Are you a sponge or a stone?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

People can often be described as either a “sponge” or as a “stone”. Think about what those two things might mean, what kind of people would be sponges and what kind of people would be stones. Which one are you?

Make a comment to explain your thinking.

  1. Jimin
    August 29, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    I think people described as a sponge means that they are nice to other people like a soft sponge and help other people. Also sponge people listen to other people and don’t argue with them. Plus, their feeling are soft like a sponge so they always like to help.

    People who described as a rock is they only listen to their own ideas and do not listen to other friends. Also they sometimes be mean to their freinds. Rock people always argue and it’s very hard to be nice to them. They hurt other people’s feelings and their feelings are very hard like a rock so they don’t like to help other people.

    It’s kind of like bossiness and leadership.

    • Paul
      August 29, 2011 at 4:08 pm

      Jimin has replaced Jin with being a blog worm 🙂

      • Yasmin
        August 29, 2011 at 4:35 pm

        No its Yuki that replaced Jin

    • Jimin
      September 1, 2011 at 6:18 pm

      I have an another idea.

      I think spongy person absorbs knowledge so they’re smart and clever.
      But the rock person’s head is hard so they don’t have a lot of knoledge in their heads

  2. gina
    August 29, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    I think when people say you are a spoge it means your weak and lazy or useless and when people say you are a rock it mean you are stronge useful and active and I think I am in the middle

  3. Yasmin
    August 29, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    SPONGE: I think that if your a sponge that means your organized because a sponge can do many things. A sponge is bouncy so that counts as being active to be organized.
    STONE: I think if your a stone your not organized. A stone is stiff and stiff people mostly aren’t active to be organized, they are just sitting on a sofa and watching TV.

  4. Jin
    August 29, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    I disagree with all of you!

    I think that sponge means that you grasp ideas easily. Which means you don’t need hearing twice or thrirce because you are a good listener.

    I think that being a stone means that you always think about something else and not listening properly. Which means, I agree with yasmin in the stone part, not being active and always an ignorer.

    • Yasmin
      August 29, 2011 at 4:44 pm

      i agree with the stone part Jin

    • Pat
      August 29, 2011 at 4:44 pm

      I agree with you but I think you also let out ideas.

  5. Pat
    August 29, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    I think that being a sponge means that you take in other people ideas and you also say you ideas, because a sponge can take in water and let out water. So being a stone means that you don’t take in any ides nor let out any ideas. I think that I am a sponge when we are doing something interesting but I am a stone if we are doing something boring.

  6. Stefan
    August 29, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    I think that being a sponge means that you absorb ideas and take in the information because that’s what sponges do. They absorb things. When you squeeze a sponge full of water/ideas it lets out water that’s when we share.
    A sponge can represent someone that’s open-minded.

    I think that being a rock means that you don’t listen to people and unlike the sponge absorb information.
    A stone can represent a person who’s more caught/closed in his own mind.

    On the other hand a rock could be smarter than a sponge as it has it’s own ideas whereas a sponge could be too soft to have it’s own ideas.

    I think that I’m a spongy rock.

  7. Zola
    August 29, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    I think a sponge is someone who says they wont tell and secrets but they spread them when they get squeezed.

    But a rock is something that is solid it cant squeeze so it cant tell secrets.

    Zola

    • August 30, 2011 at 6:05 pm

      I was a 6ss student last year.

      I like your idea and I also think some people cam get other people to tell secrets if they persuade them

  8. madhav
    August 29, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    Hi everyone,
    Sponge-I think that sponge means that you are a nice person who shows respect to other people and that you are friendly to other people. It also means that you do not take things so seriously like for an example if people say bad things about you you won’t take it too seriously and hit them.

    Rock- I think people described as a rock you are not that nice, you have no respect and you are not friendly to other people. And you take things way to seriously because if someone says a bad to you you will do something bad to them like hurt them. They will also be stuburn.

    By madhav 👿

  9. Caitie:)
    August 29, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    hi I think a sponge is a person who can change. And who can take in new ides and is kind. And I think a rock is some one who can not change. And does not like new ides. I think I am a sponge because I like change and I am good at changing.

    • Gina
      September 12, 2011 at 5:31 pm

      I belive you Caitie

  10. Andrea
    August 29, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    HI Mr.Sam,

    Sponge: I think a sponge is flexible and will listen to other people so maybe a sponge is a flexible, open-minded person. I also think they listen to other people because they absorb.

    Stone: A stone is basically the opposite of the sponge. They are hard and stiff. A stone is like a close-minded, unflexible person who won’t listen to other people. They might also be stubborn because they are close-minded.

    I think I’m sometimes a sponge, sometimes a stone and sometimes a bit of both.

    Andrea

  11. Tamanna
    August 29, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    I think sponge means to take all ideas in like how a sponge takes all the water inside. But later we also give our ideas and start thinking more about the topic so it’s like when you squeeze the water from the sponge and the water flows out and it shows that you have actually thought about the topic. I think the stone means laziness because a stone is just sitting still and not doing anything. I mean if you are a stone one day you should think about being a sponge so that you have ideas and you can share them with a whole lot of new people who don’t really know how to share ideas but actually they can but they are too lazy to be a sponge. I feel I am in-between which means sometimes I can be a sponge or I can be a stone sometimes. I am a sponge because when I am in a group that I am comfortable with i just let all the ideas I have about the topic. I am a stone because when it comes to activities I get really tired and lazy and i want to start being a sponge for that instead of a stone.

    • Yuki
      August 29, 2011 at 8:06 pm

      Hi Tamanna,

      Your comment was very good.

      But if you add paragraphs it will be much better.

      And a lot easier to read.

      Yuki

  12. August 29, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    Hi 6SS,

    SPONGE:

    Positives: If you are a sponge you soak up (absorbs) ideas you also are not hard on people like you are much more caring and you do not hurt peoples feelings. If behavior changes the sponge adapts by moving.

    Disadvantages: You are softer and take things more personally and more seriously. When someone does something to you, you spring back at them. You are rough and you do not let it go you just keep going back and back and back like that thing Mr. Sam read us.

    STONE:

    Positives: If you are behaving well and other people are misbehaving you do not give in and just join in you stay there and behave well. You fly and go smoothly and do not be good then bad you are always looking at ways to improve and not just be the same throughout week to week.

    Disadvantages:

    You are hard on people and your self and you let information go over you and not bring it in. You sometimes fall from expectations. You do any where people lead you.

    Cheers,

    Billy

  13. August 29, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    I think i am a bit hire up in the rock category but i am also partly a sponge.

  14. Mari
    August 29, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    I think sponges’ mean the brain is soft and in the brain there is no idea.

    The stones mean that person’s brain is hard and is filled with ideas.

    I think the person who has a sponge brain is a person who is a bad listener or the place the person chose to sit was not a good spot. This is because the person was distracted by something near where the person was sitting.

    I think the person who has the stone brain means that the person was listening carefully and was sitting in a good spot.

    I think my half of the brain is a sponge and the other half is a stone. Sometime I do not chose the right spot to sit and don’t hear the all the information

  15. Vin
    August 29, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    Sponge:
    I think being a sponge means to absorb knowledge and ideas just like a sponge can absorb water. I also think that a sponge could stand for a person who can change, because when a sponge absorbs water it becomes more heavier. It could stand for a flexible person too, because a sponge can bend. On the other hand, the sponge could also mean people who are soft and lazy.

    Stone:
    I think being a rock means being stubborn, firm and unmovable. It could also stand for a mean person because rocks can injure people. Rocks could also stand for discipline, stability and strength.
    I think I’m a sponge, but I can sometimes be a stone too.

    Vin

  16. Yuki
    August 29, 2011 at 7:17 pm

    I think a sponge represents people who have good listening skills. For example just like a sponge absorbs water, people described as a sponge absorb important words and new ideas from the speaker. I think it’s connected to our unit of inquiry because if we don’t listen like a stone and don’t care we wouldn’t hear the instructions. If you had a test the next day you will never know that you had one and you will probably fail it and you might fail to achieve stuff.

    I think a stone represents people who don’t listen to other people’s ideas and only think of their ideas. They are stubborn and tend to close the door to others. Also it means people who don’t let other people get a chance to speak out loud. I think people describes as a stone don’t get experience because they don’t listen to others or accept new ideas. The thing that I hate about a stone is that when you work together they don’t do any job, because they didn’t listen to the teachers instructions and they always don’t know what to do so we explain it but they still don’t listen so we have to do it all by ourselves. I think it’s connected to our unit because if you don’t listen you wouldn’t know anything about the topic and do the completely wrong stuff.

    • Yuki
      August 29, 2011 at 7:51 pm

      I forgot to tell if I’m a sponge or a stone. Well I think I am a half sponge half stone. I’m like a developing stone. I still need to improve on listening good advice from other people, but I don’t need to practice trying to give other people turns to speak.

  17. Tammy
    August 29, 2011 at 7:41 pm

    I think sponge means weakness because sponges are soft and you can squeeze it easily and it breaks easily so it represents weak people who can’t fight. Also the sponge is very soft when you punch it it doesn’t even hurt.

    I think stone means toughness because stones are hard and you can’t squeeze it so it represents people who are touch. Also the stone is very hard if you punch it it will hurt a lot.

    Tammy 🙂 🙂

  18. Tammy
    August 29, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    I think Iam in the middle because I’m not weak and not tough.
    Tammy 🙂

    • Gina
      September 12, 2011 at 5:33 pm

      You didn’t tell what you think about the sponge or stone

      • Gina
        September 12, 2011 at 5:34 pm

        I wrote to the wrong person Sorry

  19. Melis
    August 29, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    Sponge:
    I think that a sponge is someone who is nice and has a soft side and is someone you can look up to when you need help but I also think that sponges work hard when they need to and still have time for their family and friends.

    Stones:
    I think a stone is someone who is tough and only listens to themsleves and can’t accept new ideas but I also think a stone is can be nice very often and doesn’t have enough time for friends and work which makes them disorganized.

    And I think that I am a bit of both but mostly a Sponge.

  20. aryan
    August 30, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    I think a sponge absorbs in formation like it absorbs water and a stone is when it doesnt learn anything new.Or a sponge is nice and is really caring and spends a lot of time with there family and friends but a stone is mean it is disorganized because it doesnt have time to have fun. I am a little bit of a stone but mostly a sponge

  21. Mara :D
    August 30, 2011 at 2:35 pm

    SPONGE: I think sponge means that can be 50% disorganized Like for example when you squeeze liquid into a sponge it means that it gathered all the things up and is very organized and when you squeeze it out then it lost it all.

    STONE: I think stone means that you are very organized because like the sponge story, squeeze up all the liquid but since its a stone then you cant squeeze all the liquid out because rocks are very strong and hard

    mara 🙂

    • Mara :D
      August 30, 2011 at 2:38 pm

      By the way i think im half way in the middle of sponge and stone 60% organized and 40% disorganzied

  22. daniel :)
    August 30, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    I think people that are called sponge means that they re easy and is organized and not always loosing stuff. Or it could also be a person hat is kind and not mean. Maybe a stone could be someone who is unorganized and not tidy. Or it could be a person that is mean and aggressive.

  23. Hannah
    August 30, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    Maybe a sponge and a stone is the Attitudes that you use, so a sponge is when you are really kind and only tell people all the positive things you are thinking about them, and are scared to tell what they are really thinking because they are scared people will get mad at them for saying something negative about them, the person might think that they are going to get into a really big fight about it, they might also tell them only positive things because they themselves are afraid of the truth. Their attitude might be respectful, kind and caring. They are not hard on people and tell them how much they like even though they might not like it as much as they say.

    A stone might be someone who tells people that tell others exactly the thing what is on their mind and faces the truth. They might not really know that they are hurting other peoples feelings and just want to tell them the truth thinking that is what they want to her. They might be harder on people than other people are.

  24. Hannah
    August 30, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    I agree with all of the comments

  25. Pan
    August 30, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    Hi Everyone,
    Sponge is like that you absorb ideas, just like absorbing water. You will grab the ideas easily and other people will be trying to catch up with you.

    Stone Is like you are not good at listening because your solid and hard so not many ideas going into you. But in another way a rock is stronger than a sponge in power it is solid and hard, if you punch into it your hands will hurt but if you punch a sponge it doesn’t even hurt but a sponge is knowledgeable .
    Pan

  26. Vicky
    August 30, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    I think sponge means a caring person that doesn’t hurt other people’s feelings and not saying weird things to each other. I also think that a sponge person understands and absorbs ideas so they know what they are doing. Also they could really get curious about things and they are always think of lots of creative ideas.

    I think a stone person always are rude to people and they don’t actually care if other people feel from how they act and how they speak. A stone person should be very hard and maybe they are very strict at things a how they speak is very cold. They don’t care what other people say and they don’t absorb ideas and do things that they are not supposed to do.

    I think I am a sponge person because I am very nice to people and I really love getting ideas from other people. Also I think I am that kind of a person because I always listen what I am supposed to do and I am very curious about things.

  27. victor
    August 30, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    SPONGE: i think that a sponge is like someone weak and who needs there made to do every thing for them.

    ROCK: i think rock is like someone who is strong who can do lots of things on there own and can do things with no help.

    i think i am rock because i do most of the things on my own.

  28. Petanque
    September 1, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    Hi Guys,

    There are lots of ways to think, but to me a sponge it absorb things which means if you are a sponge you are open minded and you accept thing from other people. Also if you are a sponge you are kind of a listener to because you accept things from other people, it doesn’t go in you right ear and just come out of you left ear, you do what other people say.

    The stone cannot absorb anything and to me if you are a stone you are closed minded and you don’t listen to anyone but yourself, you are very stiff. Also if you are a stone you don’t really listen and you are apathetic.

    Petanque

  29. December 17, 2012 at 10:23 am

    U PEOPLE R SO STUPID. a sponge is some one that lets people walk all over them. a rock is a person that is firm in there ideas and stands up 4 them selves and thEIR friends. i used 2 be a sponge but when i was 5 years old, some kid bit me on the leg at mcdonalds. on the ride home, my mom said that it was ok 2 hurt some one if it was in self-defense. iv`e been a rock ever scince. if that kid didnt bite me, i would be a TOTAL WUSS. THANK U RANDOM BOY!!!!!

  30. Gill
    February 3, 2017 at 11:49 pm

    A sponge soaks up liquid then release it when squeezed. Useful but not reliable in a crisis.
    A stone is unyielding and hard but you can rely on it to build a relationship and it will never let you down.

  31. pam
    April 11, 2017 at 1:31 am

    I suppose I read this a little differently than some, but then I am remembering something from an elementary school book (don’t recall which one since that was over 50 years ago : )….A rock for example (if water is poured over it) will neither absorb the water nor will it give it back on command. It just sits there. It compared people in a community to the rock, who yes – may certainly be strong and hard, but they take nothing in and give nothing back, no involvement in the community. A sponge, on the other hand, will at least absorb the water, but if you ask for it back, it won’t give it UNLESS you squeeze! And we all know people like that in our communities….willing to take all they can, but only give back when pressure is applied. But the paragraph suggested there was one more category in the comparison, and that was a generator….Supposing that very same water was poured into the bucket of a giant waterwheel…until the bucket filled and began to turn the wheel so that the next bucket was filled and so on until the wheel is spinning continuously and the power from that waterwheel could power a generator strong enough to light for instance a football stadium….and we all know people like that…I have always compared those folks to 4-H’ers…young people, involved from the word “go”, learning by doing, always trying to make the best better, future leaders.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

