Who’s ideas and actions have inspired us this year?

We have been influenced and inspired by lots of different people this year. Let’s make a list of those people so we can can more about them. So, think about all of the following types of people and make a comment to tell us their names and how they have had an effect on us.

  • Authors
  • Guest Speakers
  • People on TV
  • People who write websites or blogs
  • Film-makers
  • Sportspeople
  • Musicians
  • Actors
  • Business people
  • Adults in our community
  • People on TED
  • others I haven’t thought of!
  1. December 16, 2011 at 4:31 pm

    Hi everyone!

    Julian Treasure and Mr. Sam had a strong influence on me. Julian Treasure affected me because he told me about the power of listening to other people and how we are losing the power of listening to other people. He told us how to use R.A.S.A. (Receive, Appreciate, Summarize and Ask). Because of him I think I became a better listener.

    Mr. Sam also affected me. In all my years at NIST I never had a teacher who teaches like Mr. Sam. He taught me a lot about wisdom and being wise and he also told us that we need to be mean sometimes to other people otherwise they would lack off and not do anything for the whole time.

    The 6SS blog was also good. It was the most creative blog that I’ve ever seen. Most of the blogs are for the teachers to post something but in this blog we could also post our thinking and videos. We could exchange, deepen and expand our ideas. The 6SS blog gave us great opportunities to be a better thinker.

  2. 19vint
    December 16, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    Hi,
    I think Julian Treasure, James and Mr. Sam influenced me for the better. When I watched the videos about James, it made be think more about myself and how organized I was. He was disgusting because of disorganization and laziness, so that spurred me on to be totally unlike him. After watching him, I made sure to clean up my mess.

    I wasn’t there to watch Julian Treasure’s TED talk, but I learned about RASA anyways. I think we seriously need to have just at least 3 minutes a day of silence.

    Mr. Sam also affected me in a good way. Mr Sam teaches in a different way from the others at NIST, in a good way. School is not only about academics, but also about you and how you act. I learned a lot about wisdom and how to act in his class, from watching people around me and how I acted.

    I agree that the 6SS blog is very good, because it is used not only for work, but also to post what you like. I learned how to better express my opinion and thoughts through this blog. It is very creative, therefore resulting in many posts and viewers.

  3. Melis
    December 26, 2011 at 8:25 pm

    Hi 6SS,

    Two people have really inspired me and influenced me, Severn Suzuki and Mr. Sam. Severn Suzuki showed me that a kid can also make a difference and that it is not to late to change our future even though I have only heard one speech she has really changed me and she taught me that small steps can make a huge difference.

    Mr. Sam also affected me by teaching me about wisdom and being wise, which has really changed me and I agree with Vin school is not only about the academics but it is also about you and how you act.

    These two people have influenced me for the better and made me a much different person than I was before.

  4. December 31, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    HEY GUYS,

    the one`s that inspired me this semester were the people i interviewed for the flood project. All of them had there house flooded so i interviewed them with the help of MS. Sue. They made me realise what it feels like to own a house that has effected by the flood.

    I also feel that MR. Sam because he is the one that made me feel better
    of my self by being my self and also by reading the book called
    “Dont sweat the small stuff”.
    Also he has inspired me to think deeper into things and not always judge
    people from there out sides.

    Thank you

  5. January 2, 2012 at 11:24 am

    Hi everyone!

    For me, Julian Treasure and Mr. Sam influenced me. Julian Treasure’s ted talk made me more concentrate more and after listening to it, I was more of a comb person! Even my mom told me I was better at concentrating! I thought, ‘listening is very important to us’. Also after learning R.A.S.A, I became a better listner.

    Mr.Sam influenced me because he made me think deeper into ideas. Also he made me more of a comb person. By reading, “Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff’, I got to be a concentrating, comb person. It seemed like he was always reminding me to be wise. Now, I always think before I act and more. He also helped me of getting free and doing things creative. Also, he made me things I never tried before: taking photos! Now I love taking photos of things and I find things look different how you take photos!

    These people influced me and I will never forget what they taught me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

