Home > Home, How the world works, How we organize ourselves > Homework: Another great science website

Homework: Another great science website

Ms. Angela showed me this website and it looks great. There’s lots of ideas for experiments you could do at school or at home. I’m looking forward to seeing what happens tomorrow. This afternoon was great!

  1. Am
    May 11, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    I think that the website above is really cool, and organized because it has a variety of activities to choose from, and they’re all organized in sections which is easy to find.
    I am interested in an activity called ‘dancing ice’, which is about density and what happens to the ice once its in veggie oil. Another I am very interested in is ‘Amazing Detergent’ because I really want to know what happens with detergent when it’s mixed with the food colouring.
    I can get the supplies form those activities very easily, and I will bring them tomorrow so I can do it.

    Form the website of yesterday, there was an activity called ‘Go with the flow’ and it’s about water when it creates patterns once it’s mixed with soap that has ‘Glycol Stearate’ in it. I have the supplies at home, so I will bring them tomorrow too.

    Tomorrow I will do more science experiments, since today I forgot my supplies. I will also try to take a lot of photos for evidence, and come up with a little conclusion and see what went wrong during the experiments.

    I had a lot of fun today in class, because we got to make slime which was new to me. We ended up having to add more glue than it said because it was too watery without more glue in it. I am looking forward for science experiments tomorrow!!

    • Mr. Sam
      May 11, 2011 at 9:20 pm

      Those sound great – I hope you do remember the stuff tomorrow!

  2. michaelt
    May 11, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    there are lots of things to do in this site!

  3. michaelt
    May 11, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    I find this activity very interesting
    http://www.csiro.au/resources/balloon-surfing-activity.html

    • Mr. Sam
      May 11, 2011 at 9:20 pm

      Why does that one appeal to you?

  4. jon jon
    May 11, 2011 at 6:21 pm

    Hi, Mr Sam I thought that it would be good if I just continued with what I was doing today. I would like to see how many cups I could make before I cannot hear the other person 🙂

    • Mr. Sam
      May 11, 2011 at 9:21 pm

      No problem, Jon. There’s lots you can do with that experiment, lots of different variables. I’m looking forward to helping you with it!

    • Jin
      May 12, 2011 at 6:01 am

      Because it can support people on the desk. It is supporte by balloons

  5. gabi
    May 11, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    this webisite is really cool but i am still going to make an experement on the other website which will be involved with a baloon and a can.

    • Mr. Sam
      May 11, 2011 at 9:24 pm

      Can you explain the experiment with a few more details?

  6. Johan
    May 11, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    I am going to continue doing what me, Paul, Seb and Julien did today. But tommorow we are going to make the route a bit more challenging and possibly longer. I might bring some bigger ballons to school tommorow so that the ballon rocket can go further and it will really help us with our work.

    • Mr. Sam
      May 11, 2011 at 9:26 pm

      You guys made a great start today. Tomorrow, you need to work with more thought and much less crazy behaviour.

  7. 18saeyeono
    May 11, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    Mr.Sam I read about my experiments and it said that it was a joke experiment and the boiling water juxt shows bubbles. 😦

    • Mr. Sam
      May 11, 2011 at 9:26 pm

      Did you see bubbles though?

      • 18saeyeono
        May 11, 2011 at 10:05 pm

        Yeah

  8. 18saeyeono
    May 11, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    I agree with Michael I am going to bring the ingredients for the chicken cup and the surfing board tomorrow. Mike, bring the ballons!

  9. Pin
    May 11, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    I’m interested in-
    Cornflour slime
    Dancing ice
    glue goo
    Salt vs. Ice
    Crystal Grower
    Amazing Detergent

    I think that Salt vs. Ice is really interesting because I want to see how salt can make a piece of string stick to a ice cube.

    • Mr. Sam
      May 11, 2011 at 9:27 pm

      That does sound interesting…

  10. Manisha
    May 12, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    I am making corn slime.What i had to do is pour some cornflour into the bowl and put some water on the corn flour until it becomes hard and then i had to stir it.After that i put the mixture in the fridge.I need to put the slime for several days and take it out.I wonder if the slime will be gooey or hard when i remove it from the fridge.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

