A great start to the day!

Make a comment to tell us how you feel about the way we usually start our days in 6SS.

  1. aryan
    September 1, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    i love the signing in of attendance! its so much better than in our days of getting up and saying “present sir!”

  2. priti
    September 1, 2011 at 1:55 pm

    sorry aryans comment was from me actually – his mom.

    • Mr. Sam
      September 2, 2011 at 9:12 am

      Ha ha! Yes, what a waste of time the old way was. The signing in process is also good because the students start to develop their own signature and to understand that it is unique and actually legally binding!

  3. September 1, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    *swoon* I want to be a student at this school! Love that the students leave their shoes outside too!

    • Mr. Sam
      September 2, 2011 at 9:14 am

      It certainly is a great building, just re-designed and renovated last year. Loads of time and energy was put into getting the designs right – curved corridors, no doors on the classrooms, lots of glass – it’s a real treat to work in this environment.

      Because the rooms are carpeted, and because we are in Thailand where it is common practice to remove shoes in homes, it just feels right to take our shoes off!

      • September 2, 2011 at 10:29 am

        Interestingly the school I am completing a placement for in New Zealand is also a no shoes zone!

        • Mr. Sam
          September 2, 2011 at 2:38 pm

          Wow – that’s really good. Why is that? For similar reasons as here?

          • September 4, 2011 at 10:01 am

            Yes pretty much. The building was blessed by a Kaumatua (maori chief) so the shoes came off. Also a good way to keep wear and tear on the carpets to a minimum.

            • September 5, 2011 at 9:45 pm

              That’s great. Our elementary vice-principal is a Maori “elder” (I hope he won’t mind me saying that!) and I’m sure he will be very interested to read your comments – particularly as we’ve had some fairly heated debates amongst the staff about whether we should be a “shoes on” or “shoes off” school!

  4. Caitie:)
    September 1, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    Hi. I think it is cool how it is in slow motion.

    • Andrea
      September 1, 2011 at 5:21 pm

      Hi Caitie,

      I also think it’s really cool that the video is in slow motion but I would prefer if our day wasn’t!

      Andrea

      • Mr. Sam
        September 2, 2011 at 9:15 am

        Ha ha ha! Actually, imagine how relaxing it would be if our day was in slow motion…….

        • Andrea
          September 2, 2011 at 9:21 pm

          Yeah but it’s also going a long day!

  5. Jimin
    September 1, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    I really like the way that we start our way because if we work on simple things like moving GRR it makes your brain exercise at the first period of school.

    • Jimin
      September 1, 2011 at 6:05 pm

      plus I spelled day as way.. 😦

      • Mr. Sam
        September 2, 2011 at 9:15 am

        That’s such a great way to put it, Jimin, that our brains get some “exercise” in the morning.

  6. Yuki
    September 1, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    Hi everyone!

    The cool part about the morning routine is that we get to dance along on the music. For me the best thing in the morning is to chill out and read a book. It refreshes your mind. I thought Mr. Sam said that we were going to do some 3 minutes of silent thingy. I would like to do some yoga in the morning to make your body feel good. Morning for me is a calm and relaxing time.

    • Mr. Sam
      September 2, 2011 at 9:17 am

      I was talking to my Yoga teacher yesterday about starting Yoga in the classroom. I promise I haven’t forgotten!

  7. Andrea
    September 1, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    Hi Mr.Sam,

    I really like our mornings apart from the fact that I keep forgetting to sign in! It should be very peaceful and I think it’s the best time to read and catch up on work.

    Andrea

    • Mr. Sam
      September 2, 2011 at 9:32 am

      Yes, catching up on work is a great thing to do.

      • Andrea
        September 2, 2011 at 9:23 pm

        It’s the best thing when you’re behind work!

  8. Tammy
    September 1, 2011 at 8:02 pm

    I really liked the way we started our morning. Because we can relax get a book to read and listen to light music. Also it makes our brains relax so during the day we could think more.

    Tammy 🙂

    • Mr. Sam
      September 2, 2011 at 9:32 am

      I’m really glad to hear that it helps you to think more during the rest of the day.

  9. Biliana
    September 2, 2011 at 7:11 am

    Now you got me interested. Who do you actually start your mornings?
    Do you dance, do you listen to relaxing music and sway along? Do you read, or do you watch a slow motion movie?

  10. Biliana
    September 2, 2011 at 7:22 am

    Now I know! My iPhone was a bit slow in showing me there was a video.

  11. Biliana
    September 2, 2011 at 7:24 am

    It is really nice to start my morning by attending your virtual classroom.

    • Mr. Sam
      September 2, 2011 at 9:36 am

      I like the idea of the virtual classroom – we’ll try and make loads of these videos so parents can really see what happens in 6SS!

  12. September 3, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    You should know by now that I am you no. 1 fan!

  13. Vin
    September 5, 2011 at 2:56 pm

    I like the attendance sheet because it will train our brains to remember more things.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

