The Gradual Release of Responsibility

We started working on the GRR today. This is a way for us to track how independent we are and how much we rely on adults to do things for us. There are some things that we cannot do for ourselves, like cooking and driving. But, there are many things, easy things, that we could start doing ourselves even in Year 6. Things like using an alarm clock to wake up in the morning, packing our own school bags, checking our own schedules, making sure we have what we need each day, remembering to do our homework.

We can start to take more control of our lives by moving down this line, towards independence. We can earn the trust of adults in our lives and become more responsible for ourselves.

Today, we started reflecting on our lives and putting cards on the GRR to think about how independent we are already.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  1. Jin
    August 14, 2011 at 4:48 am

    I am almost independent nowadays..

    • 18Aayushk
      August 14, 2011 at 3:57 pm

      Same here. I do things myself like organize tennis classes and pack my bag, make my bed etc.

  2. Sam
    August 14, 2011 at 11:52 am

    I have great news! Now my mum let’s me do basically whatever now. Now I’m allowed to travel on my own which is really big news for me. I’m really independant now.

    • Jin
      August 14, 2011 at 3:40 pm

      so lucky.. lol

  3. victor
    August 15, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    my mom wakes me up every morning.

    what i would like to do is wake myself up.

    to make this happen i could get an alarm clock so my mom does not have to wake me up every morning.

  4. daniel
    August 18, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    My mom wakes me up in the morning but I make breakfast. I walk to school alone and come back alone. I can cook many different dishes and I enjoy using my creativity in the kitchen. 🙂

  5. Yeachan
    August 18, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    Oh we also did this when I was Year 6.

  6. July 29, 2012 at 8:44 am

    Sam and Year 6 students,
    Great idea this GRR. Like the way the kids are proud of becoming more independent. Will try with my Year 4 class.
    Thanks for sharing your experiences with us at Scopus. AMAZING!!!!

    Would love to skype with this class. Please let me know if this is possible for you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

