Homework: Discuss your spark at home

 

Today, spend 10 minutes working out how to tell your parents what you think your spark might be now. Decide how you will explain it and what examples you will use to help them see what you mean. Prepare two questions to find out what they think is good and bad about your spark at the moment.

Then, tell them about your spark and ask them your questions. Try your best to turn it into a proper conversation, not just a rushed Q &A thing that you can’t wait to get over with so you can get away from them! Your parents are an important part of your Exhibition as they will have loads of ideas, suggestions, ideas and questions. Involve them now as you try and work out what is most important to you.

Make a comment to tell us about your conversations with your parents. Make the effort to make your writing detailed, accurate and interesting to read. Get your parents to read your comment and tell you if they agree with what you have written.

  1. Zola
    March 14, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    Hi 6SS,

    I was talking with my Mom about my spark my spark is garbage. We were discussing different ways I could share my work so I thought that maybe by putting posters around NIST like nine did with his shark fin soup campain.

    On the posters I was thinking of having very effective photo’s that would shock people. Another thing me and my mom thought of was maybe videoing people in action of throwing or leaving garbage around, and I would also have video’s of people doing the right thing by throwing the garbage in the bin. I would blur the faces of people who didn’t do the right thing. But the people who did the right thing would not be blured becasue there is no reason to blur something good. What I thought I could do to was do like a TED talk and in the TED talk I would show the clip of the people who did the right thing and the wrong thing. Also a few pictures of NIST. What I also could do in the ted talk was take a photo of the same place before and after my campain.

    My two questions were what do you think of my spark? She said “that it was a good spark it is a relevant spark and it is up to date. But I am not sure it is your spark you have to convice me it is.” My second questions is If you were a Y6 NIST student what would you do your exibiton about? My Mom is still thinking about it she said it a very good question. She said it would take her some time to anwser the question she said she would let me know when she knows her anwser.

    Zola Haldorsen

    • March 14, 2012 at 5:35 pm

      Hi Zola!

      Can you make your spark more deeper than garbage? Let’s use something that isn’t noun. Do you have anything more pecific? Such as people who doesn’t put their litter in the garbage can in school.

      See you,
      Vicky

      • Zola
        March 14, 2012 at 7:29 pm

        Hi Vicky,

        I could maybe say instead people who leave or throw garbage around school. Is that better?

        Zola

        • March 14, 2012 at 8:05 pm

          Uh huh! It’s more pecific now!

      • March 15, 2012 at 3:18 pm

        Hi Zola, I also want to ask you if this really connects into your life?

        • Zola
          March 15, 2012 at 4:18 pm

          Hi Vicky,

          It connects to my life because I have lived in many differnt places like Nepal,Pakistan,Thailand and Norway. In Norway there is hardly any garbage but in thailand it is the opisite so thats one of the reasons why I chose to do my exibition on garbage.

          • March 15, 2012 at 6:43 pm

            Oh! I have another question for you, does this happen to me all the time? Why is this important? Will this be effective for other people too?

            See you,

            Vicky

            • Zola
              March 16, 2012 at 3:33 pm

              Hi vicky,

              I think it had affected other people too because haven’t wanted to go somewhere but now it is so ugly because of the pollution?

  2. Caitie :$
    March 14, 2012 at 4:53 pm

    Hi,
    First I explained to my mom what I thought my spark was going to be. For those of you who don’t know, my spark was ‘having a more positive attitude about life.’ Having a more positive attitude about life was a pretty big idea so me and my mom talked about my idea. We talked about the flaws in it like how it’s hard to measure if people have a more positive attitude. So I thought of all the things that put year 6 kids in a bad mood and all the stuff we complain about. And a lot of the stuff we complain about are silly things like having too much homework or world languages being too hard and so on. And I thought that people at NIST have a good life and we are just complaining about the things we don’t have and not celebrating the things we do have. So for my project I decided to change my spark to ‘people being more grateful’.
    Caitie

  3. March 14, 2012 at 5:25 pm

    Hello 6ss,

    Today I was talking with my father about my spark which is skateboarding and how I want to change the people’s perspectives who think that skateboarding is a “punk” sport.
    We thought that I should do a survey with different questions.

    Example: Where do you think a skateboarder lives? With this question I was thinking of putting a photo of a super clean and tidy bedroom, an average kids room and a super messy dirty room and ask people to answer where they think a skateboarder lives.

    My father was asking me how I should get my message across? I told him that I want to present a survey, by telling the history of skateboarding and I wanted to involve my audience during the exibithion through demonstrating and then letting them try skateboarding.

    P.S I do not want to tell more about the survey otherwise it will ruin the suprise and make you biased.

  4. Pan
    March 14, 2012 at 5:38 pm

    Hi,
    I was talking to my parents about smoking and my mom and dad thinks that it is a interesting subject and he said that if i can shift other peoples thinking and perspective about smoking it would be great success. (Make people stop smoking and make them be aware what diseases you can get if you smoke.) I also agree with him and that was my plan. I can use shock tactics about if you were a child and your mom and dad smokes, then they died when u where in a young age and how would you feel if you were the child.
    I asked my parents some questions and facts about smoking like what diseases you can have if you smoke. We also talked about the diseases smoking can make you have, like cancer, heart disease, lung damage and more. We also talked about how smoking can harm other people like if you breath air full of people smoking it is really bad for your health. So i think that this is a really interesting exhibition and it can be really powerful if i can change other people’s think and perspective about smoking. (A shift in thinking.) My parents also think that this is a good and interesting spark for the exhibition.
    Pan

  5. Pan
    March 14, 2012 at 5:39 pm

    I asked my parents some questions and facts about smoking like what diseases you can have if you smoke. Then we talked about the diseases smoking can make you have, like cancer, heart disease, lung damage and more. For this i mean then.
    Sorry

  6. Mara
    March 14, 2012 at 5:48 pm

    Hi,
    I explained what my spark was to my Mum and we discussed this quite a few weeks ago and I’m already starting to make the photos and stuff, but my spark is to ‘Try make a difference from the pollution from factories’ Trying to make a difference is a big thing to me because I want to try make a difference the way that Mallory did. But like I always say, (And also Mr Sam says) I need to start small, by maybe emailing the smoking factories and get information. I chose to do the smoking factories because, I think its the factories that cause the most pollution and also it kills animals but not only animals, people that work inside the factory because they’re surrounded by smoke and it invades their lungs so they can die. Also it kills other people outside the factory because maybe in the future there will be SOOOO much pollution the population of people dying will go REALLY high and never go back down unless I (or a team) can start a revolution and make a difference.
    I also want to do what Zola is doing, making posters around school and maybe outside of school.

  7. Tamanna
    March 14, 2012 at 5:54 pm

    Hello 6SS,

    I had a discussion with my mom and aunt about my spark and I told them that in my school secondary students are always buying food in those plastic bowls and leaving them around the school. The school is always full of garbage and rubbish and that upsets me a lot. I feel that it is a bad habit and does not help in keeping the environment clean. It is very upsetting and dirty to see garbage around a lovely school where more than a 1,000 people get educated. I asked my mom and aunt about why they think my spark is a good topic to focus on during the exhibition and they said 3 things. 1. It is important that our generation focus on a healthy and clean environment especially in our school, where good habits should be learned and practiced. 2. It is good I am focusing on littering because it is important for our generation to care more about the environment and nature that is getting destroyed because of us humans. 3. My mom and Aunt think that when people dirty the table etc. they should clean it themselves instead of leaving garbage all around the place and letting other’s clean it for them. People should be more responsible for their own trash. Then later I asked them that what is bad about my spark and they said that I am blaming only secondary students for messing the school when I don’t have any proof that they are the only students littering, it is not fair that I am amusing without knowing. My two questions to them were: 1. Will the secondary students even listen to me because I am younger than them? 2. I am not a teacher or a parent, will I be able to persuade them to do the right thing to make this world a cleaner place? They said yes! My mom and aunt feel like the students will regret what they did wrong and stop it. They also said that no matter how young I am I can do it as long as I believe in what I am doing. Parents themselves tell their kids not to litter so my message is basically what the parents are trying to teach the kids, and I will help the world to be a cleaner and healthier place by starting with my school.

    Tamanna

  8. Yasmin
    March 14, 2012 at 6:10 pm

    I spoke with my mum about my spark and my spark is Animal Rights because I don’t like the way that people harm animals. They harm them by testing cosmetics on them and hitting a pet or pulling the leash of your pet and also the transportation problem, in Thailand when they are bring them somewhere to kill them for pork. I see them and the way that they transport them. They put them in a truck all squished together, and the truck only has 2 layers. ITS HORRIBLE! So I think it’s a good spark for me because I want to really make a difference out of this situation.
    So after I told her this, I asked her my questions which were….
    Do you think this is a good spark?
    She said that she thinks it’s good because animals are living creatures, so we have to live together in he same world. We have to cohabit with them and treat them well.
    Do yo think presenting while putting a table and displaying pictures and a video is a good way to present this topic?
    She said yes because it ‘s a visual presentation, which is often more effective then speaking. I should also think of other options of getting my spark across.
    But then came to a point when she said what do you want people to walk away with and how are they going to make a change? I said well I want them to walk away and think about what I just said and they will say she Is right to themselves. Then Try to get involved in it and start to contact people. Like contact a company that does the things above. Tell them that people don’t like what they are doing.

  9. victor
    March 14, 2012 at 6:20 pm

    So like my spark was wakeboarding there were 4 things that we talked about.
    1st was that everybody should persue their passions and do what they love doing.
    2nd was that parents shouldnt prodject their fiers on there chiledren because they will never improve.
    3rd was to step out of your confort zone because thats the only way you will improve or have fun.
    Last was that parents let the childeren be themselves and be creative not making them do things that they dont like lets say bob likes art but his dad says you have to do swimming they will never be as good at something they love doing.

  10. March 14, 2012 at 7:08 pm

    Hi 6SS,

    I spoke with my mother about my spark which is smoking I want to do smoking because it gives people diseases like cancer, heart failure and other things that make the body weak. My mothers says that this would be really good for me because there are lots of people that smoke and when someone is near the smoker it can really badly affect them.

    My mother thought the best ways to spread awareness was to make posters, a short movie or write a book (Like Am did). I personally think that writing a book would be better for me to express my feelings about this situation.

    After that conversation I asked her my two question which were:

    Do you think this a good spark?

    I think that this is a good spark because these kind of things start at a young age, teenagers start and they think that they can stop but soon they get addicted.

    What do you think is the best way to present this topic?

    I think what you chose is a good idea because we see posters and videos about this and doesn’t help but if you write a book it would be something that not a lot of people would do.

    This quote really inspires me by Mahatma Ghandi “Be the change you want to see in the world”

  11. March 14, 2012 at 7:42 pm

    I had a conversation today with my mom, I told her what my spark is about school friendly attidude and she said “Yeah i agree, When i go to NIST i normaly dont get a hello or hi so often”. I said ” Do you think one hello per month is enough?” and she said no and i said i agree. I really think that the school should end with its bad habits not saying hello or hi in the morining. Don’t you want other people to feel good or do YOU want to feel good. There are just so many people going past other students and teachers and parents without even saying hello. I Want to change that. I want school to be a good and happy place not a place where you go to for 7 hours then go home and say: That was a waste of time. I want you to say: Wow… school is pretty fun after all. I mean i like school and i think it’s a nice place to be and a good time to meet up with friends and learn. That’s how I feel school should be.To do that i need your help. So if you want to help and join me with this project. Please E-mail me. The secondary have a hello day I think, But i want to start a campaign that’s called : Hello day is everyday. I dont think that school is horible the way it is. What i am saying is that it can improve. If you think you might be interested in this like I am please speak to me or E-mail me.

  12. March 14, 2012 at 7:45 pm

    Hi 6SS,
    I talked to my mum about how I wrote about Mallory on the blog and how I want to help a group of kids in Tanzania because I have a strong connection to them, she thought it was a great idea and gave me ideas about what things I could do. She told me I had to narrow it down to a small group of target audience who we could make a difference to, she shared 2 suggestions of how to identify a group of people the first was to make contact with a service coordinator and find out is there any particular group that the worked with who needed help. Her second idea was to ask miss Jennilea who she helps in Tanzania and how she helps them and how I could help. She said the next step is to identify a plan of what to do, do I need to raise money, raise awareness, it could be raising money for school. Another way I could get moeny is have a film after school from 2:30-4:00 in the theater and have everyone who comes in pays to watch the film, eat popcorn and get a drink, there is also other things to organize organize and advatise the movie and organize adult supervision! Another thing is organize a charity football cometition to pay a certain amount of money to play in the competition!
    Do you think this is a good Idea?
    She said yes if it helps a country that we have a connection with and that the possibilities will raise awareness and make a difference!
    Billy

  13. Hannah
    March 14, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    I didn’t exactly tell my mom what my questions were, but as we started our conversation the two questions were being answered.

    As some of you know that I was inspired, touched by a book called Parvana’s journey. The book was about a girl who fled from her home, and sets off on a journey all by herself. She finds out that she is not the only child who is all alone, having to work independently…

    As the war has stopped in Pakistan, and I can’t go to Pakistan in a few weeks and help rebuild houses, even thought that is also something good to do. My mom had said that I should start within Thailand and I could ask people here in Bangkok to tell me a little about the refugee camps near the boarder of Burma, and maybe even go and visit them for a day to see what it is like. I have already researched a little about the borders and organizations, and I found a organization called TBBC(Thailand Burma Border Consortium) which is helping the “displaced” people from Burma. This is what they wrote as a basic “what we do”:

    TBBC provides food, shelter and essential non food items to the displaced people from Burma.

    The refugee camps are the key locations for current activities, where TBBC also provides support for camp management through the refugee committees.

    TBBC also conducts research into the ongoing causes of internal displacement in Eastern Burma.

    They still have many categories like food security, strategies, cooking fuel/stoves, clothing, bedding etc. The website seems to know a lot of information and have a office in Bangkok 10500 12/5 Convent Road.

    My goal would be to go to go to one of the giant refugee camps, but before that I want to find out what the people there need the most, and try, to find a way to fund raise money to get the things they need the most, and hope to get as many ones as I can to get what they need the most. I will make more specific plans in the future (meaning the next weeks) when I know that this will be my exhibition. (I am pretty sure it will)

    I had just saw something in the news about the people in Afghanistan and about the people who fled from the Taliban, where it is ice cold during the night and they do not have any food to eat, and have to boil water which will be their breakfast, and go to bed hungry again. After I saw the video I ate a piece of apple, but it didn’t feel like it belonged in my mouth, I felt like it should be in the mouth of the refugees. After eating the apple I continued to do my homework and then I ate dinner. During dinner I had something similar to a lump in my throat thinking about what someone from that afghan refugee camp would have done if they were sitting at the table. I don’t think I can even call the camp a “refugee camp” more like lots of people building small huts, with the ceiling very low. At least they had somewhere to stay, but nothing good. “We are living worse than animals” one woman had said. When people came to hand out 25 blankets to 300-500 people there was a fight. There was some kind of list made so everyone got something, but the list didn’t seem fair, it was a list none of us knew how it worked.

    I hope I will be able to have a good effect on the people who are at the refugee camps. I will start small, and start with the refugee camps close to Burma.

    Hannah

  14. March 14, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    I had a conversation with my mom which was about Sweet Junk food. I changed my spark. Candy Junk food=All those weird candies that are made out of weird stuff and flavoring, flavored dust things, etc.

    Me: “Is my spark a good idea?”

    Mom: “Yes. You have a good spark because people are eating too much weird stuff that is made out of factories. Eating a little bit is okay but eating it a lot affects your health. You should prevent people from eating that stuff a lot.”

    Me: “Do you have any good ideas for presenting my work?”

    Mom: “Maybe you can make a video with pictures of people eating Sweet junk food at NIST and maybe you can do an interview with some kids who LOVE sweet junk food. Ask them questions like: ‘DO you think sweet junk food is good for you?’ ‘Why do you eat these stuff?’Etc.

    So that was what I asked my mom. I think she has a good idea of the exhibition. My mom also gave me advice that I need to put a lot of effort in the exhibition. She also said I should interview people who know why sweet junk food is not good for you. Also I have a brother. He has Atopic Dermatitis. It’s sort of like an allergy. If my brother eats sweet junk food, boom! His Atopic Dermatitis gets worse. If you have Atopic Dermatitis, red dots pops out of your leg. I feel sad for my brother. He might help me because he definitely knows why sweet junk food is bad. My brother can help me with this project. My mom can help me really well with my exhibition too because she always makes me eat organic food. I eat vegetables everyday and I eat meat once a week in my house now.
    My spark might slightly change or change completely but I want to stick with this spark currently.
    I want to know if 6SS eats sweet junk food or not. It’s okay if you eat sometimes but if you eat everyday, OH NO!!! 😥
    💡 My idea can be a fire. I want to make it a fire. Kids can change the world too. We can do it!
    Main 💡 Idea: ” Sweet JUNK FOOD RUIN YOUR HEALTH”

  15. March 14, 2012 at 8:07 pm

    HEYY,

    Straight after that day when my mom and I walked out of that door she said to me, why don’t you do your exhibition project about SPORTS? I didn’t even have to think about it, I really agreed with her but… I had no idea what I will do or how I will shift peoples thinking by, so she mentioned about about convincing or encouraging people to play sports but I still don’t know how I am going to do it. So I decided to talk to my sister and ask her from her experiences also because she is an amazing athlete. She suggested First: Tell people about how sports has changed throughout history, how it effected peoples lives for example the one Ms Jane showed (the video) or maybe what caused the change. Second: Convince, Suggest, Encourage people to play more sports and tell them how its good or what you get from playing. I can tell them from the experiences I have had and maybe they will be more interested. My teachers like to say that if you want to make something a success there will be some things in your way. Which they like to explain it as riding on a flowing river and suddenly meeting a gang of rocks, so its gonna be a rocky,bumpy road trip. Right now I really want to meet Ms Joanna because I feel like I am in an island and don’t know where to go! 😦 My mom says both of thenm are really good but know I have to make my own choice.

    Petanque

  16. Hannah
    March 14, 2012 at 8:07 pm

    As I did some research for my spark today I found a website and I found out about the fire near the border, and some people had to start all over again, but I also say a picture on TBBC’s with a powerful image, and then something saying “Umpiem starts to rebuild after the fire.” Umpiem Mai is one of the refugee camps and that was the camp where the fire had obviously been. I think that Umpiem Mai could be my target, because they are in most need for help, but at the same time they are probably getting more attention than other refugee camps like Mae La.

  17. Gina Choi
    March 14, 2012 at 8:26 pm

    Hi
    I talk to my mom about spark (my spark is science) and she answered me
    What do you think is good about my spark ? It is good to change into science because you can learn more like when we experiment with chemicals you can see the reaction differently with different materials for experiments.
    What do you think is bad about my spark? When you are doing the experiment you can make a mess and maybe you can injured your-self

    By:Gina 🙂

  18. Pat
    March 14, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    Hi 6SS,
    My spark is to stop people from playing to much computer games. When I discussed it with my mom she said that it was a good idea. I got it from looking at people playing computer games. Looking at  it gave me quite a headache. So the first idea of how to present is I could send out a survey to see how many and how long people play computer games. The second idea is that I could go and get lots of facts that will shock people. Such as a kid that was a game addict died because he played games all the time and didn’t eat or sleep. The third  idea is I could suggest other entertainment so that other people can have a new start. And my last idea is that I put posters up with the facts on it and we could have a program set up like buddies at break. So that we can do other kinds of entertainment and it would spread. The thing that my mom advised me to do was to explain the message clearly because people might think that I’m telling them not to play any computer games. However my message is not to play to much computer games. 

  19. March 14, 2012 at 8:44 pm

    Hi 6ss,

    I was talking with my parents while we were eating dinner. I told them that my spark is helping the animals because my mom told me that there was a college boy he threw around 30 firecrackers at the monkeys in a zoo in Japan. The monkeys faces were burned. Now they are scared of humans. I told them why my spark was helping the animals. I told them about whales came to the shore in New Zealand, throwing the firecrackers at the monkeys and put different kind of animals in different places which makes some animals extinct. My mom nodded at what I explained. She also said she agrees with me. He thinks it is a good spark.

    Mari 😀

    • March 14, 2012 at 8:51 pm

      Hey 6ss,

      After I posted the post about disscussion I did some resarch straight away!!! 😀

      What I found was we are
      Declining Number of Tigers
      Declining Number of Lions
      Declining Number of Rhinos

      LIONS AND TIGERS are one of my favorute animals. 😦

      If you want to see the website I found about this declining the nuber of Tigers, Lions and Rhino’s check this out!!! 😀

      http://www.globalissues.org/article/177/nature-and-animal-conservation

      Mari 😀 😦 Poor Animals

      • March 14, 2012 at 8:53 pm

        I also found out that we are kind of decling number of Penguins too 😦

        • March 14, 2012 at 8:59 pm

          Goddness! It’s terrible how this is happening. There is another website for you I suggest.
          Go to http://freeland.org/eng/

          See you,
          Vicky

          • March 14, 2012 at 9:01 pm

            Thank you Vicky 🙂

  20. March 14, 2012 at 8:46 pm

    Hi everyone,

    Today, me and my mom had a great conversation because guess what, my mom was talking about the win-win attitidute even if I didn’t tell about it! This was really amazing! So, I will tell you the whole story.

    Today my mom had a headache but she was glad to help me. We started with a struggling start but we were in the end, talking about everything. So this is what we discussed about. I told my mom that my spark might be to make people think that they should stand up for themselves, to be strong for themselves and trust themselves to believe in that they should tell someone to express themselves if they got gossip bullied. Then we discussed that this is a good spark and this will lead people in a right way because in Korea, terrible things happen because of people in gangs using bad words, gossiping, etc to a person who they think is weak. For example, this always comes in the Korean news and this is terrible, people suicide because of people in gangs gossiping, saying bad words to them. This is also because they didn’t express themselves and the gang people who actually made the person die is in jail now. But, guess what age they are in right now? They are teenagers! Whole new things in life in front of them and now, in jail. This is when my mom told about the win-win attitude. She said, ‘it’s better for the person who suffered from the gangs, etc, but it’s also better for the people who bullied the person. Actually, the bullies should’ve even didn’t know that they were making someone suffer. But if the person who suffered told someone, the gang members might be able to go on the right way which is realizing that they are actually doing the wrong thing and that they need to stop. It’s a win-win attitude. Both the person who suffered gets better and the gang members might fix their problems. If the person who suffered told, these terrible situations might’ve not happen.’ Then I thought, that’s right it is important to express yourself. Also I thought that and this happened to this too, until I really needed to tell someone because I was in terrible pain, we are scared that our parents, teachers or people who trust just too must exaggerate about it and make it worse. But, my mom and I thought this all the time when we told our situation to Ms. Ashley, ‘You got to stop being worried about what might and take part of what is.’- Jamie Oliver. And you know what, we said, ‘Yeah! We should be brave and tell her! This is also a meaning that we trust her.’ So we talked about this again and we went back to our memories. She made me suggestions that I should tell some shock tactics of Korea issues right now because of people who is not telling their feelings and doesn’t express themselves. Then we talked about making presentations, etc. But we thought this might actually not be our real spark yet. Then we talked about if people might be interested in it or not. My mom told me, ‘they will be interested in it or should learn about this because it is a technique they need in life to survive in this hard world. They need to know that telling or finding help from adults isn’t bad. They need to learn that it is something important and they have some people that are there for them.’ Then she said, if you keep this as your spark, why don’t you suggest some people who will be there for them. But, she told me, that I should persuade the parents how they can deal with these situations the kids have. She told me they also should’ve had these situations like this too but not worse than this world. She said I can also recommend them books about dealing with these situations, etc. Lastly, we talked about if this really showed me and she said, ‘of course it is! You had these experiences and it is good to tell people how you dealt with it. Then she told me, ‘if you get bullied, don’t just try to ignore it! No one is suppose to be bullied so get rid of it and express yourself. It’s for yours and their own good.’

    Today, talking with my mom was amazing and this really kept me thinking.

    • March 14, 2012 at 8:49 pm

      I am very proud of the work I do these days. I put lots of efforts. This one was a very interesting subject to work on with

      • March 14, 2012 at 8:52 pm

        Yes you do Vicky!!!!

        • March 14, 2012 at 8:52 pm

          You put a lot of effort. EFFORT 😀

          • March 15, 2012 at 6:44 pm

            Thank-you,

            Mari! I think you put lots of effort too!

  21. Andrea
    March 14, 2012 at 9:09 pm

    Hi 6SS,

    My dad and I had a conversation on my exhibition topic and we agreed that ‘Words of Encouragement’ sounds like a good idea.

    We planned that Words of Encouragement is going to be about sending out cards and compliments to those who truly deserve them – the unsung heroes. After all, who doesn’t like a compliment? Celebrities and famous people always get letters, emails and postcards from their fans but we think there are many people who deserve one too but get unnoticed by all of us. These people are social workers, environmentalists, educationist or maybe just someone who volunteers for community service! We have 2 main objectives: 1) to acknowledge the unsung heroes 2) to make 6SS aware of these people and their work (connected to the attitudes: Open-Minded, Caring and etc.)

    This can be a whole class project where all of us get to decide who to send the card to.

    My dad and I also discussed the SMART criteria for this project. I have never heard of this before and it’s something new to me. This is what it is (it’s actually an acrostic poem):

    Specific – What do I want to accomplish? What is the purpose?
    Measurable – How will I know when it is accomplished?
    Attainable – Is my goal achievable and realistic? Does it challenge me but not too hard?
    Relevant – Is it connected to exhibition and me as an IB learner?
    Timely – Is it achievable within the time I have to complete this project?

    If I can answer confidently to all these questions, it means that my project is worthwhile.

  22. Vin
    March 14, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    Hi,
    I spoke to my mom about my spark, which is smoking. I want to do smoking because it affects the community in a bad way, causing a negative shift. I especially want to do it because I am not proud that my country, China, has one of the highest smoking rates in the world. Whenever I walk into a restaurant in China, I can see smokers at almost every table. I see smokers within every 4 minutes if I walk, 2 minutes if speeding by in a car. In China it is very common for bathrooms to smell like cigarettes as people smoke in the bathroom as well. Cigarettes then get thrown into the toilets.

    I know I can’t change the smoking rates of China in a few weeks, so I want it to be in context, focusing on the community here. I know a smoker when I am near one, because my driver smokes. His skin is rough and unhealthy, he stinks, speaks in a hoarse voice because of the smoke making his throat itchy, and worse of all he has a constant cough. I want to make people care about this issue and raise awareness so people can see this problem in a different perspective. (Maybe I would even get my driver to stop smoking! 🙂 )

    I can use shock tactics, like Jamie Oliver did to get Rod on his side. Many people will be shocked if they know the full extent of the problems smoking causes. Perfectly healthy can get into very bad conditions in just a matter of months. Also, you should consider it from a child’s perspective. If both your parents smoke and they have a chance to die when you are 10, you would go through hell.

    I asked my mom how smoking affects the community. According to what she knows, it causes pollution and it is extremely unhealthy, and costs lots of money.
    How could I present it? Well, I could express my research through a poster which shows the life of a depressed, unhealthy smoker in contrast to the life of a happy and successful non-smoker.

    If we look through the NIST compass, it is bad through all lens.

    N: Trees have to be cut down to make paper to roll the tobacco in. Precious farm lands grow tobacco plants instead of crops to feed the starving refugees in Burma or the children in Africa. It also causes a lot of pollution in the air and also garbage.

    S: Smoking often causes negativity between people because most people see sense, but some addicted smokers still smoke even if their family are dying.

    W: Smoking is obviously extremely bad for your health because it destroys your lungs and deteriorates your health. It literally turns your brain into tar because of the nicotine contained in the tobacco. Smokers only breathe in 15% of the smoke. The rest is breathed in by secondhand smokers, or people who are in the same room as the smokers, places such as restaurants and bathrooms.

    E: Some people might think that smoking is good for the economy, but they are wrong. More smokers die than the percentage of income that cigarette companies earn per year.

    I found an global organization called ASH or Action on Smoking and Health that have offices all over the world, three of which are in Bangkok.

    Their Vision:
    To end the worldwide disease, damage and death caused by tobacco. (three d’s)

    Mission:

    To be a prime mover in domestic and global tobacco control through advocacy, communication, the force of law and our essential partnership with the Framework Convention Alliance for Tobacco Control.

    Their are many more organizations out their who combat tobacco, some of which are based in Asia.

    I hope I can help people in context (our community) to quit smoking and learn what it can cause, to shift their thinking and perspective about smoking. If this is my exhibtion topic, people will learn about it and hopefully spread the word to other communities with smokers.

    Vin 陈瑞文

  23. Tammy
    March 14, 2012 at 9:36 pm

    Hi guys,

    I had my conversation with my mom

    My spark is about food wasting because I’m surprised how many people waste food these days , and it’s just scary. Instead of wasting they should be happy with what they have or how much they can eat. Because there are people out there who die of starvation. I made a plan/cycle for this for this. The first step is that I will brainstorm some questions with my parents.The second step is that I will interview people (10 of them different jobs and different life style) The third step is that I will use shock tactics to shock people how many people waste food. By making poster that has a picture of the food waste in the canteen, and the caption will say DO YOU ALWAYS DO THAT? I will also design a sticker that says WHAT DO YOU CARE ABOUT? It will have a photo of a poor child holding a empty bowl of food. I will stick it in the fast food restaurants and in the school. The last step is that I’m going to interview the same people I interviewed and see if they shifted their thinking.

    Me: Do you think it will work?

    Mom: It can work if you try your best.

    Me: Do you think my plan is powerful?

    Mom: I think it’s helpful and environmental friendly it also saves food and reduces food waste.

    Me: So do you have any suggestions?

    Mom I think we should prepare the stuff we need on the coming weekend.

    Me: Is my spark a good idea?

    Mom: I think it’s a good idea because it really helps the world

    Me: What could you help me with ?

    Mom: Finding pics and help you to make the sticker and etc.

    Tammy 🙂

  24. March 14, 2012 at 10:56 pm

    Hi everyone!

    My mom and I had a good talk, I told her my spark which is health and how humans destroy and damage their own body. I had multiple inspirations and one of my inspirations is Patrick Reynolds. I would like to talk to you about this man because he is related to what I am doing. He is doing about saving young people’s life by stopping them from smoking Tabaco. I am doing about health and how people damage themselves by smoking, taking drugs, drinking too much alcohol etc. My mom asked me questions to see if I was really inspired by Patrick Reynolds, grandson of cigarette company founder RJ Reynolds. His father died from a sickness called emphysema caused by Tabaco smoking and he wants to stop other people from being like his father and he really wants to stop people from dying by smoking. That was what his spark is and that’s why my topic is related to his.

    My mom and I also talked about what I could do to make my revolution happen. As for drugs I had an idea to make a timeline of the brain cells that die out if you take a lot of drugs. I will put the healthy brain first then the brain that belongs to a person who takes drugs sometimes and a brain that belongs to a person who is so addicted to drugs that they can’t stop. As for Tabaco I will also try to make a PowerPoint that describes the side effects that happen. For example I will show the audience there pictures of the lungs (If I am talking about the lungs). The first picture would be the lungs of a healthy nonsmoking person. The second picture would be a person who is young and really addicted to smoking that they can’t stop doing it. The third picture would be a person who is dead and was addicted to smoking that they can’t stop.

    Those are my ideas for now but my ideas could change or this idea could keep on generating new ideas.

    • 19vint
      March 15, 2012 at 7:52 pm

      Hi Yuki,
      Patrick Reynolds is a inspiring person, I agree. He does good combat against tobacco.

  25. Madhav
    March 15, 2012 at 6:09 pm

    Hi everyone,

    I had a conversation with my mom about my spark which is smoking.

    • Madhav
      March 15, 2012 at 6:12 pm

      sorry I acedenly clicked post…

      • Madhav
        March 15, 2012 at 6:31 pm

        Hi everyone,

        I had a conversation with my dad about my spark which is smoking. My dad thinks that smoking is the worst thing for health. in hale second hand smoke is equally bad to smoking itself. second hand in halers can get the same life threatening disease as first hand smoke. Second hand smoking is when you are close to someone who is smoking and you take a breath, and you in hale that smoke. Therefore you should avoid being near people who smoke, that is also a reason why all air condition places like airport,department store and cinema have ban smoking, because the smoke gets into the ventilation system and there by people have to in hale second hand smoke. Smoking is so bad that even on the packet of the cigarette the show to picture of the disease that you can get from smoking. Many goverments have banned cigarettes companies from advertising. And also in 7- Eleven and convenience stores Cigarette packets are not aloud to be displayed, and they are kept in a closed compartment. People think that smoking is cool but rather it’s a way to burn your lungs and eternal origins slowly. A experiment was made by blowing hot smoke into a white hanger chief and the white hanger-chief turned red as if its burning, imagine what it will do to your eternal origins and lungs starting from your mouth all the way to your intestines.

        By Madhav 👿

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

