I really don’t like shopping malls.

We had a great conversation today. It was about my statement about malls. I really can’t stand them and much prefer to shop at markets, small shops and boutiques. I find malls to be too noisy and often find that they make me want to buy things I don’t want to buy. When I look around me, all I can see is people buying things that they probably don’t need!!! When I think about how much waste there is in the world all of that makes me a bit upset.

When I see another mall being built in Bangkok I groan and think about how much nicer it would be to have a park there, a lake, a market… anything but another mall!

These are my opinions, what are your opinions?

  1. priti(aryan's mum)
    November 15, 2011 at 2:12 pm

    i couldn’t agree more!! To go to a mall is a chore for me – one i absolutely detest! i love the souks in dubai, the bazaars in Mumbai and the weekend market in Bangkok. i find them so interesting, things change daily, people love what they sell and do it with a passion.
    Malls on the other hand i find sterile, stagnant and cold. Factory made products, highly priced, little value and commercial!

  2. 19vint
    November 15, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    Hi Mr. Sam,
    I kind of agree with you on this. I don’t really like malls because there is always too much people assembled there, and most of the products are highly priced, fake, and mostly plastic. Most malls are just a combination of many brands in one building. Sometimes, malls are good, because they have supermarkets like Gourmet Market, and bookstores like Kinokuniya and Asia Books. As I said, most malls have famous brand names (like Gucci, Salvatore Ferragamo, Prada etc.) all clustered in one building, but in Italy I saw an entire street with shops like I mentioned above and little cafe stretched along, and it wasn’t noisy and air-conditioned; you could still enjoy the cool air of the outdoors and walk more privately.

    However, I also like the traditional markets and bazaars. They sell a lot of interesting products, like traditional toys, games, and clothes, and they also sometimes sell snacks and food. Most of these traditional markets are disappearing due to the construction of malls.

  3. Gina Choi
    November 15, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    Hi Mr.Sam
    I don’t like shopping so I think the sopping malls are useless to me

    • Gina Choi
      November 15, 2011 at 5:09 pm

      sorry I spell shopping wrong

  4. 19aryana
    November 15, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    hi mr sam
    i love shopping malls its the best

  5. November 15, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    Hi Everyone!

    I think all the malls sell unnecessary stuffs that we don’t even need. In malls they have so many bags which are made from chemical ingredients. It damages earth. And many companies make too many stuffs and they can’t sell them, and then the new brands come in and the left over’s would never be sold. What I don’t like about malls is that many people just bump into you hard most of the time. It makes me annoyed and irritated. The other things I don’t like about some malls are they put too much A.C. on for the whole day even when it rains. If I were the people who organize the mall I would adjust the temperature of A.C. on the rainy day to save extra energy .

  6. November 15, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    Hi Mr.Sam,

    I agree with you a bit. I don’t like malls such as MBK because you feel like you’re squished and once you get in, you can’t wait to get out. I also agree with Vin though, it’s sometimes nice to eat at a restaurant, go to a bookshop, shop at a supermarket or sometimes just hang out for a little while.

    Another thing is that we don’t really need so many malls in Thailand. Maybe just 1 or 2? We could use a lot more parks, market spaces and anything apart from another mall. The spaces the malls are built at are perfect park spaces. If you think about it, do we really need another mall? I’ve heard of a quote that goes like this: “You can’t just ask customers what they want and try to give that to them. By the time you get it built, they’ll want something new.” The thing is, we always want something new. We’re never contented with the malls we have. We always want a new and better one and so that’s what all the property companies give us. They just build and build new malls and then we forget about the old ones but they still stand there and at the end of the day, you have dozens of malls but only a few are used and the rest are just there for the sake of being there. All the space could be used for a park or maybe a market. But since everyone likes the air-conditioned malls, the markets are forgotten although maybe the market may be the best place to get what you want!

  7. Cindy-Caitie's mom
    November 16, 2011 at 7:29 am

    Hello,

    I will admit to a ‘love-hate’ relationship with shopping malls. I love their convenience and dislike the sensory overload: lights too bright, air too dry & cold, music too tinny and more stuff than my eyes can comfortably process. I love outdoor markets like Chatuchak & Chinatown for their variety and energetic vibe, but when it is +33 outside or -20 with a meter of snow, I thoroughly appreciate their climate controlled environment. It’s my job, in our family, to be the ‘gatherer of goods’ and shopping malls are the modern town center market.

  8. November 16, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    To be honest I don’t like shopping malls because not only does it harm the environment but it can also sell pretty useless things that we don’t need.

    I went to Turkey over the Summer Holidays, and Turkey doesn’t have a lot of shopping malls because most people have better things to do but it does have marketplaces that sell useful things, the malls aren’t as big as the ones in Bangkok (The biggest is the size of half of Siam Paragon) and I think that Bangkok already has enough shopping malls and we don’t need another one.

    Chatuchak is a really great place to shop, everything is at a great price and if you like something there you have to buy it because you won’t find it again which I really like because in malls you can find it again but in places like Chatuchak the hours you spend there are very useful.

    • November 16, 2011 at 5:24 pm

      Anything but another mall!!

  9. November 17, 2011 at 6:53 pm

    I agree to you mr.Sam. Malls are very noisie there are too much people.

  10. November 18, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    I think there should be only few malls in Thailqand because there’s no point building a new mall even though we already have one and it’s bad for the nature. It’s good for society that people can buy many things. It’s bad for th economy because people waste money by buying things that are not needed

  11. Tyler
    January 23, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    I don’t like malls myself. For one, I feel like things cost more there,and I don’t really see the “point” of it. I don’t really see what’s so exciting about it. I’ve been do an outdoor mall,and those are pretty nice in my opinion, but the indoor malls are just weird to me. I always feel weird when I go in a mall,and if I’m in one, the first thing I want to do is leave.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

