Well… really… have you?

Watch the slideshow of your organization poster designs by clicking the image.

The How we organize ourselves unit was all about these things:

  • Becoming more independent
  • Getting better at doing things for yourself
  • Earning the trust of adults in your life
  • Growing as a person
  • Achieving success every day
  • Using your time well

So, it’s been a couple of months now… how are you doing? Are you still doing some of the things you started or have you been forgetting? Would you be able to survive on your own if your parents/maids/older brothers and sisters left you alone for a week?

  1. November 28, 2011 at 11:44 am

    Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much. You have a great blog here. Thanks again for sharing.

    Love commenting, blogging, or writing? We would love for you to join us!

    – Writers Wanted –

  2. November 28, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    Hi,
    I am still making my bed and waking up by myself, cleaning my room, cook my own food. But I forget to set the table and wash the dishes. I made my 7 day plan because my schedule changed a little bit during the holidays. I can make: Rabocci wich is Noodle, Kimchi and Ham mixed together. Also I can make peanut mixture snack. Being organised is helping your mom and making your life better. If you are unorganised than you will feel very upset fir yourself and not proud.

    I keep forgetting about washing the dishes after eating dinner and setting the table for dinner. I really shoudn’t forget to do these things because then it will make my mom tired. I think unorganised person will never achieve anything at all because they are not organised at time and work. Time management is really important to us because you are wasting other people’s time because they have to wait for you. Time is gold. No one can buy time. So that’s why time is so important to us.

    I think that I should really need to improve on not forgetting to do things because if I keep forgetting, I will go up to modeled on GRR. Also I think that we should keep working on the organizational goals even though we finished doing that unit. I sometimes forget my goals and do the wrong thing. I think organisation is related to everything in the world because

    • November 28, 2011 at 5:41 pm

      because you need to be organised to have a pet, to work, to travel, to take care of something.

    • Mr. Sam
      November 29, 2011 at 3:28 pm

      It is OK to forget things sometimes, Jimin, but not every time. It sounds like you are doing well and are on your way to independence! Can you cook for us some time?

  3. 19zolah
    November 28, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    Hi viewers,

    I think i am doing pretty well because my mom would normally wake me up but now I wake myself up. I went one step further by waking up the whole family. I don’t forget any of my HW I think the GRR has really made a good affect on me.

    I think i have only improved i don’t think i have gotten less organized.The reasons are, I check my outlook often, checking my outlook has helped me. One time my teacher sent us an email to bring our computer, and because i check my mail regularly i knew about it . Mr. Julian also said that outlook can help you be more organised because on outlook you can make reminders and appointments and it will remind you when it is. Sometimes on Saterday i wake up early and make breakfast for my family it needs organizing because i needed to put on a alarm clock the day before to organize that event. I also remember when i have to go to my ECA and which day it is and where it is.

    I think this video that Mr. Sam showed us in the beginning of unit has told us that we don’t want to be disorganized watch this video. First video is part one second is part the third one is part three

    Thank you

    Zola

    • Mr. Sam
      November 29, 2011 at 3:29 pm

      This sounds great, Zola.

      Is there anything you still really need to improve at to become more independent?

  4. Caitie : )
    November 28, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    Hi,

    I think I’m still quite organized. I think I improved a little bit because now when I get home from school I make a ‘to do’ list of all the things I need to do before I can play. Now I tidy my room every day. But that is mostly because I got a cactus in my room so I have to open the curtains so I want my room to be neat because other people could look in. I think I could survive on my own for a week. Because like I said before I am quite organized. But I don’t think I would like it. Because I only know how to cook sandwiches and order pizza. My routine when I get home from school is to eat snack, pack my bag for tomorrow, and do homework.

    Caitie

    • Mr. Sam
      November 29, 2011 at 3:30 pm

      Is there anything your parents would like you to improve at?

  5. miz
    November 28, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    Hi everyone

    I think I am already organised. Now that I am in Korea, I wake myself up and my family members. I don’t wake my dad up because he wakes up at 5 am. 5 am is 3 am in Thailand. I think that if you wake yourself up for about a week or a month, it will be an inherent virtue.

    Thanks

    Jin

    • Mr. Sam
      November 29, 2011 at 3:30 pm

      Nice to hear from you, Jin, but can you change your name to your real name?

      • miz
        December 2, 2011 at 8:04 pm

        sure no problemo

    • December 1, 2011 at 7:37 pm

      Yeah ‘MIZ’! Hey Jin what is your e-mail I would like to contact you!

  6. Gina Choi
    November 28, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    Hi Guys

    I think I am the same as before (when we started this unit ) I don’t really wake myself up and make my breakfast I only make my breakfast in the weekends,I clean my own room after I study or play games.I got a little lazier by not packing my bag also I am going to have a Pomeranian (is a dog) so I am going to have to be more organize my mom is going to tell me how to organize my book shelf because it is really messy.

    Gina

    • Mr. Sam
      November 29, 2011 at 3:31 pm

      Very honest of you to say you have been a little lazier. Are you going to fix that problem?

      • Gina
        November 30, 2011 at 1:59 pm

        I am going to fix that problem

  7. Pat
    November 28, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    I think I am the same as I was in the end of the unit How we organize ourselves because I still do the same stuff such as I still wake myself up, I still pack my bag, I still walk to school on my own. Actually there are many things that I could do to improve myself such as make my own food, tidy my own room, water my plants, know when to do homework or play etc.

    • Mr. Sam
      November 29, 2011 at 3:31 pm

      Will you start doing those things?

  8. Tammy
    November 28, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    Hi 6SS

    I think I have improved a little bit because now I can wake myself up and when I come home I always check my to do list. Now I pack my bag every day. But some times my mom/maid has to nag me to eat quickly and also organise my room a bit more. I think I could have improved more during the unit how we organise ourselves. My parents said that they will buy me a puppy if I am organised to do things on my own.

    Tammy

    • Mr. Sam
      November 29, 2011 at 3:32 pm

      Do you want that puppy? What kind of things will you have to organize on your own so that you can get the puppy?

  9. November 28, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    I think i have improved by being independent becuase i would count on grown ups a lot less. I think i was independent even before the unit i would go on busses, taxis, motercicle taxis by my self. I am much better at doing stuff for my self and not counting on an adult. I pack my bag i normaly do HW with out my parents telling me to. I have grown a little more trust with my parents because they already trust me alot. Like they trust me with keys and money and etc. I think i am growing as a person becuase every day at school teaches me more and more about how to behave and and act in front of people. Well…. you could say i am succeding more and more every day goals of being wiser and not always realing on someone else. I think i use my time well but somtimes i waist time.

    • Mr. Sam
      November 29, 2011 at 3:33 pm

      What can you do to try and solve the problem of wasting time?

  10. Tamanna
    November 28, 2011 at 8:02 pm

    Hi 6SS,

    The unit how we organize ourselves was a great unit for me it taught me how to be a lot more organized than before and it also taught me what I should do to become a more better and organized person. After we finished the unit my habit was to pack my bag I always remember that every morning. I have also become more independent by taking out my bag every night and packing my books, pencils & etc… I have become lazy in waking myself up even though I set my alarm. I want to set my goal as trying to be more independent by waking myself up. My mom thinks that the way I organize my homework is going well because before she had to tell me and remind me about how to write neatly and organize my homework. My mom thinks I am disorganized at waking myself up because she always now has to come and wake me up instead of me waking myself up.

    I am really going to work on waking myself up.

    • Mr. Sam
      November 29, 2011 at 3:34 pm

      I hope you can fix that problem because it will really improve your relationship with your Mum.

  11. victor
    November 28, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    yes the how we organise areselfs unit was about those things and about how we could improve and how didnt have to anoy poeple to do things for you so when your older you dont need to call your mom every 10 munites and nag her.
    i think i have improved a lot because of this unit.

    • Mr. Sam
      November 29, 2011 at 3:35 pm

      You haven’t really explained anything in this comment. Please read the instructions again and make it a more interesting and detailed comment that answers the questions I have asked you.

  12. Pan
    November 28, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    So, it’s been a couple of months now… how are you doing? Are you still doing some of the things you started or have you been forgetting? Would you be able to survive on your own if your parents/maids/older brothers and sisters left you alone for a week?

    I think I’m doing pretty well because I am still setting up ways to make me more organized. For example i still wake myself up i did this more than 17 times so it is developing and taking control of myself, but before when the alarm clock goes i would sleep for 5 or 10 minutes but now i can just getting like not even needing the snooze button. But there are still times that i need the snooze button but not often. Now that i am continuing this i will have better time management. And also of course i can survive if my parents aren’t home if there is resources to live like food water etc.
    Pan

    • Mr. Sam
      November 29, 2011 at 3:37 pm

      Great news about getting yourself up in the mornings.

      Do you know what to do with the food you have in your home?

  13. 19aryana
    November 29, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    To be honest I think i am doing quite well except for a few things some times but mostly I think i am way better then last year. I have started doing things I used to really been struggling on and I’ve started a routine in the morning and afternoon. I think I could survive because I can cook, clean the house and sometimes when i need to I would be able to go and buy food.

    But I have to admit I have started to be a little bit lazy sometimes I forget to take my dog for a walk. I really struggled with that unit but I think it was worth it.

    • Mr. Sam
      December 6, 2011 at 8:56 am

      Can you explain a little more about why you struggled with the unit?

      • December 8, 2011 at 10:04 am

        I struggled with this unit because before I came to NIST I used to be really disorganized but now I have learned the value of being organized.

  14. Madhav
    November 29, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    Hi everyone,

    I think that I am doing pretty good because I am so used to waking up in the morning from the past years, that I just suddenly wake up. But when I wake up I just sleep for a little bit more. Then I put a little alarm clock on my bed that would wake me up. I harly snooze unless I slept really late, or I am really tired. I have also been cleaning my room ( in my side not my brother). I always put everything where it needs to go, before I just left it there making it it a mess. Now I can find things more easily because I can see where I put them. I also used a drawer, and that is where all my stuff is. So when I cannot find something, I always look and my drawer and it is their. But sometimes I forget to do these things which also lets me down. So I am trying to make it a habit, but I forget for about 2 days, so that breaks my line of habits because you need to do it 17 times.

    By Madhav

    • Mr. Sam
      December 6, 2011 at 8:57 am

      How can you try and make sure you don’t forget?

  15. November 29, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    Hi everyone!
    Right now I’m trying lots of things I could be more organized. Such as making a schedule book which worked quite well because I didn’t waste time after that and also making a book for Mandarin so I don’t forget my Mandarin test or forget the words! Now that I set alarm on my phone it is easier for me to wake up alone but the problem is that I’m waking my younger brother who needs to sleep more. Before, I was really bad at cleaning my shelves but now, I can completly label them without any help. Now I that I write a schedule book, I don’t forget things often but still I sometimes lose things. Still, I think I should work more on cooking because I could cook simple things but I am not good at doing complecated things such as Bokumbab(korean food) which I really like. I think I improved a lot with my goals I made in How We Organize Ourselves and most of them I could do them Indepenently except for cookng. Oh, also I am so good at how to organize my bag. I am always making my bag tidy but I think I need to work on bringing things home.

    • November 29, 2011 at 6:09 pm

      Wow! I just made some new goals! I should write on my schedule book about this and make it a habit!

      • Mr. Sam
        December 6, 2011 at 8:57 am

        Isn’t it great when that happens?

  16. Hannah
    November 29, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    I think I am still more organized than I was at the start of the year, and I have still improved in being organized, like coming to the breakfast table earlier, so that I have spare time, in case I need it.(and I usually do) I think my time management has has gone down a little bit, but thats all. I think I could survive with everybody gone for a week, because I have done something similar only our maid was there for a while, but we could have been there without her. I actually think that when you suddenly have the chance to be really unwise, you choose to be a little wise and make good choices for ourselves, because we know that we could harm ourselves and it would bring us to nothing good…

    Hannah

    • Mr. Sam
      December 6, 2011 at 8:59 am

      Why do you think your time management has done down a little bit?

  17. November 29, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    Hi 6SS,

    Becoming more independent

    Yes, I think that I am more independent and I think that because my Mum and Dad are giving me more responsibility like now they let me go shop and by stuff by myself. I always try to be more organised I now do all of my things I have to do for the family. You know how some people do things for money? Well I do not do anything for money I just do it! I do not really need to do anything for money at all!

    Getting better at doing things for yourself

    Yes! I am always improving I always try my best and when I improve at anything it makes me much happier as a person! I want to improve because when I improve I become better at that, the reason I like that is defiantly because I am a really competitive person and being the best makes me happy!

    Earning the trust of adults in your life

    Yes I am gaining trust! Mt Mum and Dad now let me cook pancakes by myself, come back from a place in time so that I can hang out with my parents. They now trust me to be in particular places unsupervised, they now let me brush my teeth (just joking they have always let me do that)!

    Growing as a person

    Yes, I am always improving because I always trying my best to improve at something because getting better always makes people happier and when someone is happy it boosts my self-confidence as well as my happiness and my self-esteem!
    Achieving success every day

    Yes every day I achieve success by just doing things to the best of my ability I think trying your best at something is succeeding. Succeeding is not being the best at something because not everyone is the best at something it is trying your hardest for everything and never slack off. Trust me it is better to do something to the best of your ability to the worst of your ability.

    Using your time well

    Yes I use my time well I am USUALLY not a timewaster and I most of the time do things that are not pointless. We need to always do things that make us REALLY happy! I always play football because that makes me really HAPPY! I barely ever play on my PS2 because it is pointless.

    Cheers,

    Billy

    • Mr. Sam
      December 6, 2011 at 9:00 am

      Wow, a very detailed reflection Billy!

      How have you managed to earn more trust from your parents?

  18. Yasmin
    November 30, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    I’m forgetting to do the things I started. But honestly I think I should start again and dothe things i’ve started. I think if my house mates go somewhere I would be able to survive with the cleaning,cooking,etc

    • Mr. Sam
      December 6, 2011 at 9:01 am

      Is this really a detailed enough comment, Yasmin? Can you explain things more? Can you explain why you forget to do the things you started? Can you explain how you would survive on your own?

    • yasmin
      December 8, 2011 at 10:03 am

      I’m forgetting to do the things I started because in the morning I don’t wake myself up.I try to tell my maid not to wake me up the next morning, but she just forgets.In the morning I’m to tired to think, so I forget to make my bed.Now I’m starting to clean my house,my room up.But honestly I think I should start awaking myself up,making my bed,help cook for my family.I think I should do more independent stuff,like going to 7-eleven by myself,making my own choices. If ever I’m left alone at my house for 1 week, I think I would be able to survive because I have recipes at home, so I could cook something with the recipes, I know how to make my bed, I can wake myself up, I can go to 7-eleven and I know where the supermarket is, so I can go shopping.

  19. November 30, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    Becoming more independent

    I think that I have definitely become more independent because I always wanted to work in a group because I felt more comfortable that way, but I think that now I have overcome that and I am not afraid to share my ideas with others.

    Getting better at doing things for yourself

    I keep trying to be best and I never give up and that is the way it is always going to be, even though I may not be the most competitive person I learn from that.

    Earning the trust of adults in your life

    My parents and other adults in my family trust me because I always do as I am told and they know that I will do it, and they let me go to places unsupervised.

    Growing as a person

    I always grow as a person and improve, though winning may not be the most important thing but I always learn from my mistkes.

    Achieving success every day

    I always achieve success in a different way, success is not all about winning a game or competition, success can be earned in a different way depending on what you are good at.

    Using your time well

    I always try to use my time well especially in class and I never like to waste a minute by doing pointless and useless things like going on Facebook or watching brain washing videos on YouTube, though I have to get better at organizing myself.

    • Mr. Sam
      December 6, 2011 at 9:03 am

      Getting better at organizing yourself is what this comment is supposed to be all about. Why do you think you still have problems organizing yourself?

      • December 6, 2011 at 8:25 pm

        I still am struggling with organizing myself because at home I need to have a switch of work and fun which I definitely need to get better at, and at school we have our schedule so we know what to go to next and we have all these tools to help us and I should do that at home too.

    • December 12, 2011 at 6:18 pm

      Oops I meant mistakes not mistkes

  20. November 30, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    Hi Everybody,

    So, it’s been a couple of months now… how are you doing?

    I think I’m doing quite well but I’m also quite lazy from time to time. This is probably because of my attitude towards this. Sometimes, I don’t care and that leads me to forgetting and being lazy.

    Are you still doing some of the things you started or have you been forgetting?

    Honestly, I think I’ve been forgetting quite a bit and I only do the things sometimes. An example is that I only wash the dishes sometimes when I feel like it. If I don’t feel like it, I don’t care and just leave it for my mom to wash but I shouldn’t be doing that; I should actually be washing the dishes every night even if I don’t want to.

    Would you be able to survive on your own if your parents/maids/older brothers and sisters left you alone for a week?

    I think I can because if they left me, I would probably be more independent. The only thing that makes me less independent when everyone’s here is that I know that there’s someone to do things for me. But if everyone left me alone, I would know ‘Okay, I’m alone now and I need to take care of myself because if I don’t, no one will.’ Also, like Zola, I watched a few episodes of How Clean is Your House and I don’t think I want to be disorganized after watching it and seeing how the people live.

    • Mr. Sam
      December 6, 2011 at 9:39 am

      What makes you have a bad attitude towards this unit?

      • December 6, 2011 at 6:40 pm

        I think what makes me have a bad attitude is not the unit itself but the fact that I know I can rely on someone to do things for me if I don’t feel like it. I’m going to fix this problem by pretending in my head that I’m alone and if I don’t do it myself, no one will.

  21. Petanque
    November 30, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    Hi Guys,

    Becoming more independent

    After that unit of HOW WE ORGANIZE OURSELVES, I was a complete different person from the past. I had good time management, I had much better responsibility and I became more independent. By that I mean doing things without an adult having to nag or getting work completed in better quality and anything. Everyone says that I am much much more responsible on everything I do or they way I act. The best thing I have achieved\learned from that unit was being an independent person and being a responsible kid. For my goals that I have set I did really well with that and now I am still doing it but its kind of more up and down not constantly.

    Earning the trust of adults in your life

    Of course I earned much more trust from my family especially my mom, she doesn’t have to ask me if I have done my homework, have I read my books or did you finish this or that. I do it automatically without her asking telling or nagging. When my mom goes somewhere else and leaves me by myself, my first priority would be watching TV but now I am responsible enough to make sure first things first, homework first. Now that I have changed my attitude my mom doesn’t have to keep asking and also stop worrying because she will trust me that I will be doing my homework and finishing it.

    Right now I am very responsible but I need to still be trying to do those goals that I set. (PACKING MY BAG BEFORE SLEEPING.) I will do it more than 17 times until its a habit. I will also keep pushing myself, reminding myself and most important keep trying and never give up.

    Petanque 6SS

  22. November 30, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    I think I got a bit unorganized because I do my HW late at night and I am really sleepy so I can’t wake my self!! I can still pack my bag, set up the table before eating if mom needs help, have time relaxing and do my HW before dead line.

    I think I should still work on my cooking, helping cook and waking up. The most important thing for me to work on now is waking up. I will work really hard on that!

    • December 8, 2011 at 9:54 am

      I think I I think I got a bit lazy because I do my homework late at night and I am really sleepy so I can’t wake up my self. I will work on my waking up immediately. If I finish my waking up, I will help my mom cook.

  23. November 30, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    Hi everyone!

    I think I got a bit more independent but I have somethings that I could do still. I could improve at making my bed, cleaning my room, keeping the book shelf tidy, organizing my time well so I have some time to play with my friends downstairs. I think I should organize more time for me to rest so I can start refreshing in the morning. I have done some of it but I haven’t done some other stuff but I could improve more.

  24. Stefan
    December 1, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    I think that with some things I have improved 🙂 , with others i have gotten worse 😦 .

    Example:

    I don’t make my bed myself anymore and I don’t wake up alone.

    I think I have been brushing my teeth without my parents having to remind me

    Apart from the goals I have set, I have noticed that I have been better organized with setting play dates and sleepovers.

    Stefan

    • December 8, 2011 at 9:54 am

      So, it’s been a couple of months now… how are you doing?

      I think that I am struggling with a few of my goals, for example: Making my bed in the mornings and waking up myself.
      But for some thinks like brushing my teeth in the morning with out having my parents reminding me to do it I fell like I have improved.

      Are you still doing some of the things you started or have you been forgetting?

      I think that I have been forgetting to do my bed in the morning and waking myself up in the mornings.

      Would you be able to survive on your own if your parents/maids/older brothers and sisters left you alone for a week?

      I think I would survive if I was left alone because then I would know that it is my responsibility to do these things but when my family is here I sometimes don’t bother to do these things because I know someone will do it for me.

      Stefan

  25. Mara
    December 1, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    I have struggled with being more independent, I have been picking things up after myself and doing stuff with out being told. I feel that i have become disorganized with HW because I have this art class that disturbs me during the week and maybe I will stop doing the art class or do a few of the HW on monday and the rest of the tasks on Wed and Thursday.

    Things i haven’t improved on, is for example I forget my lunch box, water bottle, snack box (etc) and i loose them and i have to get new ones and it keeps going on and on and on… So I better improve being more organized..

    • Mara
      December 1, 2011 at 6:12 pm

      I agree with Jimin (the top comment) being organized helps people around the world and family.. but if your unorganized you let people down..

  26. December 8, 2011 at 9:58 am

    i think that this unit really helped me a lot because my parents nag me less i do more things bymyself wake boarding competitions and also helped me with lot with wake board comps and when i skip school and get homework its more easy for me and my room is more tidy now and most things are better than before.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

