Home > Action, Guest Speakers, Sharing the Planet > What did you learn from Shark Guardian

What did you learn from Shark Guardian

Today, we were very lucky to see a presentation by Brendan from Shark Guardian.

What did you learn from today’s presentation?


  1. Jin
    February 10, 2011 at 3:12 pm | #1

    I learned from the presentation that sharks don’t even harm people at all and that they can be extremely fabulou animals. I learned that there were various kinds of species of sharks more than I can imagine. I decided that sharks are really docile unless you make yourself look like his quarry.

  2. February 10, 2011 at 3:41 pm | #2

    I learned from the presentation that sharks don’t even harm peope at all just like what Jin said. I also learned that the ocean is an ecosystem. Also I didn’t know that sharks was alive before the dinosaurs. I learned that when people eat shark fin soup then they will have mercury poisoning, which is bad. I learned that the Great White Shark was calm and intelligent than us. Plus I didn’t know if it’s true.

  3. Jin
    February 10, 2011 at 4:06 pm | #3

    I am quite appalled that the sharks are dead without their fins!!! :(

  4. Sam
    February 10, 2011 at 9:15 pm | #4

    I found the presentation from the shark guardian very interesting and it shifted my thinking a lot.
    I knew how people get shark fin soup (they cut the fins off the shark and throw it into the water), but I didn’t care that much until I saw the video of some people doing it. I felt really guilty because once (when I was small) I ate shark fin soup and I enjoyed it. If I already knew how the soup was made back then, I wouldn’t have touched the soup at all.
    I have learnt that sharks don’t really harm people, you can just swim with them and they won’t (or probably not) hurt you at all. When I grow up I want to be able to dive with sharks without being so scared and worried. I realized that they are actually a beautiful and harmless creature. I was surprised to hear that the sharks took the responsibility of taking care of the ocean. Sharks take care of the ocean much better than how we (humans) take care of our land/earth.
    One fact I thought was hilarious was the one about how many people die of falling coconuts, box jelly fish, sharks etc. The slide said that 150 people die from falling coconuts a year and 2-3 people a year die from shark attacks. This fact was very surprising. I am scared of sharks when I should be scared of falling coconuts :)
    If shark hunting was relevant to me I would probably be very interested in doing my exhibition on it. Hopefully the company/organization ‘Shark Guardian’ will become very popular and I hope people will take shark hunting very seriously because sharks are a very important pert of our ecosystem.

    Sam

    • Jin
      February 11, 2011 at 5:52 am | #5

      you ate shark fin soup before? Grotesque, I never did and I want to know who ate the most shark fin soup in the class and who will have the most possibility to get mercury poisoning.

      • Jin
        February 11, 2011 at 5:55 am | #6

        I asked my mom if I ate shark fin soup or not before and she said no, so I feel really glad that I didn’t eat our honourable speciesmen.

  5. Pin
    February 10, 2011 at 9:28 pm | #7

    I learned alot from Brandon. Itss very interesting (the whole thing) I think that i learned that sharks do not harm people. I agree with him that people mostly know that sharks are aggressive. Its also really funny when he said that falling coconuts kill more people than sharks. Its really cool about that. I’m also like Samantha, because when I was small I enjoyed shark fin soup cause I didn’t actually know how it was made. So I enjoyed it very much. Afther the presentation I felt really guilty about it because I have also recently ate shark fin soup in a wedding (partly they forced me to eat it) I didn’t really enjoy it much. Now I feel really guilty. I am really interested in shark and after watching the videos I think that the sharks are really pretty :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

