A look at what we’re doing…

This video shows part of 6SS’s “journey outwards” as we try to work out what our real passions, interests and concerns are so that we can have a meaningful focus in the PYP Exhibition. The “journey outwards” starts with the Self and moves outwards into family, school, community, neighbourhood, city, country, region and global.

In this video, we are doing Yoga and meditation in order to make us mindful. By being mindful, we can think more clearly about our lives.

p.s. I have no idea why it says “blo” on the end of the video instead of “blog”!

  1. February 23, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    Hi Sam,
    As always, your work and your class are an inspiration to others!
    On a different note, I would love to read what these mindful students write in their journals…

  2. 18jinj
    February 23, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    you have to admit that we are really silent 😀

    • Mr. Sam
      March 1, 2011 at 8:49 pm

      Silence is a beautiful sound!

  3. Yeachan
    February 24, 2011 at 11:55 am

    I agree with Jin. We are silent except for the pencil sound,walking sound…

    • Mr. Sam
      March 1, 2011 at 8:50 pm

      Exactly, just the sounds that we need to make. No shouting, no dragging chairs or big crashes!

  4. Sam
    February 24, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    We have been doing these yoga and meditation sessions everyday for three days so far. After every session we are told to write something in our journals, it is different every day.
    One the first day, we had to write about Happiness. What main things make our lives happy? We had to think if we break down other people’s happiness. I wrote that I think I live a very happy life because of three main reasons:
    – I am not poor so I get a good education and live in a high class apartment building
    – I have a big and happy family
    – I have many real friends that brighten up my day
    These are the main ingredients to my bowl of happiness soup.
    On the second day, we had to write about our health. We focused on one thing that we think makes us unhealthy the most. Our writing was cut into thirds (three sections). On the first third we have to write what the main health problem we want to focus on was. One the second section we had to write what we think caused this. Finally, on the third section, we had to write how we could change this. I thought that my problem was my weight. I am underweight by around 11kg. I wrote that I was born around 6 pounds underweight and when I was a toddler I chose not to eat so much so I continued being underweight. To try to gain weight I am eating as much as I can during meals.
    On the third day (today), we talked about nature and how close we are to it (there is a blog posting on it). I wrote a whole two pages about how the last time I have been in a place with no man-made things was 2 and a half years ago on the summer of ‘09.
    Sam

    • Mr. Sam
      March 1, 2011 at 8:48 pm

      Wow, thanks for sharing all of those thoughts with us Sam. I’ll let Cristina know you replied and gave her so much information.

  5. Jin
    February 24, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    Meditation is quite hard you know except for Julien and Jon Jon

    • Mr. Sam
      March 1, 2011 at 8:48 pm

      Do you mean Yoga?

  6. Jin
    March 3, 2011 at 6:46 pm

    Yes and mistake sorry

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

