Drama in the Classroom

I’d like us to start doing a lot more drama in the classroom. Drama and role-plays can really help you to get involved in the things you learn about, to deepen your understanding and to develop your ability to empathize.

I need your help though. One of your homework tasks next week will be to collect some things to be used as costumes or props. I will get us a clothes rack to store them on, but you will need to provide the costumes!

Make a comment to tell us what you will bring.

  1. September 7, 2011 at 11:25 am

    Wonderful idea!
    I want to share with you how drama was used by another class to learn about …solar energy. I hope you’ll enjoy seeing this approach! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5LFzSuQh16M&feature=youtu.be (looking forward to your ideas!)

    • Mr. Sam
      September 8, 2011 at 9:17 am

      That is a great video. It is so rare to see transdisciplinary ideas like this actually working, actually deepening the students’ thinking, and actually benefiting both subjects at the same time!

  2. Biliana
    September 7, 2011 at 12:11 pm

    I want to be a student again! What wonderful things are being organized.
    We can send in a lot of stuff but I will let Stefan decide.

    • Mr. Sam
      September 8, 2011 at 9:17 am

      You’re welcome to come in and be a student if you like!

  3. Jimin
    September 7, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    I will bring my belly dance dress and a bale

    • Mr. Sam
      September 8, 2011 at 9:18 am

      Sounds very exotic!

  4. Yuki
    September 7, 2011 at 4:45 pm

    Hi everyone!!!!!!!!

    Well I could bring my Japanese traditional happi coat that the Japanese groups used for international day in the oval last year. Or I could bring my cool and awesome Cuban hat which my piano teacher gave me as a present when she went to Cuba. Also I could bring my sun-glasses which I don’t use anymore. I hope we could do a show before we have the October holidays!!!!!!!!!

    • daniel :)
      September 7, 2011 at 4:46 pm

      are you on the blog

    • Mr. Sam
      September 8, 2011 at 9:18 am

      Can you bring all three things?

    • September 8, 2011 at 2:16 pm

      Good IDEA Yuki

  5. daniel :)
    September 7, 2011 at 4:45 pm

    I have this really cool pirate costume and i think i might bring that like totally.

    I do not no why i said the sentence that way?

    • Stephanie(Andrea's mum)
      September 7, 2011 at 6:37 pm

      Hi Daniel,

      We’re doing real life situations like dressing up as a business man or beggars (just examples).

      • Andrea
        September 7, 2011 at 6:40 pm

        Sorry, accident, that comment was from me. My mom’s name was still there and I forgot to erase it.

    • Mr. Sam
      September 8, 2011 at 9:19 am

      A pirate costume is fine!

  6. September 10, 2011 at 4:18 am

    Drama is a great medium for exploring ideas and deepening understandings. It doesn’t always require costumes either: Mr Sam, let me know if you want some great ideas I have learned from my daughter who’s a drama teacher, using things like 4 sentence stories, frozen pictures and fluid sculptures.

    • Mr. Sam
      September 10, 2011 at 12:20 pm

      I would love to get some of those ideas off you!

  7. Tammy
    September 11, 2011 at 7:29 pm

    I will bring some props for the play.
    Tammy 🙂

  8. Andrea
    September 12, 2011 at 7:06 am

    Hi Mr.Sam,

    I can bring an apron although it has my name stitched on it.

    Andrea

  9. Tammy
    September 12, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    I will bring some bags,boxes,cloth hanger and e.tc.

    Tammy 🙂

    • Mr. Sam
      September 12, 2011 at 7:58 pm

      Excellent ideas, Tammy.

  10. September 12, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    I will bring in some sunglasses and maybe a bow tie.
    Pan 😀

    • Mr. Sam
      September 12, 2011 at 7:57 pm

      A bow tie is a good idea, sunglasses too.

  11. Madhav
    September 12, 2011 at 4:42 pm

    I will bring in a mask,2watches,vase and glasses

  12. Madhav
    September 12, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    OHH and some hangers

    • September 13, 2011 at 7:51 pm

      Great additions to our supplies Madhav!

  13. Caitie:)
    September 12, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    I am going to bring in a crazy belt, some fabric, my dad’s old work shirt, a flower wreath, and a doily.

  14. Tamanna
    September 12, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    Hello everyone,

    I have decided to ask my family if they have any old clothes or props that they don’t want to use anymore they can give it to me and I will bring it to school. My dad has many bandanna’s
    which have cool designs and are colorful I am going to ask him if I could borrow some to take to school. I am going to have a roam around my stuff this week and see what I don’t need that is useful for this drama task that I can take to school. I am going to ask my mom if she can give me some clothes clips and hangers because I have a lot of clothes clips in my house.

    Tamanna

    • Mr. Sam
      September 12, 2011 at 7:57 pm

      Good thinking Tamanna. I like the idea of the bandanas. The clips and hangers will be useful too.

  15. Vin
    September 12, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    I am bringing one of my dad’s tropical relaxing shirts.

  16. Mari
    September 13, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    I brought fancy sunglasses and some fancy hairclips. I will bring some wire hangers that my mom doesn’t need.

  17. Hannah
    September 14, 2011 at 5:16 pm

    I will bring in glitter hats, Hawaiian shirts, and belts

  18. 19aryana
    September 16, 2011 at 9:34 am

    I brought a phone that was my moms before

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

