Home > Attitudes, Cooking & Eating, Where We Are in Place and Time > Homework: Shifts in Thinking

Homework: Shifts in Thinking

Watch the last two parts of episode 4:

Which part of the episode did you like the most? Why?

What “shifts in thinking” happened? How?

Which student was most affected by this experience?

Is Jamie a good teacher? Why?

  1. Jin
    January 13, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    Well, I liked the part four because it shows that they are cooking and the important people giving compliments about their food.

    I think that the gang is trusting Jamie but before they didn’t. I don’t know how that is the shift in thinking and also I think that the people are liking their food.

    I think that Ryan is the most affected one because he never cooked before or hardly ever cooked and I think that he is loving to cook now.

    I think that Jamie is a wonderful teacher!! Because he just don’t give up trying to save west virginia and he teaches the student for free. Also he explains very clearly and very kindly.

  2. January 13, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    I like Jamie Oliver Food Revolution Episode 3 Part 3 because I like the way the teenagers work hard to cook food there parents, I know those teenagers are not professional cooks so Jamie is putting them step by step.Jamie is a good teacher because he teaches everyone step by step and if no one doesn’t believe him then that’s the time Jamie will show the proof of situations.

  3. Pimboon
    January 13, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    I liked teh part when theh dudes at the highschool made teh cooking and getting all teh compliments and sharing what they think to the Frankie D’s restaurant. I think I likes this part because I kind of forogt the rest and I also think that the people who ate there wouldnt think that regular highschool students would be able to kick up a great meal, and that when they were sharing about what they think, I think that that really shock up the people there and might change thier course of eating.
    The “shifts” that happened were was that the people who were eating there did probably think that the veggies were no good and that they would never eat it in thier lives, but when they took a taste in the food they ate, they were completley nuts, saying that the food was great, and that might also want them to want more, and when they knew that the students cooked them, that might think like, “Wow, the students cooked this! Even students can cook them! Im going to make some!” etc. etc. They now might think that they should start eating, because of the sharing the highschool kids did too.
    I think all teh students were effected by this expierence, but the one who was effected the most might be Britney, because she was one of the biggest and she did the cooking to healthy foods, that soon, she would be eating, so that would effect her that she made it and she would be eating to help her life last longer than 7 years.
    I think Jamie is a kind of good teacher, because he tells people what to do, but gets them busted when they do something wrong. I think he is very concerned about teh kids cooking and that he has a lot of trust in them. A teacher is supposed to have trust in his/her students, so I guess Jamie did a great job.

  4. Paula
    January 13, 2011 at 4:58 pm

    What was your favorite part of Episode 4?

    My favorite part of Episode 4 was when Jamie’s gang got up in front of the people they cooked for and each said something about themselves.

    Why?

    This was my favorite part by the cause of what the children said really came from their heart and it was a very very special moment for them and the people who were listening to them.

    What shifts in thinking happened?

    A shift in thinking happened when the 80 people listened to the kids perspective. An interchanging thing that caused a shift in thinking was the kids cooking that meal for 80 people it really amazed the guests.

    How?

    The kids saying something from their heart like that caused a shift in thinking because many people didn’t really know the way the teenagers think, some of the parents might have learned a lot about their child during that speech their kid made. The gang cooking a meal for those 80 people caused a shift in thinking considering many people probably thought the same way as Jamie; “Kids can do anything” after the gang cooked so well for such a huge amount of people.

    Which person was most affected by this Experience?

    I think that Britanny was mostly affected by this Experience in view of how she had had her problem for all her life and for others they’re problem happened to occur later in life. Additionally with her weight problem it physically was a much bigger challenge for her and as Jamie said ” 1 hour is like 5 hours for normal people”.

    Is Jamie a good Teacher?

    Yes, Jamie is a very good teacher.

    Why?

    Jamie is a rally good teacher because he knows exactly how to build up a child’s motivation, determination and confidence, which for me is the first and most important step because when that is done everything else comes automatically.

  5. Paul
    January 13, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    My Favorite part was when he told the adults who had cooked the food. I really felt so proud of them and when they where walking out I got goose bumps. They where incredible!
    They show all the adults that this it happening and shifted there thinking. It is now amazing what Jamie is doing he is kind of creating a culture.
    I think Brittany was most effected she has only 7 years to live at this point and all the others wanted to teach people to cook and help but for her it is life or death. If I was in her position I would be terrified!
    Jamie is a great cook and he really knows what he is talking about. He knows what to say and how to say it and he is having a amazing effect on the kids.

  6. 18saeyeono
    January 13, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    I liked episode3 part4 because Jamie’s gangs are telling and showing why are they cooking. I think the shift and thinking is when the gangs came infront of the audiance and tell about their experiances(I am not that sure about it). The most effected person is Ryan because he has never had cooked in his life.
    Jamie is a good teacher because he makes good words to his gang when they cook something and he makes kids do stuffs that they should do.

  7. May
    January 13, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    My favorite parts are when Jamie told who actually cooked the food and when they were working really hard to cook. The reason why I like the when they’re cooking is because they tried things that never done before, they worked really hard (even though the black guy just stayed for 15minutes but he did came back)and I like the part when Jamie told who actually cooked the food because I think that some of their speeches were really sad. I think Britteny was most affected because she are over weight and she only had 7 years to live. Jamie is a great teacher because he really knows how to cook, he cheered them up when they were exhausted and he also call some of the boys brother to make they trust him.

    • May
      January 13, 2011 at 5:30 pm

      I think what the parents thought in the first place was they don’t even think that thier children cooked it but then Jamie told the parents so they believed it.

  8. 18manisha
    January 13, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    I liked the episode 3 part 4 because the students were telling about their feelings about the cooking.

    I think the people who came to eat hated vegetables and after they tasted it they were saying it was excellent food and that’s how i think that caused a shift of thinking.I also think that there was a shift in thinking in the students because maybe they thought they should eat more healthier food.

    I think the student which had a big effect by this experience was Britney because she went to the freezer because she was very badly exausted and also because she wanted to cook healthier food for herself and become thinner.

    Jamie is kind of a good teacher because he was telling them what to do next and asking them if they have done it or not.But sometimes he was just telling bad words to them and i thik that he should just speak a little bit calmly to them so they don’t feel bad or angry.

  9. 18Anirudhv
    January 13, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    My favorite part was when they cooked at the restaurant for many people like there family and some other important people. That is because they did a excellent job at the end of the cooking and people liked there food that the high school kids cooked. I think that the shift in thinking is that kids can do anything like cook at a restaurant and earn money even a young age. I think that Brittney was the most affected in the experience because she is obese and like Jamie said “1 hour is like 5 hours for here”. I think that Jamie is a good teacher because he believes in kids allot and gives kids a chance.

  10. 18gabis
    January 13, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    my favorite part was when all the teen cooks came out and said something
    beacuse it sounded like they had fun and all worked as a team and a family.

    all the kids started thinking of different kind of things to eat to change their life jamie helped all of them like magic.

    britney was most affective because she was the one that wanted to learn the most.

    Jamie is a good teacher beacause he can do thinngs by magic sometimes and teaches them a good lesson.
    Gabi

  11. 18gabis
    January 13, 2011 at 6:11 pm

    In part 4 episode three it said that Britney only has 7 more years to survive that is what made her take action.

  12. Am
    January 13, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    I liked part four a lot better because it was very exciting to know how the food tasted and it got really emotional when the gang talked a bit about themselves. I cried when Brittany talked about herself because it was very emotional and sad that her life is ending very soon and this is her only chance to change before her life is just over. 😦

    The shift in thinking that happenned was that the parents and the senitor were probably supporting them and they belive thay can make a change. The adults and parents were probably influenced to start to think and change by stop eating unhealty food that can kill you because partly the gang inspired all the adults to change and also listen to others and not only listen to themselves. The people who were going to eat the food probably when ‘hmm..whats this?? Weird..But I’ll try it’ so I think they probably thought it was delicious and start to have a self reflection of what they were eating before and now changing their minds.

    The most affected student in my opinion is Brittany because her life is ending soon. She is the biggest in the gang and she really wants to changed. She has learnt how to cook and eat healthy and theres a lot of possibility she can lose that fat and acheive her goal. She learnt about many things and how she could do them for herself in the future.

    Jamie is a fantastic teacher because he want s to change. He belive it possible. He helps people and not only make some people change but the whole community. Hes supportive and aware of people around him and his actions are very useful and wise. Like we talked in class and makes people feel more confident by calling them brother or sweetie etc. He is willing to teach and change and he has the determination so he tries his best and thats what makes a good teacher.

  13. 18Aayushk
    January 13, 2011 at 7:21 pm

    I agree with everyone because my favourite part was when Jamie told all the guests at Franky D’s resturaunt that he did not do the cooking, his gang (The teenagers) cooked the food. Another part that I really liked was when the teenagers gave their speeches about what they think and why they have done the cooking. I liked watching this scene because all the teenagers made very good speeches. It was very interesting and emotional to hear Britney’s speech because she said that the doctor told her that she only has 5-7 years of her life left.

    This experience changed the thinking of both the audience and the teenage cooks.
    It changed the way the teenagers thought about themselves. Now they probably think that they are confident and more capable. They can do anything since they cooked for famous people.
    The Audience probably changed the way they thought about food and what goes in their mouth.

    I think Britney has changed the most because I think now she well be more confident after finding out something she is good at.

    I think Jamie is a very good teacher because he changes the way he talks depending on the person he’s working with. Another good thing about Jamie is he is very encouraging to children who don’t have much confidence.

  14. johan
    January 13, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    Like everyone is saying my favorite part was when the gang of students came out and told the people why they were here and why they did the cooking. I thought that all the speeches were amazing but it was really sad to hear what Britney had to say about her dying in a few years.

    This experience I think changed both the audience and the teenagers about how they though about themselves and what they should do to get a better life. Like Aayush they all probably think they are very confident and they know also think that if I want to make a change I can do it and if I want to do something I can do it.

    I think that Britney was most affected about this experience because she had some problems with her health and weight and that this could be the last chance for her to make a difference. Now she has found something that she likes and is passionat about which also will help her make a difference to her life.

    Jamie is a very good teacher because he encouarges people and make them fell good by talking to them a different way. Jamie also helps the kids build up their confidence to another level.

  15. sebastian
    January 13, 2011 at 7:47 pm

    My favorite part was probably when they were making the food and they were doing really well but I also like the part when he told them who cooked the food. I felt proud of them like Paul said because they actually want to do that and they did a fantastic job.

    I think when Jamie oliver showed who actually cooked it I think the people were really impressed and thought to themselves these kids can cook.

    I think Emily because she was really focused like Jamie said she didn’t let anything distract her and I also thought whitney did because it’s hard for her with her weight issue, so she did quite well.

    I think Jamie is a good teacher because he doesn’t get angry too easily and he is fun to be around, he also doesn’t give up on them too easily.

  16. Sam
    January 13, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    Which part of the episode did you like the most?
    I like the part of the Episode is when the customers figured out that Jamie didn’t cook the dishes but Jamie’s club or gang did. I liked that part though my favorite part was when the gang was telling everybody their emotional speeches about why they were there.

    Why?
    I liked it when the customers found out that it was the teenagers cooking because I think that they didn’t expect it and I was a very good surprise. Especially when Jamie said that some of them have never cook before.
    Though I liked that part my favorite part is when the teenagers told their emotional speeches. I thought Brittany’s speech was really touching. Her mum was crying as well and if I were there I would’ve felt really sorry for her. I think she was being really brave when she said that she might have 7 years to live. Some people wouldn’t be able to do that they would try to hide it.

    What shifts in thinking happened?
    I think that maybe some people in the crowd (the customers) weren’t 100% convinced and maybe after the teenagers’ speeches they were 100% sure that the money they give was really important.
    I think the 80 people might’ve felt something after hearing all the speeches (especially Brittany’s) and that might’ve caused them to think about the food they are putting in there bodies and in their children’s bodies. Like one of the girls said: ‘Nobody deserves having their dad dead.’ I agree wither her, Nobody deserves a relative dying, in my opinion.

    How?
    I think the children’s speeches touched or made the customers realized things and it might’ve shifted their thinking. I think the teenagers’ speeches were really touching, emotional and I think the words they used would’ve changed my thinking if I didn’t support them at first. I don’t think anybody wants to go through they things those teenagers went through.

    Which person was most affected by this Experience?
    I think Brittany was the most affected out of the whole group of kids. She said that she had that weight problem her whole life, I think. Like I said earlier (second paragraph), I think Brittany was being really brave when she talked about her problem in front of everyone. Like Paula said, her weight problem made the challenge an even bigger challenge. Jamie said “I hour is like 5 hours for normal people.”

    Is Jamie a good Teacher?
    I think Jamie is a brilliant teacher, especially when it comes to cooking.

    Why?

    I think Jamie is an excellent teacher because he knows what to say to a teenager that can help them. Like Paula said, “Jamie knows how to build a child’s motivation, determination and confidence.” I think Jamie’s tips really help the children’s cooking.

    • Jin
      January 14, 2011 at 5:05 pm

      Nice comment Samantha. I actually think that Britanny was most affected. Because she only have seven years to live. Just like Jamie said, everyone or anything can C.O.O.K 😀 😀 😀

  17. Yeachan
    January 13, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    I liked the episode 3 part 4 because I liked that when Jamie Oliver told to audience who cooked the dinner. I liked it because the teenagers worked really hard, they cooperated each other and all had a great time.
    I think the most affected by this experience was Brittany because she has only 7 years to live and this cooking was her last chance. Now she learnt serself how to cook and be healthy.
    I think Jamie Oliver is a very good teacher. The reason is he always thinking positive and makes everybody cheer-up. ‘Kids can do anything.’ I liked this sentence the most.

    • 18yeachanh
      January 13, 2011 at 8:57 pm

      sorry not serself, herself

  18. Terrie
    January 13, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    I think I like both two of them, but I like part four more.Because part four talk about the teenager was cooking. I think the “shift and thinking” changed, when the eat the food. I think the most affected by this experience’s student is Ryan, because, he can cook very fast, and done it very clearly. And I also think Jamie is a good teacher, because he is a very patient, and he can teach student step by step. And he will use the language to gave the students energy to continue, like “Hey brother come on” like that. So I think Jamie is a good teacher.

  19. Pin
    January 13, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    I like the part in episode three when they were cooking. I think that Jamie has puted alot of trust in the teenager. I think that the shift happend were was that the people who were eating there think that the vegetable were no good. Then they tried it they loved it, saying that the food was great. I think that he is a good teacher because he uses a good language like (brother) he also putted all his trust in them that is what a teacher should do also he makes people confident and he has the desire to success. 🙂

  20. jon jon
    January 13, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    I love in the bigining the teenager like the helthy food hi said it is difrent but good rellay good

  21. Michael
    January 13, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    I need to comment late because The computer wasnt working

  22. Michael
    January 13, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    I think part 1 because it shows what the kids are doing and how they are doing it. I think jamie oliver Is causing a shift in thinking because he is showing different people how to eat healthy and tried different demonstrations.

  23. Michael
    January 13, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    I think jamie is a good teacher because he encourgages the students to do better.
    I think the student who was most affected by this expereince is the girl who is over weight and could possibly die in seven years because this is her chance to lose weight

  24. Michael
    January 13, 2011 at 9:42 pm

    I made a mistake in my last comment
    I think the student who was most affected by this expereince is the girl who is over weight and could possibly die in seven years. I think this is her chance to lose weight

    • Jin
      January 15, 2011 at 8:31 am

      That is britney

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

