Yes… this is homework!

Click on this image to get to the game.

Yes! I am asking you to play a computer game for your homework. However, I want you to think very carefully about why I am asking you to play it, what you are learning about when you play it and how it is relevant to things we are thinking about at the moment. Make a detailed comment to share your ideas.

  1. November 21, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    the game is really fun but in the same time it is teaching you how it is like to run a cuntry that has been threaten by tsunamise.

    • November 21, 2011 at 6:45 pm

      Can you please explain more?

    • Billy
      November 22, 2011 at 6:33 pm

      That is a good point but can you give some examples?

  2. Madhav
    November 21, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    I agree with u daniel

    • November 22, 2011 at 3:12 pm

      Hi,
      Madhav!
      Why do you agree with Daniel? Can you explain more please?

  3. Mara
    November 21, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    Am i supposed to do only tsunami game because it was so fun… i did all of them.. HEHE i’m cheeky! This is supposed to help you take cover from any of these games, its giving you an idea of how to stop a tsunami or earthquake or a fire or a flood or a hurricane etc.

    Plus i ask this question to my mum and dad and they said its a great question, my question is… In the main page is that actually were tsunamis and earthquakes (etc) are happening? I really want to know! For me it seems so interesting.

    Mara

    • Billy
      November 22, 2011 at 6:35 pm

      I think you are right it is teaching you all about how to protect your self from a natural disaster.

  4. Caitie : )
    November 21, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    Hi,
    I think Mr. Sam is asking us to play this game because we are in the middle of a natural disaster (the flood). I tried the flood game. I thought is very interesting because sandbags was not one of the options for defenses. I think that Thailand should make drainage ditches I did that in my game and it worked quite well :). I am going to play this game more. I am going to send it to my family and friends! I I thought it was very good idea to put this on the blog so other people can try out! At first it almost seemed like it was fun game, but then I realized it was more educational than fun. But it was also great fun.

    • Billy
      November 22, 2011 at 6:45 pm

      You are right it is happening right now! We are in the middle of the flood. Imagine if Mr. Sam found this and thought “who cares!” because this totally connects to the unit.

  5. Gina Choi
    November 21, 2011 at 6:51 pm

    I think Mr.Sam is letting us play this game because he whats to see if we know how to protect a natural disaster to see how well we can understand it

  6. November 21, 2011 at 6:52 pm

    When I first tried I got confused on what to do, soon I understood and I started doing the wildfire I found it much more easier and made my village much stronger, here are the key points I unlocked: 1, 3, 4, 5, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14. I also tried the flood, I think that like Caitie mentioned, Mr. Sam showed this to us because we are in the middle of a natural disaster, this game is very fun and educational, my only problem is that they didn’t put sandbags for defense! which made it much harder for floods, but other than that I got much more interested in natural disasters (especially floods since that is what is affecting my life now) In wildfire I tried to get rid of trees in certain places so that homes and school don’t go to ruins, but I did find ths game very interesting and educational I also want to inquire more into natural disasters.

    Cost of damages: $12,450
    People injured: 137
    People dead: 12

  7. November 21, 2011 at 7:21 pm

    Hi everyone!

    I think Mr. Sam chose this as homework because it’s related to the theme of the unit we are studying now – ‘Sharing the Planet’. Also it’s because the flood is occurring in Thailand right now. It’s related because floods are part of natural disasters and this game teaches you the facts about natural disasters and how to deal with them. He wants us to understand how destructive natural disasters could be. Also he wants to tell that there are some good lessons you can learn from this game. For example now we know we need to run if there is an earthquake or a Tsunami. When the Tsunami happened in 2004 it was said that mostly every animal ran away from their habitats or owners to higher ground while humans were taking pictures of the Tsunami. He also is challenging our thinking. If you build more houses you get more population but if you build more defenses you will be able to save more people. The fun part of the games is that you can learn while you play such an exciting game. They tell you facts about the natural disaster that you are trying to face. The hardest game was the earthquake game and the easiest game was the wild fire game. I really like this game and I would like to share this to my friends in different classes.

    High score
    0 People dead
    0 Injuries
    0 Money wasted

    This was in the flood game.

  8. Petanque
    November 21, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    HI GUYS,

    I think Mr. Sam told us to do this because it is related to the situation that is happening in Thailand or can happen in the future. First I had no idea at all of what to do but as you keep going you understand what you have to do or next time if you do it you will have to do this better or you will have to fix this part because lots of people die or… You just learn from your mistakes. Like for me the first time I didn’t know what to do at all, I read the instructions several times but I didn’t understand. The first time loads of my people died but in the second round I knew which house I had to build or anything and it got better and better each time. Maybe playing this game can help you when the real disaster comes, or help you prepare and it can also give you an idea of what it look like. It was quite fun I enjoyed it and I will keep playing to help me.

    Petanque

  9. Tamanna
    November 21, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    how do you play the game i don’t really get it?

    • November 21, 2011 at 8:39 pm

      Hi Tamanna,

      The idea of the game is to save as many people from the disaster as possible, not to waste any money and do the important things (like maybe seal all the wells, build a hospital or protect the water tanks).

      You play the game by protecting the place you’re suppose to protect. As an example, let’s use the tsunami one. You protect the place by maybe putting sand dunes to slow the tsunami down, putting alarms to alert people, making sure the hospital has had courses so they know what to do and etc.

      I hope this helps!

  10. November 22, 2011 at 2:58 am

    HI, I always love reading your blog and last night decided I would save the village from the tsunami. I chose the easy one because I am not too good at games but wanted to try it to see if our Year 3 kids would enjoy it. I feel terrible because the phone rang twice while I was trying to save the village and I am responsible for a lot of loss of property and life. Seriously though I loved this simulation and am going to play again but this time where no-one can bother me. I learned so much about what actions can be taken.
    Thanks for the link.
    Does anyone do the really hard option? Any tips for me so I can pass them on the our year 3 kids.

    • November 23, 2011 at 4:56 pm

      Hi Ms.Layla,

      I didn’t do the hard option but I have a few tips:

      1) Try to achieve the challenge (like build a school and a hospital). It helps a lot in the score.

      2) Click on the ‘show risks’ button. This helps you find out where is a safe and unsafe place to build things. Pink squares are a really dangerous place, red is quite dangerous, yellow is quite unsafe and green is safe.

      3) Don’t trust all advice, some of them is actually bad. Try to check all the information you can get before you trust the advice.

      I hope this helps!

      Andrea

      • November 23, 2011 at 5:11 pm

        I also forgot another tip:

        Upgrade the places like the community center, hospital and school. They help by saving more lives.

        • Layla Sacker
          November 24, 2011 at 2:13 am

          Brilliant – thanks Andrea. I will share this with the other students at my school. Great tips.

  11. Vin
    November 22, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    I think Mr. Sam chose this game as part of our Homework because it related to the unit we are studying right now- ‘Sharing the Planet’- as this unit usually revolves around geography and study of the earth and things related to it such as animals and natural disasters. It teaches the players how to act during natural disasters, and also how you would act if you were in charge of that town. I think that it is also related to what we are thinking about because of the floods occurring right now in Thailand. The game is fun but it also teaches you important facts about the natural disaster you have selected. When you build a lot of buildings and when you take some action in the game, it tells you facts about it. However, simulations cannot compare to the real disaster as they are much more severe than games, but it gives you a good understanding of what is happening.
    This game also teaches you how to wisely spend your (the town’s) money because you must balance the budget between many different needs. In this game, if you build more houses, it is good for the people because they will be housed, but you also have to keep an eye on how much money you have so you can buy defenses and protect the houses. Also, in each disaster situation, you have a mission to accomplish. Sometimes, it will not cost any money, but most of the time you have to build a school, hospital, and a hotel. It is a management game, and this skill will also help.
    Still, I think this game is fun, and I enjoyed playing it.

  12. Zola
    November 22, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    Hi,

    I think the reason why Mr. Sam told us to do this game was because we were literly right in the middle of a flood and because so we can learn about all types of natural disasters and we see if we would be able to take care of a city or a town from natural disasters. My mom tried the game she really liked it. I tried this game a couple of times and in the end this was my score.

    Injuries: 4
    Death: 8
    Money wasted 1,986

    I checked today it was true what Caitie said you can’t buy sandbags????

    I thought it was weird that they didn’t have sandbags?

    Zola

    • November 22, 2011 at 3:41 pm

      Hi Zola,

      I think they didn’t put sandbags because it’s pretty obvious we use sandbags in floods and they want us to learn us something new.

  13. November 22, 2011 at 3:20 pm

    Hi 6SS,

    You are asking us to play this because this really connects to what is happening around us and it also extends our knowledge about the ways you can protect your village from a natural disaster. This is also a really good game for strategy which is really a good thing to have by being strategic. You are also asking us to play this because it makes us think about and kind of visualise how life is for these other people LIVING with the flood and are they complaining? NO!

    When we play this game it educates us about where these natural disasters have happened, how much protection a village needs and especially how people protect their village for an example what they use to stop this from happening. I am learning what it feels like when your village gets burnt, flooded, etc, etc, not exactly but a kind of feeling.

    This is 100% + 1% relevant to what is happening at the moment think about it right now at the exact moment you are reading this comment other people what 20km away have water up to their knees, at least. The flood has been going on for a while but it never loses its interest something else always pops up like now we are changing our there is to it will not flood where we are. We are in the middle of this flood it is amazing if you haven’t seen the flood, then you really should!!

    Cheers,

    Billy

  14. November 22, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    Hi everyone!

    I think Mr.Sam told us to play this game because we are actually in one of the situation. I think this is for us to save ourselves if there is a natural disaster. It also shows whats needed if there is a natural disaster. Also it showed places this natural disasters often happen. I played the flood game and I think we should have drainage ditches just like Catie said. I also tried it and it worked pretty well on my game too. I also learned that there is lots of ways you could protect yourself from natural disasters. For example, in the flood, you could use drainage ditches, etc. There was actually no sandbags in this game and I think that is because it’s very obvious we use sandbags if there is flood so, maybe they wanted to do something we could more learn about. Also I learned that if there is a natural disasters, hospitals are really needed. I really had fun in this game and I was having a lot of fun doing this but also I was learning whole lot of new things too! I think this is what we call ‘we have fun while we study.’

  15. Gina
    November 22, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    Hi I think Mr.Sam is letting us play this game because he want us to think about is this really connected to this unit and want us to think if we know how to protect a village and what not to spend it on and also we are in the middle of a flood situation if you can play this well you can save peoples lives!

  16. yasmin
    November 22, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    HI guys
    This game is hard but its very educational. I think we have to play this game to have an idea of how natural disasters can affect us. I played the floods one because its just what we expierenced. What i learned from the game was that we have to help each other when a natural disaster hits the country, so what i learned from the game made me think that when the flood hit Thailand, we didn´t help each other. It´s related to what we are doing because our unit is sharing the planet,in the game we are sharing the planet by helping each other to survive.

  17. Pat
    November 22, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    I think Mr Sam wants us to play this game because so you know what to do if that really happened and how it affects the people that it happened to. Also I think that Mr Sam wants us to play this game because our unit is sharing the planet and natural disasters can effect how we share the planet by if there was a natural disaster and there was not much food instead of people sharing food with animals people might be selfish and keeps all the food to themselves. I think that this game is quite fun but for the floods if you build a drainage ditch you need to cover all the sides or it’s not as effective.

  18. Madhav
    November 22, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    I think Mr.Sam wants us to play this game to gain knowledge on how to stop natural disasters, what people use to stop disasters, and how hard people work to stop it. This is also connected to the flood in Thailand, and we have been researching about it. I think this is a part of the research because we are playing the game and part of it is flood. I also think this is educational because if you want to help in the flood situation you can help. This game has thought me that you should use drainage ditch instead of sand bags because sand bags will pollute and won’t last that long. But if you use drainage glitch then it will drain water instead of polluting so much, because the government is putting lots of sand bags.

    By Madhav 👿

  19. November 22, 2011 at 4:40 pm

    I think Mr.Sam is letting us play this game for homework because we can learn about what what to do when a natural disaster comes and also tell us how people are dyingand suffer from these natural disasters. Also now in Bangkok we are in middle of natural disaster which is flood.

    What I have learned from the game is that we have to help people by different ways. Also I have learned that sand bags are not the only thing to protect from flood.

  20. 19aryana
    November 22, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    I think Mr.Sam wants us to play this game to learn what people in the natural disasters try to save people,and they have limited amount of resources so it teaches us how it feels to be if were in a natural disaster as Mr Sam said most of us would freak out but your supposed to be calm. It is relevant to the things were talking about because the flood is a type of natural disaster and are unit is How the world works. I really enjoyed the game because it was fun and educational at the same time the scores of my first and high score game was this.

    Cost of damages:$0
    people dead:0
    people injured:0

  21. Tammy
    November 22, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    hi
    I think Mr.Sam chosen this as a homework because its related to what’s happening in Thailand right now. Also he wanted us to have a experience to be the goverment and protect the country. This game was quite hard for me but at last I pass this is my score
    cost of damage:0
    people dead:1
    people injured:1
    Also the game helped us to learn new facts. If the flood happens again I think many of us will know what to do. It gives us a lot of knowledge Because it helps us to know how to protect our village from disasters.
    Tammy

  22. Pan
    November 22, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    Hi 6SS,
    I want you to think very carefully about why I am asking you to play it, what you are learning about when you play it and how it is relevant to things we are thinking about at the moment. Make a detailed comment to share your ideas.
    I think Mr. Sam is asking us to play it because it is related to what is happening in thailand right now and if the flood happens again next year we will know how to protect our houses if we don’t use sand bags because in the flood on or the other ones there are options for defenses but I think it really protects you in real life.
    At the moment we are inquiring into the floods in thailand so this can give us more of and idea of the floods and how to prevent it from happening. It was hard for me the first time then it got easier and easier.
    I passed the earthquake with this score
    People dead: 0
    People Injured: 2
    I played the large map (hard one.)
    Pan

  23. Tamanna
    November 22, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    Hello 6SS

    At first I got confused but later when Andrea told me about how do put the sand I understood it. I think Mr. Sam is letting us do this piece of work because right now our country is suffering from the floods and we all should help the people in our country. This is also related to our unit sharing the planet because our unit means we all should be equal and same. I think Mr. Sam set this as a homework task so that we can help the people that are suffering. I think that this is teaching us that when we grow older we might be in charge of a government team and we could remember how we played this game to help us and not do the wrong thing. It also teaches us that if the flood comes any where it tells us the things we need and where we are going to put it. In the village the most thing that I used were the breakwaters because the information that said it was to help the water to go back or it does something that helps the water to not come. I really enjoyed it and I am going to let my dad try it.

    Tamanna

  24. November 23, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    Hi,
    I think Mr. Sam told us to play the game because Thailand’s currently flooding. When I first played this game, I was confused what to do. But then I remembered that it was a natural disaster game so I clicked on one land. I planted a moisture tree. I was doing wild fire game. It was hard. I think Thailand’s people who got affected by the flood must have felt really stressed and concerned about: How can I fix the house, money and all other stuffs. Natural disasters can happen again if we are not aware of it. We have to get ready for emergencies. I think that this game is not fun. It is quite a serious game that teaches you about natural disasters. Lot of people get injured when there’s a natural disaster. I liked the game because it is serious and teaching you something. I would like to introduce this game to my families and my friends. They will learn a lesson that natural disasters are not funny. Some people take natural disaster seriously but some don’t really care even though it’s happening where you live in. I shall tell my family and friends that natural disasters are not fun.

  25. November 23, 2011 at 5:15 pm

    Hi 6SS,

    I think Mr.Sam is letting us play this particular game because it’s an educational game, we’re in a middle of a natural disaster and it’s related to our unit (Sharing the Planet).

    When we play this game, we learn how to protect a place or ourselves from a natural disaster, how to spend money wisely, learn facts about the natural disaster (example: flood, tsunami, earthquake and etc.) and understand more about the situation we are in.

    I think it is relevant to what we are currently thinking and learning because it’s related to our unit and the situation we are in. It also helps us see in another perspective: the person who’s in charge. Often, we think that the person in charge will solve all our problems but now, I see it’s harder than that. They have budget, time and everything else to think of.

    I also finally won the game! The strange thing is, I wasted some money and a few people were killed and injured but I had achieved the challenge. I realized your score is based on what you do for the challenge and not how much money you wasted or the deaths you created!

  26. Hannah
    November 23, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    I think Mr. Sam told us to play this game because we are in one of those situations and wants us to know what other governments would do in this situation and by playing this, we might learn a little more about what to do in a real situation like that. At first I was not that good in the game, even if I read the instructions but for me I first have to play the game before understanding it. I want to show other people this game because it is a fun way of teaching. But the natural disasters itself are not fun. What I found weird was that it looked like the sand hills weren’t really helping because the background still stayed pink. I learned that protecting just one little place on a gigantic map costs a lot of money and takes a lot of effort. Of course there isn’t a tsunami or anything like that in every 20 minutes.

    Hannah

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

