Home > Home, How the world works, Sharing the Planet > Homework: Science Connections

Homework: Science Connections

Today we have been looking at how your issues connect with science. It would be amazing if we could continue with your PYP Exhibition work by becoming scientists in different ways.

Think carefully about how your issue might be connected to different science “strands”.

Living Things: The study of the characteristics, systems and behaviours of humans and other animals, and of plants; the interactions and relationships between and among them, and with their environment.

Earth & Space: The study of planet Earth and its position in the universe, particularly its relationship with the sun; the systems, distinctive features and natural phenomena that shape and identify the planet; the infinite and finite resources of the planet.

Materials & Matter: The study of the properties, behaviours and uses of materials, both natural and man-made, the origins of human-made materials and how they are manipulated to suit a purpose.

Forces & Energy: The study of energy, its origins, storage and transfer, and the work it can do; the study of forces; the application of scientific understanding through inventions and machines.

Explain your connections and some ideas for experiments you might be able to do.

  1. Terrie
    May 4, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    I don’t get today’s homework.

    • Yeachan
      May 4, 2011 at 7:01 pm

      Kind of same here

      ㅇ<

      • Yeachan
        May 4, 2011 at 7:06 pm

        ㅠBut I’ll try to understand
        🙂

  2. Pin
    May 4, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    Living Things: The study of the characteristics, systems and behaviours of humans and other animals, and of plants; the interactions and relationships between and among them, and with their environment- I think that Living things is connected to my issue by humans when they use too much screens their personality changes and they way they organize things change. They get a little crazy so the people around them gets confused and the people around them also has to change the way they live.

    Earth & Space: The study of planet Earth and its position in the universe, particularly its relationship with the sun; the systems, distinctive features and natural phenomena that shape and identify the planet; the infinite and finite resources of the planet- Earth and space is connected to my exhibition because the earth is changing while people waste their time infront of a screen. The ozone hole gets bigger and the climate of the earth also changes.

    Materials & Matter: The study of the properties, behaviours and uses of materials, both natural and man-made, the origins of human-made materials and how they are manipulated to suit a purpose- The materials are wasted because people want the latest computers like mr sam said people want the computer to be thinner more portable and lighter. It can be more expensive and your old computer can still work but you want the latest version so its just a waste of materials.

    Forces & Energy: The study of energy, its origins, storage and transfer, and the work it can do; the study of forces; the application of scientific understanding through inventions and machines- Its connected with energy because the computer needs energy to work. You also need energy from your body to spend looking/typing infront of a screen.

    Some experiments I can do is:
    I could probably get a thin, light and portable computer such as laptops, and then get a old computer and ask people which one they will prefer to use.
    🙂

  3. Jin
    May 4, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    What I think about this:

    I think that food can be connected to science because a candy and a coke works really well. Like you put a candy inside a coke and it explodes! *lol*

    I will try to get a candy and a coke and try to find out why Carbon Dioxide responds to the candy. I also want to know why it can’t be anything else because I want to know what science is inside a candy that is so active to it. Before I tried to use something else to a coke like a caramel, but it just didn’t work. So I can do this and find out about it. I can maybe ask some teachers at NIST because they know a lot about science.

    • Jin
      May 4, 2011 at 3:46 pm

      Some more:

      LIving things have sensitivity inside their body so that you can sense who is touching you. Only I think that there are no animals that don’t have sensitivity. If they don’t, they might be caught by wild animals.

      Earth and Space: Earth is basically all science because it has a crust, a core and some layers to cover it. Basically, everything in the world is almost all science because you need science to invent things and measure and things like that.

      Materials & Matter: Like scissors, you need to cut the two parts out of a metal so that you can make a good one. Also, it needs to be a good shape so that you can cut more easily. The other things are computers. because there are binary codes inside a computer and it’s really complicated. Like 101010101010101010

      Forces and Energy: Like a fan, a fan needs extreme science so that it can give cool air to us. Also, if you get a skip rope, hold it up, and bang it down, the force travels the other way.

      It’s all so cool!! :happy:

      • Sam
        May 4, 2011 at 4:35 pm

        Jin, is this all connected to your Exhibition topic??

        • Jin
          May 4, 2011 at 6:19 pm

          I made a mistake!!!

          I think that my issue is only connected to Living things because people who get bullied act really strange and doens’t like to go to school and like that

          What I can do with Michael is that we can try to film bullies and film the bullied people by secret.

          Sorry Michael beacuse you are my partner. Didn’t read what it said.

          Also sorry to you Sam

      • 18jinj
        May 4, 2011 at 6:21 pm

        I don’t know why I chose a topic that is not connected enough… and Sam now you can call me stupid

  4. 18saeyeono
    May 4, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    I think that my issue is connected to my issue because people should realy care about our resources includes water and not to waste it and we need water to live. The earth is connected to my issue because the water is paart of a planet and the earth is giving us the resorce to live and survive. The water is made out of nature by rain and also lots of places we use filtered water to be sure that it isn’t going to kill us. I think the energy because we need energy to work the water fountain and to drinkk out of it.
    I am going to show EY students about our new video that could change there life.

  5. Pimboon
    May 4, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    I think that my issue is connected to Earth and Space because it uses up alot of space where the cars belong- like parking, and it also uses finite resources- thats the fuels and gas. I think that mostly the earth is covered with cars. I think teh cars damage the earth twice- because 1st when they get the resources and build it- and 2nd when it all has smoke out of it, polluting the air.
    Materials & Matter becuase they use iron to make the cars and the iron (I think)is kinda hard to find. ANd they use machines and engines to make the cars. I think the change the car shape and functions and stuff- so they can compete with other brands and that more people would want to buy their car so they would be rich. And with that- they use more resources and destroys more of the earth. Well the work cars do is get people to travel around fast. It can store things- like my mom puts all her shoes in the car so that she could change anytime. The machines in the cars are normally under the car and the front bit of the car- and it has many complicated stuff that gos round and round and that it controls everything everytime you turn or press something- it also gets the car to move fast like- 20 40 60 80 100 120 and so on. And also the brakes have to work fast and it uses alot of machines and something like wires.

    FOr the experiment thing, I know this would be bad- but I want to prove my researches right- so based on the Living Things- I mightfand a small animal and put it next to an exsauste pipe- turn on the engine and see what happens to the animal. I could do the same thing and stick a plant there. (Paula and Sam would kill me though :P)

  6. May
    May 4, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    What I think about this is…
    Living things:The study of the characteristics, systems and behaviours of humans and other animals, and of plants; the interactions and relationships between and among them, and with their environment:- When people don’t be themselves they will never get to do what they want and maybe they’re the kind of person that likes to play with animals but you’re not being yourself you follow your friend and you might lose the change of being close to nature etc.

    Earth & Space: The study of planet Earth and its position in the universe, particularly its relationship with the sun; the systems, distinctive features and natural phenomena that shape and identify the planet; the infinite and finite resources of the planet:- People don’t trust their idea they might follow their friends and their friends might be the kind of person that likes to stay in door and look at screen and you might changed to be like that so you might not get a chance to go out and study the things out there for example: Plants ect.

    Materials & Matter: The study of the properties, behaviours and uses of materials, both natural and man-made, the origins of human-made materials and how they are manipulated to suit a purpose:-The materials might get waste just because you’re not being yourself. You buy new things (clothes) and your friends buys it again and again you also buys it again you might start to not care about your old stuff even though it looks nice so you’re just wasting it. Also if you like to study about and you bought the things to study it but you’re friend isn’t intersted in it so you jst leave all the things you bought and you might throw it away which is a waste of money and materials.

    Forces & Energy: The study of energy, its origins, storage and transfer, and the work it can do; the study of forces; the application of scientific understanding through inventions and machines:- It’s connected with energy because when you be yourself and you like to study about energy so when you’re having some problems with your computers (computers needs electricity which is energy) you can just fix it because you know about it.

    Some experiments that I could do is : I can give the students in our school something for example: A bag so they can use it or other things. When I give the student the bag I might see if his/her best friend will follow or if they do follow then I might ask them why and help them solve the problem. 🙂 😛

  7. May 4, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    Living Things: The study of the characteristics, systems and behaviours of humans and other animals, and of plants; the interactions and relationships between and among them, and with their environment- I think that my issue is connected because if people don’t take their learning opportunities then they will start having bad grades and etc.

    Earth & Space: The study of planet Earth and its position in the universe, particularly its relationship with the sun; the systems, distinctive features and natural phenomena that shape and identify the planet; the infinite and finite resources of the planet- I think that my issue is connected because the planet that we live in is an opportunity. Also Space is connected to my issue because it’s an opportunity.

    Materials & Matter: The study of the properties, behaviours and uses of materials, both natural and man-made, the origins of human-made materials and how they are manipulated to suit a purpose- I think this is connected to my issue because if they chose to play and destroy the materials then they already take an bad opportunity.

    Forces & Energy: The study of energy, its origins, storage and transfer, and the work it can do; the study of forces; the application of scientific understanding through inventions and machines- I think this is connected to my issue because you need forces to take that opportunity. Also for Energy is connected to my issue because if you join a play for example and you were so excited you want to do it now, plus your so happy so Energy is really connected to my issue.

    • May 4, 2011 at 4:28 pm

      I don’t get the experiments one connected with my issue.

  8. michaelt
    May 4, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    Living Things: I want to understand how people react when they get bullied and how it affects their health and people around them.

    I dont think I can connect to other things because I dont think bullying has anything to do with earth and space and materials and matter.

  9. Ken
    May 4, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    Mr. Sam I dont get the homework?

    • Paula
      May 4, 2011 at 7:47 pm

      Look at his posting and the different types of science it presents. How do they and maths connect with not wasting wasting water and drinking enough water?

  10. Paul
    May 4, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    I thought that my issue was only connected to two things and that was Living Things and Materials and matter:
    because My whole topic is living things (Humans) and Materials and matter (What They Want) I think That I can set up a whole experiment using something that someone wants and seeing how unsatisfied they are when they don’t have it.

  11. jonjon
    May 4, 2011 at 5:15 pm

    sow we have to say how it relates to siens ?????????

    • 18Aayushk
      May 4, 2011 at 5:18 pm

      Yes and anyway you spell science like this not siens

    • Johan
      May 4, 2011 at 5:22 pm

      siens!! haha

      • Paula
        May 4, 2011 at 5:51 pm

        That’s not very nice Johan! …

        And I don’t think we are supposed to say how it relates to science (?)

        I think we have to make connections between these strands and our exhibition topic.

        • Yeachan
          May 4, 2011 at 9:03 pm

          You have very good manner, Paula.

          🙂 😦

          • Jin
            May 5, 2011 at 3:56 pm

            She’s just advicing him 🙄

  12. Am
    May 4, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    Living Things: I think that my issue is related to living things because we humans are living things and I want to know how their behaviour is once their confidence is pushed. Do they also have a connection with other animals? I would like to know how their confidence can effect their behaviour.
    I don’t really have to test it our because I can jsut bring my memory back when I was teased and how I was like. I could also ask a wide variety of other people and see what their answers are,

    Materials & Matter: My issue is connected to this because when peoples’ confidence are decreased, their behaviour and connection with other materials may change. For example when people get really shy they tend to do everything gently and correctly in my opinion because I used to do that. Also people can change the way they react to things, like if they have to do somehting that it has to be shown in a very confident way, they may not want to do it, and do it really badly.
    I can experiment this by seeing how people who are unconfident react to things and how their use of it changes. I can speak to them and she how different their behaviour is to very confident people.

  13. Johan
    May 4, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    Living Things:
    I think that my issue is connected to living things because all humans have different behaviours at different times. Friendship issues ussually happens to eveyone and sometimes you just have to deal with it. I woul also like to know what happens to animals when they have friendship issues, is it similar to us? or is it totally different? Like Am said I also really don’t have to experiment anyhing because I had a massive problems with my friend and we used to be so close but then our friendship just broke and we had fights and big arguments.

    Materials & matter: My issue is connected to this because sometimes they have friendship issues/problems with their friends because they might have different opinions about materials. People might also have issues with natural or hand made materials. I think that one experiment i can do (little similar to Paul’s idea) is to take away all electronic things that they have and all expensive things they got and then see how they behave and react to it. Will they like it? Or will they hate it?

  14. 18Shikhark
    May 4, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    Living Things- The way sportsmen get along with each other and the way they interact, your ability to connect communicate to people from all stages, and the way you think to make changes then and now. Cricketers coming from different economic backgrounds and then getting the equal opportunities to show thier talent. Cricketers respect each other and behave in similar ways. Leadership skills are very important in the way captains convey messeges and motivate players and show the right leadership skills.
    Earth and Space- the moisture or dew in the ground determins how a ball will behave.
    Materials and matter- the materials used to make the ball like string for the seam gives a cricketer a firm grip of the ball. Bowlers use the perspiration or saliva to make the ball shine and swing in a certain direction.
    Forces and energy- The energy bowlers use to rub the ball against a part of clothing combinds with the physical force and energy of the bowler to realese the ball in the air where the force and gravity swings the ball and carrys itself to the other end. Bowlers tend to mark their run up by calculatiting the number of steps in relation to the 22 yards distance of the pitch and the speed with which they want to deliver the ball.
    I think I can experiment on swinging and shining the ball or turning a bat to hit in a different direction.
    BOB WOOLMERS and RICHIE BENAUD “The perfect combination of power,pace, accuracy, and planning , as well as the extra touch of throttle that elite fast bowlers seem able to conjur up when the going gets tough”

  15. 18Aayushk
    May 4, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    For my exhibition I am working on the cafeteria atmosphere.
    I think that my issue is connected to living things, The study of the characteristics, systems and behaviors of humans and other animals, and of plants; the interactions and relationships between and among them and with their environment.
    Living things because my topic is about cafeteria atmosphere and I have started playing music in the cafeteria to change human behavior in this school. Also I am promoting having conversation in meal time which influences the interactions and relationships between all.
    I think it is also connected to Materials & Matter, The study of the properties, behaviors and uses of materials, both natural and man-made, the origins of human-made materials and how they are manipulated to suit a purpose.
    I think that improving the sound atmosphere in the cafeteria is related to science because I know that the CD player and boom boom box is connected to science. These instruments are human-made objects which have interesting matter inside them. This sentence is connected to the origins of human-made materials and how they are manipulated to suit a purpose.

    I know it is connected to Forces & Energy, The study of energy, its origins, storage and transfer, and the work it can do; the study of forces; the application of scientific understanding through inventions and machines.

    I am using energy called electricity to play the music and I was wondering how this energy is made.

    Some experiments that I would be interested in are to do with what kind of electricity is being used as well as well as the matter inside a CD player and CD.

  16. sebastian
    May 4, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    Living Things: The study of the characteristics, systems and behaviours of humans and other animals and of plants; the interactions and relationships between and among them, and with their environment. I think it is connected to my issue because friendship issues are caused by human behavior and how they react to each other.

    Materials & Matter: The study of the properties, behaviours and uses of materials, both natural and man-made, the origins of human-made materials and how they are manipulated to suit a purpose. I think it is connect to my issue because if friendship issues get really bad and one of your friends plays a lot of video games that kill people maybe one day they will bring a gun into school and kill you.

    Explain your connections and some ideas for experiments you might be able to do.
    Maybe I could do an experiment about how communication breaks down with your friends, for example we could play Chinese whispers and see how communication breaks down and the could effect your relationship with your friends.

  17. jon jon
    May 4, 2011 at 7:15 pm

    I think my issue Living things because If you do not get all the food groups for example if you eat to little meat and you are not strong or if you eat too much meat and you are fat it cod effect your behavior next minerals and matter because people manufactured foods that can be heated and served in two minis and other foods that are unhealthy for you

  18. jon jon
    May 4, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    ow and thank paul and aayushs

  19. Paula
    May 4, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    I say my issue is mainly connected to Living things but also about Materials, the materials are the main part of where the maths comes in.
    At the same time earth and space are connected this also involves maths. Measurement is the maths tool that is useful to our issue.

    LIVING THINGS:

    Pests: On our plant called “Celosia Cristata” (flower) we have pests. These are living things but I have no idea about the functioning of their body.

    Eggs: We have discovered (also on “celosia crisata”) and we are suspecting they are spider eggs.

    Leaves: There are many different kind of leaves, all their structures are different but similar at the same time and there may be similarity in the leaves of similar climates and countries and differences in climate and country differences.

    Flowers: These are the parts of the plants that probably have less similarity and huge differences even if climates and areas in the world have similarities. Examples:
    Celosia Cristata: the flowers of Celosia cristata are furry and shaped like a brain. Chili: In our garden the chili is just starting to come out and they are with round petals look like they may look similar to a daisy only with smaller petals and the rest smaller as well. (That is a similarity even though daisies grow in Germany for example where it’s cold but chili need a lot of heat and they are a common, well-known and popular plant in thailand.
    Unknown: Lincoln and his group bought these on JJ for their exhibition project and they are mainly pink but also orangy yellow and white. The petals are round and if you pluck one of and rub it against something ink comes out of the petal, they open at day and close at night.
    Tulip: It’s a red flower which I think you’ve all seen and it’s formed very differently to most flower and the inside is very black. I wonder why it’s shaped like that?
    Roots: The roots of all our plants look the same but I wonder if they are the same. As an experiment we could cut different sorts of roots open to investigate on the inside. I also wonder whether different plant roots dig through the soil differently.

    MATERIALS:

    Soil: This is our main material since our plants grow in it and it provides them with vitamins and things like that which they need. It is also like a sponge on the roots of the plants and it transports the water to it and let’s the rest water that is not needed escape again.

    (That is as far as I can think the only material we use, other than that we also use tools like watering cans etc. but not materials.)

    EARTH & SPACE

    Water: That’s a really important resource we need in order for our plants to make progress and we get it from the tap. But sometimes it rains then we don’t need to water them we prefer this because it shows that humans don’t need to provide natural things with resources all the time but earth can do this itself.

    Heat(Sun): to be honest I don’t know 100% how heat impacts our plants and their growth. It could be so the warmed up soil helps the roots develop itself and the plant and keep it provided. I could be just because the plant is used to heat and it dies in the cold like we all know.

    Light(Sun): The light of the sun is a resource which most people already know a plant needs. I think this is because it helps the leaves and the flower, the vegetable and the fruit etc. stay provided with some energy that may keep it juicy and green. (?) But it could also be because the of just the flower because maybe the inner part where the bees go needs the sun so it makes the petals open.

  20. gabi
    May 4, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    Terrie,

    Our homework is that we need to read what it says up there and connect it with your issue for example: (this is connected with my issue)

    Living Things: The study of the characteristics, systems and behaviours of humans and other animals, and of plants; the interactions and relationships between and among them, and with their environment.

    This is connected with my issue because the behaviors of humans can be different to others they might not have a good knowledge about why drinking water is important or why water is important.
    Some people’s environment might be different to ours, they might not have access to clean water or it is too expensive.

    Do you understand??

  21. gabi
    May 4, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    Living Things: The study of the characteristics, systems and behaviours of humans and other animals, and of plants; the interactions and relationships between and among them, and with their environment.

    This is connected with my issue because the behaviors of humans can be different to others they might not have a good knowledge about why drinking water is important or why water is important.
    Some people’s environment might be different to ours, they might not have access to clean water or it is too expensive.

    Earth & Space: The study of planet Earth and its position in the universe, particularly its relationship with the sun; the systems, distinctive features and natural phenomena that shape and identify the planet; the infinite and finite resources of the planet.

    This can be connected to my issue because of global warming it might be causing less water too be cleaned or more ice melting.
    (This is a really hard one for me)

    Materials & Matter: The study of the properties, behaviours and uses of materials, both natural and man-made, the origins of human-made materials and how they are manipulated to suit a purpose.

    This is how this is connected to my issue: People might be wasting water and using too much and the world is getting hotter from global warming, this is caused by everyone in the world, and not everyone is making a better choice everybody still does bad things without think or knowing, being selfish and using too much when not needed…etc.

    Forces & Energy: The study of energy, its origins, storage and transfer, and the work it can do; the study of forces; the application of scientific understanding through inventions and machines.

    Water can need machines to clean it when it is dirty but that causes global warming and a lot of pollution I think people are still creating new inventions of new ways to clean dirty water or how to clean it without making pollution.

  22. Anirudh
    May 4, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    My exhibition project is related to earth and space as well as forces and energy. The pollution created in cars when petrol is burnt to create energy for moving the car forward has a negative effect on our environment. This pollution is causing problems with our ozone layer, both destroying and thickening it in some places, causing our earth to become hotter. Petrol is a finite resource, but produces a lot of energy. For my experiment, my brother advised me to use an ethanol burner from the secondary school science department, which will show the black smoke created from burning petrol of a car.

  23. Yeachan
    May 4, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    My issue is the connection between health and happiness and I think my issue is connected to science because happiness and health are about science, the reason is our body is full of science and when we are happy or healthy, our body also became happy or healthy.

    Living Things:The study of the characteristics, systems and behaviours of humans and other animals, and of plants; the interactions and relationships between and among them, and with their environment—–> Not for happiness, but health is connected to science because if living things like plants are not healthy, they will die like not giving them enough water or sunlight.

    Earth & Space:The study of planet Earth and its position in the universe, particularly its relationship with the sun; the systems, distinctive features and natural phenomena that shape and identify the planet; the infinite and finite resources of the planet—–> I don’t think I can connect to Earth and Space because I dont think there is no connection with my issue.

    Materials & Matter: The study of the properties, behaviors and uses of materials, both natural and man-made, the origins of human-made materials and how they are manipulated to suit a purpose.—–> There is a difference when we uses man-made and natural materials and also food, there is also difference when we eat unhealthy food and natural food and natural food like vegetables or fruits, our body becomes happier and healthier.

    Forces & Energy: The study of energy, its origins, storage and transfer, and the work it can do; the study of forces; the application of scientific understanding through inventions and machines—–> Happiness is source of power, and health is also source of force.

  24. Manisha
    May 4, 2011 at 9:38 pm

    Living Things: The study of the characteristics, systems and behaviours of humans and other animals, and of plants; the interactions and relationships between and among them, and with their environment-This is connected to my topic because we are dealing with living beings and human behavior.
    Earth & Space: The study of planet Earth and its position in the universe, particularly its relationship with the sun; the systems, distinctive features and natural phenomena that shape and identify the planet; the infinite and finite resources of the planet-This is connected because bullying is happening all around the world and it is a big problem.
    Materials & Matter: The study of the properties, behaviours and uses of materials, both natural and man-made, the origins of human-made materials and how they are manipulated to suit a purpose-This is connected to my issue because bullying is all about bad behaviors.
    Forces & Energy: The study of energy, its origins, storage and transfer, and the work it can do; the study of forces; the application of scientific understanding through inventions and machines-bullies have energy and full strength to bully others.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

