Home > Art, Design, How we express ourselves, How we organize ourselves, ICT > Stop “Death by Powerpoint”

Stop “Death by Powerpoint”

Watch this video clip.

Have you seen some terrible PowerPoint presentations?

Have you created some terrible ones too?

What are the main messages in this video?

How can you improve your PowerPoint slides?

  1. Yasmin
    August 25, 2011 at 4:12 pm

    Q1 Ive seen alot of these powerpoints and i wanted to lie down.
    Q2 Ive created quite a fyue of these extremly boring powerpoints.
    Q3 I can improve my powerpoints by putting no bulletpoints and a little of text on 1 slide to keep it simple.

  2. Yuki
    August 25, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    Q1: I have seen many terrible and horrible Power Point Presentations like that. When I listened to them I felt so board that once I fell asleep for 5 minutes!

    Q2: I have once created very boring and horrible Power Point like that. I knew that my classmates were getting board.

    Q3: This video is trying to tell us that we have to present so the logical left and emotional right are connected.

    Q4: I can improve my Power Point by doing three points below:

    1. Limiting text as little as possible
    2. No bullet points
    3. Use inspiring images
    4.Don’t use bonkers background

  3. Mari
    August 25, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    Q1 I have seen a PowerPoint which is terribly bad. I was yawning.

    Q2 I don’t think I created one before because in Yr.5 I used many posters for presentation to understand easily.

    Q3 The video is trying to tell us to make the slide simple as much as possible.

    Q4 I can improve my power point by
    little text, no bullet point and inspiring images.

  4. Tammy
    August 25, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    Hi everyone

    Question 1: I’ve seen a bad presentation tonight ! When I was doing my presentation my mom showed me her presentation for her work during her presentation I actually yawned twice. She told me it was boring because its for adults to watch the presentation. She advised me always use clear fonts.

    Question 2: Not in year 5 because I used short texts. But in year 4 I had done some because I didn’t know it was boring until year 5.

    Question 3: To use short texts no bullet points no clip art and add interesting pictures to your PowerPoint.

    Question 4: I can improve my PowerPoint by not adding bullet points, Little text, interesting pictures and by not using clip art or any animations.

    Tammy 🙂

  5. Andrea
    August 27, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    Hi Everyone,

    Q1: I have seen lots of boring powerpoints and at all of them, the presenter reads the text he or she has written. It’s really boring plus I have to try to look interested which is really hard, especially when you’re dying for it to end.

    Q2: I have done a few bad presentations where I have read to an audience what I had written in the powerpoint, had used bonker backgrounds, lots of clipart, lots of sentences in one slide and bullet points.

    Q3: This slide is basically trying to teach you how to make a good powerpoint: What to do and not what to do.

    Q4: I can improve my powerpoints by:

    • Not using bonker backgrounds
    • No bullet points
    • Not saying “Thank you for watching” at the end of a presentation
    • Not using clipart

    Andrea

  6. Hannah
    August 29, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    I think that will really help me with my Presentation, my teacher last year also said that teachers made really bad Presentations with all these noises and they didn’t help a lot because people just spend their time on the animation, not the information. When I see those kinds of Presentations it is not very likely for the presentation to be good. I am not a computer freak so I spend my time on finding out other things.

  7. Jimin
    August 29, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    Q1: I’ve seen alot of powerpoints that is boring and makes me yawn. Sometimes they make the powerpoints worse by putting alot of text and reads it to the audience.

    Q2: I think I have made a terrible powerpoint at year 5. I was putting Thanks for watching and I used one of those crazy backgrounds. Plus, I used bullet points

    Q3: The main message of this video is that don’t make your powerpoint bad. It teaches you how to make a good powerpoint.

    Q4 : I can improve my powerpoints by not using unappropriate backgrounds and not using bullet points. Also, not putting alot of text and not putting By:Jimin.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

