Home > Home, How the world works, Research, Who we are > Homework: What interests you?

Homework: What interests you?

Watch this video two times. The first time, just watch it. The second time, get ready to write down the type of science that looks most interesting to you – the technical words are quite complex so you might want to pause the video so you can write it down and spell it accurately.

Then, find out a little bit more about that type of science using a search engine.

Make a comment to tell us the type of science that looks most interesting to you and why.

  1. April 21, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    I’m interested on finding out more of Crystallography and it means a person that studies crystals. The reason I want to research on this is that I like looking at it and how shiny it is. But most of all I want to research the sizes, shapes, colors and etc of the crystal.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2011 at 6:37 pm

      That’s so cool, Odette. I have a really interesting book to show you, remind me tomorrow!

  2. 18saeyeono
    April 21, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    I am intereasted at Astronomy, chemistary, geography, mechanic, and robotics. I am intereasted in this because Astromy is very mysterious and I want to find out about space and I think there are other planet like us and every one knows that there are bilions and bilions of planet out side our univers. I am also intereasted in chemistary because you can make some postions to help people or for fun.

    I also like geagraphy because you need that thing to know where to go, for example when you go to the cold place and you brought a short pants and short T-shirt and that is because you don’t know geography.

    Mechanic interests me because it helps our lives more easier because you can ride a car and invent it or you can use computers to do some important hings like work.

    The last thing that is robotic because it makes young kids interested and it helps to frow our brain and work stuff out from the toy.

    • April 21, 2011 at 6:05 pm

      What do you mean frow?

      • 18saeyeono
        April 21, 2011 at 6:15 pm

        grow

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2011 at 6:42 pm

      Wow, you really are interested in science aren’t you? If you had to choose one kind of science, which one would it be?

      • 18saeyeono
        April 21, 2011 at 7:00 pm

        I would choose Astronomy.

        • Mr. Sam
          April 21, 2011 at 7:37 pm

          OK

  3. michaelt
    April 21, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    I am interested in gelotology because I laugh a lot everyday and I want to know what happens to my body when I laugh. I am also interested in mechanics because I would like to know how things work and how it helps people and affects different things.
    I am interested in optics because I am interested how light moves and bends and how we can make it go different ways. I want to study psychology because I am interested in how the mind works. I wannt to know more about robotics because I would like to know how to make peoples lives easier.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2011 at 6:44 pm

      Is gelotology really the study of laughter?

      You’re interested in many different things. Which one do you find the MOST interesting?

  4. Yeachan
    April 21, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    First, these are the words(I wrote them down):
    Acoustics/aeronautics/agronomy/anatomy/anthrpology/archeology/astronomy/astrophysics/bacteriology/biology/botany/cardiology/cartography/chemistry/cosmology/
    crystallography/ecology/embryology/endocrinology/entomology/enzymology/forestry/
    gelotology/genetics/geochemistry/geodesy/geography/geology/geophysics/hematology/
    histology/horology/hydrology/ichthyology/immunology/lingustics/mechanics/medicine/ metrology/microbiology/mineralogy/mycology/neurology/nucleonics/nutrition/
    oceanography/oncology/optics/paleontology/pathology/petrology/pharmacology/physics/
    physiology/psychology/radiology/robotics/seismology/spectroscopy/systematics/
    thermodynamics/toxicology/virology/volcanology/zoology.

    Second, I’m most interested in chemistry and it means about the different liquids. The reason is chemistry is interesting and also when we mix things, it makes different things.

    I also like Toxicology and it means researching about the poison. because it is very hard and dangerous, but it’s also if we learn it, we can make like antidotes. And when people are in emergency like intoxication we could help them.

    I kind of like thermodynamics because it’s a part of energy and it’s interesting.
    For example, if we turn on the light, we’ll have to know that how we can change from electricity to thermodynamics.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2011 at 6:45 pm

      You didn’t need to type out all the words!!!

      Toxicology does sound interesting doesn’t it?

      • Yeachan
        April 21, 2011 at 7:56 pm

        Yes it is

        (well Actually I wanted to do)

  5. Am
    April 21, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    The topic that I am interested in is ‘Psychology’. I did a little research, and I found out that it means the science of mind and behaviour. It can be looked at in many concepts, like: emotion and attention. It’s about our minds and how we react. It’s also about out thinking and how it affects our behaviour.

    I am interested in this topic because I’ve always wanted to know about our minds and how we think. I think that it will be very interesting about people with different reputations-and how their mind is like.
    Does it function a different way? Why are some peoples’ minds unlike others? Can there be a visible connection through to minds? Does everyone really control their own mind?
    I have loads of questions. When I watched the video for the first time, I also was interested in genetics, and about it.
    I ended up choosing Psychology because I wonder about it so much. I want to know if I think very differently from others, and how my thinking reacts on my behaviour. I decided to choose something that is related to me because I think about it a lot, and I can have tons of possible connections with not only facts, but also others thinking and behaviour.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2011 at 6:46 pm

      It really doesn’t surprise me that you’re interested in Psychology, Am!

  6. sebastian
    April 21, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    I am interested in MECHANICS and ASTRONOMY. I am interested in ASTRONOMY because i like looking at things in space and if there is life on other planets. I also want to do this because everyone knows soon something bad will happen to the world and we need to find a solution and one of that solution might be moving to a different planet. I am interested in MECHANICS because want to know how people make cars and all these high ranking technology.

    • 18saeyeono
      April 21, 2011 at 5:04 pm

      Could any of these be true?

      • sebastian
        April 21, 2011 at 6:11 pm

        Yes

    • Anirudh
      April 21, 2011 at 5:52 pm

      Mechanics is not making and all the meaning is the branch of physics that deals with the action of forces on bodies and with motion, comprised of kinetics, statics, and kinematics.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2011 at 6:47 pm

      I hope you’re wrong about something bad happening to the planet. Hopefully humans can learn from their mistakes and make sure we start to take better care of our home. Finding a new home is definitely not the solution! However, it is very interesting to wonder if other planets like ours do exist out there and whether we could survive on them.

  7. 18saeyeono
    April 21, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    But I think it won’t because in 1998 People says that in aincent Maya told us that we are doomed and it did not happen any thing wrong.( I think ) And I got all the science tific stuffs on the book.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2011 at 6:48 pm

      You’re right SaeYeon, people have been predicting the end of the world for many, many years. I remember how scared everyone was about the year 2000.

      • 18saeyeono
        April 21, 2011 at 7:01 pm

        My mom told me that some people even sold their own house!

        • Mr. Sam
          April 21, 2011 at 7:37 pm

          That doesn’t surprise me. Most people were worried that weird things would happen because of computers. Nobody knew if computers could handle switching into the next millennium!

          • 18saeyeono
            April 21, 2011 at 8:24 pm

            ok! 🙂

  8. May
    April 21, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    I’m interested in Cardiology because I want to know more about heart diseases. Heart problem is one of the issue that old people have. Heart is always working from when we were born till old so most people have heart problems. Another reason that I want to learn about this is because when I’m old I know more about my heart and I can stay more healthy, also I want to know what cause people to have heart diseases.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2011 at 6:50 pm

      This is an interesting choice, May. So many people do get heart problems and for many different reasons, it would be great to know more about it.

  9. Pin
    April 21, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    I’m not sure yet what I am going to get my options are:
    Botany
    cardiology
    Psychology
    mineralogy
    Robotics

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2011 at 6:51 pm

      Will you be telling us later?

      • Pin
        April 21, 2011 at 7:17 pm

        I think so its hard to decide. I’m really interested in all of these its hard to make a decision of one.

        • Mr. Sam
          April 21, 2011 at 9:17 pm

          It’s OK Pin, it’s not an important decision right now!

  10. Pimboon
    April 21, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    I actually interested in 5 things- Astrophysics, Chemesty, Physics and Toxicology but I choice I had what another 15 things. But Im mostly interested in Astrophysics, Physics and Toxicology, Astrophysics because its about a branch of astronomy that deals with the physics of the universe and I quite like the space area kind of thing. Physics because some of the people I know that past my life has done a subject called “Physics” and they said it was a good subject so I wanted to experience it myself but Im not sure if its the same thing, and becasue its a natural science that involves the study of matter and its motion through spacetime, as well as all related concepts, and I find that quite intersting. Toxicology too, because I read alot of fantasy, mysteries and horror stuff that have alot of poison and toxic- so I want to know what it is and what its made from, so its something like a is a branch of biology, chemistry, and medicine combined with the study of the effects of chemicals on living organs.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2011 at 6:52 pm

      Amazing explanations, Pimboon. If you had to choose one area of science to focus on tomorrow, which one would it be?

  11. Terrie
    April 21, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    I am interested in hydrology and neurology. I ‘m interested hydrology because I really like water, and I also really intereasted with ocean, and the creature at ocean. I also know the sea water is really good for healthy, and ocean has a long history.
    I interested with neurology, because neurology is really improtant for our body, and if your nreve has problem, your body will not good.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2011 at 9:18 pm

      What do hydrologists do?

  12. Manisha
    April 21, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    Ia m interested in chemistry because when i did the research i found out that most objects are made out of chemistry and i got inspired by the science books because they talk alot about experiments and which are chemistry.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2011 at 9:19 pm

      Which books did you read? Can you bring them to school?

  13. gabi
    April 21, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    it is blank on the screen where i watch the video so i cant do the homework.

    Can someone send me the link by email or something?
    although i maight not do the homework becuase i have a limited of time…..

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2011 at 6:53 pm

      Well… you have to make up for how terrible your homework was yesterday.

    • Jin
      April 21, 2011 at 7:01 pm

      Here Gabi

  14. gabi
    April 21, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    might i mean..

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2011 at 7:17 pm

      You’d better

  15. Johan
    April 21, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    I am interseted in Aeronautics and Robotics becauase:
    Aerounautis- I want to learn about Aeronautics becasuse just now I went on to a website and it said a wholer bunch of information like:
    Aeronautics is a method of designing an airplane or other flying machines. To design a plane engineers must understand all of these elements:
    Aerodynamics- is the study of how air flows around the plane. The engineers can define the shape of the plane by studying the way air flows.
    Propulison- is the study of how to design an engine that will provide the thrust that is need for a plane to take-off and go through the air.
    Materials and structure- is the study of what materials have to be used on the planes and in the engines and how those materials make the plane strong enough to fly smoothly.
    Stability and control- is the study of how to control the speed, direction, alltitude and other conditions that affect how a plane flies.
    I really think that is interseting information and I really want to learn more about it.

    Robotics- I want to learn more about robotics and learn more about how people make the robots. I also want to know what materials is used to make it.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2011 at 7:18 pm

      Well, Swedish people have been making planes for a long time. Did you know that Saab makes planes?

      • Johan
        April 21, 2011 at 9:29 pm

        Yes i know that,
        and my uncle works for saab and makes airplane wings and so I got some information from him as well!!

  16. Anirudh
    April 21, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    I am interested in 6 things. These are it:
    1. Mechanics because I want to learn the branch’s of physics that deals with the action of forces on bodies and with motion.
    2. Medicine because I want to learn how it is made and if drugs are the same as medicine.
    3. Nucleonic because I want to study radiation, fusion and I want to study about the branch of science that deals with nuclear phenomena.
    4. Radiology because I was to study dealing with X-rays. And I want to study the nuclear radiation.
    5. Robotics because I want to learn about robots and how they are made.
    6. Toxicology because I want to learn the science dealing with the effects, antidotes, detection, etc., of poisons.

    That is all.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2011 at 7:19 pm

      That’s a lot! Which one do you think you are most interested in?

  17. April 21, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    I am interested in cartography and physic.
    I am interested Cartography because I like maps and how they’re made. I also like the way the old style map are made from a bird’s I view. Cartography basic meaning is the study of maps. To me the amazing thing is about maps is that cartographer can condense a huge part of land into a small piece of paper.
    I am interested in physics because my cousin is doing a PHD in physics and I would like to know what physic is and what is he studying.
    Physics, means the science of matter (matter means what is inside something for example gas, liquid and solid) and energy. Then I was asking the question to myself what the connection is between matter and energy. When I researched it I learned when a state matter (gas, liquid and solid) changes for example if something changes from liquid to solid it can produce energy. An example of this is when you boil water which is a liquid it makes gas which produces energy. Another example is if there is heat energy a solid can change into gas of liquid.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2011 at 7:20 pm

      I was surprised that Cartography is called “science” and I still wonder why it is a science?

  18. Paula
    April 21, 2011 at 6:52 pm

    I am interested in Botany, Crystallography and Nucleon.

    I am interested in Botany because knowledge for botanic science may lead to high improvements in my nursery on the Yr. 6 Deck and it will help me get a deeper understanding of how to handle my Plant Nursery, also any improvised knowledge I use during the periods of tie I am caring for the plant Nursery where improvisation may be needed there is a higher chance of me not making mistakes.

    I am interested in Crystallography because I have tried making a salt crystal (I only half-succeeded) and because they’re pretty.
    My grandmother has lot’s of pretty around her house and once she gave me one which was clear and it was a bit purple at the top.

    I am interested in Nucleon because I am moving to Japan soon and information about nucleon will help me deal with my situation of being a resident there easier for me and knowing how to act in the case would reduce stress, fear, etc.

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2011 at 7:22 pm

      Do you mean “improvised” or “improved”?

    • Paula
      April 22, 2011 at 7:26 am

      I am also interested in Agronomy because it also involves gardening and how to deal with soils and this relates to me especially cause it’s about cropping and growing vegetables and maybe fruit which is what I am growing in my nursery.

  19. Jin
    April 21, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    I am interested in 9 things:Aeronautics, Anatomy, Anthropology, psychology, bacteriology, cosmology, gelotology and pharmacology.

    I like Aeronautics because it is the science that is involved in aircrafts. Also then which means that it includes airplanes, jets and such aircrafts like that. I really like jets because they just go whooshing up the sky and about 10 or 15 seconds later it’s gone. Anatomy because it includes structures of a living thing. Which means that when doctors do emergency surgeries it includes anatomy because they have to cut the person’s stomach and look into it. Then the docters may fix the wrong parts in the stomach. Anthropology because it’s all about homo sapiens(which means humans) like Darwin’s Origin of Humans. How humans turned from apes and I consider that really cool. Psychology because it includes the mind and the behavior of people. It’s like when I watch suspense movies I always see psychos acting abnormally so they have to go to asylum to get injection so they can get well. Also they laugh really crazy that gives me creeps. Also bacteriology because it includes virus which can kill people. Recently people found lots of remedies to it, but some serious viruses can’t just be cured. Cosmology because it includes the infant galaxy and also it’s a study about the universe. That means you can see the Black hole or the outer space really clearly. The gelotology because it’s about laughing and laughing is really good for your body. It can make your health better like Yeachan said in his exhibition and I laugh a lot in my house and at the football field. The pharmacology because it’s about the biology and the study of the drug action. So it means that there are medicines that can cure your blocked nose or drugs like cocaine that makes you addicted and like heroin which makes you feel no pain. But certainly I don’t take drugs but it attracts me because there are such good ones.

    • Jin
      April 21, 2011 at 6:58 pm

      sorry 8 things

    • Mr. Sam
      April 21, 2011 at 9:22 pm

      Wow! I love the way you describe things, Jin. You are actually an excellent writer – did you know that?

      Which area of science is most interesting to you?

      • Jin
        April 21, 2011 at 9:31 pm

        I think Anatomy or Psychology or Pharmacology they are all good for me

        • Jin
          April 21, 2011 at 9:32 pm

          Also Anthropology

  20. Ken
    April 21, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    I am intressted in 2 things robotics and Chemistry. In Japan the nuclear plant is broken and only a robot arm can reach it to fix it so that is why i am interested in robotics. I am interested in chemistry because chemistry is posions and they say that posions are science in cartoons. I am also interested in the word chemistry the word mistry is inside. (I now its not the right spelling but)

  21. jon jon
    April 21, 2011 at 8:51 pm

    wow, it took 2 hours to load you tube video and wow! my dad is really amazing he knew evry signle word and diffinitions in the movie. My most interestng subject, at first was toxicology…caused…uh… poison, acid, cool but now when i really think i like psychology. Because mind is really complex and my sister is a child pshchologist. she got 2 degrees. i like to understand the mind more, how I think, how i react to something.

  22. Sam
    April 22, 2011 at 7:30 am

    I am interested in:
    Agronomy
    According to Dictionary.com, Agronomy is ‘the science of soil management and the production of field crops’. I think this is very interesting because it is related to my Exhibition and I think this science might help me understand more about my Exhibition.

    Botany
    Botany is the science of plants; the branch of biology that deals with plant life (Definition from Dictionary.com). I find this interesting because it is also related to my Exhibition topic and I might understand more about the plants I’m growing with Paula.

    Cyrstallography
    I am interested in this because it is the science dealing with crystallization and the forms and structure of crystals which I think sounds interesting. I remember when Paula and I tried making salt crystals and they failed. I want to learn how you get crystals and I want to know all about it, right now I know nothing about it.

    Nutrition
    Nutririon is the science or study of, or a course of study in, nutrition, especially of humans (Dictionary.com). I am really interested in Healthy eating. I know for a fact that I eat pretty unhealthy and I want to change this.

    Sam

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

