Home > Action, Attitudes, Holidays, How we organize ourselves, Reading, Who we are > Scary data about “summer reading”!

Scary data about “summer reading”!

“What we know is that children who do not read in the summer lose two to three months of reading development while kids who do read tend to gain a month of reading proficiency,” Allington said. “This creates a three to four month gap every year. Every two or three years the kids who don’t read in the summer fall a year behind the kids who do.”

Read the full article here.

Wow! That is scary stuff, but it is also very true. Students who read as a habit, who read for fun and relaxation, do tend to progress MUCH quicker that students who don’t.

I never go anywhere without a book.

So, what will you read this summer? Make yourself a book list. Then, get those books and make sure they are always in your backpack wherever you go in the holiday. You should always be able to pick up a good book whenever you have a bit of spare time. You can check to see what books are available in the bookshops here:

http://bookweb.kinokuniya.co.jp/indexohb.cgi?AREA=07

https://www.asiabooks.com/Homepage.aspx

Make a comment to tell us your book list for the summer. Also, tell us where and when you will probably do most of your reading.

  1. Odette
    June 6, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    I will read Star Struck by Kelly McKain,Lily Alone by Jacqueline Wilson, My Life on TV by Kimberly Greene and the best place you can read it is in my living room, my balcony, my Philippines house,and after eating.

    • Mr. Sam
      June 6, 2011 at 7:25 pm

      Sounds great, Odette. Where is your house in the Philippines? Is it in the city or the countryside? Can you show us on a map?

      • Odette
        June 7, 2011 at 4:10 pm

        My place is in Laguna 40 kilometers of South of Manila in the country side.

    • Odette
      June 7, 2011 at 4:23 pm

      Also I can buy books in the Philippines.

  2. Aayushk
    June 6, 2011 at 2:36 pm

    Here is a book list of what I am going to read in the summer holidays-

    -Charlie Bone and the Invisible Boy
    -Children of the Red King
    -How to Cheat a Dragon’s Curse
    -How to Twist a Dragon’s Tale
    -Percy Jackson and the Sea Monsters
    -Percy Jackson and the Titan’s curse

    I am going to probably read the books from – June 12 to June 24th because on the 24th I am going to India. I will probably take a couple of books to India to read.

    • Mr. Sam
      June 6, 2011 at 7:26 pm

      Great list!

      Yes, make sure you take at least one book with you on your travels. You can always buy one in India if you finish it.

      • 18aayushk
        June 6, 2011 at 7:45 pm

        Thanks

  3. 18julienn
    June 6, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    Here is my booklist:
    1.Ranger’s Apprentice #5
    2.Ranger’s Apprentice #6
    3.Ranger’s Apprentice #8
    4.Ranger’s Apprentice #9
    5.Ranger’s Apprentice #10
    6. I don’t know if there is a 11th one
    7.Slam
    8.

    • 18aayushk
      June 6, 2011 at 7:20 pm

      That’s a wide veriaty of books. JK

      Looks like you like Ranger’s Apprentice a lot.

  4. Pimboon
    June 6, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    For me, I dont really have a book list, because I read all the time, as an only child its the way to keep me entertained. I usually drag my mom around bookstores, take a careful look around the whole bookstore, and I take out the books that interest me. Then I’ll read the book, and if I enjoy it, I’ll buy the rest of the books in that series.

    I normally read Juvenile Literature, or young adults books.

    I would probably do most of my reading before bed, in the car, or just waiting for stuff, like my mom, my classes and if I travel somewhere, probalby on the plane, or waiting for check in, or the luggage claim. I also read while I walk (sometimes.)

    • Mr. Sam
      June 6, 2011 at 7:27 pm

      Be careful reading while walking!

      Can you name a particular book or series that you know for sure you’ll read?

  5. michaelt
    June 6, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    I always bring a book when there is a vacation but I am going to try to finish the series of unfortunate event series. I will probably read the most on a plane because I am going to america and I will also try to read and buy more books in america because they have very good books there.

    • Mr. Sam
      June 6, 2011 at 7:28 pm

      Planes are a great place to read – particularly the flight to the USA as it takes so long!!!

      • 18aayushk
        June 6, 2011 at 7:50 pm

        I actully find it hard to read on the planes because I get travel sickness and I just don’t feel right.

        • Jin
          June 7, 2011 at 6:22 am

          you’ll get used to it Aayush.

  6. 18Shikhark
    June 6, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    Over the holidays I will read:

    1. Sach
    2. The Art and science of cricket
    3. Harry Potter and the prisinor of Askaband.
    4. 1001 Cool fraeky fun facts
    5. Class A

    I might go and buy more books in chit lom where I found a hole load of awesome books also gegt more in India

  7. Manisha
    June 6, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    Over the holidays i will be reading a books called tinkle which a series of books.I am not sure which series am i going to buy.I am going in India on the end of June and you only get these series in India so till we go to India i am going to read “Best of Tagore” which is has many Indian stories.

    • Mr. Sam
      June 6, 2011 at 7:29 pm

      Do you enjoy Best of Tagore? Is that Rabindranath Tagore, the Bengli author and poet?

  8. Terrie
    June 6, 2011 at 7:00 pm

    Is that Ok it is chinese book and I will read english book also??!!

    • Mr. Sam
      June 6, 2011 at 7:30 pm

      Both English and Chinese is OK.

  9. Am
    June 6, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    For me, I’d rather go browse for books in the book store, because I can see more book and see the new releases, etc. However, I can of have a small idea of what I am going to complete:
    1. The red pyramid-Possibly also the Throne Of Fire
    2. Amulet #3
    3. The longest Whale Song

    I don’t really know what I am definitely looking for, because I would be better by just browsing and finding new things.

    I don’t tend to have reading as a strong habit, but I do read in the summer. Not much, but I read like a everyday or once in 2 days. I will try to get real great books so I can be used to reading often!

    • Mr. Sam
      June 6, 2011 at 7:31 pm

      Am, you really need to get into the habit of reading as much as you can. Stay away from computer screens and get addicted to reading.

      • Odette
        June 7, 2011 at 4:16 pm

        I think that I’m addicted a bit on reading because I read amost everywhere.

  10. 18saeyeono
    June 7, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    I might read this book called “The Voyage of the Dawn Treader” because I am going back to Korea and this book could not be there. I am looking foword to read aenglish book for my english skills and I think I don’t have to worry about it because I have to go to many english acadamy.

  11. Pin
    June 9, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    I’m not sure what I am going to read, I usually read books that I hear are good and books that interest me. Sometimes i just wander into bookstores and just pick out books that look interesting. They mostly end up really good and sometimes I just dont want to finish it. The kind of books i read are young adult books, fantasy or emotional books. I think these are the best kind of books. The book I enjoyed very very much was The hunger games series its emotional fantasy and kindof adult-ish. I’m probably going to read the second and third book of the hunger games trilogy/series. 🙂

  12. Suki (Pauls Mom)
    June 10, 2011 at 10:00 am

    I am going to start the golden compass series. and tri to finsih them all but I will not read so much.

  13. Terrie
    June 10, 2011 at 10:33 am

    I will readi some chinese book, and Geronimo Stilion book, and also english conpisition book. And I will also continue with my diary!

  14. Anirudh
    June 22, 2011 at 1:45 am

    In the holidays I will read Rick Riordan’s books, because his books interest me a lot. I will read in India and Thailand.
    I have already read Percy Jackson The lost hero. It is the second series book 1. I read it in India. It is interesting because I like magic, action and the books that make you think what is going to happen next. The magic is about the Greek God’s where they have son’s and daughters that are half mortal and half God.
    I highly recommend this book because it makes an interesting read.

  15. August 2, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    whats our brainpop account???

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

