Home > How we express ourselves, Reading, Writing > Homework – The Love of Words

Homework – The Love of Words

Learn the meaning of these words from “Pay it Forward” and then make a comment to show how you can use them in sentences. Try and expand on each other’s ideas.

  • Atrophy
  • Exigent
  • Euphemism
  • Altruism
  1. Odette
    February 21, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    Atrophy means complete wasting away of a part of the body.
    Exigent means urgent situation.
    Euphemism means expression that may offend or suggest something unpleasant to the receiver.
    Altruism means selfless concern for the welfare of others. Welfare mens quality of life.

    • Odette
      February 21, 2011 at 4:21 pm

      I made a mistake. I mean means not mens.

    • Mr. Sam
      February 21, 2011 at 5:53 pm

      Great, can you use those words in some sentences now?

  2. michaelt
    February 21, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    There was a atrophy of freedom.
    The patient was losing blood so rapidly that it was exigent to stop the source of the bleeding.
    euphemism is an inoffensive word or phrase substituted for one considered offensive or hurtful.
    I dont understand the word Altruism

    • Mr. Sam
      February 21, 2011 at 5:54 pm

      Well… keep working on it until you do understand the word “altruism”!

  3. 18saeyeono
    February 21, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    I think atrophy mean lesser supplies for your health. I think you can use this word in a hospital when you have to say to the doctor that my blood is getting ATROPHY.
    I also think that exigent means that you need something very important and fast. I think you could use this word in a hospital that you need exigent for some medical.
    I think euphemism means that you talk like emberresing. I thnk you could use this word in presentaition.
    I think altruism means that you like somone. I think you could use this word to someone.( I think I did the right homework) – i think I did my hardist.

    • michaelt
      February 21, 2011 at 4:40 pm

      did you use a dictionary?

      • 18saeyeono
        February 21, 2011 at 10:09 pm

        Yes because I don’t know the meanings but there were too much hard words and then I asked my big brother but he only told me in korean hard word then I was forced to do my best to et it right.

        • 18saeyeono
          February 21, 2011 at 10:10 pm

          get

    • Mr. Sam
      February 21, 2011 at 5:55 pm

      You say “you think” a lot. What can you do to make sure you say “I know” instead.

      • 18saeyeono
        February 21, 2011 at 10:12 pm

        I think I sould believe my brother or the dictionary.

  4. Julien
    February 21, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    From what I read in the dictionary, atrophy means wasting part of a body, for example; ‘ Without exercise, the muscles will atrophy’.
    Exigent means pressing someone or demanding for something, for example; ‘the exigent demands of the music took a toll on her’
    Euphemism means a mild or indirect word or expression substituted for one considered to be too harsh or blunt when referring to something unpleasant or embarrassing.
    Altruism means the belief in or practice of disinterested and selfless concern for the well-being of others for example; ‘Some may choose to work with vulnerable elderly people out of altruism’

    • Mr. Sam
      February 21, 2011 at 5:57 pm

      Excellent definitions, but I think you got the sentence examples from a dictionary too. Can you use them in sentences of your own?

    • Sam
      February 21, 2011 at 8:06 pm

      I don’t know if the definitions are from the dictionary, they might’ve been made up by him after he read the real, more complex definition.
      If this was made up by Julien then I like how he made it really simple. I think his definitions are much more simpler and clearer than all of the kids dictionaries I had ever used (I have used a lot and they are all still really complex). I now have a more clear understanding of these words.
      If they meanings/definitions came straight from a dictionary then I seriously need that dictionary or dictionary website.

      Sam

  5. Pin
    February 21, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    I think that Astrophy means- A wasting away of the body or of an organ or part, or it can also be weakness.
    I think that mostly they might use this word in hospitals because it includes organs,body etc.
    I also think that Exigent means- requiring immediate action or aid (urgent) or maybe requiring a great deal
    I think that mostly they use it in hospitals to like- This patients need exigent curing. or we can use with polices who need to hurry like- We need to exigent catching this robber.
    I think that Euphemism means- an offensive word/sentence/phrase that is offensive to the other person
    I think that we can mostly use this word in maybe reporting other people saying bad words like this- That person is saying Euphemism words to me.
    I think that Altruism means- The selfless concern for other people (I don’t really know I think) Which means Having no concern or little concern for other peoples quality of life. ( Ithink) 🙂

    • Paul
      February 21, 2011 at 5:17 pm

      I agree with pin it does mean a wasting away of a body organ!

  6. Am
    February 21, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    Atrophy basically means a waste or kind of a failure/something that isn’t well enough as it could be. Mostly atrophy is about body parts and organs of how they don’t function well, or aren’t useful. The word atrophy can be used in a sentence to describe something useless or something damaged and not good quality.
    For example: My kidney has is atrophy because it hasn’t functioned well and it is damaged and smaller than standard; from the cause of my disease’.

    Exigent means to help someone immediatley and heal them and it is related to/used in medical issues. You can use the word exigent to tell someone to come immediatly you help an injured person. You can also use it to discribe the action of healing.
    For example: Bob needs exigent help from a needle he stepped on!

    Euphemism means the action of instead of saying something harsh or offensive then turn it to something more mild and nice. You can use the word euphemism to tell someone to be mroe euphemism as in to be more nice or you use it to describe someone who is a euphemism person who says offensive things in a nice way and who cares for others’ feelings.
    For example: Can you please be more euphemism to her next time? It may have hurt her feelings so maybe you can be a little nicer and say things in a nice way.

    Altruism means being concerned about others’ well-being especially happiness and not being selfish and care for others. You can use the word altruism by describing a person’s altruism and how good it is or warn/tell someone to be more of a altruism person and be nicer.
    For exmaple: I love the way of you being altruism because it makes me feel connected and cared and have a caring person like you as a friend.

    • Pin
      February 21, 2011 at 5:36 pm

      I liked the way how you gave lots of examples and explained it clearly in easy words so many people can understand 🙂

  7. Paul
    February 21, 2011 at 5:16 pm

    I you get shot in the head your brain will atrophy.

    He is dying, we need exigent!

    My father euphemism just last week. 😦

    I was so altruism to the homeless people.

    • Mr. Sam
      February 21, 2011 at 6:02 pm

      None of these sentences make any sense at all!

      • Sam
        February 21, 2011 at 7:50 pm

        Do they ALL not make sense?
        I thought the first sentence made sense, I just figured out now that it doesn’t.
        The way Paul used the word exigent in the second sentence sounds like exigent is a kind of treatment or tool.
        I know for sure the third sentence does not make sense. These words are confusing so I am only 89% sure it doesn’t make sense. Even if the word matched the sentence (I know it doesn’t), it wouldn’t make sense because the grammar is wrong.
        I don’t understand the last sentence.
        This comment needs editing…Hopefully this helps Paul if he edits his comment.

    • Johan
      February 22, 2011 at 7:59 pm

      What do you mean by “My father euphemism just last week”??

  8. jon
    February 21, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    I exigent need help with homework .

    if you die you might atrophy.

    you are so euphemism

  9. Pimboon
    February 21, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    Atrophy means; A wasting away of the body or of an organ or part, as from defective nutrition or nerve damage.
    It can be used in a sentence like this; If the muscle doesn’t receive enough blood, they will soon atrophy and die.
    Exigent means; Requiring immediate action or aid, urgent, pressing.
    It can be used in a sentence like this; This patient has an exigent need for medication, or else he will be blind
    Euphemism means; The substitution of a mild, indirect, or not clear expression for one thought to be offensive, harsh, or blunt.
    It can be used in a sentence like this; To use a Southern euphemism, our game website has been cut-short.
    Altruism means; The principle or practice of global concern for/or devotion to the well-being of others.
    It can be used in a sentence like this; X, Y and Z believed in altruism and lived his life happily by post-phoning the problem of plastic.

  10. Paula
    February 21, 2011 at 5:58 pm

    My Source is http://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/british/atrophy

    Atrophy:

    According to the online Cambridge dictionary “atrophy” means to become weaker.

    “The high fever I had 2 days ago completley atrophied me.”

    Exigent:

    According to Cambridge online Dictionary to be “exigent” means to need urgent attention or to demand to much from other people.

    “The girl needed exigence in the hospital since her severe injury from her car crash needed immediate treatment.”

    Euphemism:

    According to Cambridge online Dictionary “Euphemism” is a word or a phrase used to avoid saying something unpleasant or offensive.

    “”Being Sick’ is a euphemism for ‘Vomiting'”

    Altruism:

    According to Cambridge online Dictionary “Altruism” means willingness to do things which bring advantages to others, even if it results in disadvantage for yourself.

    “She had a reputation for an extremely high level of Altruism.

  11. 18Shikhark
    February 21, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    I went on dictionary.com and found the meanings to theese words.

    Atrophy means a wastage like if a dvd player wasn’t working and it was spoiled you could call it an atrophy.Even an organ in your body that doesnt work.
    EG: people who have certain nerves that have atrophy because of accidents or scince they were born are mentally retarded.

    Exigent is someone who helpes you in a medical emergancy. for example: My mom is an Exigent every time I get sick at home like a head ache or something she immidetly gives a medicene and helps me out.

    Euphemism:is when others are showing off and not caring about others about you having care for others and not just for yourself. for eg- In football when person just wants to score 10 or 11 goals for himself and doesn’t want to use teamwork and just scoring like a 1 man team instead of using alterism and passing to score a better goal!

    Alturism means being kind to others and giving others oppurtunitties like- My cricket team captian is a euphemist because he gives everyone a chance to bat and bowl so that non of us feel sad that only the best get to bowl or bat.

  12. Manisha
    February 21, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    The meaning of atrophy menas a waste of a body part.It is usually used in hospitals.

    The meaning of exigent is requiring imediate aid or action for example we need to exigent that patient.

    The meaning of euphemism is an inoffensive word or phrase.It is used in angry conversations.

    The meaning of altuism is caring for others and being nice.It is used in telling when a person does a nice thing to a person.

  13. May
    February 21, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    Atrophy means to be reduced in size and therefore strength, or, more generally, to become weaker. (Part of body)
    “After several months in a hospital bed, my leg muscles had atrophied.”

    Exigent means needing urgent attention, or demanding too much from other people.
    “Having a rather exigent accident caused me to get stitches and pins in my foot.”

    Euphemism means a word or phrase used to avoid saying an unpleasant or offensive word. “The article made so much use of euphemism that often its meaning was unclear.”

    Altruism means willingness to do things which bring advantages to other people, even if it results in disadvantage for yourself. “She’s not known for her altruism.”

  14. sebastian
    February 21, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    Atrophy
    The wheels of my bike suffered atrophy because I didn’t use it in a long time. Atrophy mean’s something stop working properly because it hasn’t been used in a long time.

    Exigent
    The cut on Mr.Sam was do big that it was exigent to stop it bleeding. Exigent mean’s vital and important.

    Euphemism
    someone used a euphemism when they called me colored. Euphemism mean’s when someone said something harsh or offensive, you can replace it with a mild or kinder phrase.

    Altruism
    I showed true altruism when I gave my money to poor people. Altruism mean’s that your are unselfish and that your think about other people before you like Gandhi and Nelson Mandela.

  15. 18Aayushk
    February 21, 2011 at 6:28 pm

    These are the meanings of the following words:

    Atrophy-When a muscle or body part gets wasted deteriorated meaning the body or muscle is slowly getting weaker and is not moving well.

    For example: If I don’t move my legs everyday they will start to atrophy. ( I am not sure if this sentence makes sense)

    Exigent- Requiring a urgent remedy or cure.

    For example: Excuse me sir may you come and help Rod, it’s an exigent circumstance.

    Euphemism – when someone substitutes an offensive word which might hurt the feeling of another person with a nicer and milder word.

    For example: When my friend used a euphemism I felt really encouraged.

    Altruism – being unselfish and selflessness, which means thinking about others wellbeing.

    For example : Rod is being very altruistic to bob.

  16. gabi
    February 21, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    Atrophy-

    “My heart feels like atrophy”

    Exigent-

    “The man needed exigent for his accident”

    Euphemsim-

    “Instead of saying Divorced you can say seperated to be respectfull”

    Altruism-

    ” She’s not known from her altruism since she cant be trusted”
    i got this information from http://www.dictionary.com

  17. Yeachan
    February 21, 2011 at 7:00 pm

    I don’t know any of these words. So can I use a dictionary???

    • 18Anirudhv
      February 21, 2011 at 7:13 pm

      Yes Yeachan you can.

      • 18yeachanh
        February 21, 2011 at 7:37 pm

        Thanks, Anirudh.

  18. Jin
    February 21, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    These are the meanings of the four words:

    Atrophy: a wasting away of the body or of an organ or part, as from defective nutrition or nerve damage.
    For example: If I don’t work my legs very well, my legs will be atrophy.

    Exigent:requiring immediate action or aid; urgent; pressing

    For example: A man got bitten by a savage lion so he needed an exigent operation on his legs to stop him from losing too much blood.

    Euphemism: the substitution of a mild, indirect, or vague expression for one thought to be offensive, harsh, or blunt.

    For Example: A lunatic showed an act of euphemism to the president so he was sent to jail.

    Altruism: the fact of caring about the needs and happiness of other people more than your own

    For example: A kind person was awarded an award from the president, owing to his act of altruism.

  19. 18yeachanh
    February 21, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    I used a dictionary to find these words.
    Atrophy means decreases in size or strength, often as a result of an illness.
    Example:memory can atrophy if we don’t use.

    Exigent means to help people like an emergency situation.
    Example:There was an big car accident and the people in the car needed exigent.

    Euphemism means a polite word or expression that is used to refer to things which people may find upsetting or embarrassing to talk about, for example, the human body, or death.
    Example:They had a fat friend but they didn’t say fat. Instead, they used euphemism so they say him chubby.

    Altruism means unselfish concern for other people’s happiness and welfare.
    Example:Altruism comes from self sacrifice.

  20. Sam
    February 21, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    Samantha- Homework Blog Comment
    To find the meanings to the definitions, I used two online sources, http://www.yourdictionary.com/ and http://dictionary.reference.com/, I then I changed it into my own words- I didn’t change all of it. Some of the definitions given didn’t make sense to me so I wrote it the same way the websites did. Some definitions (only 3-4) are 100% from the internet; I did not change them at all. Some words have more than one definition/meaning so I put all some of the definitions. Here are the words, their meanings and the word in a sentence:
    Atrophy (At-tro-fee)
    1. The wasting or decrease in the size of a body organ, tissue, a part of your body with a disease, injury or it isn’t used enough (lack of use).
    2. The process of deteriorating (deteriorate: to make or become worse or inferior in character, quality, value, etc.), diminish (to make or cause to seem smaller, less, less important, etc.)
    “If you don’t eat enough, your stomach will atrophy.”
    Exigent (Ek-si-junht)
    1. It needs action or aid quickly (immediately) – it is urgent.
    2. It needs something big (great deal) or more than is needed (reasonable).
    “This man is having breathing problems, this is exigent!”
    Euphemism (Yoo-fuh-miz-um)
    1. Another way of saying something, “To pass away” is a euphemism for “to die” example from http://dictionary.reference.com/)
    “Why do people use the euphemism ‘a bun in the oven (bun= baby, oven= womb)’ rather than or instead of ‘a baby?’”
    Altruism (al-troo-iz-um)
    1. The principal/practice of kindness for or devotion to the good fortune of others
    I don’t know if my definitions are 100% accurate but this is what my sources told me. I also don’t know if the sentences I thought of made sense because I am not familiar with these words.
    Sam

  21. 18Anirudhv
    February 21, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    Atrophy:
    Many years ago I went through atrophy of my appendix. (True).

    Exigent:
    Many years ago when I hit my head with a sharp wall I needed exigent medical assistance because I was bleeding. (True)

    Euphemism:
    Many people use euphemisms to protect the feelings of others.

    Altruism:
    Bees show altruism by there behavior in helping each other collect food and protecting their hive.

    Anirudh

  22. Johan
    February 21, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    Atrophy-
    MEANS:The procces of wasting away through undernourishment or lack of use.
    EX: Beacasue I am getting older, my body is starting to get more atrophy.

    Exigent:
    MEANS:Requiring immediate action or aid, urgent.
    EX: Guys we need to get him to the hospital its exigent.

    Euphemism:
    Means: Changing a offensive and bad word into a good and maybe an encouriging word.
    EX: When my mum told me euphemism words and good words I got encourghed and excited to do things.

    Altruism:
    Means: Caring about other and not just focusing on yourself all the time.
    Ex: I helped Sebi when he had tripped down the stairs and showed good altruism.

  23. Nine
    February 21, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    Atrophy means: a waste of undernourishment

    Exigent it means a immediate action or a recaction

    Euphemism means change not good quialty word into a better meaning or better sines

    Altruism is to care about people around us ont only caring for ourself

    By: tenson

    • Johan
      February 22, 2011 at 7:57 pm

      who is tenson??

  24. Jin
    February 23, 2011 at 5:26 am

    I think Nine named himself

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

