people say nice things, but mostly to have a bit of fun.

    What might they have been hoping to achieve? Maybe they are hoping to have a more community-ish feel in New York by having something fun and interesting.

    Why do you think people reacted the way they did? I think they laughed and had a good time because it was fun and it’s not often that someone puts up a podium and loudspeaker and tells people to say something nice in it.

    Do you think they really have to tell people to “say something nice”? Why? I don’t think that people would say something rude to someone on a loud speaker. But it encourages them to say nice things.

    What effect would a strategy like this have at NIST? I don’t think it would work because people would just goof around and make funny noises.

    Caitie

  3. April 18, 2012 at 5:40 pm

    I think the reason somebody organized this is because they wanted to put more smiles on the peoples faces who were living in New York.

    I think that the people reacted with laughs and smiles because it was fun, interesting and they were just having a good time.

    I think that they had to put a sign telling others to say something nice is because maybe others might see think and use it as an opportunity to say bad things to people and maybe that would also not know if they were allowed to use it or what to do with it.

    This might have an affect on NIST because it would probably make people smile more and have a better time in the mornings.

  4. April 18, 2012 at 5:52 pm

    Hi Everyone,

    I think someone organized this because they were hoping to brighten up people’s day. Or maybe they were just doing it for fun!

    I think people reacted the way they did because they wanted to have a bit of fun, they just wanted to do something new or maybe they thought this was their chance to share a nice thought with New York. I also think it’s necessary to put up the message “Say Something Nice” because not everyday you see a loudspeaker in New York so it might look a little strange. Also, (I doubt this will happen since it’s in public) people might say rude stuff into the loudspeaker.

    If we did something like this in NIST, some people might take it seriously but some people might not. Also, people might just say their message, walk off and not think deeply about it: why it was there, what was the person who put it there trying to achieve and etc.

  5. April 18, 2012 at 5:57 pm

    Hi everyone,

    I think the reason someone organized this is because, they want people to have a new experience and have some fun instead of just walking to work looking bored.I think that the people reactions is that they want to try it out, smiling, laughing and exciting. I think that the people had a good time and most of them had a new experience that they can share with other people and enjoy. I think that they did not have a really say to people to say something nice because, I think most of the people just want to have a new experience and when your saying something nice they won’t do anything to you, and you know its safe to do it , and you can try a new experience.

    By Madhav 👿

  6. Pan
    April 18, 2012 at 6:14 pm

    Hi 6ss,
    I think somebody organized this just to brighten people’s days up like the ted talk that he did random stuff like a flash mob (in a good way) and maybe he/she wanted to make it more of a positive place and filled with positive and happy air, and also some like nice comments like the blue umbrella one! I think they where hoping to archive people going up there and being positive and make people happy.
    Because when someone sees the sign he will say something nice ( a brave person) and then others will join then more people will join and that might be going on for ages.
    I think they have to because if there wasn’t that sign people will not know that its for because in the real world not many people take risks because you can get sent to jail and it is way more stricter than at home or school etc.
    People would be more like positive to each other unlike telling OMG U suck in everything i’m way better than you! I think if that came in more positive air might come in and take over the negative stuff so the nist community will be a really nice community. (if that happens) and i also think that people will act in a more friendly way and i think this is related to some people’s exhibition and what they’re wanting to change.
    Pan

  7. 19yasmina
    April 18, 2012 at 6:17 pm

    I think someone organized this because a lot of people don’t care about whats happening around them, and people saying nice things is a great start to someones day. Also maybe someone organized this because they wanted to start building up energy, so that they could become known for what they did. I think they were hoping to achieve something by making people more aware and happy.
    I think the people that spoke into it to say something nice, they felt grateful for themselves because they actually got to say what they wanted to say to the country(UN) or to someone(like the umbrella one).I think the other people’s reactions were that it was very out of the blue, and maybe they wanted to try.
    I think they have to tell people to say something nice because someone could come up and say something rude or bad. For the people that are mature enough to know they have to say something nice, they would say something nice.
    I think a strategy at school like that would be good because people in the mornings could say to people good morning or hello/hi (like for Daniel’s project). Someone could say something that we should be grateful for (like for Caitie’s project).

  8. 19tamannas
    April 18, 2012 at 6:49 pm

    I think they organized this because when people say nice compliments to you. You feel like your day has become beautiful and you will remember what the person said to you because it touches your heart immediately. I think this person organized this also to make people say whatever they want to the community and that makes everyone’s day bright. They might have hoped that when they started this it would bring a smile on everyone’s face also they might have hoped that it would make everyone’s mood happier and brighter. Maybe that area in New York must have been really quiet and these days no one ever says anything nice to each other. My mom told me that if you smile an angry person will still appreciate it. People might have reacted that way to have a bit of fun and to make others have fun. People might have reacted that way also because they could just express their feelings this activity doesn’t only make the people listening to it happy it makes the people saying it also feel proud that they could say something nice to everyone. It is obvious that when you say something nice to others it make you really happy too. People also react that way because it is good, bright & powerful. I don’t think they should say to people to say something nice I think people should automatically know that I am saying this to people like me before they say it they should remember that quote “Treat others the way you want to be treated”. I think this would have a big impact on NIST because NIST is not that friendly but if they do this people will be more interested.

  9. April 18, 2012 at 7:25 pm

    I think someone organized this to make people have a better day. Hearing something nice and saying something nice out loud is wonderful. I think they are trying to achieve goals. Their goal is to improve people’s feelings’ for the day. I think hearing something good out loud affects your feelings.

    I think they reacted that way because they were interested. Surely, it was very interesting to me. If I was there, I would have spoken a lot of things.

    I think we have to tell people to say something nice because some people will think that it’s a joke and talk something rude. Rude words affect feelings like nice words do.

    http://ezinearticles.com/?Words-Affect-Our-Memory—Chose-Your-Words-Carefully&id=1927154

    I found a cool article about words. It’s about words. Hope you enjoy it!
    Well I am worried. Some naughty students will not think that it’s serious. The only way is to tell them. Tell them the clear message. Then it might work.

  10. April 18, 2012 at 7:26 pm

    HALO,

    Why do you think someone organized this? What might they have been hoping to achieve?

    I think someone organized this because…

    1 Everyone walked with their head down pretending other people were invisible
    2 People were very independent and just talked with the people they know so instead of going up to other people and saying something nice they decided to make it more public
    3 Maybe they organized just for people to have fun and EXPRESS themselves
    4 To brighten up other people’s day
    5 Make the community a more friendly place

    I think people reacted like that because everyone would always be willing to say something to someone but maybe their to shy and when the first person went up and said something maybe they think, ok this is the time to express my feelings and what I really think. Another reason was they think it felt really good and it created a nice energy and everyone gathered around and took turns saying something nice. I don’t think we should be reminding people to say something nice to each other but maybe this strategy makes people think or somehow REMIND people when they see someone and tell them not just keep it inside. I think maybe we should organize something like this at NIST, however it all comes down to trust. Maybe some of our kids are not mature enough or might think its some kind of joke so it also might turn into a distraction. For example that White cube Stefana and Victor made, instead of writing good things they pushed the line and wrote some inappropiate things that can really hurt people. So I think it would be a lovely idea to have one here and I’m also guessing if someone said something nice to someone in public and everyone heard it, they will always remember it. 🙂

  11. Gina
    April 18, 2012 at 7:27 pm

    I think they organized it because every one is nasty around the world so this persons spark can he or she took action and it became successful. I think they were trying it achieve it by letting people smile they will earn trust not to say something nasty and every one listens to the nice word.Also one man was really cool and did what i think they wanted he said “I love the people around me and I love you guys too”.
    I think they reacted what they were suppose to do because if they didn’t want to do what for doing it and I think they will any way know it will lighten every one who has a bad mood or feeling stressed also it makes every one happy for the day like the crystals Mr.Sam showed us when you say bad think you crystal will be black and become a hole and when you say good things your crystals will become like snow flake.
    I think they will have to say it because I think they don’t really give trust to people.I think because if they didn’t write that people will say some crazy like “you guys out there are crazy”and other mean stuff.
    I think this strategy will be a really good idea because in NIST people are often mean or selfish (Selfish by taking food and wasting it or bulling someone) and also if someone in NIST think about doing it they should have a really long think if people are just going to say some thing selfish or if they are going to take the microphone

    see you tomorrow

    Love Gina 0:)

  12. April 18, 2012 at 7:30 pm

    i think someone organised this because he wanted poeple to say nice things instead of beying rude and nasty and he also wanted to bring some happines.

    because you dont see this everyday and when you do you get exited.

    no they dont it should be natural but poeple have got into this thing where its more important to think about the bad things instead of the good things.

    to be honest i think it would make nist kids say nicer things to eachother as long as that thing is there but once its gone everyone will stop.

  13. April 18, 2012 at 7:54 pm

    I think someone did this because it makes people in New-York have a notice of someone who said something nice and I saw in the video if they do, people cheer for them and clap hands for them or say something nice back! So I think they’ve done this so New-York people can share good feelings, good words and more. Also I saw people saying something individual but it made everyone smile. I think he/she did this to show that words can change moods. What will it feel like in front of everyone to say something good? It doesn’t feel just good for the person who spoke it but also for people who heard it. I think they were hoping to achieve people to say good words and just have recommendations to have a good life. ‘Have a good day’, singing, instantly makes me happy! People reacted the way they did because who is not happy when they something nice to someone? I also thought they laughed because they were embarrassed and they don’t say good things often. But I also thought some people laughed because they knew they are affecting someone’s life to be better. I think we still need the sign because I know lots of people won’t, but some people might go off topic and I think we should be aware of that. Also if somebody did, it can ruin someone’s life. You always need to worry if you don’t put something small, but important, will it still be as powerful as before. I think this will work in NIST because it is in the public and I think we could control this strategy and do it in the right way. Also it can work because if we do it on the public, with the teachers, the students might be aware of what they are saying.

    I think this is a good strategy for Andrea because she is doing about compliments!

    See you,

    Vicky

  14. April 18, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    Hi,
    This video is like a chapter in “Don’t Sweat the small stuff” The chapter is Everyday tell at least one Person something you like, Admire or Appreciate about them.

    I think someone organized this because they wanted to have some fun or they had maybe heard many people saying bad things about each other and they wanted to change that. I also think that they did it t make peoples day better and put a smile on their face. I think they hoped that people will actually have a god day and maybe some FUN!!

    I think people shared what they are good at and maybe some just wanted to have fun or say something nice to someone.

    Yes, I think they needed to tell people “Say something nice” because some people might fool around. Maybe they might not reaspect the speaker.

    I don’t think it will work because people would fool around and don’t do the right thing. Maybe we could try but I am pretty sure it will not work. Maybe we could show them how to d it and they might do it like what we did. I still think they need to put “Say something nice” to NIST student too.

    Mari

  15. April 18, 2012 at 8:20 pm

    Why do you think someone organized this? What might they have been hoping to achieve?
    Why do you think people reacted the way they did?
    Do you think they really have to tell people to0 “say something nice”? Why?
    What effect would a strategy like this have at NIST?

    I think that improv organized this because they were sick of people being nasty to each other, and wanted people to show their talents hopes and feelings. (positive ones) I think they hoped that this would spread and that people would see them as a good example, and would continue to share that positive feeling.

    I think the people reacted the way they did because they were inspired and in a good mood just by seeing other people react positivly and they knew that they wouldn’t harm anyone in any way, they would just make the day of other people better.

    I think that there is a lot of not so positive feeling in this world that they needed someone to bring in that good feeling. The world is sometimes so fed up with problems that they don’t realize the good things in life. What they did made positivity get pushed more into the world.

    I think lots of people would really take it as a possibility to show what they like, others would be a little shy and at the same time there would be people shouting rude things into the microphone(only a little percentage would do that, and only the ones that think they are cool)

    Hannah

    • April 18, 2012 at 8:22 pm

      I didn’t mean to put the questions there. I was thinking more about the questions, that I forgot to take away the questions

  16. 19pochrakamolp
    April 18, 2012 at 8:27 pm

    Hi 6ss,

    I think they did this because to make people more happy and to make a better day for a person and make them feel special.
    I think they reacted to the way they did because I think people think it’s a good idea. And they want to make a better day for a person or make them feel good and happy for the rest of the day.
    I think they said something nice because they compliment other people.They didn’t just say rude stuff or random thing they actually followed the instruction and said something nice.
    I agree with Vicky that I think it’s a good idea for Andrea and it could also make people feel good instead of being in a bad mood and stuff.

  17. Vin
    April 18, 2012 at 8:32 pm

    This was organized as part of a NYC-related museum exhibition. The name ImprovEverywhere could mean that this group is trying to improve the world and make it a more positive place.They might have done it to change people’s views about New York due to various reasons-maybe some people were putting new yorkers into a stereotype and they didn’t like it so they wanted to make everyone happy.
    They could also have done it to be creative and fun. I think these were the people who also did the best buy shop prank and the other stuff. These things are fun and catch people’s attention- maybe they want people to be happy and relaxed instead of stressed. However, you should also view it from the black hat. For example, what if it was disturbing some people? Or, talking about the other pranks, how does it affect the people it was played on?

    I think maybe people reacted the way they did was because they wanted attention, and this was an opportunity to be in the public eye. They could also want to try something new. I think that they should have “Say Something Nice” because some people could be rude, like the people who wrote bad words on the ‘graffiti box’.

    This could be an opportunity for people to project their thoughts to the public. Some people might do it, some might not. However, most people might not be rude because of the teachers here-people can recognize you more easier when you speak compared to when you write.

  18. 19patc
    April 19, 2012 at 8:00 pm

    Hi 6SS,
    I think the reason of why they organized this was to make people have fun and know that saying nice things are powerful. I also think that everybody did what they wanted and they expressed theirselves to. I think they do need to tell people to say something nice because everybody just thinks about everyday business. This strategy might have a effect at nist but if we don’t keep the megaphone I think it probably be useless.

  19. April 19, 2012 at 10:01 pm

    Hi everyone!

    I think this person started this project because he didn’t like the mood around New York City. He didn’t like it so he wanted to change it just like the quote “Be the change you want to see in the world” Muhammad Gandhi. His spark was that people were being rude to each other and didn’t care about their surroundings and they didn’t bother telling good things instead they told bad things also to show themselves and to express themselves so that they are no longer invisible.

    I think they were hoping that people will use that as a chance to brighten up the person’s day and someone else’s day. They also wanted people to use them as a good thing. They were hoping nobody will use them unwisely and insensibly. They hoped that people will start getting inspired by them and help the ‘Improv Everywhere’ do their job to say complements.

    I think it is because that most of the people didn’t have a chance to say something good and they wanted to make people to have a good time. I also think they wanted to feel good that they helped people’s lives get better. In the video after they said it some people laughed but I think in their hearts they feltl proud of themselves because they did somethings really helpful.

    To some people yes to some people no. It matters. Because in the world there are three kinds of people one who knows the good and bad and the other one is a person who doesn’t know anything about the good. And of course there are people who are in the middle. For the wise people they would see the thing and think what it means and understand that it is not for shouting random things out but it is for saying good things. For the people who aren’t really clever they would just shout out rude things. The medium minded people will think and maybe make the good choice or the bad choice.

    I think If it goes well, people will start being friendly to each other and give complements. People will start to think that NIST is a good place and that they won’t be bullied. It could make NIST a even stronger community. There would be a lot of good things going around and people will take risks more often because they don’t need to be bullied again. It is also good because it might make the population of our community grow. This is because when the guests go around and hear students saying complements about each other, the parents will think that this school is really friendly and it is a good place to stay and learn.

    But on the other hand if it goes all wrong, people will fear to speak in front of people and people will stop saying complements instead they will say negative things. The mood of the school will change and people won’t take risks as they did before. Just like the graffiti box. There was a sign that said not to put bad words but people put horrible words on it.

    If we use the idea that ‘Improv Everywhere’ used, we would have a better and happier community but if we use the idea horribly, our communities reputation will go down and we will be unhappy most of our time.

    Yuki 👿

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

