Homework: So, teachers, how was it?

How do you feel about your lessons in Year 1 today?

What was really successful?

What was really challenging?

What could you do in the next lesson with those kids?

  1. Pin
    May 5, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    How do you feel about your lessons in Year 1 today?
    It was OK. When we broke up into groups, my group was really silly. They started drawing things on the paper. We had small problems but overall it was really good.
    What was really successful?
    I think that the thing that was really successful is talking to the kids and getting the kids to think. Another thing that was successful was teaching the kids to learn things from us.

    What was really challenging?
    For me working with little kids is challenging and having groups with alot of silly kids is also very challenging.

    What could you do in the next lesson with those kids?
    In the next lesson we could teach the kids about drawing what they think or writing more harder words and more powerful words.
    🙂

    • May
      May 5, 2011 at 4:32 pm

      I agree with Pin because I was in her group and the kids were really kids but I don’t think it does really matter because they’re still young however when they get older they going to improve.

      • Pin
        May 5, 2011 at 6:57 pm

        Yes I talked with my mom about today and she said that when I was in year 1 I was also very hyper I think its natural for little kids to be hyper 🙂

  2. 18saeyeono
    May 5, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    I felt realy great about the lessons in year 1 beacuse the kids were soo cute! Also I did lots of talking in my kids group. the successful part was that I had to control the kids and i did also it was easy. The challenging part was that there was a naugty kid sitting next to me and telling me about the monster truck and WWE.
    I could make them control their behavior.

  3. Jin
    May 5, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    I really enjoyed it because it was easy to control little kids. When we were working I was helping Sebi, as I had nothing to do( I was a techman) even though the kids spelt it wrong, they were really smart. When we explained a little to them they just responded like little tykes.

    The successful part was that in some difficult parts they understood really well and when we did simon said they understood what we said and respected us like respecting adults. They were all smart and I really liked it

    The challenging part was getting kids to concentrate because some kids were off the hooks and just talking weird things and talking when their hands weren’t up so Ms. Nora had to remind them and the backup teachers did good jobs.

    What we could do with kids next time is to maybe do some more adjectives but do nouns because I think that there were equal amounts of nouns and adjectives in each pictures. Then the kids will be influenced by us and be real einstiens

  4. Pimboon
    May 5, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    How do you feel about your lessons in Year 1 today?
    I felt ok-ish with the Year 1 today, but it was also fun. My group were very enthusiastic and they did play around a bit but overall it was good- also the Simon Says bit. It was funnn.

    What was really successful?
    I think that what was successful today was the last bit- because the kids were really paying attention and getting involved.

    What was really challenging?
    Controlling the kids. One time when they were coming in- it was hard to get their attention. Also when we were breaking into groups- they started talking and being silly. but the last bit was ok…

    What could you do in the next lesson with those kids?
    I dont know…. Maybe help them with spelling? It was hard for me to read my groups handwriting and their spelling (one person in my group wrote “purple tongue” to “prutu”) which was kinda weird…

  5. May 5, 2011 at 4:17 pm

    How do you feel about your lessons in Year 1 today?
    I feel great because they are really listening on what my classmate is saying so ya.
    What was really successful?
    The part that is really successful is that we let them write the words that they really want to write.
    What was really challenging?
    The challenging one is that the Y1 students were talking at the same time.
    What could you do in the next lesson with those kids?
    Mabye, we could do is let our group teach them how to write the words because there writing was so messy that I can’t read it so ya.

  6. michaelt
    May 5, 2011 at 4:33 pm

    I think our lessons in year 1 were great because we got to see how they reacted to the activity and what answers they had.
    It was successful because we did everything we planned and we got to share with the year 1 class

    It was challenging because the Y1 kids misbehaved and didnt listen. Two kids had to get sent out of the room.
    For the next lesson we could do something else connected to their unit

  7. Anirudh
    May 5, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    How do you feel about your lessons in Year 1 today?
    I felt great because they had a lot of ideas and they used powerful words in there kind of level and they were very cute.
    What was really successful?
    Yes because they followed what we said and they did it well.
    What was really challenging?
    It was challenging handling the kids not to go and goof off and right something else.
    What could you do in the next lesson with those kids
    Learn how to behave and and do the right thing.

  8. May
    May 5, 2011 at 4:45 pm

    How do you feel about your lessons in Year 1 today?
    I felt great about it because at first they were kind of being silly but after the lesson was over I think they really enjoyed it cause they didn’t interrupt. At first when we went in and when the kids were there they thought that we’re going to eat them or destroy they’re smart board. I think that it was okay for them to do this because they are still young and they don’t understand that much. Also in my group there was a girl that didn’t really know how to write so that was kind of tiring for me.

    What was really successful?
    I think that the successful thing was after we taught them about the images they were quite calm and I felt that they quite like us to be there also my group did alot of thinking with alot of my help but once when I was doing a Tuk tuk photo and we did alot of thinking so that made me forgot that we also have 2 more photos to do.

    What was really challenging?
    The challenging part for me was to keep the kids concentrate on the work because when I was helping some other kids some of the kids in my group were messing around not really concentrating. Another thing was when we first talk to the kids most of them were interrupting so it’s a bit hard to explain.

    What could you do in the next lesson with those kids?
    I think I can teach them how to spell more because most of them didn’t really know how to write “L” or they might right the “U” upside down. Some of the kid spell wrong for example: “Red” they wrote “Raad” or “Blue” they wrote “Bloo.”

  9. 18Shikhark
    May 5, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    I feel that the students in my group were pretty smart. When they really focused they could get some cool words at least for their age. I noticed that the students were getting distracted by others or maybe because it was too long to hold their attention. In the start though the kids were well behaved except one or two kids who were interrupting us most of the time, not concentrating, and Talking about death out loud, and it was really weird and annoying.
    I think some kid were focusing and trying to understand what we are saying, At the beginning when we were introducing ourselves most kids were listening so that was a success.
    The challenging part was getting the kids to listen and understand what I’m saying which only a few kids did. Also encouraging them to participate wasn’t easy.
    I think the next time around I will try to speak in a slow and firm voice. Next we will give each kid their own piece of paper for making the designs and giving clearer directions so that they don’t just draw random things!

  10. Am
    May 5, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    How do you feel about your lessons in Year 1 today?
    I felt that it was really fun, and that the kids were really into it. The class I did the lesson with were very enthusiastic in this work, and all of them had their hands up. They were very excited, and I feel that it was really fun, and very useful to the kids.

    What was really successful?
    I would say yes because everything worked out well. No glitches on the computer, no fiddling and messing around, our group were helping the kids and we were collaborating really well. They did what we said, and just got it right away and they got the hang of it in no time. I think is was succesful because of our language we used, and how we interacted with the kids.
    What was really challenging?

    What was really challenging?
    I wouldn’t say really, but it was a bit at first. They were kind of shouting out, we we got control again and they raised their hand up and took turns to speak. They were really focused, and we we got into groups they worked right away. They were great and very smart.

    What could you do in the next lesson with those kids?
    For the next lesson, we can start creating designs because they were so excited for creating new things. Jon said that we can have a quick write-down at the end just before mix it up, and they came rushing to the paper, grabbing pens and writing.
    We can also do more photos, but strongly based on tourism so the kids can have a better understanding of their current unit, and make a visible connection to what they are doing with us and how its connected to where we are in place and time.

    • 18aayushk
      May 5, 2011 at 7:36 pm

      I agree with you in the fact that we should show them more tuorism related photos which connect with ere unit.

  11. Paul
    May 5, 2011 at 4:59 pm

    Red:

    I feel that we had a a really good time today I thought we where under control the whole time. They had there hands up most of the time and we did not have to do anything to make them participate. I thought that we had no times where there was anything bad going on and over all 9 and a half out of ten.

    Yellow:

    Getting them to behave was very successful and so was getting them to participate. I thought that most of it was quite perfect.

    Black:

    I thought that teaching them the game was the only challenging part for me and I think the group.

    Green:

    The next thing i would do with the kids is give them cameras and ask them to go out around NIST and take photos that they can feel, think, taste and smell on!

    • 18Aayushk
      May 5, 2011 at 5:23 pm

      I was in pauls group and I agree with him on the black hat. Teaching the children was hard task because they sometimes would think that something serious was a joke.

  12. sebastian
    May 5, 2011 at 5:19 pm

    Red
    I feel that we had a great time in year one because we go to experience how teaching is. Today we were in control all the time but there were some interruptions but it was ok. When the year ones went off and did the activity they were amazing especially my group they came up with so many ones, one of the kids even said delighted.

    Yellow
    For me almost everything was successful they listen well they knew what they were doing and they enjoyed it. I think the most successful part was when they went into the groups because they all knew what they were doing and they knew the words for the pictures.

    Black
    I think what was really bad was the interrupting because when we were trying to tell them what to do some of the time they weren’t listening.

    Green
    If we go again to teach the year ones again I think we have to be more strict because some of the time the got distracted.

  13. Paula
    May 5, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    I feel like I taught the kids something today. I think they have learned about adjectives and what they are. They have started finding adjectives in words with different perspectives. Eg. It really surprised me when they were talking about the beach they all started saying it was relaxing. I didn’t think they would say something like that because I can imagine them running around not relaxing at a beach.

    I found it really successful how the kids were very enthusiastic about spelling out they’re adjective after they had a creative idea.

    I thought it was quite challenging how you couldn’t go through the lessons without interruptions, and in between when they got really excited about something and all started talking at once, then you had to interrupt the lesson and tell them to put their hands, or clap, or give me five,or to listen to the speaker etc.

    At school I said in the next lesson we could go into a different word group but, I have changed my mind and I think that they should start using adjectives in a sentence.

  14. 18julienn
    May 5, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    Red:
    I feel great about my lesson with the Yr 1NW because I really think I passed on the message and that they got the point of the lesson. I also feel great about the lesson because it was great fun talking to little kids who are just playing around and not business man who are all so serious about money.
    Yellow:
    I think that the whole lesson was really successful because the Yr 1 kids that I taught seemed to have a good understanding of what wanted to teach them at the end of the lesson so I’m quite proud that I managed to collaborate so well with so young minds.
    Black:
    I think that the bad part was that some of the kids kept on talking and interrupting so I had to keep on saying Simon says until they be quiet.
    Green:
    I think that if we have another chance to go there It will go smoother because they will already kind of know us and what we’re here to teach so It will probably be easier to teach them something else about tourism.

  15. 18Aayushk
    May 5, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    How do you feel about your lessons in Year 1 today?
    I feel my group did well and always had control most of the time. I feel that a couple of us made some mistakes in the beginning but as the class progressed we made less and less mistakes. In the second part of the lesson I thought was fantastic because the kids in my group always got excited when they saw the photos and wrote all of the words in a minute and then wanted to see the next picture. I feel that Paul handles the asking questions really well.

    What was really successful?
    The really successful thing is we got them under control and then they listened to us for a while. When they saw the volcano photo for example they all shouted VOLCANO!!!!!!!! And some got scared and said different adjectives. The other successful part was when we went into the group stage we worked really well because at the end when we were sharing adjectives and most of the group had 15-20 examples.

    What was really challenging?
    The really challenging parts were to keep them all focused and teach them so they understood. As well as some kids in my group were too scared to even try spelling something for example I had a boy in my group called Dean and he would always have ideas which he shared to me but when it came to writing he refused to write words he did not know how to spell and I had to write for him. The other difficult part was to not make them bored because if they became bored they would fiddle with toys. When we were all sharing our adjectives some kids who were not presenting played with marbles and other toys.

    What could you do in the next lesson with those kids?
    Next lesson I think we could to give them a chance to find the photos and write about them with more independence as well as show them some more adjectives not only simple ones like happy, hot, cold, noisy etc. We could help them learn some simple spelling words like May said how, red, see etc. An example is the kids spell “see” like “C”.

  16. gabi
    May 5, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    How do you feel about your lessons in Year 1 today?
    i felt kind of happy that i did it and went through it was also fun!!
    What was really successful?
    i think what went succesful was that the scary picture which was a volcano shocked them a lot they all went AHH!!!! at the same time and VOLCANO!!!! at the same time it was cool to watch.
    i also enjoyed teaching and writing on the smart board!!!!!!!!
    What was really challenging?
    I thought the most challenging for me was that the kids were intterupting a lot and they always got off track and was talking about something else.
    What could you do in the next lesson with those kids?
    i could let them right and maybe let them spell they could even go on the smart board and right.
    We can also let them choose the photos that relate to their unit.

  17. Terrie
    May 5, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    How do you feel about your lessons in Year 1 today?
    I feel Ok with the Year 1 kids. The kids are all like talking, and some of them talk to much, and the teacher send them outside. And I think them are interested about that.

    What was really successful?
    I think it is very successful, because the kids are enjoyed the unit, and the things we talk about. And we get the control, and when they will writing on the paper by themselfs, they have a chance to writed, and althrough some word are wrong, but I will let them try their best.

    What was really challenging?
    I think some part today is challenging, like when can’t 100% confident to facing 20 kids, amd when they are speaking to loud, we can’t shout at them, and has to use some diffrent skills to stop them talking if they talking somethings not fit what we taling about.

    What could you do in the next lesson with those kids?

    I think the next lesson we can do like Y5 assembly, they find some picture, and let us guess what is it looks like, and some interesting photo and get their attention.

  18. Yeachan
    May 5, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    How do you feel about your lessons in Year 1 today?

    I think it was good. My group was all girls, and they started drawing on a paper, but except for that they listened and enjoyed our presentation.

    What was really successful?

    I think the successful thing was when our group showed 1EB(I’m not sure if it’s 1EB)some pictures, and they put their hands up and the class and us shared our thinking.

    What was really challenging?

    I think the challenging things were Year 1 needed spelling and when I spell to them they wrote wrong spelling and they were hard to concentrate.

    What could you do in the next lesson with those kids?

    In the next lesson I could teach them that try not to draw pictures and concentrate(but I know that younger students are hard to concentrate 🙂

  19. Manisha
    May 5, 2011 at 8:29 pm

    How do you feel about your lessons in Year 1 today?
    I felt that they understood what we were talking about but when they broke into groups,some of the yr.1 was were playing with the markers and drawing on the paper even if i said to stop they continued.

    What was really successful?
    The successful thing was that the children understood and they started to write so many words that they didn’t write on the other two photos.

    What was really challenging?
    The challenging part was to handle the children’s behavior.

    What could you do in the next lesson with those kids?
    In the next lesson we should give them a little more complicated photos to write on.

  20. Johan
    May 5, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    Red:
    I thought the lesson was great today in Year 1. The kids really listened to us and they were thinking very deeply when they looked at the photos. Although there were some interuption by some of the year 1 students I still think they were great. The lesson it self when really well we got everything we had planned done, at the end we had to speed up a bit but we still got everything done and the lesson was great.

    Yellow:
    Pretty much everything in the lesson was succesfull. But I think the most succefull thing was when they went into the groups because all the kids wanted to particapate in the acitivity and they really blew me away with their words and spelling :).

    Black:
    The thing that was quite challeninging was when the kids came in and all of them started talking negative things about us and they really wanted to go to mix it up. But it wasn’t that big od a problem because we got the setteled and we could move on.

    Green:
    In the next lesson I think we should let the kids choose their own pictures and then maybe if they could chose their own pictures the maybe they have more words and more powerful/descriptive words.

  21. Ken
    May 5, 2011 at 8:47 pm

    When we started our lesson I was a little shy while we were doing Simon says. In Simon says Julien went first then I went and did it. All the kids knew when I was not going to say Simon, but our group was very succsesful. I really liked one kid but I forgot his name but that kid is so cute and he Hi Fived me a couple of times. 1kid from my group was a very good risk-taker and a very nice person(even though he got in trouble and had to sit outside.) He was very nice because he tried to tell the spell of hard words I help out some words but that person edited other peoples worked and they liked it, He was a Risk-taker by raising his hand up when Julien and Pimboon was talking and asking questions. When the kids was intruoping each other we said ‘Simon says touch your head Simon says touch your mouth Simon says be quite’ we had to do that a couple of times. I dont think it was that challenging but from the looks of it I think Julien was a little bit annoyed. I think we should show them more picture and mabye even show them our picture.

  22. Sam
    May 5, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    I feel really good about my lesson with my class/group of 4.
    When the Year 1’s that were in my class came in, they were extremely hyper. Some of them even said that I was going to destroy their smartboard by touching it. Their teacher, Ms. Alicia, explained what we were doing, as some of the kids were very confused on why we were there. After that, we got them to settle down by playing a little bit of Simon says. This really helped. I then started off the lesson by explaining the activity and I gave my example of a word that I think of when I look at the photo. When I asked them for what they think, lots of the children put their hand up. I’m guessing that they were all very eager to say what they were thinking. We didn’t really have kids who shout out a lot so this wasn’t a very difficult activity. When the kids were out of words, we would ask them questions like, What do you see, How do you feel etc. The kids thought of lots more words for the second photo. I was very surprised because the kids saw things that neither May, Johan, Pin and I would’ve thought of. I then explained the next task (Go into 4 groups and do exactly what we did on the board). Ms. Alicia chose the 4 groups. My group had two very loud girls, and two very quiet boys. I made sure that the boys got a chance to talk and write things without the girls telling them what to write, they looked very shy. We spent a very long time on the first photo (a photo of a tuk tuk) as they didn’t know much of things to write. On the next 2 photos, I didn’t have to help them the whole time because they already understood what kinds of words they should be using etc. On the tuk tuk photo and on the photo of the swinging girl they said that the most powerful word was the word ‘excited’. It was very surprising because they almost spelt it right the first time. They wrote ‘exited’. I corrected them, then, on their second try, they got it right which I think was a very big achievement for Year 1 kids. On the third photo (the photo of the crying boy), they said the most powerful word was ‘sad’ I made sure that the kids had a reason why they chose that word as the most ‘powerful’ word on the page. We then ended the class by sharing the work that the kids did (we also showed what word was chosen to be the most powerful and why) and we asked them to tell us why we were there, as lots of the kids seemed to have forgotten the kids got the reason wrong so we had to tell them.
    I think the whole lesson was successful, they were just a little bit hyper at the start but they cooled down really quickly. It was really challenging to try to get the boys to write without any of the girls telling or helping them with spelling (the boys were better at spelling as the girls). After hearing some of my peer’s lessons, I think I have an idea of what I could do on the next lesson. I want to explain the words describe and adjective to them. I think this will get them to understand what kind of words they should be using. I also would like them to re-do the activity (saying words that they think of when they look at a photo), but since they are learning about how pictures of Thailand could lure in tourists, I would like to have photos that could be or are used to make tourists want to come to Thailand. We could help them with the first one, then we could try to make them do it on their own, of course we will be there to supervise just incase they start fighting. In Year 1, I know for a fact that it is easy to start useless fights (I did it myself). At the end of the next lesson, if we have one, I would like them to be able to describe a photo with a really powerful word in a few seconds (right now they are taking a while to think of words that they think are powerful.

    Sam

  23. 18Aayushk
    May 8, 2011 at 9:20 am

    I relized that 6ss wrote a lot in in this homework task and I checked how words we wrote.
    We typed around 4,920 words and only 22 people posting comments whihc is amazing. Congrats!!!!!!!!!

  24. jon jon
    May 8, 2011 at 7:21 pm

    How do you feel about the year 1 lesson: I feel good because I think it was successful. I think all the kids lurned a lot about what we were trying to teach them and I think they had fun, and I had fun to.
    What was successful: well I think I spoke good and the kids understood me and knew what I was saying.
    What was hard: honestly I did not think there was anything hard I thought It was fun.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

