What is your wish?

At the end of his TED talk, Jamie Oliver makes this wish:

Think about all of the conversations we have had in the past 7 months. Think carefully about what you think your spark is. Think about all of the things you have seen, heard, learned, experienced and felt in the last 10/11 years. What is most important to you? Try and work out what you would say if TED gave you a wish. Make a comment to tell us your thoughts.

  1. Pat
    March 14, 2012 at 1:36 pm

    “I wish that the future entertainment is not all electric or such as PSP’s or Xboxes and that we change the entertainment to magic tricks,science experiments or normal toys the last thing is that people will support this.

    • Mr. Sam
      March 14, 2012 at 2:12 pm

      How could you start making this wish come true?

  2. March 14, 2012 at 2:10 pm

    If ted gave me a wish i would wish something that they can do.
    I would wish that there should be no normal garbage cans that end up somewhere in Africa where now that place is ruined. I would like there to be a recycle bin everywhere and I want no more normal rubbish bins.

    And when the things go in the bin people would take it and make it into something creative and the sell it so it is a win win thing because someone that is poor gets more money if he sells the recycled thing and the earth doesn’t get polluted by rubbish and the African villages don’t get destroyed.

    • Mr. Sam
      March 14, 2012 at 2:12 pm

      How would you start trying to make that wish come true?

  3. March 14, 2012 at 2:15 pm

    I will start putting recycle bins and then ask the owner of the store or wherever the bins are and then tell them if i can change the bin to a recycle bin. I still have to thing how to do the recycle thing.

    • Mr. Sam
      March 14, 2012 at 2:19 pm

      Where will you get these recycle bins? Where will you put them? Who will collect them? Where will the stuff go?

  4. March 14, 2012 at 2:23 pm

    If I won a TED prize I will wish for the world to waste food because some people don’t get to ea good food as you do. For example people in Africa ,Uganda ,Afghanistan an others don’t have money and they don’t get to eat good food. So I’m going to make sure I put a clear sticker saying “what to you care about” and I will put a picture of a poor child or adult holding a plate of food or maybe a bowl. I’m gonna add colors to the sticker to make it stand out ad I going to print the sticker. Also I’m going to make some posters and interview people.
    Tammy

    • March 14, 2012 at 2:23 pm

      I’m gonna stick the clear stickers on the rubbish bin and other places.

  5. March 14, 2012 at 2:25 pm

    My ted wish would be to make grafiti legal or to have places everywhere around the world so poeple/artists can express themselves without having to be scared to get busted or paying a fine.
    also to change poeples changing poeples thinking about it not having poeple say. grafiti is bad lets tell on them there criminals.
    and to have musiams where grafiti artits get payed to show there work.
    to make grafiti a thing that poeple enjoy not something that poeple thing is bad.

    For grafiti artists the wall is the canvas!

    Victor

    banksy art my favourite grafiti artist.

  6. March 14, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    If TED gave me a wish it would be to change everyone’s perspective about skateboarding.
    Many people think that skateboarders are punks or they are people with long hair that never take showers or they are people that break the law, drink alcohol and steal a lot. But skateboarders are not those kinds of people! Well some are but most of them are not. Many kids are skateboarders. Any person you see walking around might be a skateboarder. Teachers, lawyers, kids, teenagers, students, presidents and parents could be skateboarders.

    So my wish is to change everyone’s perspectives about skateboarding and who does it.

  7. Gina
    March 14, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    If ted gave me a wish I would let people try to like science more because all the animals things are just getting boring (I like animals but its just getting boring). And I am going to show a science show some I show to the class and some I didn’t and some are going to be magic (I am not coping Pat I am doing different things) there is one that makes your finger grow and I am going to do it to some people and they don’t really know what I am doing (maybe they will think I have brain damage to make a finger grow like a tree)

    Gina 😛

  8. Mara
    March 14, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    Hi,
    My Wish is to make the world a better place to live because of the way that all the rubbish is speard all over the world and nobody is doing anything about it. The way that I would help is to start small, by using the ripples, and starting of with making something like ‘ Nude Food ‘ and creating an event where people need to care about the world and help clean up. Im calling this, “”The Clean Revolution”” I’m doing this because its part of my exhibition and im very excited to do it because the exhibition it coming up.

  9. March 14, 2012 at 7:20 pm

    Hi 6SS,
    My wish is exactly the same as Mallory, I wat to help Tanzinia (Africa) because as I said yesterday I have a strong connection with them from when I was young. I have pictures of me playing with them and they have no shirts, no food, no education, no nothing! But it is not just food they need, everyone thinks they just need food, they also need education, A FAMILY, clothes and shelter. What I want to do to help them is raise money from NIST by having a cup-cake sale, this will get me the money. I want to do this so bad that I feel like doing this for the PYP Exhibition, I want to also find schools, orphanages, etc, to send the money to. I will also try to give some money to miss Jennilea so that she can give it to a place in Tazania wince she goes there every summer.
    Billy

  10. Yasmin
    March 15, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    Hi
    My wish is for the animals to stop getting exinct because of us. Animals have the right to live on the same planet as us, don’t they. Thats why I want to help the animals by emailing some companies who harm animals, also I will contact a zoo or two.
    I am going to start small by sharing this project with my family and friends, that way i will be ready to start the first circle in the ripple. I am also going to take notes of what’s happening in Thailand with the animals. I am also going to interview people about what they think about this situation. After i’ve done those things, I’m going to think back to what i’ve done andmake a presentation out of all i’ve done.

  11. Melis
    March 15, 2012 at 6:43 pm

    Hi 6SS,

    If TED gave me a wish it would be for people to stop smoking because it causes a lot of diseases like cancer, heart and lung failure and so on and that can lead to death because the body is so weak but they can’t stop because their bodies are used to the nicotine, to change this I would have to do something different like write a book about growing up with it and dealing about it, because there are lot of students in this school whose parents smoke and I want to change that I would like to use shock tactics to show what it can do to you.

    Melis 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

