Home > Assessment, Attitudes, How we express ourselves, Reflection, Sharing the Planet, Writing > What do we mean by “sharing the planet”?

What do we mean by “sharing the planet”?

  • What does sharing the planet mean?
  • What/who do we share the planet with?
  • Do you think we (humans) are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that?
  • Do you think you are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that?
Image from http://oisnewton.blogspot.com/2010/11/sharing-planet-pyp-exhibition-banner.html
  1. November 14, 2011 at 8:16 am

    Hi Mr.Sam,

    •What does sharing the planet mean?

    I think it means what our actions are and how it affects our planet and everything that lives in it.

    •What/who do we share the planet with?

    We share this planet with other humans, animals, plants and trees but so far, majority care about the humans the most.

    •Do you think we (humans) are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that?

    No, I don’t think as humans we are good at sharing the planet because we only care about ourselves. We chop down trees for our own use and destroy animals’ homes for our own advantage.

    •Do you think you are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that?

    I don’t think I’m exactly very good at sharing the planet because I’m like everyone else; I buy things that were made from animals, or products that in order to get, you have to chop down trees first.

  2. 6ss EY Team
    November 14, 2011 at 8:23 am

    I think sharing the planet means that if people are in danger even though they are in a different country we share food, water, etc. Also I think it means even though there are borders you don’t need to fight the soldiers guarding the border to go to another country.
    We share food, water and more to each other when there are difficulties in other countries.
    I don’t think we are not good at sharing the planet because when people for example from North Korea escape to South Korea we fight them so we are not completely sharing the planet. I don’t think I’m good at sharing the planet yet because I still feel uneasy when north Koreans are with me.

    • 6ss EY Team
      November 14, 2011 at 8:23 am

      Sorry, this was Vicky.

  3. Mara
    November 14, 2011 at 8:24 am

    Sharing the planet means using it all together and sharing and making it a better world for all of us 🙂

    We all share the planet we have to respect the world and make it a better place to live ;0

    I dont think we are doing any good to share the planet because the world is falling apart and if we dont work together we are not sharing the planet 🙂

    I try to make the world a better place but when i make a difference people just dont care 🙂

  4. Gina
    November 14, 2011 at 8:25 am

    Q1.I think it means by helping the earth and and not killing the earth by cutting down trees,killing animals for skin and meat ,keeping wild animals as pet .
    Q2.we shear the planet with animals and living being.
    Q3.I don’t think so because people cut down trees and kill animals.
    Q4.I kind of think I am in the middle because I some time pull leaves if trees and I try not to slap mosquito if they don’t bite me.

    Gina

  5. November 14, 2011 at 8:26 am

    I think sharing the planet means that we share the planet by caring about other people that is living in the planet because everybody owns earth. We share the planet with every single thing in the world. I think humans are not good sharing the planet because they destroy forests by cutting the trees to make stuffs. It’s really unfair for the nature. I think I am good at sharing the planet because I don’t throw trash or do things that makes the nature worse.

  6. November 14, 2011 at 8:27 am

    What does sharing the planet mean?

    Sharing the planet means we all have the right to our planet and we all should take care of our planet to keep it a clean and healthy for us humans to live we all humans should be all the same and not different for example we all should be the same not like your poor and I am rich. But what year 6 is doing right now is we are talking about the flood and trying to help in this big disaster that Thailand is going through right now. Sharing the planet also means that every body is in our planet and is sharing it with us through our whole lives.

    What/who do we share the planet with?

    We share the planet with everybody and everybody it does not mean that the planet is mine and not yours it is everyone’s we all are like a big family together.

    Do you think we (humans) are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that?

    No some people that are sharing the planet with us are not keeping our planet clean and healthy and we all should start doing that each and every moment.

    Do you think you are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that?

    I think I am sometimes helping our planet and sometimes not because sometimes I either do something wrong and I feel bad about it I also do somethings right to build up our planet but I want to try to become a person that that can help our planet and make it a better place for everyone to live in.

  7. Petanque
    November 14, 2011 at 8:28 am

    Hello,

    What does Sharing the planet mean?

    I think sharing the planet means that we share our planet to the animals and all the living creatures. It is also saying that it is not our own planet it belongs to everything and every living creature. Sharing the planet doesn’t always mean sharing but it can also mean don’t litter so other people don’t have to clean it up or it might also make an effect in the future. (Taking care of the planet)

    What/who do we share the planet with?

    All the animals and the whole society. Everyone and everything. We can also share our planet with nature that means we don’t cut down trees and don’t destroy them.

    Do you think we (humans) are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that?

    I think not at all because for some people everywhere they go they just litter and do everything to make it worse. And we are constantly cutting down trees that makes two effect destroying nature and destroying the animals habitat.

    Do you think you are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that?

    I think I am not that bad at it because I don’t litter or even if I do I think before I act. I also try to use less amount of paper and remind other people about taking or eating things that cause animals to get hunted down just for us to eat or for anything. (Shark fin soup) etc. I also share the planet by letting other people have the same rights to do things.

    Petanque

  8. November 14, 2011 at 8:28 am

    What does sharing the planet mean?

    I think its means that we to share the planet for example there is a place where animals can live and a place where people live.

    What/who do we share the planet with?

    I think we share the planet with animals. Because some people live with pets/animals so they shared their planet with animals. But I think planet means that our planet is our house.

    Do you think we (humans) are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that?

    I think some are and some are not. Because some people treat animals badly and they cut some of the trees in the forest,and thats not sharing the planet because tey are taking things away from animals. For example my sister gave someything to me and the next day she wants it back.

    Do you think you are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that?

    I think that Iam pretty good at sharing the planet because I don’t waste the paper towels. It helped the animals by not cutting many trees at a time. Tammy

  9. November 14, 2011 at 8:29 am

    Hi.

    •What does sharing the planet mean? not to hog the world and all its resources.
    •What/who do we share the planet with? Animals,plants,other people.
    •Do you think we (humans) are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that? Yes and no. I think we are good well great at sharing the planet with other people because we have countries.But we are not good at sharing the plant with animals.
    •Do you think you are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that? I don’t know. What sharing the plant means in thins contest.

  10. Hannah
    November 14, 2011 at 8:34 am

    I think that sharing the planet means, sharing the planet with other people and other animals. It might be about sharing the resources like water and food.

    I think we share the planet with plants, animals, and other humans. Right now we don’t care about plants, and animals (the majority doesn’t) they want themselves to have a luxurious life (or try to) not spending any money on other living things on earth.
    I think that the majority of humans are not “sharing the planet” like we should, or like we used to.
    I think I am a little better than other humans but I could improve too. I try my best.

  11. Melis
    November 14, 2011 at 8:45 am

    What does sharing the planet mean?

    Sharing the planet means we should be respectful to the planet and animals as well as sharing resources like food and water.

    What/who do we share the planet with?

    We share the planet with plants, animals and other people.

    Do you think we (humans) are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that?

    To be honest, we aren’t now there isn’t much rhinos and elephants left and we throw rubbish everywhere, our population is increasing but unfortunately animals population is decreasing and we aren’t doing anything about it.

    Do you think you are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that?

    I am good at sharing the planet I might need some work to get into the habit, I use reusable cloth shopping bags instead of plastic ones, and I think before I act which is very good advice for people that need a little more work on sharing the planet.

  12. November 14, 2011 at 8:46 am

    •What does sharing the planet mean?
    I think sharing the planet means we should share the planet with everything around us and respect everything.

    •What/who do we share the planet with?
    Animals
    Plants
    Plastic
    Recouses

    •Do you think we (humans) are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that?
    I think some people treat animals really nice but others don’t because some people kill animals to make clothes.

    •Do you think you are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that?
    I think i am good because i dont kill animals or plants.

    Zola

  13. November 14, 2011 at 8:50 am

    What does sharing the planet mean?
    I think it means that we share the planet with other people and care for the living.

    What/who do we share the planet with?
    I think we share the planet with everything around us for example animals and people.

    Do you think we (humans) are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that?
    I think we are not the best at sharing the planet because here in Bangkok there is a lot of pollution but in some other countries its very clean.

  14. 19vint
    November 14, 2011 at 8:51 am

    I think sharing the planet means that we share our planet equally with everything, humans and animals, and that our actions affect the planet we live on. This is our planet, and we should work together to help it , but so far, even though we are all human beings, and also animals(mammals), people are separated by different social classes, nationalities, borders, political views, and many other barriers that we created ourselves.

    We share the planet with everything and every creature that lives on earth, including humans, animals and plants, but so far we humans are only caring about ourselves, and we are destroying the environment and natural balance by cutting down forests, destroying animal habitats, killing animals and (this is even worse) keeping them alive and imprisoned as pets while they should be free in their own natural habitats.

    For these reasons, and many more, I don’t think humans are good at sharing the planet, but we are slowly improving, as some people are protesting for animal rights and we are slowly trying to preserve our natural resources by making special zones for animals in real forests and habitats, where they can be free without humans trespassing and killing them. I think sharing the planet doesn’t only mean protecting its inhabitants, but also the planet itself, because if we keep causing pollution which in turn causes global warming, we are slowly destroying the planet and in the future there might be no place for us (humans, plants and animals alike) to live anymore and we might all die out, so I think we should conserve energy and use renewable energy sources.

    I don’t think I’m that good at sharing the planet because I sometimes take animals and plants for granted; I eat animal meat like most other people do, in the form of beef, fish, and pork etc., and I use paper and other products that have been made from animals and plants.
    Vin

  15. Pat
    November 14, 2011 at 8:52 am

    What does sharing the planet mean?
    I think that it means that every creature on earth will share the space on earth and no one will be left out and nobody is more important than the other person.

    Who are we sharing the planet with?
    We are sharing the planet with every creature that is living on earth no matter how big or small they are.

    Do you think people are sharing the planet?
    I don’t think that people are sharing the planet for example people don’t share the planet with animals because people are destroying forest’s which are the homes of animals and replacing them with houses condos etc, people are cutting down trees and trees are living things. But in a way people also share the planet for their pets or in natural reserves people let animals live in there and not let other people go in and hunt them.

    Do you think you are sharing the planet?
    I think I am 50/50 because I go and live in condos which encourages people to cut down more trees to make more condos but I don’t go and cut down trees or do anything like that.

  16. November 14, 2011 at 8:58 am

    I think sharing the planet means to be fare to the earth and otheres. So you can share the planet togather. We can share the planet with every boone deserves to be a part of the planet. I dont think humans are good at sharing the planet, because of us other people cant have education, food, water, and other stuff. We keep making wars and global strugles on purpose.

    I think i am am ok at sharing the planet because i really want people to share the planet, but i feel that some people dont share thee planet on purpose.

  17. Billy
    November 14, 2011 at 9:01 am

    Hello 6SS.

    What does sharing the planet mean?

    I think that sharing the planet means sharing with the trees and animals and everything else. I think this defiantly connects to the COMPASS because if we share the planet we have to make decisions for NATURE, SOCIETY, ECONOMY and WELL-BEING. We need to share the planet by not always taking everything that we want, we need to make decisions that will not affect the animals environment.

    What/who do we share the planet with?

    We share the planet with anything living for an example we share the planet with animals because they eat something that eats something else that we do not like, it is like a food chain. We share the planet with all plants because we SOMETIMES look after plants and they ALWAYS bring in the bad oxygen and give us the good oxygen. We give dirt and water to vegetables and they give us FOOD.

    Do you think we (humans) are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that?

    No we are absolutely RUBBISH we take but do not give, we only do things that we want we do not think about how it will effect other living things. At the moment the only thing we are doing is destroying nature and replacing it with cement! I have a question, do you want to look at GREY concrete or ant beautiful green? We always say we want to help, but do we? NO! We can help by planting more trees and planting more plants and that is not hard.

    Do you think you are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that?

    I think honestly not really, I maybe one of those people who do not make all of this GREY but I do waste a lot of things, I take plastic then just throw it away. I need to ‘Walk The Talk’ by planting more trees and more plants as well as not polluting so much. Whenever i go out shopping I should either bring used plastic bags or bags that are not plastic!

    I need to step up and ‘WALK THE TALK!’

    Cheers,

    Billy

  18. Pan
    November 14, 2011 at 9:04 am

    •What does sharing the planet mean?
    I means we share the planet with living things. That means we should care about animals, trees and the the other living things we live in. People are just cutting down trees and making jewelry and decorations out of animals and people are cutting down trees but not planting them often. We should also all take care of our planet like we should stop throwing garbage everywear and people are using to much plastic bags and other stuff that causes poluation. There is a huge amount of poluion and waste going on everyday.. That is mostly why global warming is happening. There is also many other reasons That causes global warming.
    •What/who do we share the planet with?
    I think we share the planet with living things such as animals and trees. We of course share the planet among people and ourselves.
    •Do you think we (humans) are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that?
    No becasue we polute and we kill animals and also cut down trees.
    •Do you think you are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that?
    I am ok becasue I don’t polute and I put garbage in the bin most of the time.
    Pan

  19. Madhav
    November 14, 2011 at 9:04 am

    •What does sharing the planet mean?
    It means that all of us share a planet so we all use it together and coverporate. Even with animals, we should not kill them beause they are also a big part of this world.

    •What/who do we share the planet with?
    we share the planet with animals too so we should not kill them because they are just like humans, we should not kill them just because we want nice clothes. We also share the planet with trees and plants because they are living things. We cut billions of trees down.

    •Do you think we (humans) are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that?
    I don’t think that we human are good at sharing the planet because we kill lots of living things, and it is like we rule the world becuase we kill alot of things like, animals and trees. But some people are good at shring the planet like people who don’t ask for much like a mansion. That would take alot of wood, or a nice comfortable carpet made out of polar bears, we have to kill polar bears just so people want a carpet.

    •Do you think you are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that?

    I don’t think that I am really good at sharing the planet because I live in a house which would take lots of wood to make. I am also a non vegierian, which means I killed tons of animals overtime. But the good thing is that sometimes I am vegiterian sometimes like 3 times a week. Every year I have to be vegiterian.

    By Madhav

  20. 19aryana
    November 14, 2011 at 9:05 am

    I think sharing the planet means not being greedy and destroying the animals and plants parts and making it ours. Not only water and food but also there homes are being destroyed and worse we are the ones that destroy it for them.

    We share the planet with animals,nature and other humans.We plant plants and take care of it but the thing i don’t like is we waste so much water on grass but hardly anything on plants and flowers. We hardly care about animals 70 percent don’t care 30 percent do and about 15 percent of the thirty don’t want to adopt a pet they want to get a puppy ore kittens never a cat or dog.

    I agree with Hannah some of us really try they do so much stuff to save the environment while the others just make it worse.
    I think i am ok because i try to save it but then sometimes I pollute but now I wont.

  21. November 14, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    Q1: What does sharing the planet mean?

    Sharing the planet means to equally balance nature and economy. It also means to balance how we use our natural rescores for example water, oil, and wood etc. In the past we were very good at balancing nature and economy. We had plenty of recourses. Even though we use some we would have a lot of resources left. But now economy developed too much and the environment gets destroyed. We see some people throw plastic bottles everywhere and pollute the beautiful ocean with garbage. Nowadays we don’t think before we act. We don’t use our wisdom and common sense so we use so many resources like fossil fuels that we’re almost running out of it or we don’t equally share our limited resources like the pure water between developed and undeveloped countries. And we take habitat from other animals by deforestation for making money.

    Q2: What/who do we share the planet with?

    We share our planet with us human beings, animals, and plants.

    Q3: Do you think we (humans) are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that?

    I think we humans are horrible at sharing the planet. Some people are good but most of the people are horrible or even worse. In my school for example many of the secondary students throw their plastic bags on the floor or even worse they shove it in your shoulder. In the world, for example, in Indonesia orangutans are endangered because of deforestation. And in Japan because of the nuclear accident caused by the earthquake many people had to abandon their houses in Fukushima prefecture. In Africa, because of poverty the poor people don’t get enough pure water. Like this there are so many bad examples for human not to share the planet.

    Q4: Do you think you are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that?

    I think I am good because when I go to Japan and buy one onigiri (rice ball) the lady at the cashier say if you want a plastic bag or not I always say no.

  22. November 15, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    •What does sharing the planet mean?

    I think sharing the planet means share this earth with animals, nature and humans.

    •What/who do we share the planet with?

    We share the planet with other people, animals and nature.

    •Do you think we (humans) are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that?

    I think humans are not really good at this because people have deforested and many animals have lost their homes.

    •Do you think you are good at sharing the planet? Why do you think that?

    i think I am ok because I don’t use a lot of plastic bags

  23. shreyas
    March 9, 2012 at 4:05 pm

    we should try to keep a balence in animals

    • Komal Pukale
      June 25, 2013 at 10:19 pm

      how will u balence in animals

  24. Komal Pukale
    June 25, 2013 at 10:16 pm

    3) Humans can share a good planet by doing following things:
    i) making less pollution.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

