Home > Art, How we express ourselves, Perspective, Presenting > Homework: What is this about?

Homework: What is this about?

What message could this artist be trying to tell his audience? What do you think when you see it? What might it tell you about the artist’s life? What might it tell you about your own life?

  1. February 21, 2012 at 2:58 pm

    I think the message of this sculpture is: A man can be gray outside but bright inside.
    I can think of many messages out of this picture because I think it has many meanings. It might mean that there’s a courage inside because the red man looks brave. Also I think the author of this is really creative to create this because it tells a powerful message. I also think the message is: If you are gray outside the creativity can’t come out. It relates with what Mr. Sam said. If you think that you can’t do something, you really can’t do it. so the red inside can’t come out. It can’t defeat the dark gray.

    When I see this, I think of a person who is good inside but to negative outside to do it. The colors are really effective for the audience. I think the bright color represents positiveness, and the gray represent negativeness. I think the artist is trying to show us the difference between negativeness and positiveness. Positive can’t win negative. That’s why bad things are easy to do and good things are not easy to do.

    I think that when the artist was young, he/she had a negative life. Which prevents him/her from being creative. This sculpture might tell that the artist was a negative person but now, he/she’s not wearing the gray clothes. He/she is making a change. Maybe, the artist is now having a positive life with all the Lego sculptures he/she is making. Maybe he/she was inspired by something and became a positive, creative person. I think this relates to our unit. The artist is expressing him/herself creatively.

    This sculpture tells about me because before this unit, I was kind of a un-creative person but now, I am really creative. I don’t know how but I changed. I made a change like the sculpture. I think it tells that everybody can change. If you try, you can make it. This has a positive message. Everyone can change. It encourages people to try and don’t give up. I think this relates to everybody’s life.

    • Pat
      February 21, 2012 at 3:17 pm

      Yeah but then from your point of view if something inspires the man like our creativity project the red will have more chance of winning and maybe red will take over.
      PS: in a good way.:) 😐 😦

    • Pat
      February 21, 2012 at 3:31 pm

      I also think that the artist is trying to make it more obvious to us because gray is a dull color while red is a bright color. I also agree with jimin because if the artist wasn’t creative when he made the model he wouldn’t be using Lego to make it and he wouldn’t be doing it in the first place. 🙂 😐 🙂

  2. Pat
    February 21, 2012 at 3:03 pm

    Hi I think it is about your personality that you don’t show such as in the picture the outer man looks okay right? But the man inside is bad and the reson I think the author of this model made it was because he wanted to show people that people actually are not the same inside as what they look like from the outside. The thing that it could tell me is that don’t try to fake yourself just show your true self. 🙂 😦 😐

    • February 21, 2012 at 7:39 pm

      Nice one Pat,

      I really like what you said, I didn’t think about that one! 🙂

      Petanque

  3. February 21, 2012 at 3:41 pm

    I think the message of this has many meanings like Jimin said, and the message is kind of like Luke’s Way of Looking when the teacher is gray because he isn’t creative and that Luke is the only colorful one and I think that this sculpture is trying to show creativity.

    When I first saw this picture the first think that came to my head was the difference between the two like the man in gray is someone who is dull and boring and the man in red is someone who is brave and can’t wait to get right to it.

    I think that the artist’s life might have had its ups and downs and probably had a very negative life, and probably still is a negative person who is trying to get out.

    This scuplture tells a bit about me in some ways like before this unit I was a pretty quiet person but now I’m free and out of my old self, this scuplture also has a positive message and it tells others more about creativity.

    • February 21, 2012 at 6:10 pm

      I agree with you melis it does remind me of lukes way of looking

  4. 19vickyh
    February 21, 2012 at 3:52 pm

    I think the artist is trying to say that ‘people can be the world richest and nicest outside but there’s very different person inside. They will show their real person sometimes’. I thought this because it the person outside looks like a gentle, rich man, but the red person inside him kind of shows me he has lots of anger and more in his heart. When I was working on my creativity project, I searched about color red and it means, love and in a way a show of anger. I think this should be more of the anger because its face looks as if it really wants to revenge on someone. I think the artist is also trying to say be careful of what you talk about to people. They might be really angry inside but not showing it.

    In my opinion the sculpture looks as if it really needs to get his own personality out. Also it looks as if it finally came to the real world and he can really express himself now. It actually likes now he can really get free. The red guy’s face looks like frowning but also smiling.

    I think it tells that the artist always wanted to express creatively and now he really found his own life; expressing himself by Lego. Also I think he wanted to show that he sometimes didn’t beware of speaking and he knew he hurted people inside. I think he knew how it feels like just laughing outside and really sad, depressed, angry inside. Also I think he know what people feel like. He understood.

    I actually, looking myself in this sculpture and my life makes me pretty connected. Lots of people say I am a positive person but in my heart when somebody teases me or more. I laugh about it because I don’t want to hurt other’s feelings but inside I feel sad, lonely, depressed and angry too. Once again I realized that I should express myself more often and use this quote, ‘I do what I think is right’ by Jamie Oliver. Also I want to use this quote too. ‘You’ve got to stop being worried about what might and take a part of what is’, from Jamie Oliver. Also I will be more of a risk taker too.

    See you,

    Vicky

    • 19vickyh
      February 21, 2012 at 3:53 pm

      Hi everyone,

      believe me, you always need to be careful with what you say and what effect you might have on them. You also need to appreciate them.

      See you,
      Vicky

  5. February 21, 2012 at 4:21 pm

    Hi,

    I think this artist is trying to tell us that all humans have creativity but some are afraid to show it because the outside man is all dark, pale and boring but the inside is red and bright. I also think this way because it’s a business man (people usually associate suits and formal looking people as business men so that’s why I think it’s a business man) on the outside and business men don’t usually think very creatively.

    I totally agree with Melis that when I see this, I see a boring and dull man who always stays in the boundaries and a brave and daring man who isn’t afraid of failure which is exactly what creativity is: “An essential aspect of creativity is not being afraid to fail.” – Edwin Land.

    I think this might tell you the artist probably had a life like Luke in Luke’s Way of Looking. He was probably brought up learning to do everything the ‘correct’ way.

    I think it tells us that we all have creativity but we need to let it out instead of keeping it inside of ourselves because most people do that.

    Andrea

    • February 21, 2012 at 4:25 pm

      I actually know who the artist is and I’ve seen his artwork before (on the internet) including this one but I think there should be more ways to think about his artwork than just the title.

      • 19vickyh
        February 21, 2012 at 5:18 pm

        I agree with you,

        Andrea! There are always different perspective in one sculpture.

  6. Billy
    February 21, 2012 at 4:36 pm

    Hi 6SS,
    I think that the artist is trying to tell us that he really likes making sculptures which is quite obvious and also I think that the person is telling you do not be a boring person, let your colorful side come out. I think this because there is a boring old person in a suit and a red man, I would rather be the red man! I think that thus guy is really showing you about the switch about being serious and being fun and creative! I think this because this sculpture has a dull side and a light side it is almost as though he is acting!

    What might it tell you about the artist’s life?

    This artist’s life is probably boring at work and he has to be serious as well as dull when at home he can be enthusiastic, have fun and be colorful. I think there are a lot of people that are either only serious or a clown, we have got a lot of them in our class! I think everyone in his life like him because he has a switch and they appreciate that!

    What might it tell you about your own life?

    This tells me that I am not as creative as people think I am. I have the same routine everyday go to school, do sport, come home, eat, do homework and go to sleep it goes on and on and on! I think I also need more of a switch I am improving a lot since the beginning of the year but I need to sometimes be more serious so I do not make Mr. Sam faint!!!!

    Cheers,

    Billy

    • February 21, 2012 at 4:39 pm

      Sorry I left the questions there I did it on my mum’s IPhone and it is hard to see all of the things I have wrote!!

  7. February 21, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    Hello 6SS,

    In my opinion of the message that the artist is trying to say is become a creative person and express how you feel. I think it means that the statue that this artist created is just a ordinary man but this man still has a big and innocent heart. I think this artist is also trying to tell us to be a thinker and get an idea of what you want to do today for example: I want to do a huge graffitti painting on the walls across the street the artist would say “well go and do what you want to do and only listen to your heart”. I think that what the artist would say but the whole message that I think he is trying to us humanbeings is just listen to what your heart is saying.

    When I see this peice of work it just reminds me of the lego playtime that they have in the emporium shopping mall because I went to see it once all the lego things that the people who work over there. They created. Taj Mahal, Bigben & Effel Tower they had more too. It is so cool to make sculptures out of lego.

    What I think abput the artist’s life when I see this piece of art I feel that this artist love’s to make sculptures out of lego and he just makes these cool sculputers anywhere I think this artist just makes all these sculpters wherever he/she goes. I think the artist wants to imagine the whole city with his/hers sculptures around the whole country. I think the artist is also trying to express himself creativly by telling his story through lego.

    This relates to me in the future because I am a shy person who is always scared to answer questions but later because of this it teaches me that I have the right to do anything and I have the confidence in myself and I can do it. This also teachs me alot by expressing myself in an creative way instead if a normal boring way.

    Tamanna

  8. February 21, 2012 at 5:57 pm

    I think the artist that made the sculpture is also trying to tell audiences to express themselves and show the truth.

    When I saw the picture, I was interested in what the message was. I had some questions in my head. It made me think of “Luke’s Way of Looking”. Outside is grey because outside is just object but inside is a feeling which is bright. I also think creative people are bright.

    I think the artist did not express himself when he was young and did not show his truth. I think because of that, he had a negative time and thought he should express himself.

    The sculpture tells about me because I did not express myself much. I used to be quiet.

  9. February 21, 2012 at 5:59 pm

    Hi,

    This connects to the conversation we had about people who never speak nor take parts in the conversation and people who talk a lot and shouts. This also connects with our creativity project because we are doing the creativity project to express ourselves about what we are inspired by.

    Mari 😀 🙂 😀

  10. Pan
    February 21, 2012 at 6:02 pm

    My comment is gone because i pressed backsapce

    • February 21, 2012 at 6:08 pm

      you didn’t write it in the Mycrosoft?

      • Pan
        February 21, 2012 at 6:09 pm

        no i did on the comment thing

    • 19vickyh
      February 22, 2012 at 4:21 pm

      Hi Pan,

      so can you tell us again about wht you think?

      Vicky 😀

  11. February 21, 2012 at 6:07 pm

    think the artists is trying to tell us to get out of our boring self`s and start being freeand creative and artistic.When i see it it makes my think of my trip to LEGO LAND ere were so many big cool and creative LEGO sculptures. I think this piece of artlets us know what type of person he is. I think he is a guy that can think of somthin for children and make it in to art for every age. I am not really sure what it tells about my life.

  12. Gina
    February 21, 2012 at 6:07 pm

    Hi,
    I think the message that the artiest is talking about is don’t keep to much secrets because then you might tell every one by accident.Also I think it mean show your really personalty don’t hide it show it to other people.

    It kind of make me feel creative because for real I am not creative at all I copy people so it kind of show me of who I am for real. the red person is the real me and the person out side it how I act in school.

    I think the artiest life can be really difficult because it looks like he had a really boring life and he wanted to be creative so he made this sculpture i also make me think why did he make it? is it really how he or she is?

    it kind of tell me that I am the red person and the outer skin is how I am because some people like Tamana is really shy and some are not when I was little I was really funny and I was really popular and now I am not so popular and I have so friend and my goal is to be more confident so the red person is when I was little and the outer is me now

    Love:Gina 😛

  13. Vin
    February 21, 2012 at 6:31 pm

    Hi,
    I think this message has many different meanings, because when I first looked at it I saw different things. I think that people can act very differently, because there is a deep contrast between the outside person and the inner being. As I said, I think there are many messages that you can get from this piece of art. When I first saw it, I thought that although you are something on the outside, you can be something totally different on the inside. The man on the outside is cool, calm and handsome, but inside there is a demon trying to break though. Some people act nicely, but inside they are just thinking how they could bring you down without any damage to them, such as a win-lose situation.

    There is a example of this in our class that I hope will go away, but we just have to see. When Mr. Sam is here, and he is the person who tells people to act in wisely, because some people are not wise enough to act without someone who stops and thinks sitting beside them and ‘holding their hand’. When we move on to secondary,and into life, no one is there to do that for you. As Mr. Sam said, you can’t act like this while you are at work, because your boss can’t keep sitting around ordering you to work. However, this will not happen to people who act wisely and actually become a boss themselves. When Mr. Sam is not here, I think most sensible people in our class know that a group of people constantly act unwisely, such as interrupting people and speaking to their friends during class conversations.

    I think the artist is very creative because he expressed himself in a way that is unusually good and innovative, and also he did something that people would normally never think of and do. Another thing that contributed to him successfully getting his messages across in the form of sculptures was that he took action instead of just sitting around.

    Even if you have a good idea, you must make sure it can happen and only then will you be able to change the world. Many people who revolutionized the way we see things had a good idea in their head, but then they also took action. People like Jamie Oliver.

    I also see the message in a different light. You may be quiet and reserved on the outside, always watching and observing the noisy idiots blundering about, but on the inside your head is just bursting with ideas and thoughts, which you can only get out through a way that does not involve people being near to you and squashing you all the time. Even then, you should never give up and always try to get you ideas and thought across. Many famous people always tried to do something new and interesting, but because of this they were always criticized for their beliefs and thoughts, due to the fact that the uninterested and boring people around them always stuck the to the ‘traditional’ method.

    Orville and Wilbur Wright were always criticized for their belief that one day man would be able to take to the skies, because the people around them did not want to accept and embrace a mysterious concept that they could not understand. The brothers persevered and never gave up, and finally in 1905 they achieved manned, controlled and lasting flight. Over the decades, their invention were modified, changed and built upon.
    It caused a shift in the course of history and changed the world forever.

  14. victor
    February 21, 2012 at 7:21 pm

    i think that the message that this artist want to say is that you shouldnt care about the outside but the inside like not how you look but how your personality is.

    that before he was allwys cared about looks but not about the inside but now he has realised that personality is more important than looks it inspired him to make this sculpture and like it made of lego it must mean that he likes lego.

    that usually i care a lot about my looks but not about my personnality.

  15. Tammy
    February 21, 2012 at 7:36 pm

    Hi guys

    I agree with Jimin and other people too but when I see it remind me of the quote don’t judge a book by it’s cover.
    I think the artist is trying to say that how people look is not the same as their personality. It tells me about my life that I sometimes judge people b y there looks but mostly I judge them by personality.

    Tammy

  16. February 21, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    Heyy,

    I agree with everything you say Jimin, but the first look of this photo I thought the grey man is really closed minded, always live inside the shell and never peak out. But then the red one is powerful, ready to shine, bright and willing to try new things. Coming out of the shell. I also think one person can have two different colors. There are 2 people in one person. (Two sides of us.) For example different chemicals react differently to how there are used. Or one neggative side and possitive side. Its also you change with your surroundings or who your with. I also think you shouldn’t look at the people from there appearance but look at their insides.

    I have a connection how I am this sort of person. I am the dark grey one when I am like Alice (No Offense) evrything is wrong, I will not try anything new I will do it like I always do it. But I know I should always be willing to try new things incase it makes a change.

    See ya,

    Petanque

    • February 22, 2012 at 6:33 am

      I totally agree there are a lot of 2 sided people in our class, that is a good thing. Being two sided means you can have fun and be serious, that is something I would really like to achieve!

  17. Stefan
    February 21, 2012 at 7:45 pm

    I think that the message is that a person could be mean, rude and selfish on the outside but on the inside he is cool, kind and knowledgeable.

    When I see this I immediately think about Lego and how much I used to love it.

    I think that the Artist is a Lego addict and likes to express himself creatively.

    My life is also like Lego because everything in my life changes just like Lego. And I can change it myself.

    • 19vickyh
      February 21, 2012 at 7:54 pm

      Hi, Stefan!

      Can you say more about this? Your comment is very powerful but I want to know more.

      See you,

      Vicky.

      • February 22, 2012 at 6:34 pm

        Hi Stefan,

        I agree with Vicky – can you explain more? How does your life change like Lego? Do you mean by time or by something else?

  18. Hannah
    February 21, 2012 at 8:11 pm

    I think the artist is trying to tell his audience, wherever you are, you should always find a way to see new things, and open the door, and expand your learning from just black, to the most amazing things that not many people can see. He might also try and tell you that you need oxygen and that you first need to breathe in, before you breathe out. He might also be saying that you sometimes need to stop and look at things or else you will walk by, trying to think about what you are going to do when it is lunch break, and think about what you are doing that second, missing one thousand things. The red man seems to stand out, and his face face shows amazement, that is why he is standing out, because he sees things differently.

    When I first looked at the piece of art I thought that the red man just a face sticking out, but after a while I saw that he was more than just a red man, with its mouth open. I also think, he might be amazed, because he might have been thinking in the mans perspective, and saw that the man wasn’t seeing anything exiting, just what am I going to do? Maybe he saw that the just had more and more boring questions, that he wouldn’t try finding the answer to, but think of another question instead. Maybe the red man was someone who, asked himself lots of questions, but actually got up, to answer those questions he had asked himself, he would think of what his dream was, and get up to make a dream become reality. He thinks that anyone can fulfill their dream, but when he got into someone elses perspective he found out that other people, who just think negative, that can only think negative fulfill their darkest nightmare.

    I think the sculpture shows that the artist is very creative, and takes risks. Probably it was his dream to become an artist, and he has fulfilled it, and shows other people, that they can do the same. He probably sets big goals for himself, and takes on challenges, that then become a big piece of art, that he becomes famous for. I can see that the artist does the thing that he is showing the world to do, which is to become someone very exciting to hang out with and someone who is inspiring and gets inspired.

    I think the sculpture tells me that I am a little bit more like the gray person, not the red, but that I am becoming redder and redder while looking and thinking more and more about the sculpture. I know that I sometimes breathe out before I breathe in, and I need to try to prevent that from happening, or else I am not going to achieve my goal, which, in that case is getting oxygen. I think that I often fade a little more, but then become brighter again, and I need to try to stay bright, and after I accomplished that I will set my goal to even brighter.

    Hannah

  19. Yasmin
    February 21, 2012 at 8:21 pm

    Maybe the message is telling us that your not the person you think you are you accully a exellent or rough person.

    When I see that picture I immediately think thats so cool, i feel like doing somthing with lego now.

    What I think it tells about the artists life is he is a lego fan,the knows what he’s doing and he thinks creatively.

    What it tells about my life is I’m not always the same person that I think I am and that lego is what my life is about.

  20. aryan
    February 21, 2012 at 8:27 pm

    hi guys!

    I think the artist is trying tell people to think out of the box and look at things closely it might turn out to be something unexpected. He is also saying that creativity comes from the inside not the outside.

    first i thought this is someone that is just doing any random thing but then i looked closely and i think that it is someone that is not creative someone that has a plain suit but it chose the person that is in the inside and that one was creative and a different color that showed that he is creative.

    i think the artist might have parents that was creative and closed minded or it was that both his parents were closed minded and he was really creative and his parents thought he was weird like Mr baraghlaugh thought Luke was.

    I think it has to do with my own life because it tells me that no matter what tries to stop you always be creative.

  21. February 21, 2012 at 10:46 pm

    Hi everyone!

    What message could this artist is trying to tell his audience?

    I think this person who looks like a businessman is trying to tell you that it’s very challenging and really hard in the business world right now. The man looks like he is trying to call help but he can’t do it. It looks like he was hiding his thoughts and feelings for a long time. But now he could wait no longer. The red face sticking his head out is the clue telling you his moan.

    There are also messages like if you don’t come out of your safety zone (turtles shell) you will miss every single opportunities and chances that come to you. For example if one of India’s heroes Muhammad Gandhi was really upset but didn’t care and said, “I don’t like England’s laws but I don’t care” and if he had no motivation he wouldn’t be famous throughout the world. Also there will probably be no country called India if he didn’t fight against the British government.

    It also means that people are sometimes two-faced. Unfortunately there are people who say nice things to you, but say different things to different people. Even you might have to be two-faced if you are given in a particular situation. I think these are one of the major messages that the artist wants young people to know and to learn from it to become a wiser person when they grow up.

    What do you think when you see it?

    As soon as I saw this picture of Lego blocks I react to it. This is the best reaction. The best reaction that I did was for me to be amazed and interested about this wonderful creative sculpture. Also my head was filled with questions. It was like rain drops. There were millions of questions falling down from the sky. One of my questions were “why did he use red colors in the face?” “Does it have something to do with the message or is it just because the artist liked the color red and he wanted to put it?”

    What I like about this sculpture is that the artist turns boring Lego pieces that are made from plastic (maybe something else) into a sculpture that inspires people and might even be bought by someone in the future.

    What might it tell you about the artist’s life?

    I think this artist had a harsh life with a lot of cruel stuff going around him. He is telling us how hard his life was and how hard he studied to survive in the business world. It’s like fish in a pond. If you don’t learn what strategies humans use to catch fish someday you will defiantly get caught in a net or in a hook. There might be some people who give you a chance (in the real world it could be your family, friend, some rich person) and put you back in the water but there are some people who don’t give you any chances (One chance you mess it up your out).

    What might it tell you about your own life?

    I don’t really think this might connect to our life right now that much but I think it will start connecting to our life when we become 20+ and we start getting a job. It is telling us to do a lot of stuff that we are going to experience in the future. For example it is telling us that we should speak up and say our own thinking. It also says to us that we shouldn’t react the unwise way, because if you get busted by a person who has more power than you if you act unwisely and start swearing at him or doing something at him you will get fired or even you might get beaten (not sure about the last part).

    • 19vickyh
      February 22, 2012 at 4:21 pm

      HI Yuki,

      I really appreciate you as you write so detailed! Also Hannah and Vin too!

      See you everyone,

      Vicky

  22. Mara
    February 22, 2012 at 6:50 am

    Hi Everyone!
    I think this means that this artist needs to get a big DEVIL out of him, because he is showing his feelings about what is happening in his life. Is it happy? Maybe. Is he sad? Probably. You tell me. I agree with Yuki, he must of had a very hard life at, studying, working all those things but I also have to say, remember when Mr. Sam showed us those pictures of a woman trying to get a devil out of her, and she screams, well its like that.

  23. March 18, 2012 at 7:31 am

    Heya i’m for the primary time here. I found this board and I to find It truly helpful & it helped me out a lot. I am hoping to give one thing again and help others like you helped me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

