Home > Feedback, Field Trip, Reflection > Math Competition

Math Competition

Hi Everyone!

I have some great news!

Yesterday, (Saturday) I went to Pan- Asia school math competition with other 8 people. I was really nervous at first. When we arrived at the school, we each got a folder and waited for 30 minutes until the competition. We each went in a room. I was sharing the room with a lot of people. I was relieved because I sat right next to Am. We had 1 hour limit for doing the written test. It was really difficult. After the 1st round test, we waited for the results to come. NIST was on the Top 4 school list! Year 5 went to compete fist. They were 4th. Then my group, Kaylene and Jack and I, went to compete. The question was on the computer. We had to press the button to pick the right answer. It was really hard. My heart was thumping so much that it almost blew up! WE WERE FIRST!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀 😀 I was so happy when we got the trophy and the prize money. The year sevens got 2nd. They got a trophy and prize money too. But ours were the BEST! Our prize money: 3, 500 Baht! We had to pay 1, 500 for the registration fee. It was okay though. We collected our money altogether and decided: Y6: 600 Baht each, Y7: 500 baht each Y5: 400 baht each.

This was a great experience because I now made friends with Kaylene and I now knew Am better. 🙂

What do you think about this??

Categories: Feedback, Field Trip, Reflection Tags:
  1. priti(aryan's mum)
    February 19, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    congratulations. you make your school proud. keep it up!

  2. February 19, 2012 at 2:45 pm

    Congrats!!

  3. Vin
    February 19, 2012 at 3:18 pm

    Congratulations, Jimin! I wish I could participate! I like math, but I couldn’t go. Was Jack from 6JB? Also, was there a guy called Much? I know Jack and Kaylene, they are both in my WL class. By the way, on Feb 29th, I am going to Bangkok Pattana school to compete in a literacy competition, where I have to read, write, and research, because of my advanced ability in literacy. I did a test like this before, called SCAT(elementary version of SAT) and I got an average score of a year 8 in language and literacy(99 percentile). In the summer, I am going for a talented youth course in a university in Hong Kong and a high school in USA.

    • February 19, 2012 at 7:47 pm

      Good Luck Vin!!!

    • February 20, 2012 at 5:13 pm

      Good luck and all the best!

  4. February 19, 2012 at 7:44 pm

    Jimin Cat Meow (Jimin obious) congrats!!! I knew you can do it!!!

  5. February 19, 2012 at 7:46 pm

    It is nice that you made new friends.

  6. Tammy's mom
    February 20, 2012 at 8:55 am

    Congratulations Jimin. Very well done. Your parents are very proud of you. I wish Tammy be good at Math like you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

