Homework: Being Aware

At the moment, we are doing a number of things to try and become more aware of where we live, the world around us and the people that surround us every day.

Today’s homework task is all about showing your awareness of where you live. Follow these instructions carefully.

Take photos in your neighbourhood of at least three of these things. Then, upload them to our Flickr account and mark the exact spot on the map. Include more information in the description of each photograph.

  • The closest place with some nature (eg., a park)
  • The closest shop where you can buy some basic groceries
  • Your favourite local restaurant
  • Local places where you can buy street food
  • The closest place where you can get a motorbike taxi
  • The closest new building project
  • The closest empty plot of land
  • The closest BTS or MRT station
  • The closest fresh food market
  • The closest place where there is often bad traffic
  • The closest community who appear to be very poor
  • The closest amazing, beautiful, old or weird house
  • Something interesting close to your home

Make a comment to tell us what photos you took. Paste in the URL for each photo.

  1. michaelt
    January 17, 2011 at 4:55 pm

    I can only take a picture of three of these things because I got injured today.

  2. January 17, 2011 at 5:15 pm

    Picture 1: http://www.flickr.com/photos/53771866@N05/5362767679/in/set-72157625462142265/
    Picture 2: http://www.flickr.com/photos/53771866@N05/5363379278/in/set-72157625462142265/
    Picture 3: http://www.flickr.com/photos/53771866@N05/5363379956/in/set-72157625462142265/

    You copy these websites on the websites box. Then you will see my pitures.

    The photos that are took are:

    •Something interesting close to your home

    •The closest amazing, beautiful, old or weird house

    •The closest place with some nature (eg., a park)

    • January 17, 2011 at 5:16 pm

      If you can’t click them then copy and paste it on the website box.

      • sebastian
        January 18, 2011 at 6:17 am

        I tried that but it is a different problem.

  3. Jin
  4. 18saeyeono
  5. michaelt
    January 17, 2011 at 6:11 pm

    I am going to upload the photos tommorow because I need to eat dinner

  6. sebastian
    January 17, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    Mr.Sam my computer didn’t work so I couldn’t copy the link but I uploaded the photos.

  7. Julien
    January 17, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    Hey, I took a picture of a Thai women cooking street food : http://www.flickr.com/photos/53771866@N05/5362957205/in/set-72157625462142265/
    I also took a picture of 2 buildings in construction : http://www.flickr.com/photos/53771866@N05/5363567968/in/set-72157625462142265/
    Construction_Julien
    Also a picture of Emporium :
    Emporium_Julien
    and Emporium Suites :
    Emporium Suites_Julien
    Emporium has a Park full of green so I went there to take pictures :
    Emporium Park_Julien
    It had a fountain!!
    Emporium Park_Julien
    That’s about it.

  8. Am
    January 17, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    I went out to take some photos and this time I was very willing to after my experience.
    I took a picture of the street where I can buy street food very easily: http://www.flickr.com/photos/53771866@N05/5363551706/

    A place where there is oftenly traffic: http://www.flickr.com/photos/53771866@N05/5362939381/in/photostream/

    Two photos of the closest building project:
    Am_Construction
    Am_Construction

    My favourite local restaurant:
    Am_Appetizing Bacco

    My garden-Nearest place with nature:
    Am_Greenhouse

    And two photos of the closest shop where I can get basic groceries:
    Am_Local Outlet
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/53771866@N05/5363543338/in/photostream/

    I have put all the photos on the map, licensed them, added tags and made the correct titles.

  9. ken
    January 17, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    This is a picture of street food http://www.flickr.com/photos/53771866@N05/5362961551/

    This is a picture of my favourite local thai resturant
    Resturant_Ken

    This is a picture of green
    Nature_Ken

    This is a picture of a buildig getting build
    New Building_Ken

  10. Am
    January 17, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    I went out to take some photos and this time I was very willing to after my experience.
    I took a picture of the street where I can buy street food very easily: http://www.flickr.com/photos/53771866@N05/5363551706/

    A place where there is oftenly traffic: http://www.flickr.com/photos/53771866@N05/5362939381/in/photostream/

    Two photos of the closest building project:
    Am_Construction
    Am_Construction

    My favourite local restaurant:
    Am_Appetizing Bacco

    My garden-Nearest place with nature:
    Am_Greenhouse

    And two photos of the closest shop where I can get basic groceries:
    Am_Local Outlet
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/53771866@N05/5363543338/in/photostream/

    I have put all the photos on the map, licensed them, added tags and made the correct titles.

  11. May
    January 17, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    I took the photos of Nature, construction, old houses that no one lives in it and nice houses.
    Old House-May
    Grass-May
    Flower-May
    Flower-May
    Trees-May
    Construction-May

  12. johan
    January 17, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    I took 6 pictures today and here they are:
    The first picture I took was a picture of 7eleven thats because it’s the closest shop where I can buy some basic groasiries:
    7eleven_Johan

    Then i took a picture of a local thai street food restraurant:
    Local street food restaurant_Johan

    The land of smiles is a brilliant nickname to Thailand after seeing theses thai ladies smiles:
    Street food cooks_Johan

    Motorcycle taxis are very popular in Thailand and so I had to take a picture of their small litlle motorcycle terminal:
    Motorcycle Taxi station_Johan

    I then also took a photo of the asoke bts station:
    Asok BTS station_Johan

    There are so many building being built in Bangkok at the same time and this is one of them:
    Project Building Terminal 21 _ Johan

  13. 18Anirudhv
    • 18Anirudhv
      January 17, 2011 at 8:39 pm

      Caring on…

      Interesting:

      Wires_Anirudh

      Spirit House_Anirudh

      Stray cat_Anirudh

      Street food:

      street food_Anirudh

      Street vendor_Anirudh

      Restaurant:

      Restaurant menu_Anirudh

      • 18Anirudhv
        January 17, 2011 at 8:43 pm

        Interesting:

        Broom seller_Anirudh

  14. Pimboon
    January 17, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    I took quite a lot of photos, but I didnt take 3 of all because it was evening and there wasnt really enough time and space, my mom and grandmother also said to be aware that security guards come and kidnap you, because you take photos of their stuff at night.
    Heres the photos URL;
    Tigermart Pimboon
    Street Vender Pimboon

    Im only adding this much to the map now because its late at night and when I was almost done typing the description and stuff, the internet downed, so I had to do it all over again

  15. Paula
    January 18, 2011 at 5:55 am

    My internet is not working so I am just going to describe the pictures I took yesterday and then maybe I will still have time to put them on Flickr later.

    The closest Place with some Nature:

    My garden but I only took a picture of some parts of my Garden because I couldn’t get the whole garden on one picture.

    The closest shop where you can buy some basic groceries:

    That is conveniently Foodland which is a 30 metre walk from my house.

    Local places where you can find street food:

    There are street foods all along soi 18.

    The closest place where you can catch a motorcycle taxi:

    I took a picture of two motorcycle taxi stations since my house has an exit to soi 18 and soi 16.

    The closest new Building project:

    The closest new Building project is 10 meters away from my house because my garden is very slim, Luckily it is just a two floor family house.

    The closest BTS or MRT station:

    I took a picture of Asoke BTS station but I couldn’t take a picture of the MRT station because it was on the other side of the Asoke Traffic light and I was taking a walk by myself.

    The closest spot where there is often bad traffic which is the Asoke traffic light with huge amounts of traffic coming from every direction.

  16. Aaayush
    January 18, 2011 at 6:27 am

    I Put the photos on flikr but I don’t have time to put all the URL’s here are some of them.
    House on Stilts_Aayush
    Street food_Aayush
    Garden_Aayush
    Building  in progress_Aayush
    Tops Market_Aayush
    Tops Market_Aayush
    Tops Market_Aayush
    Traffic_Aayush
    Phrom Phong BTS Station_Aayush
    Fresh vegetables_Aayush
    A picture of a cat

    Cat_Aayush

  17. 18manisha
    January 18, 2011 at 7:30 am

    These are links for the photos:

    This is a picture of some boys playing-
    DSC02787

    This is a picture of the moon-
    DSC02785

    This is a picture of some fountains-
    DSC02774

    This is a picture of a beggar-
    DSC02771

    This is a picture of the traafic-
    DSC02768

    This is a picture of motor bike taxis-
    DSC02762

    These are the pictures of nature-
    DSC02758
    Manisha-Nature

    These are the photos of the shops-
    DSC02757
    Manisha-Shop

    This is a old house-
    Old house-Manisha

    These are the photos of construction-
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/53771866@N05/5363907940/in/photostream/

  18. jonjon
    January 18, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    I took a pickther of the clostes plas to get a moterbike,grosres,nather, BTS,favrit locol restronk.

  19. jon
    January 18, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    I took A pichcher of the colstes plas to get a moterbike,nather,groshre,BTS,favrit restronk

  20. Pin
    January 18, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    This is a tuk tuk
    tuktuk_Pin
    This is the stair ways of entering the BTS.
    BTS_Pin
    Bad traffic at soi 17 while i was going home.
    TrafficSoi17_Pin

  21. Am
    January 18, 2011 at 1:47 pm

    The photos that I took were:
    A picture of the closest place with some nature:
    Am_Greenhouse

    The closest place I can buy some basic groceries:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/53771866@N05/5363543338/in/photostream/
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/53771866@N05/5363543338/in/photostream/

    My favourite local restaurant:
    Am_Appetizing Bacco

    A place I can buy street food:
    Am_Street Vender

    A building project:
    Am_Construction
    Am_Construction

    A place where there is oftenly traffic:
    Am_Traffic

    I have mapped them, changed he license, added tags, corrected the titles, etc (if there is more).

  22. Pimboon
    January 18, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    These are the photos that are done and out on the map.

    Tigermart Pimboon
    Street Vender Pimboon
    Din Daeng Road Pimboon

    Ill post more.

    • Pimboon
      January 18, 2011 at 1:54 pm

      The first 2 URL’s are in my first comment. You can just ignore it

    • Pimboon
      January 18, 2011 at 6:57 pm

      Im adding more

      Chatuchak Park MRT Pimboon
      Floor Stall Pimboon
      Chatuchak Park MRT Pimboon
      BTS Mo Chit Pimboon
      Motorbike Taxi Pimboon
      Street Venders Pimboon
      Ou-Tor-Kor Market Pimboon
      Fruits Pimboon
      Plants Pimboon
      Fresh Veggies Pimboon
      Kampangphet MRT Pimboon
      Pipithipan Dek Pimboon
      Benjasiri Park 2 Pimboon
      Benjasiri Park Pimboon
      Street Cart Pimboon
      7-11 Pimboon
      Werid House Pimboon
      Mini Plant Plot Pimboon
      Cacti Pimboon
      Stall Pimboon
      Abandoned Land 3 Pimboon
      Abandoned Land 2 Pimboon
      Abandoned Land 1 Pimboon
      Noodle Stand Pimboon

      And Im done! Theres 1 more and Ill add that later

      • Pimboon
        January 18, 2011 at 7:01 pm

        I took photos of the closest BTS and MRT, market, nature/park, weird house, grociery store, restaurant, street venders, motobike taxi, empty plot of land, fresh food and under-construction building.

  23. jon
    January 18, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    I took a photo of the closest BTS, grocery store, favorite restaurant, nature and motorbikes stop.

  24. Yeachan
    January 18, 2011 at 1:57 pm

    I took a photo of the nearist place of a park, favourite restaurant, motorbike taxi,new building project, grocreies shop, BTS station, haunted house and bad traffic.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

