How we work (or don’t work)!

After our two guest speakers today, we had an amazing conversation about what they had said to us.  The subject of “time management” came up and we ended up drawing this amazing diagram of the different ways that people work:

What do the lines show?

Which one shows the way you usually work?

Which is the most effective way to work?

Which is the least effective way to work?

Which way to work will allow you to be most creative?

  1. Jimin
    August 31, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    The lines show how much you work and how much you rest.
    I work like the fourth one because usally, I don’t rest when I”m working and I finish my work to rest.
    The most effective way to work is the fourth one because you don’t rush your work and you get to do it properly.
    The least effective way to work is the thrid one that Gina drew because you don’t do anything in that line and you are just being lazy.
    The fourth one will allow me to be most creative because if I concentrate on my work, I can think and I’ll get some incredible ideas if I think

    • Mr. Sam
      August 31, 2011 at 8:12 pm

      Such a great explanation. By relxing, working steadily, you can definitely think more easily and come up with incredible ideas.

  2. Yuki
    August 31, 2011 at 5:09 pm

    Hi everyone

    The green line shows the day and the red line shows how long you’ve been working. If the red line goes over the green line that means you’re working. If the red line goes on or below the green line it means that you are resting.

    The last one which is Mr. Sam’s one is how I usually work at home. I go home every day then get my Home book (homework book) and then look at the homework I have do then scan it to see if I can improve stuff then do a bit then scan it so I can see where to improve in my homework.

    I think the most effective way to work is the last way which is the one where you work and then look to see if there’s anything else to add. I think it’s the best way because if you rush it’s bad for you in many different ways for example you might make some mistakes or have no time to sleep. Also rushing first makes some people think that you don’t care about the homework, Power Point etc. The 3rd line is awful. It’s like you just lie down all day eating junk food like chips and watch T.V doing nothing. Or you exercise your thumbs all day (that means to play Nintendo D.S, computers and G.B.A games). The 4th way is good. But the reason why I think the fifth way is the best because he or she is not wasting her time. In the rest he or she was looking at her work to see if he or she needs to add something. It’s also good because if you do it about 1 hour a day you get bored all the time when you do homework.

    I think the least effective way is the one which you do nothing and just watch T.V and eat junk food all day.

    The last one allows you to be the most creative person you ever been because when you’re not doing your work you can refresh your brain and think about stuff. You may find some mistakes in your homework. One of my greatest ideas came from when I was taking a shower at my bathroom.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 31, 2011 at 8:14 pm

      I love your last paragraph – you don’t have to keep working all the time, you just have to let your brain keep thinking about what you’re doing, that way you can have your greatest ideas in the shower!!!

  3. Tammy
    August 31, 2011 at 8:24 pm

    What do the lines show?

    It shows the ways different people work the first, second and third line shows laziness. But the forth and fifth line shows people who mostly success in their work.

    Which one shows the way you usually work?

    I think the forth one shows how I work because my work is usually okay. Sometimes I rest but not all the time so I think I’m the fourth one.

    Which is the most effective way to work?

    I think the most effective one is the fifth one because you have time to edit.

    Which is the least effective way to work?

    The least effective way to work is the third one because you do nothing you just talk with friends and wandering around the room.

    Which way to work will allow you to be most creative?

    The fifth one because you can edit your work and rest for a little while.

    Tammy 🙂

    • Mr. Sam
      September 1, 2011 at 1:10 pm

      You’re so right, Tammy, having time to “edit” is so important. Editing means much more than just checking for mistakes, it also means going back through your work to see how it can be improved in general. You need to time to do this. You will only have time if you have managed your time effectively while working.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

