Music while working – does it work for you?

Today, while you were working on your Blogfolio posting about Landmark Books, I allowed you to listen to music.

Make a comment to tell us:

  • What you listened to and why
  • What effect you think it had on your concentration and your work
  • Why you think it had that effect on you
  1. Pan
    March 12, 2012 at 10:29 am

    I listened to my favourite songs and that calmed me down and it mad e me relax! So i was in a better mood and better concentration.
    Pan

    • March 12, 2012 at 10:31 am

      What did you listen to?

    • Pan
      March 12, 2012 at 10:35 am

      I Listed to:
      Part Of Me- Katy Perry
      Levels-Avicci
      Levels Skrillex Remix- Avicci
      Titanium- David Guetta
      Turn Me On David Guetta
      Feel So Clsoe Calvin Harris
      Sorry for Party Rocking LMFAO
      Fade Into Darknesss Avicci
      Thoose are the songs i listened to.
      Pan

  2. March 12, 2012 at 10:30 am

    While I was working I was listening to Adele Rolling in the Deep and Kesha Animal because its slow at first but then it picks up and that gets me working faster, at first I was a bit slow but then the music got me working faster and more focused.

    • March 12, 2012 at 10:38 am

      I also listened to Kesha Cannibal.

      • March 12, 2012 at 6:39 pm

        Yeah it is a good song!!!

  3. March 12, 2012 at 10:32 am

    Today I was listening to songs with a lot of techno and bass in them. When I was listening to the songs with a lot of bass I started thinking deeper and writing with more detail and explaining more .

    • March 12, 2012 at 10:39 am

      The reason why it had that effect on me was that a bass is low and deep and when I was writing I was writing “deep” because I was putting a lot of detail and explanations in my work.

  4. Vin
    March 12, 2012 at 10:33 am

    I listened to wordless relaxing music because that helps me concentrate better than loud yelled out rapping music. There was some classical music and modern music.

    Here are some:

    • Vin
      March 12, 2012 at 10:33 am

      The first song before KODO was good.

  5. March 12, 2012 at 10:36 am

    Hi,
    I listened to ‘Earthquake’ at first but then I changed my mind and listened to calm songs: ‘Jars of hearts’ and ‘Speck of gold’ I listened to those songs over and over again. It had a effect on my work a lot.

    It had a good effect though because my work was really long and detailed. It made my mind calm. I didn’t rush or do it slow. I did it on the right speed. The songs that I listened to was really helpful to my work.

    I think it had a good effect on me because ‘Jars of hearts’ and ‘Speck of gold’ is one of my favorite songs and it made me calm down a lot. I usually listen to those songs when I do my homework.

  6. March 12, 2012 at 10:37 am

    I think listening to music while working helped me because i think this time i did a better job then normal. So i think we should also do this in class. I listend to “writen on the stars” It made me calm. i think it made me calm because i listened to it a few times and because it is a really good song that you can enjoy alot.

  7. Vin
    March 12, 2012 at 10:40 am

    Classical and soft songs make me calm and have a good effect on me which enables me to concentrate well because they are not loud or demanding too much attention; they are not distracting. Fast string songs help me concentrate because they are ‘sharp’ and straight without singing. Words in a song distract me and make me think about them. When I work with music on, it is in the ‘second layer’, like a background. In the ‘inner layer’ I can concentrate and work peacefully without distraction.

  8. victor
    March 12, 2012 at 10:41 am

    I usally listed you hip hop music and also pop because i am a wakeboarder and that what we listen to so ive been used to it so that make me comsintrate better.

    this is one of the first times that i listen to music while i work in the begining i was a bit slow but once i got used to it after 5 minites and then i was working so much faster than usally i think its because it gets me really exited and when im exited i can do good work really fast and it makes me want to improve it so i can listne to more music.

    i would like to do this all the time when i work because its really helpfull.

  9. March 12, 2012 at 10:44 am

    Hi 6SS,

    While I was working I was listening to One Direction Save You Tonight, Timbaland To late to Apologize, Avicii Levels, Adele Set fire to the rain, Usher Climax, One direction One thing. I listened to these songs because it isn’t to slow or to fast there just right tempo. I think it did a good effect because I kept listening to the same songs. Like Mr. Will said if you listen to the same song it helps you work.

    Zola

    • March 12, 2012 at 10:53 am

      The song ‘Set Fire To The Rain’ was really helpful because it was slow and first but then it picked up and I started to work faster and I could focus better.

  10. Pat
    March 12, 2012 at 10:45 am

    I listen to shake and pop because Mr Sam plays this sometimes and also I listened to Its My Life becuase I’m working on that song in the rock band. The effects that it had on me were that it made me more active and do my work more quickly. The reasons that it made me like that was because it had quite a lot of power in the song.

  11. Gina
    March 12, 2012 at 10:47 am

    I listen to turn me on by nicky majge it made me type faster because the rythem of it was really fast and i always copy the beat of the music i also listen to the one that got away by Katy perry it also have quite a fast rythem

  12. Tammy
    March 12, 2012 at 10:47 am

    I listened to Maroon 5 songs and other songs but mostly maoon 5
    Never gonna leave this bed
    Makes me wonder
    Wake up call
    Moves like jagger
    Goodnight
    She will be loved
    teenage dream
    earth quake
    It makes me calmed and I feel good and happy. Also I work quite fast with the music on i also like it.

    Here are a few:

    Tammy

    • 19pochrakamolp
      March 12, 2012 at 6:25 pm

      I also listened to Good feeling Florida
      party rock lmfao
      Set fire to the rain Adele

  13. March 12, 2012 at 10:49 am

    I didn’t listen to music while I was working.

    But usually the effect is I helps me to think harder and do more. I can only do that if i’m listening to the music that I like.
    So it basically means that it makes my work harder and concentrate on it more.

  14. March 12, 2012 at 10:56 am

    Hi, everyone!

    While I was working today, I listened to ‘Speck of Gold’ and ‘Alleluia’ because this was a music that was really relaxing and calm. Also I chose this music because I love listning to it and I love the rythm, etc. Actually, I thought the rythms were like my typing rythm!

    This had a very good effect on my work and my concentration because they are both calm but exciting music and it made me very concentrate and when I worked, I followed the music and thought about the questions very deeply.

    It had an effect on me becuase ‘Speck of Gold’ and ‘Alleluia’ is a music I listen often and I really don’t mind listenig to the lyrics. Also ‘Alleluia’ has very simple words; which is one word actually, Alleluia. So you really don’t care the lyrics because they sing Alleluia all the time and you can let the music flow in your mind. Also ‘Speck of Gold’ has very soft words so you can just let yourself flow into that music too.

    I want to persuade mom that music helps me a lot! This inspired me!

    See you,

    Vicky

  15. Caitie
    March 12, 2012 at 10:58 am

    Hi,
    I did not listen to any music because I find it distancing when I am working on some thing important.But I think it works on some people:) The room was nice and quite:)
    Caitie

  16. March 12, 2012 at 11:00 am

    Hi everyone,

    I listened to David Gutta (Turn Me On) , Jason Durelo (It Girl, Don’t wanna go home) , Florida (Hangover) DJ Khaled ( All I do is win). I listen to these songs because I know them and I always listen to them at home. The affect it had in my work is that it calmed me down and it made me write more words and write more creative. It also made me type more quickly when the songs get more quick. The affect that it has on me that it calms me down and kind of bring back memories that I can write about, it brings back memories because some of these songs are pretty old and I have been listening to it for a long time so it brings back memories which brings examples.

    By Madhav 👿

  17. Andrea
    March 12, 2012 at 11:01 am

    Hi 6SS,

    I can’t remember all the songs I listened to but I listened to Safe and Sound by Taylor Swift a few times because it’s not too fast and that makes it easier to concentrate. After listening to some slow songs, I got more confident and listened to Levels Avicii Skrillex Remix, Party Rock, What the Hell and etc.

    I think this made me concentrate better because I can then block out any distractions I could get from my friends or classmates.

    I think it had this effect on me because I’ve listened to music before while working and I’ve learned to do both at once.

  18. March 12, 2012 at 11:06 am

    Hi everyone!

    The songs I listened to today is songs that were in Japanese anime’s like katekyou hitman reborn funny day. I listened to these song because when our WL teacher was gone for a meeting my class listened to these songs and I worked harder then before so I chose to listen to these song.

    These songs made me work faster type faster and read faster for revising. It was good because it made me concentrate and it made my learning fun instead of more boring. It also made my work better then before because it was fun and I put 100%effort in my work. I normally put 95% or 90% but today I got to put 100% in my work.

    I think it had effect on me because it made my work more fun and I got to enjoy my work so I worked hard. I think that if you put music and make your work fun your work will improve by a bit or maybe a lot.

  19. March 12, 2012 at 11:16 am

    Hi 6ss,
    I think I concentrated more when I listened to music. At home I listen to Tabs running with the bell. Just like Yuki said when I listened to music it made me type way faster. It also made no mistake too. I am very surprised how music can make people work peacefully. The song called Set the fire to the rain really helped me. It made me calm. I was full of ideas in my head and I was kind of rushing. But this music helped me. Also the song Rolling in the deep helped me too.

  20. Mara
    March 12, 2012 at 11:17 am

    I listened to –
    Rolling in the Deep – Adele (2 times)
    Set Fire to the Rain – Adele (1,000,000,00 times) ( I love this song)
    Papi – Jennifer Lopez – (1 time)

    I think im used to listening to music because the way that the songs make me feel is amazing, I feel that im free and have nothing to do (but i have to do work) and i thought the way that i made an effort of choosing the right song that suites me.

  21. March 12, 2012 at 11:22 am

    Other songs that made me calm and made me type faster.

  22. Hannah
    March 12, 2012 at 11:23 am

    I listened to “Turn Me On” David Guetta ft Nicki Minaj because it has a beat you can listen to without getting a headache, so I can kind of type steadily while listening to music.

    It helped because I couldn’t hear the sound of everyone typing, and at the end talking because sometimes the sound can get irritating if you listen to it for a long time, but for a while it can also be nice to listen to people typing because it is the sound of concentration.

    The bad thing about listening, and being able to concentrate, that you are so concentrated that you only notice that the teacher is talking(if you do) when they are finishing.

    I think that I can concentrate while listening to music, ad it also helps from getting a song stuck in my head, because when I have a song stuck in my head I can’t concentrate on my work.

    I know that it had a good effect on me because I didn’t get involved in a conversation and I worked faster than my standard time.

  23. Hannah
    March 12, 2012 at 11:25 am

    I had also listened to other songs, but this is the song that made me concentrate most.

    Sorry that I forgot to add that in my other comment.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

