Homework – Asking conceptual questions

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

You did some amazing thinking today. It was really important that we revised the Key Concepts so that you could use them to full effect during the Exhibition. By the time we did the third set of photographs your questions were much, much more conceptual, more powerful and more interesting – you really seemed like you wanted to know the answers.

Make a comment to share the following information with us:

  • What were the most interesting questions you asked about the photographs?
  • Which questions did you really want to find answers for?
  • What questions have you created that will really help you become an expert on your spark?
  1. Caitied : )
    March 28, 2012 at 3:47 pm

    Hi,
    During the third set the most important question I asked was ” does the person’s way of living effect the environment?”.
    I really want to find the answer to the question ” does the persons way of living effect the environment” because a lot of people think less fortunate people are trashing the environment more.
    Here are some questions that will help me become a expert on my spark.. What does gratefulness mean?, What is the connection between happiness and greatfulness?
    Caitie

    • Mr. Sam
      March 28, 2012 at 7:07 pm

      It is very interesting to think about how our lifestyles have an effect on the environment. Although poorer people may seem to have more of an effect – perhaps because their rubbish is more visible, richer people are definitely having a bigger effect as they use more energy, more fossil fuels, more resources and produce a lot more waste.

      I am very interested to know if being more grateful can lead to more happiness.

  2. March 28, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    Hi 6SS,

    I think one of my most interesting was question I asked was “why do these people use metal sheets to protect them?” and that was for the picture where there was a house along the Klong. Another good question for the same place but for a different concept was “how has this effected or helped there money and there earnings?” these questions are good because there are different perspectives of what might happen.

    I really want to find an answer to this question “how do these people look after children?” I want to find this out because it is almost like orphanages there might be a community there and it will be hard even with 2 kids to give tem nutrition, care and FUN. I really want to know how that is even possible, it must be so hard for maybe 1 parent to raise 2 kids at the same time, especially if 1 of them are bellow 3!

    Well something that may make me an expert on my spark is first of all finding out exactly how the children’s lives are like in an orphanage, this was my question “what is an orphans daily live like?” I am going to find that out by going to and orphanage. Another one is “what do they want or should have” I will also find that out by going to the orphanage because seeing it first time is better than seeing it from someone else’s experience.

    Billy

    • Mr. Sam
      March 28, 2012 at 7:10 pm

      A lot of those homes are made of something called corrugated iron – why do you think they use that material?

      You missed out on developing your concept questions because of your guitar lesson. However, finding out what life is actually like in an orphanage would be a great place to start as you have to be careful not to assume that life is bad. It might not be. That would really be a “form’ question to being with, but then it could become “perspective” because different children might think and feel differently about their life in there.

  3. 19zolah
    March 28, 2012 at 4:23 pm

    Hi 6SS,

    The most intresting question was when Aryan,Andrea and me were in a group the question was under form the question was “What is life like living in there shoes?”
    it was a picture of a house next to the khlong the wasn’t made out of the best material. So Aryan,Andrea and me were thinking how life would be living like them.
    This was the one that I and my group thought would be intresting finding out the anwser.
    One question that I thought of was “why do secondary pollute?” because it could get me deeper into my project.

    Zola

    • Mr. Sam
      March 28, 2012 at 7:12 pm

      The best way to find out what life is like would be to go and spend some time there. Mr. Brett sent me a very interesting talk by a guy who is interested in empathy and he tells some fascinating stories of people who have gone to experience other people’s lives.

      How can you make sure you find the facts about what causes secondary students to create so much rubbish?

  4. March 28, 2012 at 4:33 pm

    Hey,
    the question I asked, where I thought it was, not really important, but useful, where I asked “What happened in he/she’s life that made them so organized”. I would like to add on to my question by saying “and yet their home is not the one that a lot of organized people live in, because they are usually very successful.”

    I really wanted to find an answer to one of the questions my group didn’t write, but the question is “What are their daily lives like?”. I would really like to answer this question because I have no idea what they could do, so I would like to find out because I don’t know anyone who lives in that kind of lifestyle.

    I don’t know all of my questions off by heart, but I asked things like “I wonder what the children’s perspective is, of begging/working?”, “Why do some adults think that they have the right to get these children in this situation?”

    Hannah

    • Mr. Sam
      March 28, 2012 at 7:15 pm

      Actually, being organized doesn’t make you successful in terms of being wealthy. However, it could make you very successful at taking care of your family, making sure everyone has clean clothes and food on their plate. That is not really connected to wealth. IN fact, many poorer people have to much more organized in order to take care of everything as they can’t just pay other people to do it!

      It is fascinating, and quite scary, to think about why adults believe it is OK to make children live and beg in the streets. You might not like the answers you find… are you prepared for that?

  5. Gina
    March 28, 2012 at 4:53 pm

    Hi Guys,
    The most interesting question I asked was with Pat we asked “How do we know it is a mungs room?.”(actually pat made the question but I made the question more powerful).
    The most question I wanted know is the picture with the dirty dish and the question is “Is the person who is responsible lazy or just busy for something.
    The answer for the last question is a question “Does the person want to be an artist” it will help me because a artist can be scientist because they can make a sculpture saying a powerful quote like “Any one can be powerful” that was a example from me
    Love Gina 🙂 😛 😀

    • Mr. Sam
      March 28, 2012 at 7:16 pm

      Sorry, Gina… what is a “mung”?

      What about questions you need to become an expert on your spark?

  6. Yasmin
    March 28, 2012 at 5:22 pm

    On the photo with the man cooking pork on sticks I asked a question on Function. I asked “How does the man get costumers.” I think it is an interesting question because the guy is a street vender, and some people like me didn’t now how he gets costumers. Another question that I thought was interesting is for the photo with the lady sorting the rubbish, the question I asked was ” Why do people dump rubbish in the streets?” I think it’s a good question because everybody when they see rubbish on the streets, they wonder why is it even there.
    I really want to find out the answers to the two questions I wrote above because as I said they are interesting questions. So I’m looking forward to get their answers.
    These are the questions I’ve created so far:
    – Why do some kids at NIST chase and kick the cats and pigeons?
    – How did kicking, chasing the cats and pigeons start?
    – What makes people want to kick and chase the cats and pigeons?
    – How do the people that do it feel about doing it? How do the people that watch it feel?
    – Why do some people think it’s amusing to abuse the cats and pigeons?

    • Mr. Sam
      March 28, 2012 at 7:19 pm

      Do people wonder why it is there? Or, could there be many people who have grown up surrounded by rubbish who think it is perfectly normal for rubbish to be on the streets?

      Your questions are really interesting and I became really curious about why people find it amusing to be mean to other living creatures and what that tells us about human beings. I think you’re going to find some fascinating information but, like Hannah, you might not be very impressed with what you find out!

  7. 19patc
    March 28, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    Hi 6ss,

    I think the question that I want to answer the most is what is the stone made of because it doesn’t look like cement and the other question was how did the man cook barbecue without a fire. There were some of my questions that I thought were good such as why do unhappy people make their own passions so they can be happy? This is also my best question. The other questions are don’t the people who are unhappy have a friend? Because mostly people have a friend and if they do why are they unhappy? My last question is why doesn’t the school support Ping Pong?

    • Mr. Sam
      March 28, 2012 at 7:21 pm

      How did you know there wasn’t a fire?

      What makes you think the school doesn’t support Ping Pong?

  8. 19tamannas
    March 28, 2012 at 6:34 pm

    Today during chalk talk on the last one where the house was near the khlong I asked who puts 3 meals on the table each day because if someone was living in that house might have not had any jobs then who puts food everyday? The one that I like is also do these people have natural resources for their own lives? I want to know that if these people don’t get to go anywhere how do they buy their own things that they need do they actually go out to get things or do they make their own things themselves? These are really important to know because it is a big part of human’s lives.

    I wanted to find answers to both of my questions about if the people living next to khlong get three meals a day? If they have enough natural resources? I want to know the answers to these two questions because everyone has to have equal rights in life. I feel that if I find out about it I know how these people survive living near the khlong.

    For my spark the most important questions were why the secondaires don’t follow nude food when they need it much more than the elementary kids need it? Do the secondary students think that the maids will clean it? Does the school even care that it has to be the maids who are cleaning other’s mess? The most important thing that I feel is that does the school even care or they think it is the maid’s jobs?

    • Mr. Sam
      March 28, 2012 at 7:25 pm

      Luckily, I think that most of the people living in those communities have access to most things. They appear to have electricity and most houses have a TV satellite on the roof! I am sure that they struggle for money sometimes, but we would have to go and visit them to find out exactly what their lifestyle is like.

      Are all of these “perspective” questions?

  9. March 28, 2012 at 6:45 pm

    Hello,

    I think that one of my interesting questions was: ‘How do we know this is a poor person’s house?’ this question was discussed by Victor and I. We both thought that people always guess from what they see. Also I thought this question was very interesting too: ‘What is this machine used for? Is it even actually useful?’ I thought this question was interesting because I wondered what this was used for and this question really could help me to figure it out. I really wanted to find an answer for this because it is very a very cool and interesting machine and I also wonder what is that made from. Also I wondered about this machine and how the people use it? Also I wondered is this their religious thing? I wonder so much about this! I am very interested in different cultures, etc and I really wanted to find out the questions. I think the most important and interesting question I wrote was ‘Why do people put pressure on us?’ and ‘Why do people don’t stand up for themselves?’ because they are really connected to what I am researching these days. Also this is going to be a good juicy information for my exhibition.

    See you,

    Vicky

    • Mr. Sam
      March 28, 2012 at 7:28 pm

      You and Victor are right, we do often guess about things and then don’t really bother to find any information – facts. A more powerful word to this is “assuming” or making “an assumption”.

      Your spark questions are really interesting and important. It would be important to find out what pressure is put on kids and then to find out why.

  10. March 28, 2012 at 7:05 pm

    I think the question that was most interesting: ‘How do we know the feeling about the people who live here?’
    I really wanted to find out the answer to that question because, from my (our) perspective, they are the luckiest people on the planet. But from their perspective, what do they think of their living?
    The one that was very interesting (Causation) that i wrote down was, ‘Why isn’t the animal testings banned from all countries and not just a few out of 200!?’ also ‘Why did they choose those certain animals to be tested on?’
    I agree with Vicky, im going to have a great big JUICY information about my spark for my exhibition!
    Mara

    • Mr. Sam
      March 28, 2012 at 7:30 pm

      As Vicky said, we usually just guess or make assumptions about people’s feelings. Everyone always assumes poor people are unhappy, for example.

      Is animal testing banned in some countries? Which ones?

      • Mr. Sam
        March 28, 2012 at 7:31 pm

        Your spark is similar to Pan’s and the conversation he and I had today about why it is OK for companies to do things or make things that are harmful to people or to animals or even to the environment. How is it OK with us?

      • March 28, 2012 at 7:46 pm

        I pretty sure that these countries are banned: UK, Austria, Germany, Belgium, Netherlands, Liechtenstein (Europe) and San Marino (Italy)

        • Mr. Sam
          March 28, 2012 at 9:59 pm

          Where did you get that information? I wonder if it’s true… I hope it is! BUt, it’s not many countries is it?

        • March 29, 2012 at 4:07 pm

          Hi Mara,

          Can you find if Korea banned it too? How about Asia?

  11. March 28, 2012 at 7:07 pm

    My most interesting questions I asked were:
    • What is our responsibility to make this old lady happy? (Responsibility)
    • What will happen 10 years later if we kept riding the motorbike? (Change)

    I wanted to find answers for: What will happen to this house 10 years later? (Change: The klong house picture) I want to find answers out to this question because who knows what will happen to that house in the future? Also that’s quite an interesting question for me.

    For my Concept question,
    I asked:
    (Causation)
    Why do people make junk food?
    Why do people eat junk food even though they know it’s bad for their health?

    I really want to find answers to these questions. They are the main questions I have made so far. I want to go a bit more deep into the iceberg. So it will be really helpful for me.

    Jimin

  12. 19melisa
    March 28, 2012 at 7:20 pm

    Hi 6SS,

    The most interesting question Billy, Madhav and I came up with was: “How is it like to raise children in this house?” I thought it was really interesting because I would want to know how it is like to be in their shoes, to live in a house near the klong, to find your basic needs, and for your kids to not have a good education. I thought it would be really interesting to find out the answer but many people have different perspectives and some are very happy to live this way but it would also be interesting to get deeper into it.

    One question that I came up with was even though the cigarette packets say it can kill you why do they still sell and even though people who smoke see the risks why do they still smoke? And this is a very important question because it can get me deeper into my topic.

  13. March 28, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    Hi 6SS,

    I think the most interesting questions I asked today during the ‘chalk talk’ session were:

    1) ‘How does this connect to people’s daily lives?’(for the photo of a person cooking with a wok in the market)
    2) “How has the fish’s habitat changed due to people catching them?” (for the photo of lots of bamboo steamers with fish in them)
    3) “How do we stereotype the people living in this area?” (for the photo of a back alley with lots of tubs)
    4) With Aryan and Zola: “What is life like living ‘in their shoes’?” (for the photo of the house along the Khlong)

    Like Zola, I think the question I really want to find an answer to is “What is life like living ‘in their shoes’?” I want to find out the answer to this because I want to know the differences between our lives and their lives.

    I have thought up of a few question that I think will help me to understand and become an expert at my spark:

    • Why do people like to receive compliments?
    • What is the psychology behind compliments?
    • Why do we insult more than we compliment?
    • How do compliments have an effect on us?

    I think finding out the answers to these questions will be very useful for my project and so, I hope to find them out!

  14. March 28, 2012 at 7:44 pm

    Hylo,

    The most interesting question I wrote was the one with Reflection = How do we know?

    I wrote “How do we know that this person’s belonging (house) will still be there in the future and not be knocked down, turned into a shopping mall”

    One question I would love to find out about is “How do we know what it feels like to live with all these surroundings” I really want to find out more about that because we only stay so clean in our COMFORT ZONE, we sit here watching a movie in a big AC room and do nothing while other people have to live their life like this. I also want to know because some of them are really happy to live there and live with what they have but some of them are dieing to go out of that situation. SO I would really want to find out. This photo is the Klong House one with their clothes hanging. (REFLECTION)

    Byee,

    Petanque 😉

  15. Pan
    March 28, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    The most important asked is about like the differences between the society and poor people and rich people.
    I would like to find the answer for would rich people do stuff that poor people do like ride on buses and those things that separates both of them.
    The causation , why does people care about the economy more than people just because the money, why don’t they think human beings are more important than money, i can be wrong but i think they’re just selfish.
    Pan

  16. 19pochrakamolp
    March 28, 2012 at 8:16 pm

    Hi 6SS,
    I think the most important question I asked is how does the electricity. I would like to answer to what does it smell or taste like.
    The causation, Why do people seem to think that food will never run out?, Nowadays why don’t Adults educate their child about food waste?,Why do people waste food although they know it’s bad for the environment? Most of the questions I will be answering them in the 2ND checkpoint. But some of the info may not be really accurate because I’m interviewing people.
    Tammy

  17. March 28, 2012 at 8:23 pm

    The most important questions that i wrote are:
    -what is it like to live in poor peoples shoes?
    -are the sausages cheap?
    -are there more fish being killed than 20 years ago?
    the questions that i really want to find the answers to are:
    -what is it like to live in the poor peoples shoes?
    -are there more fish being killed than 20 years ago?
    the questions that i think will help me with my spark are:
    -why do people litter in NIST?
    -why do year 6s litter when they go to year 7?

  18. March 28, 2012 at 8:29 pm

    Hello,

    One of the most interesting and important questions I asked today was: “will this house still exist in the future or will it be knocked down to build a shopping mall”?

    I would really like to find out more about this question.

    I think that these questions will really help me become an expert on my spark.

    “How can I get as many perspectives as possible”?

    “What caused so many people to stereotype skateboarding”?

    “How do we know that people actually respect people”?

  19. Vin
    March 28, 2012 at 8:33 pm

    Hi,
    I think a really interesting question for me was when we were in the third round. I was with Caitie and Yuki. Does the person’s way of living affect his surroundings?
    I want to find the answer to that because I want to know if he affects the klong beside his house and the people who walk by, the community.
    I also want to know why most people think that people who live in seemingly worse conditions are unhappy. Perhaps they are happy and grateful for the way they live. It is a matter of perspective:

    Some questions that will help me with the exhibition:

    Function-How is a cigarette bad for you? How does it affect the smoker as well as the people around them? What does a cigarette cause?

    Perspective: Do smokers have their own reasons and points of view on why they smoke? Is it something valuable to them?

    Connection: Is smoking affecting the smokers’ attitude and thoughts? Do the aftereffects of smoking contribute to the stereotype in which most people place smokers?

  20. March 28, 2012 at 8:46 pm

    Hi 6ss,

    I think Form and Perspective were the easiest.
    – How does the sausage taste like? (Form)
    – Does it connect to the people living near the connsetraction? (Connection)
    – How do we know that people who live there uses a lot of electrocity? (Reflection)

    Some questions for MY exhibition.

    – Why are people abusing cats? (Perspective)
    – Do people think we should get rid of the cats because the cats are abused? (Perspective)
    – Do people even CARE about cats getting abused in OUR school? (Perspective)

    Mari

    • March 28, 2012 at 8:48 pm

      I really want to get answer for “Why do people abuse cats?” I have NO IDEA!!! so that’s why I want to know the answer to that.

      😀 Mari 😀

  21. March 28, 2012 at 8:47 pm

    Hi

    there most interisting questions i wrote about was like/is it slimy/was there this much polution/what caused it to be like this ect.
    there was one that i really wanted to find the answers to like was this place a forest before and was there this much poulition before.
    one of them looked like if they did not like to do this so i thought did they get forced into doing this because my spark is about letting do there passions and not to put fiers on others.

  22. March 28, 2012 at 10:14 pm

    Hi everyone!

    The most interesting question that I asked is in the connection part in the 4th time. I said the question, “Does the person’s way of living affect other people who use the walkways?”. Then Caitie change the word people into environment and Vin changed the word environment into surroundings.

    The thing that I want to research is about the effect the poor people have to their surroundings. I want to do it because it is really interesting and it might lead to more questions that are really interesting too.

    One of my questions that I created was “Why doesn’t the tobacco companies care about their responsibility of taking good care of the customers?” I think that will lead into more questions that might help me in the exhibition.

    I need to sleep fast so bye!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

