Home > How the world works, Research > Learning about scientists

Learning about scientists

Next week, we are going to do some detailed research into scientists who have made discoveries and innovations. Let’s try not only to find out about the famous scientists that we already know about. Try to think about it differently. Maybe think about things that you find interesting and then try and trace it backwards to find out about the people responsible for inventing it or discovering something that helped with the invention. Try to make connections with other units of inquiry – the discoveries and innovations relevant to how we organize ourselves, how we express ourselves, who we are,where we are in place and time and sharing the planet. That should make next week much more interesting!

Make a comment to explain:

  • What you are interesting in researching
  • Why you are interested in that
  • Where you think you’ll be able to find a lot of information
  • How you think you might share your research with everybody
Image from http://www.wallpaperpimper.com/wallpaper/download-wallpaper-Dolphin_Discovery-size-1024x768-id-124409.htm
  1. Yeachan
    May 27, 2011 at 11:24 am

    Is this today’s homework?

  2. Shikhar
    May 27, 2011 at 1:18 pm

    I think I am interested in reaserching about cricket since afcourse it is my passion and I have load to explore. I think cricket has a whole load sience filled in it. I am interested in that beacuse it’s very interesting and has a lot of scientific things for me to learn if I want to become a cricketer,the only thing Im worrying about is how I will remember a whole load of this since I am really fergetful.

    I think I will find a whole load of information from the book I bought from India and am already reading is The bob woolmers book. The art and science of cricket with around 600 pages or up. Then I can search on the internet ask people and experts questions, or try finding players or experts and ask thaem a lot.

    Im thinking I will make a power point since I love making them and It’s comfertable, people will enjoy watching and I need to speak louder so Ill share and presentate like. oh and I love designing every part of it finding pics, changing fonts sizez etc. It’s really fun!

  3. Julien
    May 27, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    I would to research about Anorexia and Bulimia because I have herd of the illness and what happens to those poor people who have the illness. From what I have herd, Anorexia is when someone (usually a women) are so obsessed about their wheight that they think that they’re fat so they don’t eat for a long long time until either they get over Anorexia but they will still be weak or they die because of their lack of food. Bulimia is almost the same but instead of not eating at all, the person would for the pleasure of it then stick their finger down their throat to vomit out all the food that they ate. I want to find out which scientist or doctor found an antidote or a cure to the illness. I think that once I have been through a few sites and gathered different kinds of information about Anorexia and Bulimia, I think I will find that it was a scientist who found a cure to Anorexia instead of a doctor. I think it will be a scientist because they look at the facts and make some hypothesis about Anorexia and Bulimia but a doctor will study the body and see why the body is acting the way it is, and if they find an answer to why the body acts the way it does, they won’t be any nearer to finding an antidote. Though a scientist will have found an antidote although because they aren’t sure 100% that it will work, they will have to test it before they can start selling their antidotes and cures.

  4. Julien
    May 27, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    Adding on to my other comment. I think that I am going to find a lot of information from my mom not because she has had anorexia but because she has probably studied Anorexia and all it’s effects. I think I could also find a lot of iformation either on google or in Magazines. I could share my information by using a powerpoint because for this project, I will need a lot of pictures and Microsoft Powerpoint is a great program to have writing and pictures.

  5. Am
    May 27, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    I am interested in researching about psychology and the first of psychologists. Who was the first psychologist? Who discovered psychology? What does psychology really mean-is the something more than the mind and behavior?
    I am interested in what psychology really is and how it affects human and social life. I want to know how psychology was discovered, when, where and who discovered it. I want to research about the history of psychology and what is going on right now, if psychology is still being worked on.

    I am interested in this topic because my exhibition issue was all about psychology and my life is strongly related to psychology and what I have faced in the past.
    I want to know more about something that has been going on in my life. I am interested in what is going on in peoples’ minds, how they function and how what they do affects their and others social life. I want to know how scientific knowledge about everyone can help and improve our lifestyles, and the goods and bads about this topic.
    The knowledge in this topic can be very interesting because it is focusing on particular and individual people, and the differences and similarities on the mental side of life. I am passionate about my life and how others behavior badly affects mine, so it would be very helpful to learn about what has been going on in my life.

    I have heard that Jon’s sister is a psychologist so I can be able to contact with her and find out a lot of information. I can also talk about this topics with the secondary humanities teachers because during transition practice, Ms Tiffany the humanities teacher has told 6SS that the elder kids are working on psychology, and I can relate and work with them.

    I can share my information with everybody by simply presenting or telling them about what new information I have learnt. It can strongly relate to some peoples’ lives and help them.
    I can also share what I have learnt by creating videos and sharing them about what I have learnt. I can create many videos often and people can keep updated.

  6. Sebastian
    May 27, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    I am interested in football injuries and if sciencetist can make footballers recover from big injurees like if you snap your achilles and if there is any surgery or medicines that can make a quicker recovry for you. I am interested in it because I love the sport myself and I have had quiet a lot of injuries recently and I hope to find some more infomation about it which could help me. I play for a football team called Can U Kick It and my coach Darren jackson use to play for Westham but because he snap his achilles he couldn’t play professional football any more. I think there are a lot of website and books that can provide me the infomation that I need. One of them could be this website:https://www.chp.edu/CHP/P02843. I think I will present by making a video with a lot of pictures in it and a few video clips in it.

  7. michaelt
    May 27, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    I am interested in researching about jane goodall who studied primatology (The study of primates) and she changed the way I thought about primates because when I read about her it turns out that apes are not as peacefull as we think they are.

    I am interested in this because I would like to learn more about animals and how they live. I also want to study this because jane goodall studied primatology for over 3 decades and discovered things that could make humans understand animal primates better and I have read about her before and she found out that primates try to kill eachothers children.
    y
    I think I could find out more information by going on to websites and reading a magazine called national geographic magazine because in one issue I have it is all about james goodall and her findings. It also shows the familly tree of the apes she studied and it is incredibly complicated but I can try to understand it and present it to people.

    To present what I found out about James Goodall I could create a video because I am very good at creating videos.

  8. Saeyeon
    May 27, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    I am interested about cars and it is connected in where we are in place and time because the car changes after ages. Also because the cars use to be good but now it makes the problem to earth. I also want to know about how does the car gets the bad air out and how the car br made. I could find about it on the computer web site from the car company websites.
    I could do a presentation to my class about how did the car came out, how does car work and how do we make a car.

  9. Jin 金
    May 27, 2011 at 1:47 pm

    I am interested in researching about the Italian-American Enrico Fermi. He is the first reactor of the nuclear reactor, and he is also known as “The father of Atomic Bomb:” The questions I want to ask is, “Why did he found something so gruesome and ruthless to humans?” Why didn’t he think about the future? He should have not discovered the atomic bomb because after the catastrophe in Hiroshima and Nagasaki? I bet that before he died he would say “I shouldn’t have invented such a disastrous thing,” I am interested in Father of Atomic Bomb because when I become an inventor like him I might invent some un harmful bomb that doesn’t incinerate people when they are on strike.

  10. Aayush- Manu rocks
    May 27, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    Intro to the subject:

    I am interested in tennis. Lots of types of tennis parts. These are the questions how new tennis rackets are designed, who/how made the first tennis racket was made, who and how 1 type of shoe does well with I type of tennis court surface, what are the differences between surfaces and who invented the tennis ball.

    How I am connected to it and why I am doing it:

    I am connected to it because I love to play tennis and I play it 3 times a week. I love to watch tennis to. I support Nadal and I wonder why he finds it easier to win on clay surface. Does it bounce slower? Or does the ball bounce more. I also think by doing this it can improve my tennis. Another reason is that johan and Shilhar took my other favorite sports, soccer and cricket.

    How will I find the information?

    I will find the information by asking my tennis teacher if he knows any of the answers. Next I will go to the library and see if I can find any books on the science on tennis. Another thing I will to search on the internet and see if I can find any information. I have already found these websites on the internet:

    http://www.odec.ca/projects/2005/wong5i0/public_html/
    http://www.popularmechanics.com/outdoors/sports/physics/4221210
    http://pontotriplo.org/quickpicks/2006/04/laws_of_physics.html
    http://www.tennisserver.com/set/set-archive.html

    How am I going to present

    I am probably going to present using a PowerPoint or Prezi because they are easy and fast to use.

  11. Ken
    May 27, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    I proboble will choose the nuclear power plant in Japan as my own topic. I really am interested in this topic because it is about my home country. I think i will be able to get info. in wikipedia or google. I will try to make a power point about it.

  12. Aayush
    May 27, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    Intro to the subject:

    I am interested in tennis. Lots of types of tennis parts. These are the questions how new tennis rackets are designed, who/how made the first tennis racket was made, who and how 1 type of shoe does well with I type of tennis court surface, what are the differences between surfaces and who invented the tennis ball.

    How I am connected to it and why I am doing it:

    I am connected to it because I love to play tennis and I play it 3 times a week. I love to watch tennis to. I support Nadal and I wonder why he finds it easier to win on clay surface. Does it bounce slower? Or does the ball bounce more. I also think by doing this it can improve my tennis. Another reason is that johan and Shilhar took my other favorite sports, soccer and cricket.

    How will I find the information?

    I will find the information by asking my tennis teacher if he knows any of the answers. Next I will go to the library and see if I can find any books on the science on tennis. Another thing I will to search on the internet and see if I can find any information. I have already found these websites on the internet:

    http://www.odec.ca/projects/2005/wong5i0/public_html/
    http://www.popularmechanics.com/outdoors/sports/physics/4221210
    http://pontotriplo.org/quickpicks/2006/04/laws_of_physics.html
    http://www.tennisserver.com/set/set-archive.html

    How am I going to present

    I am probably going to present using a PowerPoint or Prezi because they are easy and fast to use.

  13. Paul
    May 27, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    I am interested in finding out how and who made the the stoves and pots and cooking gas for the street venders. I am interested in it becase I was born in Bangkok and it is a big part of thai culture. I also eat from them almost every day so it would be very interesting to no as much as possible about them. I think Mainly online also there may be a few books on them. Wit did street venders for his exhibition so he will have a lot of info about them. I will use a power point but mainly my voice!

  14. Terrie
    May 27, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    What you are interesting in researching
    I was interested about researching why the people will angry, crying, happy, and sad. I interested about that, because I really interested about the people ‘s mood is change, and why the human’s mood will change so often. And if I understand of why, it will be easy to make a angry person calm down very quickly.

    Why you are interested in that
    i interested about that because I really want to know, which part of body make the human have mood and change the mood. And if I learn that alot, I will know how to control my mood, not I want happy just happy, I want to angry, and just angry. And I will teach other people how to control their mood.

    Where you think you’ll be able to find a lot of information from google, like online research, and I will go to library to read some book, and do research. And maybe I will ask some doctor about human’s mood, and why it will changed.

    How you think you might share your research with everybody
    I will send E-mail to some one who invovlt this. And I will talk to the people who invovt. And ask them pay it forward.

    • Yeachan
      May 29, 2011 at 10:20 pm

      Terrie 🙂 Do you mean in involved not invovt? 😉

      • Terried
        May 30, 2011 at 7:13 am

        Sorry I spell wrong! It is involved!

  15. May 27, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    I am interested in crystals because I want to more learn How to make them?, Why do they make them?, Who invented the crystals? Right now, I’m finding out different kinds of crystals such us Amethyst,Insulin,Halite and others.Mabye I’m gonna search different kinds of crystals pictures and put them in a microsoft word.

  16. 18Aayushk
    May 29, 2011 at 8:27 am

    I posted mine but it has’nt come for some wierd reason.

  17. Yeachan
    May 29, 2011 at 10:19 pm

    •What you are interesting in researching

    I’m interested in researching ‘how lots of radiation harms and destroys our health and why is it dangerous. Also I’m interested in how can we cure when somebody got disease because of radiation.

    •Why you are interested in that

    I’m interested in this research because recently in Japan there was huge Nuclear Power Plant explosion disaster and many people got serious disease or killed because of the radiation. And also I want to know why is it dangerous and

    •Where you think you’ll be able to find a lot of information

    I think the best dictionary ‘wikipedia’ can find a lot of information because wikipedia have lots of good informations. Otherwise I’ll search Korean website called NAVER and this is the link: http://www.naver.com

    How you think you might share your research with everybody

    I think I might share my research with sending an email to people so that they will be able to share my work or I’ll pay it foward like telling people.

    • 18yeachanh
      May 29, 2011 at 10:25 pm

      I hope nobody would misunderstand by copying Ken’s work 😦 :d :0

      (Actually I didn’t know Ken did simillar thing like me)

  18. 18aayushk
    May 30, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    Intro to the subject:

    I am interested in tennis. Lots of types of tennis parts. These are the questions how new tennis rackets are designed, who/how made the first tennis racket was made, who and how 1 type of shoe does well with I type of tennis court surface, what are the differences between surfaces and who invented the tennis ball.

    How I am connected to it and why I am doing it:

    I am connected to it because I love to play tennis and I play it 3 times a week. I love to watch tennis to. I support Nadal and I wonder why he finds it easier to win on clay surface. Does it bounce slower? Or does the ball bounce more. I also think by doing this it can improve my tennis. Another reason is that johan and Shilhar took my other favorite sports, soccer and cricket.

    How will I find the information?

    I will find the information by asking my tennis teacher if he knows any of the answers. Next I will go to the library and see if I can find any books on the science on tennis. Another thing I will to search on the internet and see if I can find any information. I have already found these websites on the internet:

    http://www.odec.ca/projects/2005/wong5i0/public_html/
    http://www.popularmechanics.com/outdoors/sports/physics/4221210
    http://pontotriplo.org/quickpicks/2006/04/laws_of_physics.html
    http://www.tennisserver.com/set/set-archive.html

    How am I going to present:

    I am probably going to present using a PowerPoint or Prezi because they are easy and fast to use.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

