Journey to Independence

You will be trying to take control of many parts of your life during this unit of inquiry, to become more independent. Your homework task this week is to select one part of your life that you could take control of so that you can become more independent. You will need to discuss your choice and your plans with the adults in your life.

Make a comment to give us a brief summary of your conversations and your plans.

Image from Fraying on Flickr

  1. Zola
    August 15, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    I will cook some meals for my family and me.

    Z.H

    • Mr. Sam
      August 15, 2011 at 3:28 pm

      Zola, can you give us more details in your comment? Tell us who you discussed this with, what kind of food you plan to cook, who will help you, when you will do this. Make your comment more interesting for us all to read!!!

      • Zola
        August 15, 2011 at 4:03 pm

        Dear Mr. Sam

        I thought maybe i would cook maybe Pasta with meat balls.I discussed this with my mom. Like Mara said I would help cook meals especially when their is a special occasions. I chose cooking because i am good at it and that i love cooking. 🙂 (Mr Green)

        • Mr. Sam
          August 15, 2011 at 5:32 pm

          Sounds very delicious. So, does that mean that you already help with the cooking sometimes and would like to do it more often?

          Here’s a recipe for pasta and meatballs from Jamie Oliver, one of my heroes: http://www.jamieoliver.com/recipes/pasta-recipes/meatballs-pasta

          • Zola
            August 15, 2011 at 6:01 pm

            I cook occasionally but Me and my dad always make homemade pizza it is really good. Thanks for the recipe.

            • Zola
              August 15, 2011 at 6:03 pm

              And yes i will cook more often.

  2. August 15, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    Hi Mr. Sam,

    The thing I would like to take more independence on is setting the table. i like to set the table but my nani’s do it before i think of doing it. Lots of kids set the table so I kind of want to do it so I become independent at that thing like every one else. I am really looking forward to in the future becoming more independent.

    Cheers,

    Billy

    • Mr. Sam
      August 15, 2011 at 3:30 pm

      Hi Billy… so did you talk to your nannies and ask them not to set the table before you get a chance to? Perhaps they can call you to remind you to help them at first, then they can just leave you to do it independently in the future – when you’re in the habit of remembering to do it every day!

      • August 15, 2011 at 7:11 pm

        Hi Mr. Sam,

        I just told my nani’s to let me know when they are going to do it and I will do it instead.

        Cheers,

        Billy

        • August 15, 2011 at 7:42 pm

          There is one more thing i want to do that is cooking pancakes on the weekends.

          Billy

          • Mr. Sam
            August 16, 2011 at 8:55 am

            Another excellent idea. Thick, American-style pancakes or think European-style pancakes?

  3. Mara
    August 15, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    Hey Mr Sam

    What I want to do more independent is to be more helpful at my house like, setting the tables for meals, preparing meals if its on special occasions, for example: Mothers day, Fathers day, Christmas etc, Im really excited doing it because i dont usually help but since im doing this im really looking forward to being more helpful 😀

    • Mara
      August 15, 2011 at 5:26 pm

      :mrgreen:

      • Mara
        August 15, 2011 at 5:31 pm

        :mrpurple:

    • Mr. Sam
      August 15, 2011 at 5:33 pm

      Mara, can you be more specific? Just choose one thing that will do regularly, such as setting the table for meals each day.

  4. gina
    August 15, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    Hi Mr.Sam
    I want to be more independent on waking myself up and to do that is to put the alarm clock far away from my bed so I can walk all the way to the alarm clock and turn it off but if it was so close I can turn it off and sleep again

    • Mr. Sam
      August 15, 2011 at 5:33 pm

      Sounds great. Do you have an alarm clock already?

  5. Hannah
    August 15, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    Hello Mr.Sam

    I want to be more independent in cooking. My mom and I thought that maybe I can first make a dinner where I won’t really cook but I will set the table and if I need to I will go and buy what we still need. Then I will cook something easy and my mom will watch me and we will keep on going until my mom doesn’t need to be in the same room while I cook something for us to to eat which might not be that easy. When I earned enough trust from my mom that I can do it without her being in the house I think that I will be independent in cooking.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 15, 2011 at 5:34 pm

      This sounds like a great plan. What will you learn to cook first?

  6. Yasmin
    August 15, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    im going to develop myself to start making my bed every morning, so my maid won’t have to do all the beds in the morning. when i come home from school im going to check if my maid didn’t re-do my bed.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 15, 2011 at 5:35 pm

      Nice idea, Yasmin. You should probably have a chat with your maid so that she knows you really want to do it yourself. Maybe also get her to teach you how to make it her way so that she’s happy with the job you do. It’d be cool to have someone take photos of your maid teaching you!

  7. Pat
    August 15, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    Hi Mr Sam

    I want to be more independent on tidy my bed at the start of the morning I will set my bed and when my mom changes the bed cloth I will help her.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 15, 2011 at 5:36 pm

      Nice idea, Pat. See what I wrote to Yasmin above – maybe you can use some of those suggestions too?

  8. August 15, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    Hi Mr.Sam
    I want to be more independent by tidying up my room everyday. Because sometimes my nanny keeps my work other places because she thinks it’s scrap paper. And sometimes I keep my clothes on my bed which make my room look untidy. But I should keep my clothes in the cupboard or in the basket to do laundry.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 15, 2011 at 5:37 pm

      When will you tidy your room, evening or morning?

  9. Caitie :)
    August 15, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    Hi everyone. I want to be more independent by waking myself up. I tried some different alarm clocks. I chose my ipod Touch. I will use it.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 15, 2011 at 5:39 pm

      You will have to remember to make sure your iPod Tpouch is always charged. Can you programme it so that it wakes you up automatically on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday but not at the weekend? It should be possible.

      • Caitie :)
        August 15, 2011 at 6:25 pm

        There is a on and off switch you can press. And in the day I will charge it.

        • Mr. Sam
          August 16, 2011 at 8:56 am

          OK, let me know how that goes!

  10. Mari
    August 15, 2011 at 6:53 pm

    I want to cook for my family when I have time on weekends. I want to practice cooking skills with my mom so I can cook anytime. I make pancakes with my dad in the morning on Sundays, but I would like to make it by myself someday. Then my parents would think that I am independent in cooking and I wiIll be the best chef. I want them to trust me and I want them to admit that I am organized person and will clean the dishes as good as my mum does. I will go shopping to buy ingredients for my cooking next time.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 16, 2011 at 1:34 pm

      This sounds great, Mari.

  11. Petanque
    August 15, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    Hi Mr. Sam,

    First I said I wanted to wake up myself in the morning without letting my mom waking me but when I discussed it with my mom she said my problem is that my nanny will sometimes pack my swimsuit for me but I said to her that I don’t do the washing and cleaning so how do I know where my swimming kits are. So she came up with an idea that my nanny still does the washing but then she puts it in a basket and I put it in my closet myself.

    Petanque

    • Mr. Sam
      August 16, 2011 at 1:36 pm

      That sounds like an excellent plan, Petanque. You can work on the waking up issue next!

  12. Tammy
    August 15, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    I would help my parents cook by preparing ingredients like craking the egg and maybe cook some easy meals to begin with. My mom said I could help on prepare the deserts on weekends. But I still need someone watching me while Iam cooking in the kitchen. Someday I would like to cook Independently so I could cook delicous meals like: pizza,lamb and steak for my family, and I don’t want my mom to cook alone. Otherwise she will be very tired by coming home and cooking everyday.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 16, 2011 at 1:36 pm

      Great. When will you start?

      • Tammy
        August 17, 2011 at 8:48 pm

        This week!
        Tammy

  13. Tamanna
    August 15, 2011 at 8:07 pm

    I want to be more independent by waking up in the morning for school and by that I have planned to use an alarm clock. Usually my mom wakes me up but now I want to show my parents that I’ve grown up and they don’t have to worry about me anymore. I also want to start the day by picking up my lunch & snack and putting them into my bag so that I know how to be independent by packing my own bag. Me and my mom have had a little talk about it and she said that she will talk to my nanny to let me pack my bag and put my lunch & snack in my bag so I could be more independent and responsible for my own stuff.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 16, 2011 at 1:37 pm

      Excellent. Have you started doing this?

  14. Vin
    August 15, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    Hi Mr. Sam

    I chose to be more independent by packing my backpack myself because other kids do it themselves. I talked about this with my maid and I told her to get the important stuff like my swimming kit and leave it for me so I could put it in my bag myself. I already pack my own school work like world languages HW and 6ss Homework. I also want to cook for my family and household more. I make Dinner for me and my sister while my mom is away, but my maid always does the dangerous stuff like frying and boiling food. I cooked Pasta many times, and sometimes I even fried it myself. I can make easy stuff like Salads, Sandwiches, and Pizza etc. If there is something dangerous in the easy stuff like putting the Pizza in the Oven and taking it out, and adult does it.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 16, 2011 at 1:40 pm

      I agree that you need to start packing your backpack yourself. You can start by getting your maid to get the important things together for you, but then you should start doing that yourself.

  15. Jin
    August 16, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    I am trying to be more independent by housekeeping with toilness and no laziness

    • Mr. Sam
      August 16, 2011 at 1:42 pm

      Good for you Jin!

  16. Yuki
    August 16, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    My goal is to tidy my bed myself. Normally I would just leave everything where it was and my maid who come in 1 o’clock and would tidy it for me. But now I am trying to tidy the mess all by myself. I talked about this to my mother and she said “You should be able to tidy your bedroom now or it will give you bad effects to your future life when you will have to live alone in an apartment.”

    • 18Aayushk
      August 16, 2011 at 8:00 pm

      Yuki good to see you starting out with the basics and being honest like most of your class. Not just starting of with making your bed etc.

      • Yuki
        August 17, 2011 at 5:32 pm

        Thanks for your comment, Aayushk.

  17. Stefan
    August 16, 2011 at 7:06 pm

    Hi Mr. Sam,

    I am trying to be more independent at making my bed in the mornings because my maid always does it and I would like to try something new.

    Stefan.

  18. Andrea
    August 16, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    Hi Mr.Sam,

    I want to learn how to cook because then I can make meals for my family. My mum will teach me by starting with some simple dishes like fried rice, spaghetti bolognese and stir-fried vegetables. I will start by helping out in the kitchen with the preparations like cutting and chopping. I am going to start this weekend.

    Andrea

  19. Vicky
    August 16, 2011 at 8:32 pm

    Hi Mr.Sam,

    My mom and I talked about me cooking meals for my family on weekends. We agreed to use help when I need to use fire, cutting, etc. First, Imy mom will teach me how to cook simple basic.Second, I will start making something like salad so I could get used on the basics first. Then I’ll try to make cookies and cakes that could need some help with my parents. I’m very excited to cook now, and I’m very happy I could help my family.

  20. aryan
    August 18, 2011 at 6:11 am

    my mom and i talked about me making my own bed I started to do it and now im going to do it every day.

  21. Jimin
    August 18, 2011 at 6:12 am

    Hi Mr.Sam,

    I decided to help my mom cleaning up our house. She told me to clean the house with the vacumm cleaner. My mom let me wipe the floor and do the almost of the cleaning. Mom said she will help me if I have a trouble doing it. Plus, she told me to do dish washing instead of her. I think cleaning is a quite hard job.

  22. daniel
    August 21, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    I had a long discussion with my dad the other day.We agreed on I should start to remember to do my homework without my parents reminding me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

