What did you learn?

We were very lucky that Ping-Ko, Gordon, Bim and Beaux were able to come and talk to us about their direct experiences of the flooding in Thailand. They shared photos and videos of the places they had been and they told us stories of what they had seen. They also gave us their perspectives on what is going on and some information about how and why the situation has become so bad.

Make a comment to share the most important or interesting thing you learned from the Year 12 students.

Here are the videos they showed us:

 

  1. Zola
    November 29, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    I learned that there is water at ayutaya that is twice the size of a average year 12

    • Hannah
      November 29, 2011 at 5:20 pm

      Do you really think that, that was the most important thing you learned? Please make a more detailed comment.

      Thank you

  2. November 29, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    Hi,
    I learned that the flood is still going on and that people are still being affected by it. I think they did a wonderful presentation because they explained it very clearly and they taught us about it easily. Also I felt really sorry for the people who live in 2M flood water. I think they should have let water through Bangkok and to the sea. Then other people would have not got that much affect by the flood. I am concerned because it might happen next year too. I think the government is not caring enough because they just keep their stuff and not doing anything much about it. I think the politics are not really good right now. At least someone has to care and think about what will the people feel when their house got flooded. I also learned that if the flood water goes in the sea, then the sea will be polluted. They need to think about the sea too. The flood water has a lot of germs. What about the whales? Fishes? This is really a serious disaster in Thailand.

    • Mr. Sam
      November 30, 2011 at 8:11 pm

      Good points, Jimin. The last part is really scary and I guess I hadn’t really thought about what would happen when all of this disgusting water reaches the sea. We are already doing a wonderful job of polluting the sea, destroying coral reefs and doing way too much fishing so this is really going to be another catastrophe caused by humans.

  3. aryan123
    November 29, 2011 at 4:25 pm

    Hi i learned that The government doesn’t care about how many people are in one house if twelve people are in one house and one person in another they get the same amount of food.

    • Ping-Ko Chiu
      November 29, 2011 at 7:23 pm

      Hi,
      It’s not totally correct to say that the government doesn’t care about the people. The government is having difficulties and inefficiency in distributing the goods. This means that not all of the flood victims are receiving an equal amount of supplies. While that there are enough goods for everyone, they are being distributed unequally and causing problems.
      Hope this helps!

      • Mr. Sam
        November 30, 2011 at 8:12 pm

        It is not easy to deal with a situation like this, and the government is quite new. Perhaps in countries with more stable political systems it would easier and different political parties would not use disasters like this as an opportunity to get more support or to ruin the reputation of others!

    • November 29, 2011 at 8:30 pm

      Hi Aryan,

      Can you explain more? Why is this the most interesting/important thing you heard?

    • November 30, 2011 at 1:54 pm

      Hi Aryan,
      I think you have to put your name just Aryan. Not Aryan123.

  4. Pat
    November 29, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    The most interesting fact that I learned today is that places in nonthaburi are flooded to 2 meters because when I went there the water level wasn’t that high and that people don’t even fight for the relief packs when they seriosly need it.

  5. Madhav
    November 29, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    Hi everyone,

    I learned that that the government is not providing that much food and water for people. I also learned that in Ayutaya that the water is really high twice as a secondary high, and that alot of factory’s got flooded and people are losing there jobs and economy. I also learned that the government doesn’t care if 12 people live in the house, the government just gives the same amount as 3 people. I think that it is unfair because the people with less food and water will suffer and eventually die.

    By Madhav

    • Mr. Sam
      November 30, 2011 at 8:20 pm

      Do you think it would be difficult or easy to know how many people are staying in a house in this kind of situation? When you think of how many people are affected by the flooding, is it simple or complicated to try and help them all in the same way?

  6. Hannah
    November 29, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    I learned a lot during the lesson, but the most important thing I learned was that, if you give the food to the community they will not share it equally to the people living in one house, like the family who took in three other families, which made them twelve people in the house but got the same amount of food as a family with two-three people in it, it was not enough for them all to eat. Like they told us, you should give it to them individually, so they all get a fair share of the food and water.

    I find it very impressive that the thai people stand in line calmly, not running to get the food and water or else they might not get any, and if they don’t get any they wait for another truck, I think they are acting respectful to the others who are also waiting to get food, and to the people who are giving them the food and water, by saying thank you and treating the things with respect, not fighting over the food, so the people who bring the food might feel bad that they didn’t bring enough, or that there was no use because nobody is happy that they got the food, just bringing in unhappiness.

    Hannah

    • Mr. Sam
      November 30, 2011 at 8:21 pm

      Yes, the behaviour in the lines was very interesting – have a look at my reply to Pan above.

  7. Stefan
    November 29, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    I think the most important thing that I learned today was that the insurance company will not pay for damaged homes.

    • November 29, 2011 at 8:05 pm

      Hi Stefan,

      can you explain more please?

    • Mr. Sam
      November 30, 2011 at 8:21 pm

      Yes, this is very interesting isn’t it. In my experience, insurance companies nearly always try to avoiding giving people any money. Do you know why they might act like that?

  8. November 29, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    Hi everyone!
    I learned a lot in this lesson, but what I really was interested was that the communities are not helping and giving the flood victims equally. I thought this was not fair for the people when they share their shelter with their neighborhoods even though they have difficulties living on their own! I think when I was the person who the electricity, I will not share them the shelter because we are also having problems. I was so ashamed that people are helping each other more even though they are really in a difficult situation. The other thing I was really interested on was when the animals lost their shelter and is living where it is dry. Before I heard about this, I always thought, ‘the snakes were scary and the crocodiles are scary too so I should be careful’ but after I saw their presentation, I thought more deeply and thought about them living in places they are new to and they should be scared too. I also thought that they should also have terrible things happening on their mind because of this flood. Then I thought how I will feel if I was the animal and I lost my home. I should’ve felt really scared in the new world.
    Also I found impressive the Thai people are calmly just taking their things because if this happened in Korea, there might’ve been a big fight or more! I thought we, Koreans should learn from Thai people.

    • Mr. Sam
      November 30, 2011 at 8:23 pm

      Yes, I was also very interested in the animals when the Y12s described it so well – that the animals have “lost their habitats too and have to find new places to live.”

  9. November 29, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    Billy

    It is still happening and it has not improved to much it still is 2.60 meters in some places which is really high!
    I think the flood is awful, but hearing that it is that bad has really made me think more about what is actually happening with the flood, is it getting better? Is it getting worse? Is it going away? Is it going to go in a month?

    What do you think about what will happen?

    Billy

    • Mr. Sam
      November 30, 2011 at 8:24 pm

      Well… the Y12s answered these questions for you already, Billy. Some fo the water is going down, but that does not mean it is getting any better. In many ways, it is getting worse as people are starting to realize how much needs to be done once the water has gone.

  10. Caitie : )
    November 29, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    I learned that from the insurance company’s perspective the damage from the flood is not from a natural disaster because the government intervened.

    • November 29, 2011 at 8:31 pm

      Hi Caitie,

      Why is this the most interesting/important thing you have heard? Can you please explain more and add more detail?

    • Mr. Sam
      November 30, 2011 at 8:25 pm

      This is very interesting isn’t it – insurance companies are very good at writing “small print”. Do you know what I mean by that?

      • November 30, 2011 at 8:56 pm

        Hi Mr Sam,

        It’s the words in a contract that are written extremely small or complicated so that the person signing the contract will miss it.

        • Mr. Sam
          December 1, 2011 at 2:55 pm

          You know all about it!

  11. Pan
    November 29, 2011 at 6:46 pm

    I learned that the floods are still going on in bangkok and it is not actually a natural disaster it is caused by the government not managing it well to make thailand that means they can’t prevent it from happening and they are not aware of it.
    Pan

    • Mr. Sam
      November 30, 2011 at 8:26 pm

      I guess you could say it started as a natural disaster and then became a man-made disaster – like most disasters!!!

  12. November 29, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    Hi Everyone,

    I think the most interesting thing I learned from the Year 12s was that the flooding started in late July but only announced on the media later on. I thought the media announced things immediately because they wanted the headlines to be important.

    This also gave me something to think about for my inquiry which is ‘What are the truth and lies about the flood in the media?’. Now, I can think about ‘Does the media give us “fresh news” everyday?’ as another one of my big questions.

    • Vin
      November 29, 2011 at 8:15 pm

      Hi Andrea,
      I think that most media only reports a story when it’s big, fresh, and hot.

      • November 29, 2011 at 8:23 pm

        Hi Vin,

        I agree with you. That was why I was interested in this. I thought the media tells us things when they are ‘fresh’ because they want headlines to be important and those sort of things.

        • Mr. Sam
          November 30, 2011 at 8:27 pm

          You may be right if you’re talking only about the “mainstream” media. However, there are other media sources that we can find to get closer to the truth and to find out about things that are no longer “fresh and hot” enough for the mainstream!

          Great conversation you two, by the way.

  13. Vin
    November 29, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    There were a lot of interesting things that I learned from today’s presentation. I was surprised to learn that the flooding actually started in July, because the media only stated that the flooding approximately began two months ago.
    Also, I learned that if you share food by means of the community, people don’t get equal amounts of food. However, if you go house by house and give out food according to the number of people living in that house, it will be more fair. One crime that people think is happening a lot government corruption, because most people think the government is not doing the right thing. As Ping-Ko said, it is not correct to state that the government does not care about the people. I think it is mainly that they do not know their plan that well, which resulted in inefficiency in helping. People are helping each other, because today I learned that there were twelve people in one house, which was 3 families, but some people, mostly ‘rich’ people are corrupted and bad, while ‘poor’ people(villagers) are being treated badly.

  14. Tamanna
    November 29, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    Hi Everyone

    My opinion of what I learned was that the flood started in late July. I did not know that the flood started since late July I thought the flood was because the dam in Northern Thailand broke last month October but I just found out that it started since late July. I also learned that the flood is not yet gone I thought it went away and all the water went to the sea but I just found out that it is still affecting the country and still many people are getting really affected by the terrible flood that Thailand is going through right now. I also learnt that the khlong water goes to the chaophraya river and i think the chaophraya is getting flooded too. I also learnt that the khlong water is getting a little higher now.

    The flood is getting worse I really hope it gets over as soon as possible!

    Tamanna

  15. Petanque
    November 29, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    Hi Mr. Sam,

    I really like the example that the guy gave that a chemical factory is flooded and the water still carries the chemical. Then the water travels down to a city that has many trash,rubbish, junk and that water still holds chemical. So now he water that is traveling carries chemicals germs and garbage. Then when it reaches somewhere where there are many diseases. The water now carries diseases, garbage, chemical and germs. Imagine that passing your house and spreading it all over. All the water can even get worse.

    I don’t really know how to explain it but I drew kind of like a diagram.

    Petanque

  16. November 29, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    Hi everyone

    Today It was really fun and interesting. I got to learn a lot of things about the flood. I also got knew facts to put in my ‘Spider Web’. There were many things that impressed and surprised me. Like the one about when the flood started. I thought it started around August but I never knew it started on July. I don’t really know why the government had to hide the news from the people who live around there. But the most important thing that the year twelves were trying to tell us is that the flood is not over and still many people are suffering by the flood. Just because we aren’t right inside the flood that doesn’t mean that the flood is over. The flood is still occurring in poor towns like towns around Bangkok. Like they said many people are still suffering in the floods so we shouldn’t think that its over.

    I was also surprised about how Thai people are so generous and mindful. In the cities most of the Thai people are don’t care about each other. But in the towns and other villages they care for each other. It’s just like Japan. When we go to Japan we go to our grandma’s house in the village of Nara. There are many people who come to us and share their vegetables that they made themselves. I think that its because just like the Ubuntu villages each person in the village take part of an important roll. Each person respects each other so I think they can’t do disrespectful stuff to them. This is why I think they are so generous and mindful of each other and everything in the village.

  17. November 30, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    I learned that the klong next to our school is linked to chaophaya river. Also I learn that there’s one family that still has electricity. Most people don’t have boats I thought that a lot of families bought boats.
    Tammy

  18. November 30, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    I was really surprised that our klong next to NIST has rised!! What I learned is that governments were wrong to protect our place because the flood will never end if we don’t bring the flood water to the sea.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

