Guest Speaker: Andrew Keen

We were very lucky today.  We had a guest speaker called Andrew Keen, Paul’s uncle. Andrew really chellanged the way many of us think, he may even have “shifted our thinking” a bit.

What did you think of the things he said to you today?

 

Image from http://midemnetblog.typepad.com/midemnet_blog/2010/01/live-post-cult-of-the-amateur-author-andrew-keen-talks-music.html
  1. January 11, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    The things that he said are excellent and fantastic. He says the true always, not lying. He said nice, clear voice so we can hear. He always reminded him by his children.

    • Terrie
      January 11, 2011 at 4:27 pm

      I agree

    • Mr. Sam
      January 11, 2011 at 4:34 pm

      I’m not sure what you mean… can you explain with more detail.

      • 18terried
        January 13, 2011 at 7:12 am

        I agree Odette, because she said ” He says the true always,not lying.” So I agree Odette.

  2. Jin
    January 11, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    I agree with Odette, well spotted!! 😀

    I do think that internet is ruining our culture because if we just use internet and not doing anything, people in the world will just have bad eyes and it will be really bad for them.

    • Pimboon
      January 11, 2011 at 5:10 pm

      I think you mean the opposite, he’s trying to mean that we should leave the internet for sometime and do something else. Not leave everything else and be computer-in-control.

      • Jin
        January 11, 2011 at 7:10 pm

        that’s what I was trying to say but I didn’t have enough time.

      • Jin
        January 11, 2011 at 7:10 pm

        Luckily, I don’t ruin our culture.

        • Mr. Sam
          January 11, 2011 at 8:10 pm

          What do you mean, Jin?

          • Jin
            January 12, 2011 at 5:44 pm

            I mean that I don’t use electronic devices a lot. Because I don’t have any devices except computers.

    • Yeachan
      January 11, 2011 at 6:57 pm

      I partly agree with you, Jin.

      We have to use internet with good way because there is many good and bad information(like wrong informations) so we should control ourselves to go to right way. If we use in bad way, it will make our culture destroyed.

      • Mr. Sam
        January 11, 2011 at 8:11 pm

        Like Andrew says “you nailed it”. Now that the Internet is such a big part of our lives we have to learn how to use it properly.

  3. 18saeyeono
    January 11, 2011 at 4:09 pm

    I think the internet is makingthe the culture disappear and I also thinnk that the internet is making the believe disappear because the people are thinking about internet and care about internet.

    • Mr. Sam
      January 11, 2011 at 8:11 pm

      Can you explain what you mean with more detail?

  4. Anirudh
    January 11, 2011 at 4:23 pm

    The things that Andrew said were really good like I liked “you should never believe in technology”. And that the internet is actually killing our culture and the producers of music, books, etc are not getting there profit that they should earn. And I agree with Jin if we just use the internet all of us have bad eyes. And I agree with Odette.

    • Mr. Sam
      January 11, 2011 at 8:12 pm

      What does “you should never believe in technology” mean?

      • 18Anirudhv
        January 12, 2011 at 6:30 pm

        I think it means when you buy electronics sometimes they don’t work because they are bad quallity

        • 18Anirudhv
          January 12, 2011 at 6:31 pm

          *quality.

    • 18saeyeono
      January 12, 2011 at 3:55 pm

      I mean that now people are in internet then the people will be lazy or not careing about heir cultures or delieves.

  5. Terrie
    January 11, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    I think the things he said today is very good!that’s very powerful and fantastic. Like he talk about internet, he told we what the problem is, and internet to people’sgood way. He talk about very things on the point, that’s very ture and useful. His voice loud, clear and clam.

    • michaelt
      January 11, 2011 at 5:28 pm

      I agree

      • Mr. Sam
        January 11, 2011 at 8:12 pm

        What do you agree with?

    • 18Anirudhv
      January 12, 2011 at 6:33 pm

      I agree with Terrie because he did say powerful and fantastic things.

  6. Paula
    January 11, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    I partly agree with him and i partly disagree with Andrew Keen. I agree that stealing from the internet isn’t good and it could be a sort of crime, but I disagree that the Internet is destroying are culture; in fact I think it’s the opposite it is adding to our culture and it’s normal that things are kind of changing, a lot of things since 100 years ago have also changed and I think that Andrew Keen might be afraid that we will lose nice things that we have got at the moment but new nice things will also come same as how the people 100 years ago let go of things that were nice right now we might not think what they had was as nice as our stuff but who knows maybe the people in 100 years will think that what we have got isn’t as nice as what they get.

    • Am
      January 11, 2011 at 4:53 pm

      Hi Paula, that is actually a good point that it isn’t really destroying the WHOLE culture thing and maybe in further generation it could be the culture. Maybe Andrew is afraid we may lose the nice traditional things. Who knows??

      • Jin
        January 11, 2011 at 7:11 pm

        Well I don’t always depends on Internet. You can use books to help you can’t you?

    • Mr. Sam
      January 11, 2011 at 8:14 pm

      It’s quite hard to read your comment because there’s no punctuation. However, I love what you say about how things always change and that maybe the changes the Internet is causing will turn out to be good things.

  7. Am
    January 11, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    Well today listening to Andrew was really interesting since I use the internet everyday. I agree with him that people download illegal stuff and then people may lose their job and now everything is in ternet, internet, internet. I also really like his reason that to stop this, one person must stop then others will stop. I agree Anirudh that people won’t get enough profit and it’s really killing our culture because some people can get so very addicted to the internet (more than me) and one day say the internet is gone, he may not be able to acces anything and he may dont know what to do. Back to the ‘illegal stuff, I don’t download videos that are illegal because I dont dowload anything! I don’t download my own music and all-my big brother does it and after today I’m starting to feel worried because he goes on the internet everyday and without any proof, he probably think things are illegal things are legal.
    I was really interested in the ‘culture’ definition time because I’ve always thoguht culture was like religion. But now I think it’s like our lifestyle and the way we do things in life and the internet is killing our ordinary life style. I liked the way he talk as in starting from a subject and going deeper into the main ‘internet’ point. He has a really strong opinion and I agree with him. He’s saying that not EVERYONE loses their job and i totally agree because if say a few people download this song which is illegal and it is sold in shops, the person won’t just lose the job. But say all the songs are in the internet and many people download them then the cds are never sold in the shop, the person has a lot of chance to lose the job but he also has that chance that he won’t because maybe some costumers who don’t use the internet may buy them or people who make the right choices and are smart enough but them.

    • Am
      January 11, 2011 at 5:02 pm

      Maybe its not REALLY killing the culture but it could. It could kill it now by saying aq thai persons culture is to dance traditionally everyday but since she just got faccebook or whatever, she may change that and do another work changes her tradition right away. It like exchanging with the internet and something else. With the Cds example, say everyone loads illegal things, then no one buys the cds at all so maybe the shopkeeper thinks hmm, if everyones doing it I’ll do it too so he quits and goes off doing illegal things. It could totally destroy his culture but in the next generations, the cukture could be internet so its a really difficult topic. I still agree but like 50%.

    • Mr. Sam
      January 11, 2011 at 8:24 pm

      It’s hard to read this comment because there’s no paragraphs – just a huge chunk of text. However, I think it’s interesting that so many Year 6 students thought that culture means religion. Why is that?

      • Am
        January 12, 2011 at 4:03 pm

        Well maybe because the way I learnt it, in year 3, 4 or 5 it would always be resepct your culture like your religion so maybe that why. Maybe there are more reasons why but I can’t think of them…:)

  8. May
    January 11, 2011 at 5:30 pm

    I agree with Am. I think what he mean was when we use internet we don’t care about our culture we only care about the internet. I agree with him that is bad to steal things from internet and the person that upload it don’t get anythings so it’s unfair.

    • Am
      January 11, 2011 at 6:00 pm

      Well May you are right but like I said in my posting internet can be culture and I thik it probably will be culture in the future.

  9. Pimboon
    January 11, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    I partly disagree with Andrew and partly agree with him, because the internet isnt totally killing our culture and not to trust the internet. Some people get carried away and do illegal things, and when they do illegal things, like doenload free music instead of buying the CD, the owner loses profits and might lose the job. Then it will kind of effect worldwide. Its keeping us from being social with people so we arent aware at all. But I also disagree with him that we shouldnt trust the internet, because the internet has some information we can trust, like school websites and company websites. We can do all sorts of things without being illegal and if we keep a balance between technology world and social, I think it should be ok. He also spoke very clear, though it confused me abit.

    • Mr. Sam
      January 11, 2011 at 8:28 pm

      I think it is quite scary that, like you say, the Internet might be making people less social.

  10. Paul
    January 11, 2011 at 5:46 pm

    Andrew Keen said that people are stealing and taking stuff off of the internet without paying and he said that it is changing the we think and that people get another life on the internet and sometime use it badly.

    I disagree with my uncle!
    I think that we should not be bullies on the internet but
    I think that we should be allowed to steal and it makes people lives more creative sometimes in a bad way or a good way. It is more interesting and even when you are talking face to face you can say have you watched that music video on youtube. no matter what people will want to be creative there are other reasons just because someone listens to there music for free does not mean they should stop.
    Comment on this if you talk about youtube of or stuff like that.

    • Mr. Sam
      January 11, 2011 at 8:34 pm

      Paul, I really don’t know what you’re trying to say. Can you please try and explain your thoughts more clearly?

  11. Julien
    January 11, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    I think that what he said was something he really believed in, not just something that he had to do for a exhibition or a project. He spoke the truth or at least what he believed, he was confident enough to challenge us at the beginning of his speak by telling us not to be shy and to tell him if you disagree or not. I think he really knew what he was talking, at least confident enough to go all around the world and talking to people.

    • Mr. Sam
      January 11, 2011 at 8:35 pm

      But what did you think about what he was saying?

  12. Pin
    January 11, 2011 at 5:58 pm

    I agree with Andrew I think that many people listen to music on Youtube. download free stuff and making the “Professionals” have no profit. But I partly disagree with him because we use the internet every day and it helps us with Homework and it entertains us every day. I don’t mean you can get so addicted to the internet play 24 hours of computer etc. But you can play it but not to much and don’t get so addicted to it. I don’t think its really destroying our culture.. But in a way it does. It doesn’t really destroy culture because in the future technology might turn to be our culture. But I think he also means the technology can destroy our old national traditional. 🙂

    • Mr. Sam
      January 11, 2011 at 8:36 pm

      So, we should try and be balanced in the way that we use the Internet?

    • pin
      January 12, 2011 at 3:31 pm

      yes I think that we should try to balance it.

    • Pimboon
      January 12, 2011 at 8:20 pm

      Yeah. I agree with you, Pin. We should keep a balance and not play 24 hours per day. We use the internet for our homeworks and our owneducation and entertainment, but not oo much. We dont use free stuff, like download. Well Im not sure about other people, but I dont do it.

  13. 18manisha
    January 11, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    What Andrew said was that the internet is not good because it may make the owner will have an big effect because we just download it for free and not pay for it and so the owner will not get any money for the downloads and i think that is not at all fair for the owner.

  14. sebastian
    January 11, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    I like what Andrew Keen had to say because most of us really like the internet but what he said was true and it made us think. It also made me think when he said ”you can never trust the internet”. The reason he said this was because the internet is full of false data. On the other hand I really like the internet as it is a valuable source of information. I also didn’t understand when he said I like the internet but it is not good and made an argument about it.

    • Mr. Sam
      January 11, 2011 at 8:37 pm

      I think he meant that he likes the Internet and the possibilities that it gives us, but he is concerned about the way it is being used right now.

  15. johan
    January 11, 2011 at 6:11 pm

    What Andrew said was very interesting. I liked it when he said that the people are stealing books, cds, movies etc and that the writers, coreogophers, singers, video makers dont get paid for what they have done. I also agree with Am, that now the internet is quiet a big part of our life most people use it everyday. But if you think about it when Mr. Sam grew up they didn’t have internet and so it wasn’t part of their life. Internet also have a lot of fales information and I am sure that a lot you guys have got false information from the internet and you thought it was true but the ones who didn’t have internet when they grew up didn’t get any false information.

    • Mr. Sam
      January 11, 2011 at 8:42 pm

      Yes, you’re right. It’s easier to get information now, and it is easier to get false information than when I was at school. You all need to remember to get your information from more than one website, don’t trust the first website you find!

  16. 18Aayushk
    January 11, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    Listening to Andrew Keen was very fascinating and interesting for me. He changed the way that I thought. I sort of agree with him that our culture is being detroyed by the internet because many artists and musicians are losing their earnings. One thing I disagree with him is that I think we should sometimes be able to download things on the internet because it’s free and over 2 million people do it and it saves our money. If we stop doing this then only a few people earn money, so the majority saves money using the internet.
    Another reason the 2 million people who use internet have a advantage is because then can learn about culure, art and a variety of other things. An example of this is that if I wanted to learn about German music I can listen to it on the internet for free. Another example of this is when I want to find information about and listen to a singer like Micheal Jackson I can listen to his music for free.

    • Mr. Sam
      January 11, 2011 at 8:44 pm

      Yes, this is a great point – you can learn so much about other cultures by using the Internet.

  17. Jin
    January 11, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    I don’t really like how people are taking other people’s music illegally because then it is not fair for the producer of the music because he doesn’t get paid by the thief. Also I want some websites controlled by professionals because they get paid when they run a website.

    • Mr. Sam
      January 11, 2011 at 8:45 pm

      This is a good idea, perhaps we need more professionals controlling the Internet.

  18. gabi
    January 11, 2011 at 7:15 pm

    I agree and disagree with Andrew.
    Stealing from the internet is a bad thing but it can change by using the same kind of way flikr uses their website.
    I disagree because we have a website where a singer for example puts there song on YouTube and the bad thing is that if one person buys that singer’s CD and uploads their song with out there permission or them knowing it is stealing and giving it away.

    • Mr. Sam
      January 11, 2011 at 8:46 pm

      Can you explain what your idea is about more websites being like Flickr?

  19. michaelt
    January 12, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    I disagree with him because if someone uploads music or a movie to the internet that means that they must have bought the cd from somewhere

  20. jon jon
    January 12, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    I think that was amazing how he kept me interested without a presentation, like what he asked us who has facebook, who has internet connection, and some new words he taught us. I found it interesting how people are steeling on line, and in the future there might not be any music or videos.

    • Anirudh
      January 12, 2011 at 6:40 pm

      I agree with you Jon Jon because he kept me interested in the presentation because mostly everything was fascinating.

  21. 18manisha
    January 12, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    I agree with pin that we should have a limit of time to be on the internet.

  22. 18manisha
    January 12, 2011 at 8:40 pm

    And i also think that we should be more careful about some websites because some websites are not good for us like i have heard that if people go in some websites they get problems with the computer.

  23. Michael
    January 13, 2011 at 9:44 pm

    I think that websites that let people download music for free should give some money tho the people who made the music because millions of people illegaly download music

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

