Photography Walk #1

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Today’s photography walk was a real success. Make a comment to tell us:

  • Interesting things you saw
  • Great photos you took
  • Cool places you’ve never been to before
  • Conversations you had
  • Something you learned
  1. Ken
    January 18, 2011 at 1:57 pm

    I never walked around the klong

    • Yeachan
      January 18, 2011 at 6:17 pm

      I agree with you.

      • Yeachan
        January 18, 2011 at 6:17 pm

        I never walked around and on the klong boat.

  2. January 18, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    The interesting things that I saw are the food that the Thai people eat like chili stuff and etc. The great photos that I took is the cup of strawberries and others like cherries. The cool places I have never been before is the klong. There’s nothing that I learned but this long walk is awesome (a word) except that Mr. Sam told that Wattana School is an enemy of NIST.

    • michaelt
      January 18, 2011 at 3:49 pm

      I agree

      • Mr. Sam
        January 18, 2011 at 5:02 pm

        What do you agree with Michael?

    • Mr. Sam
      January 18, 2011 at 5:04 pm

      Be careful what you say, Odette. I said that NIST and Wattana seem “to be enemies” and that they “don’t have a good relationship.” That was why they would not let us walk through their school for a shortcut.

      It’s a shame isn’t it? We are neighbours and yet we don’t seem to cooperate or share as much as we could.

      • Pimboon
        January 18, 2011 at 5:10 pm

        I think its because Wattana is a all-girls school, and they dont allow any boys in.

      • Sam
        January 18, 2011 at 5:36 pm

        They (Wattana) didn’t let us walk through their school but I used to take the shuttle bus every morning and they let the bus go through.
        Maybe they don’t let us through because we might disturb them but If we are in a bus they can’t hear us.

  3. michaelt
    January 18, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    Some of the interesting things I saw were things I have never seen before like the dog prints in the cement. A cool place I have been to that I have never been before is the khlong because I always take the bus to school. I think the khlong is cool because it is very relaxing and I like to watch the water float by. I learnt that you find lots of interesting things by looking closely at everything.

    • Mr. Sam
      January 18, 2011 at 5:05 pm

      I like your last sentence very much. People who look closely at things learn a huge amount about life. People who do not look closely at things tend to learn nothing. It’s called “curiosity” and “observation”.

  4. 18saeyeono
    January 18, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    some of the interesting things I saw were things that I saw a new decorating solo power thing and I never knew that thepeople eat fried little hard crabs. I have never been on the Klong. I took a great photo flower on the road bridge and A tree with workers. I think the mall is cool because they got many stuffs like clothes,toys,foods,and shoes etc. I learnt that taking photoes will make you know more about the places in thailand.

    • Mr. Sam
      January 18, 2011 at 5:06 pm

      Yes, you’re right. By taking photos, you have to look more closely and so you learn more about this amazing country.

  5. Am
    January 18, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    The interesting things I saw were in the market how there were lots of food and people were very nice like the man who gave us a free bowl of his meat. Also there were different types of food like fruit, deserts and more. Also I haven’t been to the area we walked today so it was very interesting though I think I have been to the klong years ago to do a water experiment.

    Some great photos that I took were a couple of photos of food in the market, and some thai flowers from the spirit house we saw on the way to the market and a picture of the center part of the klong boat passing by.

    I have never been to the market before and also the roads on the way. I have drove pass some but haven’t fulling observed the street venders, buildings, etc. Also I haven’t been as deep and out of the walkway by the klong it was really good to be there.

    The some conversations that I had were about the food and how unique and tasty it was. Also I had a little conversation about the man who fixed the clothes with someone and it very suprising and cool for a person to do that and interesting.

    I learnt that to know were you live in and to be aware of the world around you, you have to observe. Talk to people to know what’s going on and learn about the world you live in. Today and the past few weeks I have become more aware and a lot more observant of Thailand and where I live. 🙂

    • Mr. Sam
      January 18, 2011 at 5:08 pm

      I like this quote from your comment:

      “Talk to people to know what’s going on and learn about the world you live in.”

      This is very important. Thai speakers in 6SS should be able to learn about this country very quickly because they speak the language. However, it seems many Thai speakers are more nervous about speaking to local people than the farangs are. Why is that?

      • Am
        January 18, 2011 at 6:37 pm

        Thank you for the compliment. Anyways I think the Thai speakers are more nervous than farangs because maybe they are shy someone will ask them something and everyone will tell them to ask this and that. Well today I really wanted to talk to the street venders and people in the market so I really took a shot at it and I talked to quite a lot of people.

  6. SHIKHAR
    January 18, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    One of the most interesting things I saw today was the graffiti on the khlong walls which were mostly in English and sentences like ” NO PAIN NO GAME!”, I also noticed that the market we went to was full of Pepsi advertisements on different mediums such as trucks,billboards, and table clothes etc. Out of all the photos I clicked my favorite was a discarded cigarette lying on the murky khlong floor because the it had a good balance of sunlight and it made me wonder how long it will take to decompose.

    • Mr. Sam
      January 18, 2011 at 5:10 pm

      Interesting inquiry, how long does it take for a cigarette butt to decompose? And, what chemicals are released into the soil by a decomposing cigarette?

      • Sam
        January 18, 2011 at 5:44 pm

        I searched it and most websites say cigarette butts take 10 months- 12 years to decompose but I am not that sure.

  7. ken
    January 18, 2011 at 4:40 pm

    I’ve never saw a guitar that you put in a cd and it automaticly goes. When we went
    to the klong i took very good pictures of the klong boat and I never walked around the klong so it was a new experience for me

    • Mr. Sam
      January 18, 2011 at 5:11 pm

      Ken, that was a CD player in the shape of a guitar.

      I’m glad you had a new experience. You should take your family for a walk along there, you could actually walk home that way, I’ll show you when we go for our next walk.

  8. gabi
    January 18, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    I think the most interesting thing i saw was the market and all the cool things like fruits, food, people etc.

    Great photos I took were a little shop that sold flowers that were tied on string, and all the amazing delicious food.

    I have never been to the week day market before and I like it very much.

    The conversations I had were I was so amazed about all the food that smelt so good and the good pictures I took.

    I learnt that there is a market and I learnt cool ways to take photos
    Gabi

    • Mr. Sam
      January 18, 2011 at 5:12 pm

      Nicely edited Gabi! Keep it up.

      You could check that market out on your way home from school sometimes!

  9. gabi
    January 18, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    Why do you always say thing and thingy when you are writing on the blog Sae-yeon?

  10. Pimboon
    January 18, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    •Something you learned

    There wasnt anything quite interesting for me, because I have walked that path over and over almost everyday for 2 years, and I have seen everything and it has been the same since, so nothing was new. The only thing I found interesting, and that I havent seen before was the UK design guitar with the CD player.

    I took some pretty good photos, like I take normally, but with many different things. I get in a habit taking photos everytime I go to another country, so taking snap shots at stuff arent hard or new for me too. But I think the best photo I took today are one of the klongboats and the some of the food trays.

    Again, as I said, I have been here, the exact steps we took and the exact path. So nothing was that cool because Im kind of used to seeing it everyday. I suggest that we should go further down the path, to the BTS and walking along Sukhumvit main road.

    Ive had conversations with the street venders and the people almost all the people that we cross, that were selling stuff. I aksed them stuff and I translated some of the things that people wanted to ask. I have seen most of the street venders before, and I know most of them. I can easily pick up a conversation with the people around there. Im also very fond of them, and I bought stuff from all the stalls before.

    Im not sure what I learned. To be honest I might not have learned anything, because I walk longer walks than that all the time, I always talk, and Im fond of things.

    • Pimboon
      January 18, 2011 at 5:09 pm

      Please ignore -Something you learned

    • Mr. Sam
      January 18, 2011 at 5:14 pm

      Pimboon, I’m really glad that you have been so honest. Maybe you can help me plan the route for the next walk and we can use your local knowledge to find other interesting areas to explore.

      I also think that you need to demonstrate to other students how to have good conversations with the local people you meet on the street.

      • Pimboon
        January 19, 2011 at 5:33 pm

        Thank you, I will be very happy to help next time, after tomorrow, if we’re going. And Ill try demonstrating! 🙂

  11. Jin
    January 18, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    The interesting things that I saw was the weird food that they ate. Because even if it looks normal and just have simple ingredients, Thai people cook so fabulously that their food is loved by foreigners in Thailand. No offense, but I don’t like Thai food because it have a grass thing called coriander which is called pakchi in Thai. If you eat that, it tastes worse than any kinds of food in the world. Sorry Thai people in NIST but I hope they exclude pakchi in Thai food!! :(.
    The other thing was that on the walls there were english graffitis but I couldn’t remember what it said. I don’t know if foreigners wrote on it because I don’t think foreigners hardly ever goes around the klong and the klong is quite smelly. Another thing that I found in the klong was a toilet seat and I thought that it was quite grotesque and quite gross because it was recyclable. I hope no one or nobody ever trashes something in the klong except for the thing that which our body produces.

    Great photos that I took were the one that I took when I was next to Khun Joe’s restaurant because I think that he held a record in Soi 15 that he was there even before NIST was built. I saw that his food was simply superb!! I hope that one day I get to eat his unbelievable food in his restaurant.

    The other great photo was when I took a photo of a person when he offered us a free meal for 5 people. But Ms. Annette and Mr. Sam stopped us from eating because they said that it was not fair and that we should pay some money if we want to eat. But Mr. Sam said that on Thursday, we might eat there but I don’t want to because I don’t want to miss my valuable football time and if I have to, I will have to.

    The cool place that I have never been before was the market because I didn’t know that there was a market in the place that we went and the food was quite tempting to me!! Also the other cool place was when we walked until we reached the market because I have never walked that way to take photos. Now that I know that there is a market and lots of cool street vendors there, I am going to fill up myself with it!!

    Well I don’t think that I had any conversation with any Thai People but I took part in some when that restaurant guy spoke to us and saying some good english. But I would love to speak with Thai people because their language differs from other language. Because the language sounds so cool and it sounds like some pros speaking!!(to me though) I will want to learn Thai and I will.

    Something that I learned was don’t just ride taxis and vehicles like that to travel from a place to a place because if you just walk or ride bicycles, you will see lots of fabulous Thai food and Thai people outside. I usually walk but I will try to walk more if I am travelling because then I can meet fabulous and cool people.

  12. Johan
    January 18, 2011 at 5:58 pm

    I thought today was really fun. I didn’t think it would be so fun to just go out and take photos, but I was definentley wrong. It was so intresting to just get out of the school and take pictures look at different things observe stuff carefuly etc. The Thai speaking people in our class really helped me out by asking the street venders questions in Thai and then told me the answer in english so it was nice to know a bit more about this local people. It was a new experience for me to go to the right at the klongh I have always gone to the left so it was interesting to see what was going on that side. The best photo i took today was of klong boat I liked it beacause you could see the water splashing up and shadows of the boat in the water.

  13. 18manisha
    January 18, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    The intresting thing was the guitar with the CD inside it because i have never seen it before and a blue building which was very diffrent from other buildings.

    The great photos i took were the boat in the klong because i took the whole boat properly and also some of the stalls.

    The cool place was the market because there were many things which were intesting and also the streets were intresting.The klong was also good place because there were many things which were intresting to see.

    The conversation we had were about how dangerous the klong was.

    I have learn’t more n photography because now i improved in adjusting the photo.

  14. Julien
    January 18, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    I thought that the food was really interesting because it gave me an idea of what what Thai people eat. One of my great photos was the one I took of some plants and flowers. I thought it was really cool because of the angle. The coolest place of the trip for me would be the market because it was just “Thailand”. I learnt more about photography and of what Thai people eat.

  15. sebastian
    January 18, 2011 at 6:35 pm

    The Klong is no a new place for me because I walk on in every day to school. I saw many interesting but I thought the graffitis on the Klong were really interesting.I took a really good photo of a klong boat moving really fast.

    With the cool places I have been there before so i didn’t really see any thing new like Pimboon said I have been there many time because me and my family have a lot of friend that live close by from the place we went to.

    I and a few other people had a really good conversation with the one of the street vendor working on fixing and also making jeans. He said that ”he had done this job for ten years before most of the building were made”.

    I learned form Nine that it is not good to take to many photos of the sprits houses because it could give you bad luck or there could be bad luck in the house.

  16. jon
    January 18, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    it was interesting how I got to see all those vendors on the street because I have never been down that road before. Some great photos I took were the klong boat because I captured a moving object without it being blurly. I thought that the market mr Sam brought us to was cool. I did not have much conversation with the locals but I was asked to translate some words. I learned that Mr. Sam’s Taco shop is right next to school and I have never known that before. May be I get a bite there to eat.

  17. 18mayw
    January 18, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    The interesting the for me was when we walk on the klong and I never walk there because my house is really far from NIST so when I go home I always go with my car and I have no change to walk there. Some of my great photos are the photos of the first flag of Thailand (the red flag) and the klong boat. The coolest place for me was the klong because I never been there and I think it’s cool there but the water stinks. I don’t really know what I learnt because I know what Thai people eat and at my old school when it’s after school I always walk with my mom to buy stuff.

    • 18mayw
      January 18, 2011 at 6:55 pm

      Some good conversation that I had with one of the vendor in the market was that I ask him how long that he learned to do the milk tea that they use two glasses and pour it in the other glass and he told us that he learn it about a month.

    • 18mayw
      February 8, 2011 at 6:36 pm

      It was really ecxiting when I walk at first.

  18. Yeachan
    January 18, 2011 at 7:00 pm

    I think the interesting things that I saw was a CD player in the shape of a guitar. I thought it was a guitar when we put in a CD, it automatically played. But Mr.Sam said it was just a CD player of a guitar. But, the designs was nice and cool, and also it was creative.

    Great photos that I have taken was a plant which grows at the dirty hole. I realized that plants have a great vitality and adaptability even in a dirty or small space.

    I have never been to a big food market and walking around Klong boat. Some of the seller was so kind that he gave me some chicken to eat for FREE. Also, there was lots of interesting things.

    So basically,I didn’t eat breakfast today, so I haven’t got enough energy to conversate with other friends. I didn’t speak any Thai during this walk, but when I saw a guitar-shaped CD player, I talked that it was so good,it’s creative etc…

    Things I have learned during this walk, I learned that plants can grow many place with water, a bit of soil and a sunlight.

  19. Yeachan
    January 18, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    I think the interesting things that I saw was a CD player in the shape of a guitar. I thought it was a guitar when we put in a CD, it automatically played. But Mr.Sam said it was just a CD player of a guitar. But, the designs was nice and cool, and also it was creative.

    Great photos that I have taken was a plant which grows at the dirty hole. I learned that plants have a great vitality and adaptability even in a dirty or small space.

    I have never been to a big food market and walking around Klong boat. Some of the seller was so kind that he gave me some chicken to eat for FREE. Also, there was lots of interesting things.

    So basically,I didn’t eat breakfast today, so I haven’t got enough energy to conversate with other friends. I didn’t speak any Thai during this walk, but when I saw a guitar-shaped CD player, I talked that it was so good,it’s creative etc..

    Things that I have learned that was plant can grow anywhere with a bit of soil and a sunlight.

  20. Yeachan
    January 18, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    sorry I got two.

  21. 18Aayushk
    January 18, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    The interesting things I saw were the thai deserts which I had never seen before, the Thai orange squeezer which makes orange juice, the fruits being sliced Thai way and lastly the amount of people who use the klong boat flabbergasted me because most of the klong boats were full and I have never ever been on a klong boat in my life. (But I have been in a boat on the Chao Phraya river)
    I took a couple of nice photos of the klong boat in motion. I also took some good photos of Thai locals cooking on the roadside with the oil bubbling in the frying pan. I also took some nice photos of some flowers.

    I have never been along the klong on soi15 so that was a first. I also have never been to the market and that part of the city before. I also liked the Thai restaurant and it’s design.
    My favorite conversation was the conversation 6SS had with the Thai local street vendor who sold tacos. He said he had been selling food since 1986 or something like that, which is such a long period of time.
    I learned that thai people can be very generous like the food seller who offered us free food.

  22. Sam
    January 18, 2011 at 7:18 pm

    The walk was interesting because I have never been around the area we walked in today except the klong. I used to walk through the klong from or to get home everyday, though I went in the other direction. Like Am said, I was surprised that the shopkeeper in the market gave us a bowl of his food because shopkeepers like him don’t usually do that. I don’t usually eat that food so it was nice to try. It was very interesting to hear that the man who sews on the street had been doing that for 10 years already. I can’t believe that there were so many street vendors around that area, most of them selling food!
    I think that I took pretty good photos though my favorite one that I think was relevant is the one where I closed up to a stand selling meat covered eggs. It looked delicious. I have 2 favorite photos that aren’t relevant. One of them is part of a building and cars on one side but the other side is part of a bush and there were flowers one it. I like this photo because I think it shows the countryside (the bush and flowers) and the city (the side with the building and cars). My other irrelevant photo is of a single plant growing in the sidewalk of the klong (concrete). I think my best photos were irrelevant and have a plant in it.
    I have never been on the klong going in that direction, the roads, and the sidewalks, so basically I haven’t been to the whole route that we walked in except the end when we walked on soi 15 to school. Since I haven’t been to the places we walked, it was good that we walked slowly so I could fully observe the things surrounding me and so I can be fully aware. I don’t usually pay much attention to the street vendors and the markets around me when I’m in the car or walking because I am always getting to my destination fast so I don’t have the time to take a look around properly.
    Most of my conversations were about my photos and other people’s photos that I thought looked really good and professional. I had other conversations about the food they cooked and I asked some people if they have tasted it and what it was. I also had a conversation about the market and what the people were selling. I thought the market was really cool!
    I have learnt that it isn’t so hard to look and observe the people and things around you, and when you do, you can learn many things. I have learnt to be observant and that I shouldn’t just look at the things in front of me, I should also look beside me, above me, below me and sometimes behind me. This has helped me find more things to take a picture of. I have become a lot more observant today and I hope I get to do something like this again!

    Samantha

    • 18jinj
      January 18, 2011 at 8:03 pm

      I agree Sam and we are going to do that thing again on Thursday.!! 😛 😉 😀 😦

      • Jin
        January 19, 2011 at 6:39 am

        I don’t know if I liked it that much or not. Because I have been to the klong walk but not the market.

  23. 18Anirudhv
    January 18, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    The Interesting things I saw were where every Friday Mr. Sam bought his tacos. The seller’s name was Joe. I even saw the tailor sewing jeans for other people. That tailor was working there for 10 years in the same place! We even went to that huge open market. In the market there was lots of stuff food, phone covers etc. I even saw the cool graffiti’s on the walls on the Klong side walk was very interesting because the way they did it was very cool.

    I took a great photo of Joe’s wife when she looked away I quickly took a photo which turned out great. I even took an old Benz that was all old and rusty.

    A cool place was the Klong because I have never been there before and there were many Klong boats going really fast.

    I had some conversations with Ken, Aayush and Ms. Angela.

    I learned a lot from the Thai speakers because they helped me ask questions.

  24. Pin
    January 18, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    Interesting things you saw
    umm… I’m not quite sure because I have went to markets many times in my life and this one was quite the same but I think that the walk around the klong and on the street was quite interesting because I never walked that deep near the klong. Though I have walked on the klong plenty of times but not that deep.
    Great photos you took
    I think that the photos i took was quite good because i focused on the things that was really needed to be sent to the audience so I think that the photos was good.
    Cool places you’ve never been to before
    Umm… The market I have never went to this market I have only went to nearby markets because my house is not at Sukhumvit. Also Some places in the klong because I never went really deep through the klong.
    Conversations you had
    The conversation that I liked was when we were talking to the trousers fixer and makes trousers. he said that he did this job for over 20 years. He also said he made trousers, and fixed trousers before the building infront and at the back of him was made.
    Something you learned
    Some thing I learned that was normally my mom says that she doesn’t really want me to ask some strangers to do favors and ask them questions but I learned that I can be confident and ask them questions so I agree with Aayush that I also learnt that strangers can be generous and kind, like when I asked a motorcycle guy to take a photo he said ok and he wore this helmet and posed a action! That was really cool for me 🙂 😀 😦 🙂 😛 😉

  25. Paul
    January 18, 2011 at 8:32 pm

    It was so cool walking around the market and seeing all the food. I think that the klong walk was not so exiting. I felt really proud of my pictures and how I took them. I Loved walking around and seeing all the different things and i am very exited to go eat lunch in the market (not this Friday)! One of the pictures i took was a beggar with no feet and no hands and I felt sorry for him and i did not fell to good taking the picture because I think he thought that we where taking pictures of the poor in Thailand. The market was my favorite part!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

