What does “mindfulness” look like in your lives?

Yoga, meditation and other exercise that involve concentration can help you to become more mindful people.

D0 some research online about the meaning of “mindful”. Then, think carefully about your lives and the choices you make every day. If you are becoming more of a mindful person as we do more yoga and meditation, how should you be changing?

Think about…

  • Your behaviour
  • The way you speak
  • How you work and play
  • Your relationships with other kids
  • How you feel
  • Your relationships with adults
  • The things you want or need

Make a detailed comment to tell us what you think.

  1. November 21, 2011 at 10:24 am

    Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much. You have a great blog here.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    – Writers Wanted –

  2. Stefan
    November 21, 2011 at 4:28 pm

    I think being mindful means to be aware of the situation, of one’s thoughts and feelings and to live with an open mind in the present moment.

    I think I am becoming more of a mindful person as we are doing meditation and yoga because I can focus better on the present moment. I should be changing to be more aware of the presence.

  3. Hannah
    November 21, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    I took a test and my score was 15.” A score over 10 means that stress is causing a significant and negative impact on the quality of your life.” The average score is 18, so I am okay. I think mindful means that you respect others and yourself, and that you think before you act and that you think a lot and that you reflect on yourself and that you are a calm person.

    I think that while we are doing yoga and being mindful about ourselves I think we should work on our wisdom and think of how we can change to be wiser. I think we should behave a little more respectful to adults because they are usually the people who support us a lot in different ways and you should respect elders. We should still be very respectful to other kids but in a different way, most of the time, sometimes you should also respect them the same way you respect adults.

  4. Madhav
    November 21, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    I think that the yoga that we are doing in class has helped me calm myself down because the last Friday we did yoga I was more calm then ever, because I am usually happy for the holidays so I act really hyper. Yoga makes you more mindful because it helps you concentrate your mind and be aware of things around you. When we were doing yoga the other day we were more calm then ever but when it finished we were all crazy about I did this he did that. If you are feeling calm, some people feel more nice so they do nice things that they never did before, like if someone was not respectful to adults they might be more respectful and say something nice.

    By Madhav

  5. Tamanna
    November 21, 2011 at 8:18 pm

    Hi 6SS,

    I think mindful means to be calm and not thinking about anything for example: when you are at school or work you will wonder when it will be your lunch. Then after lunch you wonder what you are going to do on the weekend and it keeps on going on. But everybody is like that and i think that if we learn when we are young when we grow older it will be easier for us to be calm and you learn first the better for you. I think we all can be mindful it is just that we are always thinking and thinking and thinking. Why don’t we all just try to relax each and every part of our muscles for ten minutes we will be fully relaxed. The yoga that we did in class on Friday really relaxed my body and mind I was so peaceful and relaxed I hope I get to do more of it.

    These are some videos

    this yoga exercise some parts are so hard.

    Tamanna

    Have a good day!!!!

  6. November 21, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    Hi everyone!

    When we did yoga in my class it was so good. It helped me concentrate more on whatever Mr. Sam was talking. It also made me become calmer. It made me think before I act and it made me refreshing. It also made my thinking come faster. It was like leaves and a stream to me. The stream is my brain and the leaves are my thinking. Once I thought of a question another one comes up then another. It made me speak more smoothly and loudly. Normally I would have gaps while I speak but after I did the yoga I didn’t have a gap. It changed my play style once I did yoga. Before I got to know about yoga, in soccer I used to blame other people when they missed the shot. But know I cheer them up and say “It’s all right”. Sometimes I become hyper but when I do yoga I can control myself. I think it made me a more successful person. I found more ways to relax and the secound thing is this could be a practice for me to calm down to be a different person from before. I really enjoyed it while I did yoga. It was really fun because you do many movements and you keep on trying but you fail. This is why I like yoga. When you talk to adults you need to watch with your words. (You don’t know what word will make them mad) If you do yoga like I said eairlier you become calm and you have the power to think before you act. So you could tell yourself that’s not good to say that. I want to be better at doing the hands thing where you had to connect your fingers around your back. It will be useful when I master it because my back gets ichy a lot so when I need to scratch it I can’t because my hands don’t reach so I would always tell my mom or dad to do it, but if I master the hand thing I will be able to scratch it myself and become more independent at scratching my back.

    • November 23, 2011 at 5:50 pm

      Hi Yuki!

      I really appreciate you because you always make everything so detailed. Also I really like your way of writing.

      Thanks,
      Vicky

  7. Gina
    November 22, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    I think mindful means to think before you act because if you are a mindful person you are also calm and polite you do lots of meditation and yoga and the most important thing is mindful people don’t really need to be perfect at anything some people are mindful but can’t even know how to do the perfect butterfly position. If you think your mindful put your hands up.

  8. November 22, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    Hi,
    I think to be a mindful person, you mind about other people and you have to think about their feelings as well. You have to talk to people showing respect and that you are a mindful person. We can change ourselves to be mindful by being wise. Wise is similar with mindful but they are not the same. Wise means that you think about what you are doing and you make the right choices. Being mindful means that you care and mind about other people and you think about their feelings. Thinking is important. You have to think to become wise and mindful. Relaxing is one way to be mindful because if you feel calm, you can think easily. Yoga and meditation is a good way to relax because it calms your mind. I can change myself to be midful by relaxing and calming my mind down when I am angry, also to be calm when i have to make difficult choices. I think calming down my mind is a perfect way to make hard choices, because if you are hyper, then you’ll just rush and might make the wrong choice. CalmRush. It’s the opposite. I really want to be mindful so I am trying to do meditation everyday to breathe more oxygen and to calm down my mind. Yoga can make my body flexible and my mind flexible too. Flexible mind is my made up word.It means that your mind is healthy and you don’t get stressed easily. Hard rock mind means that you are getting stressed easily and your mind is unhealthy. I want to get a flexible mind. I was wondering, does person with flexible mind is good at yoga? I think yes because their mind is healthy. I think yoga is about working with your mind and doing movements that improves your flexibility. I thought about what it means to work with your mine. I think it means that you get together with your mind and concentrate on one thing. Not many things. Only one thing. Then you’ll get better and better as you keept trying to improve on something. Yoga is really good excersise for everyone.

  9. Vin
    November 22, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    When we did yoga, it helped to improve my concentration and my mood. Yoga and meditation also help me feel better. It calms me down and makes me think more. I did some research and ‘mindfulness’ means being attentive, aware, and thoughtful. My favorite part is the relaxation with the crystal/bell chimes because it soothed me and it just made me enjoy the present moment more. It did not bother me, but it was relaxing.
    I think that sometimes if you let your emotions get to you they’ll control how you act, not you controlling how you act. For example, if you get really angry you might say something bad to your friend or an adult, and you might get punished in return.
    I think that you have only wasted your time if you did not change during yoga, because you should be. Yoga helps you to be more better in most aspects of your life, both mentally and physically. It also helps you to deal with problems better, as you can work and act sensibly if you are calm and full of energy.
    I think yoga is a good exercise to calm the body and the soul.

  10. Billy
    November 22, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    Hi 6SS,

    This is what I found on http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/mindfulness:

    Attentive, aware, or careful (usually followed by of): mindful of one’s responsibilities.

    But I think it means:

    That you are aware of if you say this it will affect this person by either making them feel better or make them feel worse. For an example if you are talking to someone about football and you say “Oh you are absolutely rubbish!” you will either get in to a fight or you will make the person feel really bad! The way someone feels spreads which is a really bad thing because then everyone will be down. Trust me when you make someone feel bad it makes you feel worse!

    I make some really bad decisions and that is because I am a very UN mindful person I do not think before I act. I need to not have a bad effect on people.

    Think about…

    Your behavior

    My behavior is okay but I sometimes do the wrong thing and call-out because I do not THINK before I ACT and that makes me and Mr. Sam really sad. When I do something wrong it does not make me feel good it makes me feel really bad because I have let someone down.

    The way you speak

    I speak very loudly but clearly. A bad thing about having a loud voice like me is I have made myself a little bit deaf. I accidently interrupt people because I am really egger to get my point across because when someone else is happy about what I have done I feel proud! I sometimes speak loudly (yelling) because I play football and have my coach yelling at me so I can hear and I do the same thing on the football pitch. I am pretty impatient so I get annoyed and frustrated by people because they cannot do something that I can do especially in sport.

    How you work and play

    I concentrate when I work but the problem is that I like talk at the same time which makes others feel like I am not working and I am letting others down although I try my hardest. I never work peacefully I am always talking because that is really important to me. Usually what I am talking about somehow connects to what I am working on because we keep talking about another thing and another and another which all connects. When I play I am sometimes quite mean to my friends although I do not mean to I want to be nice to them.

    Your relationships with other kids

    I have a lot of friends and I have a lot of really good friends. We get in to some arguments but that does not really change anything. I always hang out with them and try to include them. We are really good friends and really get along well.

    How you feel

    I feel bad when I make someone feel bad because it is not a good thing to make others feel bad because how will it make you feel good? I do not like to make others feel bad because I have my sister who loves me and really looks up to me and when I do something bad to her my mum reminds me that she had wrote this card to me or I even see it and it makes me feel awful!

    Your relationships with adults

    I have a brilliant relationship with both my mum and my dad my dad I play all my sport with like football, basketball, rugby, etc. My mum comforts me and gives me alternatives.

    The things you want or need

    Really nothing at all I have struggled to think of things for Christmas. It took me about 2 hours to think about 8 presents to get and 6 of them were books!

    Cheers,

    Billy

  11. November 22, 2011 at 6:46 pm

    I think to be a mindful person, I think you have to calm down and don’t get hiper. Mindful person is aware of everything he do. If mindful person is aware of everything, that person is thinking before they act. I think mindful person is similar to wise person because if the mindful person is thinking before they act, they shouldn’t do somrthing unwise. Mindful person will also behave wisly in class. The mindful person would speak loud so that everyone can hear and also can say it smoothly. The people who is mindful will work peacefully and concentrate on the work. The way they play is fun and not dangerous. Other people will rely on the mindful people because they make sensible choices and they are right. I think the mindful people will think they did a great job and feel happy almost everyday. Adults will trust them because they will be fine and won’t full around.

  12. Pat
    November 22, 2011 at 6:51 pm

    I think that being mindful means that you are really at the present moment not thinking of anything else or day dreaming also being mindful means that you are thinking of something particulary. If you are doing yoga and it is helping you to become more mindful you should be changing by not being to crazy, know when to do what and if you were someone who said a lot of bad words you should start stopping to say them. What my opinion is about yoga is that yoga is a good strategy to help you calm down but you shouldn’t do to advanced yoga postures if you really can’t because then yoga turns into something you don’t what to do which is bad.

  13. victor
    November 22, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    I think my behaveor was pretty good but i laughed a little when i fell on the balancing posture.
    i think sometimes i say mean things i say nice things it depends.
    i think if i read after play i work well because it camles me.
    my relation ship with others is ok but i say and do bad things sometimes.
    to be onest i fins yoga kind of silly but every time i do it i like it more.
    at home my relation with my dad is not so good but with my mom its good and at school its pretty good.
    maby to read for 15 munites before yoga or meditation so im calm and i dont fool around.

  14. Petanque
    November 22, 2011 at 7:28 pm

    Hi EVERYONE,

    After we have been doing some yoga and meditation in the class, I think it made some people become more calm and it also feels very good, relaxing and refreshing after doing it. Even though sometimes some of the posture really hurts or you can’t do it because you are very stiff it feels like it is torturing you in the present moment but later it is actually good for you. Doing meditation and yoga is kind of like brain washing or lung washing because as Mr. Sam says you take out all the dirty, stale, old stuff out of your lungs and refresh it with new clean things. Yoga and meditation helps you have longer periods of concentration and lets you focus for a longer period of time. I did some research and ask different people about what they think. I think mindfulness means being aware and being thoughtful. A mindful person is calm and they think before they act. Mindfulness is also like being wise and making the right choices. For example a mindful person is not a sheep that follows everyone else who make the wrong choices, they think before they act and they say to themselves “Wait I think I should just stay back and do the right thing”

    Petanque

  15. daniel
    November 23, 2011 at 7:55 am

    I think my behavior after yoga was a lot calmer than when i just came back from lunch. Because yoga keeps you mind full calm and wise. The way i normally talk is kinda loud and fast but after the yoga i was more slow and soft. Yoga makes me really relax and feel free.
    After yoga it makes me work more peacefully and harder.

    It makes me have better relationships with other kids because after yoga i feel so good so i don’t bother to have a fight. When i do yoga i feel good, free calm and peaceful. After yoga i feel that i don’t need much but i want much .

  16. Mara
    November 23, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    i think that i have changed during yoga and meditation, because i have been more relaxed and calm during break, lunch, homeroom and at home doing homework etc. i think that yoga and meditation helps people calm you down and relax while your doing work at school. So when you are all hyper and crazy after.. For example: after Lunch you get all hyper and crazy so yoga and meditation calms you down.
    I look up Yoga, and this is what it came up with. Yoga can calm you down, but also it makes you more fit and relaxed, so when you are not strong and not happy, just do yoga to make you happy and strong and especially FIT. I read that on google 🙂 😀

  17. Zola
    November 23, 2011 at 4:12 pm

    I think Mindful means to be aware of the situation around us and know how to use our switch. To be gentle to the things around us. To be caring to other living things and knows how to let yourself be bored.

    Zola

  18. November 23, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    I think Mindful means to be aware of the situation, of one’s feelings and thoughts, being open-minded and to live in the present moment.

    I think that I have become a bit more mindful since 6SS started to do yoga, I can concentrate better on what I am doing and live in the moment. But I should work on supporting people more and think of their feelings instead of always thinking about something else.

  19. Caitie : )
    November 23, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    Hi,

    Mindfulness. Mindfulness means you know what’s going on around you. And like Zola said you know how to act in different situations. We should be changing by being more mindful. Here’s an example. This example is a bit on the extreme side. What if one day everybody in the class started arguing. They argued about everything, like where to put the tables, how to arrange the chairs, who got to sit where and so on and so on. The next day the teacher decided to make the class meditate and do yoga. The class did the yoga. They found it quite hard but tried it a couple times and it was easier. So the next day they came to school and they were all very kind and caring to each other. If somebody bumped one of them in the cafeteria instead of getting annoyed, like they used to, they would just let it go. I wish this is what will happen to our class.
    I think I am quite a mindful person. Because I don’t get all riled up about small things. But I still need to improve a little bit. “The goal of yoga, or of the person practicing yoga, is the attainment of a state of perfect spiritual insight and tranquility.” I got this from Wikipedia. 🙂

  20. November 23, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    Hi everyone,

    I think being mindfullness is to comb down and having some time whats going around you. I think just like Zola and Catie said how to act in different situations. We should be changing after we do yoga, to be more comb down, slow things down and not scream something out and run aroud. Also I think mindfullness means to be caring your friends and not say bad words to them. Being mindfullness when you work can be concentrating on your work and work peacefully just like one of our agreements. I think being mindfull is to pass things away when something that doesn’t need an argument. When you play, you should be playing something responsible not something that might cause somebody get hurt them phiscally or hurt their feelings. After you do Yoga you will not try to be aggresive and more then that, just talk to your friends in a soft way. When I do yoga, I think you should be combed, feel as if you are with the nature and putting your mind in a clear, fresh water. I think after yoga and being mindful, you should respect the adults(which actually you always should) and express a emotion or phsical things to explain to them you are really appreciating them. Also I think being mindfull is to be knowledgable and be a thinker if you really need what you want right now.

  21. Pan
    November 23, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    Hi 6SS,
    Do some research online about the meaning of “mindful”. Then, think carefully about your lives and the choices you make every day. If you are becoming more of a mindful person as we do more yoga and meditation, how should you be changing?
    Think about…

    Your behaviour
    The way you speak
    How you work and play
    Your relationships with other kids
    How you feel
    Your relationships with adults
    The things you want or need
    The Definition of mindful is:
    bearing in mind , inclined to be aware
    We will be more of an calm and relaxing person and we will be able to meditate and relax more easily. Ico is teaching us more of an meditation yoga more than physical yoga.
    Also if another kid bumps in to us by accident from normally pushing him back because we think he did it on purpose we will just be calm and not push him back. (For Example.)
    Mindfulness meditation is also known as insight because the intention is to gain insight as to the true nature of reality. While concentration involves the practitioner focusing their attention on a single object, in mindfulness meditation practice, every aspect of experience is welcomed and appreciated.
    This is about Mindful Meditation and how we can practice it.
    With concentration practice, we give the attention a target that keeps us anchored in the present moment. The target can be a physical object, or more commonly, the breath. We give the mind something consistent to focus on and this becomes the object of the meditation

    Whatever is used as the object for the attention, the aim is to keep the mind focused as often as you remember to do so. As the mind starts to wander, we simply direct the mind back toward the object of attention with a sense of “friendliness.”

    What do I mean by friendliness? Whenever we become lost in thought or confusion, we simply acknowledge those thoughts and then gently re-focus the attention. If we consciously try to prevent thinking, it’s going to have a negative impact on our practice. Instead, the moment we recognize we have become distracted, we gently bring our attention back.

    We do this as many times as distraction or thought occurs, without chastising ourselves for having failed or getting emotional about it. There is no failure. We simply bring our attention back the moment we acknowledge we have become distracted.

    Eventually, the mind will become calmer and discursive thought will begin to slow. As you notice your mind becoming calmer, avoid the temptation to think about your experience. Rather, keep a “friendly” attention on the focus of your practice.

    Mindfulness meditation differs from concentration in one important way. Where concentration involves the practitioner focusing their attention on a single object, in mindfulness meditation practice, every aspect of experience is welcomed and appreciated.

    With mindfulness meditation, we take on the role of an impartial observer of everything that passes before our attention. Our intention is not to be focused, but rather to be mindful, that is, to be fully aware and awake of what is going on in the present moment. Often the breath is still used as an anchor to the present moment in mindfulness meditation, but apart from that, no attempt is made to direct the attention.

    Whatever thoughts, so called distractions, sounds, images, ideas, or feelings arise, nothing is excluded. Everything is welcomed. We simply pay attention to whatever is there. We do not judge or evaluate. Whatever happens, whatever occurs is okay – we just sit quietly and observe.

    Mindfulness meditation can be applied to all experiences in life. Whatever is happening, we should not try to hold the experience outside ourselves. Mindfulness is about embracing reality and the present moment, whether we are working, running or enjoying a meal.
    Pan

  22. November 23, 2011 at 6:50 pm

    Hi 6SS,

    I did some research on ‘Mindful’ and this is what I got:

    The definition:

    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&gbv=2&q=mindful&tbs=dfn:1&tbo=u&sa=X&ei=XM_MTrbsIs6HrAfCq_S5DA&ved=0CDEQkQ4&biw=1280&bih=709

    http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/mindful

    http://www.answers.com/topic/mindfulness

    http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/mindful

    http://www.thefreedictionary.com/mindful

    A few videos I found on Youtube:

    This one is a talk about mindfulness by Jon Kabat-Zinn

    The definition of mindfulness

    How to relax

    How I have changed:

    I think I have become more relaxed and not so stressed out. Before we did this, I was really stressed out and worried. An example is if I only had a few more days for an assignment. Before, I would panic and go ‘Oh no, I only have a few more days! What do I do?!’ but now I just calm down and tell myself that I have enough time and I will use it wisely.

  23. yasmina
    November 23, 2011 at 7:11 pm

    I think by doing yoga,meditation it has made me more mindful because my school day is more relaxing and my friends and i aren’t having fights. My behavior and the way I talk to people is more polite, my work is better quality.

    I searched up what mindfulness means:

    * the trait of staying aware of (paying close attention to) your responsibilities
    * (mindfully) in a careful deliberate manner
    There was much more http://www.google.com/#hl=en&q=mindfulness&tbs=dfn:1&tbo=u&sa=X&ei=iOHMToacNY2zrAfpg50f&ved=0CDAQkQ4&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.,cf.osb&fp=a0a874330d21f8d2&biw=1024&bih=580

    Personally I think Mindfulness(mindful) means to have good manners and someone that makes the right choices.

  24. Tammy
    November 23, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    I think mindfulness means that you need to think before you act and also think a lot. I think being voted as a wise one means that people think you are mindful because wise ones think a lot and follow all the essential agreements.
    Tammy

  25. aryan123
    November 24, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    I think mindfulness means being wise and thinking before you act and being aware. You have to be in the present moment. Being mindfulness gives us time to relax. Be balanced after your long busy day and you will be surprised that you are full of joy. Most of us are so into modern days we forget all about what are ancestors passed on that is mindfulness. Someone that posted about mindfulness on Google mentioned something that was in don’t sweat the small stuff for me and a lot of other people it is one of the most important things in life. Something interests me it said that a 15 century poet said”wherever you are,that is the entry point.” This is a video I found called the body scan enjoy!


    The links to the sites that helped me are http://blogs.psychcentral.com/mindfulness/2011/11/a-key-mindful-lesson-for-us-all-kabir/,http://www.thereachapproach.co.uk/resources/mindfulness.pdf

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

