Home > Exhibition, Home, Sharing the Planet, Where We Are in Place and Time > Homework – Getting Parents Involved

Homework – Getting Parents Involved

You have all taken home a Compass lens. Follow these steps carefully so that your parents can learn as much as possible from you:

  1. Show them the lens and explain about the Compass. Give them an example of how it works.
  2. Spend some time looking at Jin’s photo (above).
  3. Talk about the photo using your Compass lens. If you get distracted and go off-track, remember to go back to your Compass lens.
  4. Make a comment on this posting and tell us about your conversation.
  1. 18saeyeono
    February 9, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    I told my mom how to use compass lens and my mom will tell my dad.
    My mom said to make plastic it use oil to make it. She also said that the basket is made out of wood but she is concern that there are lots of plastic bags and there are lots of bad cemicals. My mom said that she will bring reuseable bag if needed. And then she said that the air quality is bad because behind the steps there are rubish and looks messy.

    • michaelt
      February 9, 2011 at 4:52 pm

      What was your compass lens?

      • Mr. Sam
        February 9, 2011 at 5:55 pm

        Yes, SaeYeon, what was your Compass lens?

        • Yeachan
          February 9, 2011 at 7:34 pm

          His compass lens is Nature.

    • Paula
      February 9, 2011 at 8:24 pm

      I am guessing that your lense is Nature Sae-Yeon.

  2. May
    February 9, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    My mom already know how to use compass lens because she did it with my brother last year. My mom and I disscuss that when people buy that thing in the piture they will have plastic bag come with it and sometimes when people finished with it they throw the plastic bag in a klong or river and fish might eat it and die. PLastic bags do not decompose fast. If we keep wasting plastic the world will be full of plastic and it destroy the enviroment. My mom and I found a website about plastic bags: http://blog.greenfeet.com/index.php/paper-vs-plastic-the-shopping-bag-debate/reducing-your-footprint/121

    • May
      February 9, 2011 at 5:08 pm

      My compass lens was: Nature.

  3. michaelt
    February 9, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    Me and my dad talked and we said the photo shows how people who don’t have a lot of recourses can earn a living to take care of their families. Almost all communities in Thailand use to have markets like this. Markets are places where people come together to buy and sell food, but there are also places where people from a community meet one another and interact. Super markets, 7-11s and other large scale operations are are replacing the traditional in some areas, especially in Bangkok. My dad thinks this is not really a good thing, because markets help bring people from a community together while supermarkets and stores like that do not do this.

    • Mr. Sam
      February 9, 2011 at 5:56 pm

      What was your Compass lens? My guess is “Society”.

  4. Julien
    February 9, 2011 at 5:26 pm

    My mom said thinks that the plastic bag will pollute our community and the health of the society. She also said that the vendors their fruit for a living and on the weather. So if there is something wrong with the fruits, she won’t win any money. If the vendors collect their food from their own harvesting, it’s worth it but if it’s buying it from someone else you win less money.

    • Mr. Sam
      February 9, 2011 at 5:57 pm

      Have you edited this comment? Some of it makes no sense.

  5. 18Aayushk
    February 9, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    I got the economy compass lens. I taught my mom how use the compass lens and then we started our conversation. First my mom talked about the Thai people who are very strong not lazy. Probably this lady is not well educated but instead of sitting down and moaning, this lady like many other ladies and men tried to get another job. Maybe she made a farm and got the fruits from there or maybe 1 of her family members has a farm and she is selling fruit from their farm or lastly she might have bought the fruits from another very cheap food vendor and sold it for a more expensive price. There is about a million people like this lady probably and each of them are helping the economy a little bit.

    Then I talked about how this lady probably bought all these plastic bags for a very cheep price and that was probably the reason she is using plastic bags.

    • Mr. Sam
      February 9, 2011 at 5:58 pm

      This sounds like a good conversation. Thanks for telling us which Compass lens you had.

  6. Ken
    February 9, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    My compass lense is (well being) and I think the seller inside the picture is selling all the food very cheaply but I thnink its very fresh and if you buy one mango the lady will be happy and if you eat it zithink it will be very good and tasty.I think all the fruits on the bascket was bought by the lady more cheaply and just got the fruits of the trees.

    • Mr. Sam
      February 9, 2011 at 5:59 pm

      How is the well-being of Thai people affected if they can buy fruit cheaply and easily on the street?

  7. 18Shikhark
    February 9, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    I talked to my parents about he compass and the well-being lense and they enjoyed the conversations.

    First I spoke to my mom about the compass and the well-birng lense and she said- I think it is an old women selling fruits and it is nice that she has some work and not just begging in the streets so if she sells the fruit she can bring back the money which can be used to educate her children and improve her life.

    Then I rang my dad and he claimed- This amzing photograph of the venor selling her bananas,mangos,etc, would effect the well-bieng compass lense of both the seller and the buyer. The seller makes a living for herself and her family by earning money from the sales.The buyer who eats theese fruites can mantain a healthy lifestyle by consuming theese fruites.

    I love this photo of Jin’s it’s just amazing and very clear.

    • Mr. Sam
      February 9, 2011 at 6:00 pm

      Both of y0our conversations with your parents really touched the main well-being issues in this photograph. Nice work.

  8. February 9, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    I talked about this with my dad and my compass lense is (Economy). The vendor is selling good fruits but the problem is there is only few fruits. Also another probem is the plastic because it’s destroying the earth. The basket and the newpapers are not the problem because they reuse it, over and over again. Also they don’t pay taxes or cause a lot of space. The vendors also move if there’s less people here.

    • Mr. Sam
      February 9, 2011 at 6:23 pm

      What about the cost of the fruit… do you think it is more or less expensive than in the shops or the market? How do these vendors help the Thai economy?

      • February 9, 2011 at 7:20 pm

        By selling fruit, the vendor will have income and also the farmers will have income too since they are the once producing the fruits by planting. And consumers can buy at a lower cost meaning they will spend lesser so they can buy other things that they need. This is an advantage for the averageb people.

        • February 9, 2011 at 7:21 pm

          Mistake:

          average not averageb

    • February 9, 2011 at 7:14 pm

      I mean, I talked about this with my dad about my compass lense which is Economy. The vendor is selling several good fruits for more choices of the buyers but there are only few stocks. The vendor can sell the fruits in retail at a lesser cost since the vendor will not have to pay taxes(it does not issue receipts), energy, space and staff. The vendor can also easily move the products from one place to another or to places where there are many passersby for more chances of selling. This is its source of income.

  9. Am
    February 9, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    My compass lenses is well-being. I have explained it to my mum. This is the conversation I had with my mum:
    Mum: The people who consume the fruits are taking in healthy things into their body. The fruit includes vitamin, and the bananas produce energy. The lady who sells it is probably healthy because she may be eating the left overs and she is probably happy but if we see her face it’ll be more useful. Howvever, it may be dangerous for her since she may have to through the streets but at least she still has the advantange to travel. She is probably happy because she is able to walk to the costumers, not wait for the costumers to come to her. Her working environment may not be pleasant because maybe there isn’t much protection or comfort and maybe not walk paths to sit on.

    I agree with her too because we also helped each other think in the big picture and develop ideas. 🙂

    • Mr. Sam
      February 9, 2011 at 6:21 pm

      This is a good conversation, Am. You have really tried to think about the issue from different perspectives so your comment is very interesting to read.

    • Am
      February 9, 2011 at 8:09 pm

      Thank you Mr Sam.
      I had a little time to interview my dad and he also said that the food included vitamins and make people healthy. He was very observant and spotted the golden ring and bracelet the seller wore and he said she is probably quite wealthy. Also having the advantage of selling is also good because some people have nothing.

  10. sebastian
    February 9, 2011 at 6:11 pm

    Economy
    I explained this to my Dad. He said ”it is a vital part of Thai Economy that people sell fruits on the street’s of Bangkok. He also asked ”Because the fruits are seasonal, when they are less available does she put the price up? He said ”do they have to pay rent where they stay because if that place is really busy most people would want to go there. He also added if the people don’t pay tax it is not good for the country’s economy.

    • Mr. Sam
      February 9, 2011 at 6:16 pm

      What do you think your Dad means when he says “it’s a vital part of the Thai economy”?

  11. Manisha
    February 9, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    Me and mom thought that she is selling fruits to earn money for her family and herself. We think that she buyed the fruits for less price and sells the fruits for more price.She is old to do all the other jobs so we think that it is a good job for her to sit and earn money.She is poor so she uses only plastic bags which is very cheap.Even in old age she is economically indpendent.

    My compass lens is ECONOMY.

  12. Johan
    February 9, 2011 at 7:06 pm

    Economy
    I explained to my mum about the compass lence and told her some examples.
    My mum wondered if the lady could earn enough money for her living or if she needs to sell something else. Me and my mom also had question like: Does she sit her every day? How much of the familys total income has come from her selling fruit? Is she part of a fruit selling group with other people or she doing her own business? Is she employeed by someone? If she is part of a group does she need to share her income with the others in the group?
    It is good though that women like her gets at least a little income and not just no money at all.

  13. Pimboon
    February 9, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    My compass lens is the Well-Being one, and me and my mom thinks that the fruit are very fresh, because its bright green, which means its a young one, and also the rubber from the mango tree still sticks to the mango, and if you buy it and eat it, its fresh, which wont make us sick and itll help us develop ideas we are thinking and make things clearer. But there is also some fruits put in a plastic bag already. That means that the person who buys those type of fruits, will eat them and throw the plastic in the bin, then that would mean we wasted 1 plastic bag, and not helping the world any better, which is polluting the world we live in, and will probably make us sick and not so healthy.

    • Pimboon
      February 9, 2011 at 7:19 pm

      My mom didnt really get the compass lens that much, and Im trying to explain as hard as I can, and this homework is a bit of a challenge for me as I didnt do the Monsay homework, so Ill keep trying to explain as clear as I can. 🙂

      • Pin
        February 9, 2011 at 7:22 pm

        Same my mom didn’t really understand it to it was hard to explain because she didn’t understand some words that i was trying to say. but now she understand it took alot of time to explain but it works 😀

  14. gabi
    February 9, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    Well-being

    I and my mom said that this lady is responsible for her self and her family by working and selling fruit on the pavement for living.
    She is happy with what she does and making people happy at the same time.
    She makes people happy by selling fruit that people might like that make them happy.
    The fruit is fresh, healthy, and clean and the price is reasonable.
    My mom always stops to support people who are selling fruit on the street like bananas and watermelon mango, normally not in the supper markets.
    Gabi and Bussara

  15. Pin
    February 9, 2011 at 7:21 pm

    I got the Nature lens. I explained it to my mom and this was the conversation
    mum: I think that the plastic bag is the issue in this photo and nowadays we should use bioplastic or cloth bags. You also have to recycle it.
    Me: Why is it bad for the earth?
    mum: Because its made from many things that are limited and if we finish it up then theres going to be no more of that resources in the earth. Its also bad because plastic, some people don’t reuse it and throw it in the bin if you reuse it then its going to be better.
    me: is there any good things about this photo?
    Mom: hmmm…. (thinks) well maybe the fruits are natural and its clean and its healthy for your body. It also doesn’t pollute the earth. Most thai people don’t throw the skin of the fruit away (if they peel the skin off) they use it to put it on the trees (fertilizer for their garden)
    me: wow thats cool do we do it?
    mom: Nope we can’t because we don’t grow like farmers and we aren’t doing this as our work.
    me: well ok… well is there any thing else?
    mom: yes, she won’t have fresh air but some venders wear mask to protect that nowadays. So its not really clean air. The cause of this dirty air is because of the car pollution. Another bad thing is that she is selling natural stuff that is good and she isn’t using a motercycle so she isn’t making any pollution at all.
    me: Yeah what does the thing that she is carrying called?
    mom: “Krajad (kaa-Jaad)” in the olden days they use krajad and make the krajads by themself (not buying) but nowadays you see alot of carts and motercycles. Its really rare in bangkok to find the venders using krajads that they made by themselves. Most of them buy it.
    me: ok thanks mom do you understand how to use the lens?
    mom: yes thanks 🙂
    yeah thats my convo. i think that was a really interesting one! 😀 😛 😉 🙂

  16. Jin
    February 9, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    My compass lens was NATURE.

    My dad said that the fruits are essiental to our body and the fruit is produced from the trees or the ground. If we keep building factories and destroy our forests that provide us with fruits, the amount of fruit produce will decrease and we won’t be able to eat much fruit than we ate before, and we would be lack of vitamins and lots of people might get sick and the world will be like the place in 28 weeks later. So to prevent that from happening, we should tell the constructors of the factories to please find another job if they please and not destroy the forest.

    Also, for the plastic bag, my dad says that it is a massive problem in this country. He saids that plastic bags doesn’t rot OR decompose, so if it stays on the ground for a long time, he said that it might affect the tree roots and make it dirty and we will have to eat dirty food, and if plastic bags fall into the see and fish or turtles eat it, they would die because it can’t be chewed. So we would lose most of our valuable species because of the plastic bags and my dad wants it to be stopped. He reckons there might be another way. He says that the hawkers should get another material if possible and put the fruit in somewhere else besides the plastic bags. But I don’t know any material that can hold tom yum koong or other liquid except the plastic bags.

    I hope the earth makes another material that can be used instead of plastic bags that can hold liquid and things like that.

  17. Yeachan
    February 9, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    My compass lens is Nature.
    I explained and taught my mom how to use a compass lens(my father had a dinner with important people-one of them is Saeyeon’s father).
    My mon said that if we keep loving and respect the nature, they will keep giving us many foods and other products. So we and nature have to interdependence each other. The reason is there cannot be live only human or nature in the Earth and if we don’t interdependence each other, any creature cannot be exist.

    I asked my mom an another question:What do you think about the plastic bag?
    She said that: several years ago, we could shop without plastic bag and they weren’t necessary. It’s an optional so if we don’t need them, we don’t have to use. But these days, it’s still optional, but many people are using them for their comfortable. We made plastic bags so we have to dispose plastic bags like biological bags which can be recycled.

  18. Paula
    February 9, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    Society-

    These are different points we made during our conversation:

    -It is is good to see that cultural traditions of the way that the fruits are sold live on, this also includes the craft of making the basket.
    -On the other hand, he doesn’t have a proper food cart and it is hard to imagine how he/she can make a living
    -It is an important role in the community that Thai people can have access to fruit and live a healthy life
    -We discussed Alan Atkisson’s definition of Society and disagreed with the last words saying equality and opportunity for all because even without opportunity and equality for all it is still a society
    -And for legal framework we know that it is allowed to sell goods in the street in Thailand, but you would have difficulties doing that in other countries, considering that you need permission

  19. jon
    February 9, 2011 at 8:52 pm

    I am doing society. I explained how to use the compass lense to my mom. My mom said the picture is the traditional street vendor,using a weaven basket to carry the goods manually. JonJon commented that a fruit vendor cannot have a shop at Emporium, but a wealthy business man has a better chance to go to emporium and do his business. Therefore, they do not have equal opportunity. However, Thailand is flexible that we have street vendors and that allow the poors to be able to sell things.

  20. Sam
    February 9, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    The compass lense I got is NATURE-
    I told my Aunt about the compass lenses and now, I think she understands it.
    She says that the lady selling the fruits is using too much plastic bags. She will probably put the fruit(s) in a plastic bag when you buy it. Plastic bags are seen all over Bangkok, needed or not. We read May’s comment and we agree with her. The plastic bag(s) might end up in the klong or river and some sea creatures can eat it and die.
    I thought that the plastic strip around the handles of the basket, I don’t know what it’s called, is unnecessary. It might be re used which is okay but if was from a plastic bag they bought or just one that hasn’t been used before.
    We think that we/Thailand/The World should have more fruit trees. Even though there are already plenty of fruit trees we think that we still have space for a lot more trees. People are cutting down our trees and it is destroying our nature.

    Sam

  21. Paul
    February 9, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    I am doing Society and I talked to my dad about it. He will not be here tomorrow so I told him about the compass. My dad said that selling all these things keeps the poor poor and increases homeless Thais and child labor. People leave there village and come to Bangkok to make more money but fail and lose it all. The good part is it is a great Thai tradition to sell food on the street.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

