Long-Term Science Experiments

Choose an experiment that will take a long time to happen, something that you will have to watch, observe and look closely at in order to monitor changes. Do some research to find the experiment that is right for you. Remember to keep it simple and try to be independent with this, don’t turn this into homework for your parents!

Make a comment on this posting to tell us:

The question you will explore with this experiment

What you think will happen

How you will record the data

What equipment you will need

How you will keep your experiment and data organized

How you will share your findings

  1. October 3, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    Hi Mr. Sam,
    I am going to make a salt crystal and making egg shell dissolve.
    So for the salt crystal, I will question my self: If I put more salt to make a salt crystal, what will happen? How is salt crystal made?
    I think the salt crystal will grow faster if I put alot of salt. Also I think that If I put it in sunlight it will not grow. (Salt crystals grow in a dark place)
    I will record datas by using a notebook. I will record it how did the salt crystal grow in sunlight and how fast the salt crystal grow when I put a lot of salt.
    I will need:
    Salt, Black Paper(to make it grow in a dark place),yarn, teaspoon, spoon, kitchen towel, a pot, water, glass bottle.
    I will keep my data and experiment organized by checking it everyday and writing the data everyday.
    I will share the findings by: Uploading pictures on Flickr

    • October 3, 2011 at 5:25 pm

      Also for the egg,
      The question is= Why does egg shell dissolve in vinegar? How does this work?
      I think that the egg shell dissolve slowly because when it is first put in vinegar it doesn’t get with the vinegar. I will record the data by using the notebook. I need: Egg, Vinegar. two weeks later the egg will not have a shell. I will keep this data organized by checking and writing every single day. I will share this data by taking pictures and bringing the notebook to school.

  2. October 3, 2011 at 4:58 pm

    I borrowed a book in the library called “101 great science experiments” and my sister told me about an experiment called “Rainbow Fizz” and I am going to research about more science experiments.

  3. Petanque
    October 3, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    Hi MR. SAM,

    My EXPERIMENT : Which plant will grow the fastest using different types of liquid.

    For my experiment at home I doing something similar to the brainpop one but my is growing a plant, starting it by myself. This time I will try to grow beans using different types of liquid. Right now I am doing one already using orange juice and coffee. My hypothesis was coffee and I was right. When I was water it each day, If found out that the coffee one absorbed the water really quickly but the juice one was still wet and didn’t really absorb. I also found out that the orange juice is sweet so at night the ants start to come. I solved it buy leaving the cup on water so ants do come in.

    I think I will use Milk, Coffee, Red Water, Gatorade, Soil milk, and others.

    The question you will explore with this experiment?

    Which type of liquid will use to grow best with green bean? If I put three spoons of liquid for each one will it decrease the time for it to grow instead of only one spoon?

    What you think will happen?

    I think the one using milk will rotten and become moldy and all stinky because I tried to leave milk in a car for 2 day and it was horrible. But I might be wrong because milk gives protein and maybe the plant will grow even faster and stronger. My mom says that her guess is the red water because she said that sugar helps it to grow or something. I think the one using coffee to water it will grow the best because coffee comes from a type of bean and it is kind of like a plant so I think that will grow fastest.

    How you will record the data?

    I will take some photos like day one, day two, day three. I will also write them down maybe in my bubble catcher or in a book. That means I have to water them everyday and make sure they get the same amount of water and sunlight. I will also have to observe it each day carefully and quickly right the notes down.

    What equipment you will need?

    I will need A big bag of green beans, Milk, Coffee, A spoon for watering, a cup fro mixing the different ingredients, a plastic reusable cup to plant the beans in, Tissue or cotton, Other different types of liquid.

    How you will keep your experiment and data organized?

    I can use a reminder to help me remind that I need to water the plants and observe them. make sure I take photos and evidence. Doing it independently and preparing it myself so other people don’t have to get involved.

    How you will share your findings?

    I will share it by posting it on flickr and writing about what I learned or things that happened during the experiment.

    Petanque

    Can we do more than one and if we do, do we have to post it?

  4. Pat
    October 3, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    I am going to make salt come up at the rope which I am going to put in saltwater.
    The question I will explore with this experiment is: How fast can the salt go up the rope.
    What do I think will happen: I think in about in three days I should see salt on the rope.
    How will I record the data: I will record the data by measuring far did the salt go up the rope in …days.
    The equipment that I need is: salt,water,a cup, a rope,two pencils,a ruler and paper.
    How will I keep my data organized: I will tell my family that this is my science experiment so don’t trash it, and I will put my science experiment somewhere I need to go everyday anyways so I don’t forget to check it.
    How will I share my data: I will share my data by showing the piece of paper which I recorded my data.

  5. Billy
    October 3, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    Hi 6SS,

    My experiment is what evaporates quicker carton orange juice is freshly squeezed orange juice.

    The question you will explore with this experiment:

    What evaporates quicker carton orange juice or freshly squeezed orange juice.

    What you think will happen:

    I think that the freshly squeezed orange juice will evaporate faster because in real life oranges go off quicker then orange juice does. Orange juice has much more added things and that will make it take longer to evaporate.

    How you will record the data:

    Every day I will take a photo of both bottles and see which one evaporates first.

    What equipment you will need:

    2 one litre bottles

    1 bottle of freshly squeezed orange juice and one bottle of carton orange juice.

    How you will keep your experiment and data organized:

    I will keep them on my camera and upload the pictures to a folder that I will create on Flickr and then when I have finished I will post all the photos on to the blog so people can go to either one and see it.

    How you will share your findings:

    Upload the photos to Flickr and add a description as well as adding a posting about this experiment on the blog.

    Cheers,

    Billy

  6. madhav
    October 3, 2011 at 6:16 pm

    I am going to grow 2 different types of plants.1 with sunlight and one wihtout sunlight in a dark cupboard.
    1. I think that the plant with sunlight will grow because to grow a plant you need sun. I think that the plant in the cupboard will not grow because as i said again you need sunlight to grow a plant.
    2.I will use my drawing book and draw it everyday how ever it looks.
    3. I will need: soil, water, sun, flower seeds and cupboard.
    4.I will tell my family and my maid about my science experiments so they can be more aware.
    5. I will share my findings by sharing into Flickr.

    By Madhav 👿

  7. Gina Choi
    October 3, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    I am going to experiment coke and sprite which one is worst and I am going to put each a chicken bone in it.

    Q1.I am guessing the coke is worst because the coke is much sweeter than sprite.

    Q2. I will write a tally mark each day on my homework book

    Q3. I will need a coke,sprite,two cups and two chicken bone

    Q4. I will write a note saying “Please don’t touch”

    Q5. Taking photos of it each day and making a booklet of it

    By:Gina

  8. Hannah
    October 3, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    I am going to experiment in which glass my tooth will last in longer. My mom is already taking photos of them ( Especially the strawberry Fanta ) and it really does look cool when you shine light on it using a torch. ( The bad thing is that I had to hold the torch at first and it was pretty tiring. But then I told my that I still have homework to do and then she held the torch herself ) I have Fanta, ( Strawberry flavor ) Coke ( Normal kind ) and Manao soda. ( From the can ) I also wanted to try to get beer, but I was alone so they wouldn’t let my buy beer, even though I think it would have been interesting to see what beer would do to my teeth, and I was at foodland for about half an hour because I couldn’t find a razor balde which my mom wanted for some reason. When I put the tooth in bubbles started coming up as if i would stick a finger in it.

    My Question for the experiment is:
    What is worse for your teeth? Fanta, Coke or Manao soda from a can?

    I think that Coke will be worst because people use coke as the science experiment and not Fanta and in some countries there isn’t even such thing as manao soda from a can and then they can’t develop it so that it is even unhealthier.

    I have used Fanta, Coke, Manao Soda from a can, three cups and three teeth. Now I might need a spoon to see how the teeth would look like.

    I could get all the data by taking photos of how they develop during the week(s) and then make a blog posting about it.

    I will keep it organized by writing a sign saying something similar to this: “Science Experiment in progress please do not touch. Thank You” and translate it to Thai, so my maid can also read it.

    As I said I could make a blog posting about it and I could ask Tammy how she got the “Gallery” look.

    Hannah

  9. Yuki
    October 3, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    Hey everyone!

    I am going to do an experiment about how I can preserve food from decay.

    What I need: Tomatoes, mango, potatoes, banana, wasabi, chili, salt, vinegar, black pepper, plastic containers so ants won’t steal the food, camera and a checklist to check what is really important.

    I am going to put one of the foods together with one of the ingredients in a container to see which ingredients can preserve food longer. I also could put one container in a refrigerator and the other container outside of the fridge (in a normal temperature).

    I think the one outside the fridge with no ingredients will rot first because it will be hot and start to rot. Next I think the one in the fridge with no ingredients will rot second. Then the one outside the fridge with ingredients will rot next and finally the one in the fridge with the ingredients will rot last. I think the most effective ingredient is wasabi. In Japan sushi chefs use wasabi to stop raw fish to rot. So that’s why I think wasabi is most effective.

    I will record my data using a picture and a note book to write how it looks like, feels like, and hears like, smells like and how it might look the next day. I can share my conclusion by making a blog post, poster, Power Point etc. I hope I can have a successful science experiment.

  10. Yasmin :)
    October 4, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    I’m going to experiment the m&m one, but i’m going to put the m&m and water in the freezer. I want it to turn to an ice cube. So i can see if when it turns into an ice cube, the color will freeze with it.
    I think the color will freeze with the water.
    I will record it by writing what has happened everyday.
    I will need 3 m&m’s and water.
    I will keep my experiment organized by telling my maid not to take it out of the freezer. I will keep my data organized by keeping it simple and keeping it in a safe place.
    I will share my findings by telling everybody in class or posting a post.
    😀

    • Yasmin :)
      October 4, 2011 at 3:52 pm

      i will also share my findings on flickr. 🙂

  11. October 4, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    Hi,

    I am going to test how mold grows on different types of bread.
    The bread I am going to use is toaster bread, pumpernickel bread, French bread and whole grain bread. I am going to leave the bread for two weeks.

    What you think will happen? I think the toaster bread will last the longest.

    How you will record the data? I am going to take a photo every day.

    What equipment you will need? Toaster bread, pumpernickel bread, French bread and whole grain bread.

    How you will keep your experiment and data organized? As soon as I get home I am going to take the photo. So I won’t forget about it.

    How you will share your findings? I am going to bring in the photos to class.

  12. daniel :)
    October 4, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    My experiment will be seeing if a fruit with a lot of acid in side or a fruit with not so much acid will stay the longest with out rotting. My hypothesis is that the fruit with the least amount of acid in side will stay for the longest. I will record my data by taking a photo every day and putting it on flicker. I will need to fruits, two plates, camera and time. I will show my end result in the blog.

  13. October 4, 2011 at 8:01 pm

    Hi Mr.Sam,

    I am going to do the experiment ‘Mold Terrarium’.

    This is the link:
    http://www.exploratorium.edu/science_explorer/mold.html

    The question I will explore with this experiment:

    Which piece of food will get moldy first and why?

    What do I think will happen?

    My hypothesis is that the food will get moldy and in probably around 2 weeks, the whole piece of food will be covered in mold.

    How will I record the data?

    I will take photos of my experiment and write down what I see everyday.

    What equipment I will need?

    A clear plastic container

    Adhesive Tape

    Water

    Pieces of Food: Hard Cheese, Apple, Banana, Bread and Onion

    How will you keep your experiment and data organised?

    I will make sure I observe my experiment for 5 minutes everyday by keeping it in a place that I always walk by such as the living room. I will keep my data organised by making a chart for recording information and labelling all my photos: Day 1, Day 2, Day 3 and so on so I don’t forget.

    How will I share my findings?

    I will share my findings by making a set on our flickr account and putting all my photos there.

  14. October 5, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    I ‘m going to do a experience about the change the silver spoon will make when it touches the air and when it doesn’t touches the air.
    My question is how does silver not change when it doesn’t touch air? I think the silver spoon will be less shiny when the air touches because the air will stop the spoon to be shiny. I will record my data by taking photos and put them in order every day. I will need:
    An aluminum foil
    A plastic wrapper
    3 silver spoons
    I will organize my data and my experiment by putting it where I could see all the time. I will make it a habit by observing it for 17days for 5 minutes each day. I will organize my data organize by labeling it so I know what day it was when I recorded it also I will make a chart to record the information and record it when I see something is different every day. I will share my findings by uploading it on flickr, make a blog post and make a presentation.

  15. Pan
    October 5, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    HI,
    My experament is gonna be on fast food. So i know which one is healthy or not healthy at all. I am gonna buy I kfc burger and chicken and also a Mcdonalds burger and chicken. I am gonna leave it in for a month. If it is rotten that means it is healthy. (I guess burger king is a bit healthier I think)
    Pan

  16. Stefan
    October 5, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    I am going to do a experiment that shows witch type of fast food burgers are better for your health.

    I will need: a camera, a burger from MC Donald’s, A burger from KFC and a burger from Burger King.

    The burger that rots the quickest will be the most healthiest burger and the one that doesn’t rot a lot will be proven unhealthy.

    My question is: witch burger is most unhealthy.

    My hypothesis is: that the MC Donald’s burger will be most unhealthy and the burger king burger will be most healthy.

    I will record the data by taking photos of the burgers every day and then posting them on Flickr.

    Stefan

  17. Tamanna
    October 5, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    Hello 6SS,

    My grandfather has done this experiment before and recommended me it and it was a good idea. I am going to do something similar as the brain pop one but a bit different I am going to get three different kind of seeds I am going to get papaya seeds, Tomato seeds & bean sprout beans. I am going to water beans sprout with milk and tomato & papaya seeds with water and water it after 2/3 days.

    The question will be how long which pot will make the seed grow will it grow with milk or water?

    What do I think will happen?

    I think all the seeds will grow successfully because the water one normally when you grow plants with water it grows. But I also think the milk one will work because it has a lot of protein and it is healthy for children so it might be healthy for plants too.

    How will I record the data

    I will take pictures everyday put it on Microsoft word with a writing about what happened and I will put it on a thumb drive to show the class of what happened.

    What equipment will I need?

    tomato seeds

    papaya seeds

    bean sprout beans

    water

    milk

    3 pots

    sunlight

    How will you keep your experiment and data organized?

    I will observe straight after I take the photo and tell my nanny to write in her language and I will write in English please do not touch so everybody knows that it should not be touche or thrown away.

    How will I share my findings?

    I will put my pictures in my thumb drive so I can show the class or maybe put it on flicker.

    My grandfather recommended me this experiment.

    Tamanna

    • Tamanna
      October 11, 2011 at 7:12 pm

      sorry I want to change my question

      How long will each plant take to grow?

  18. Mara
    October 6, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    Hi,
    What experiment am i going to do?
    Well, im making up my own.. Its were you get a drink of ice tea (you can make or get from 7-11 store) and you fill it up in a little jug and put a couple of salt and vinegar crisps (chips) and ut them in the ice tea.
    Now what i will do is wait for a week to see what happens. Im very excited 😀

    Mara

    • Mara
      October 7, 2011 at 6:47 am

      Actually i will put a apple in ice tea and see what it does in a week 😀

      • Mara
        October 10, 2011 at 5:55 pm

        actually in water. sorry 😀

  19. Tammy
    October 6, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    Hi

    My experiment is going to be about fast food

    I want to see which company fast food is healthiest between Burger King and McDonald.

    The burger that rots first will be the healthiest and the one that doesn’t rot at all is the unhealthiest.

    My question is how long will it take them to rot?

    I will need : Camera,McDonald’s burger (any type),Burger King’s burger (any type) and a computer to upload pictures to flickr and the blog

    My prediction is all of them will not rot at all.

    Tammy 🙂

  20. Vin
    October 6, 2011 at 10:00 pm

    Hi,
    My experiment is seeing how metal will change and react to different liquids. I will get seven different liquids and keep them separate. I will put some paper clips and coins in each. The liquids are coke, water, wine, lemon juice, coffee, chlorine water and salt water.

    I think the metal in the water will rust first, then salt water, then chlorine water, then lemon juice, then wine, then coke and then coffee.

    I will keep a record of it by taking photos everyday, observing and writing the information down on a notebook or some pieces of paper.

    I will need a glass each of the liquids: water, salt water, lemon juice, wine, coke, chlorine water and coffee. I will also need some paperclips and coins, a camera and something to write down the information and observations on.

    I will keep the experiment and the data organized by making a reminder to check on my experiment and I will keep the data in a place where I can find it.

    I will upload the photos of the experiment to flickr and I will also make a comment about it with the photos and my observations.

    Vin

  21. October 9, 2011 at 10:01 am

    My experiment is about water evaporation
    1. I am going to use 3 cups of water –one that is uncovered(1), one that is covered with cellophane wrap(2) and one that is covered with some holes on top(3).
    I want to observe how much water has evaporated both outside with sunlight (A group) and inside without sunlight (B group).
    So, I will make 6 cups for both groups.

    2. I will put 100c of water into 6 cups each and mark a fill line on the cups and make sure they are in the same place on each cups. I will cover 4 of the cups with the cellophane and two of them make some holes on the top.

    3. Place these 3 types(1,2,3)of the cups in outside with sunlight(A) and inside without sunlight(B)

    4. I will observe how much water has evaporated from the cups and mark the levels of water with different colored pen on each cup every day
    What you think will happen:
    I think the water in the wrapped cup with holes in the sunshine will evaporate the most and the water in the cup that is wraped inside evaporate the least.

    How you will record the data:
    I will take pictures everyday so I can see how much water has evaporate and take notes.
    What I will need
    6 cups, about 600c of water, markers, a measured cup and cellophane wrap.

    How you will keep your experiment and data organized:
    I am going to keep my experiment and data organized by looking at and taking notes how much the water has evaporate each day.

    How you will share your findings
    I will share my findings by bringing the data to school so I can let my classmate see it. I can put pictures on Flickr.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

