Home > Art, Classroom, Cool, Design, Feedback > A Little Thinking Provocation

A Little Thinking Provocation

In this image the brighter the spots on the world map are the more facebook is being used in that part of the world, and the lines show which people are in contact with each other and the brighter the lines are the stronger they are in contact with people.

What is the first thing you think when you see this picture?

Why do you think this image was created?

Do you like this image?

Why?

What do you think the message of this image is?

How big of a part do you play in this image?

What wonderings do you have about this image?

Categories: Art, Classroom, Cool, Design, Feedback
  1. Jin
    January 5, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    I think that I see continents and lines that make itself spooky and mysterious. I think that I like this image because it reminds me of something that I forgot a long ago. Maybe I need to spend my time thinking about it….

    I wonder why there are lines in that picture. Because in an airplane I looked at a book and it showed how many various places this plane can go. I also think that there are also water in that picture but it’s murky and too black to see.

    • Paula
      January 6, 2011 at 7:37 pm

      The lines in the picture show who is contacting with each other. For eg. I live in France and you live in Chile and we chat on Facebook then there will be a line from France to Chile.

      The sea does not exist in that picture they left it out and only put land on the image because that is what is important.

      • Jin
        January 7, 2011 at 6:52 am

        Oh, Thank you for the information paula

        • Jin
          January 7, 2011 at 6:56 am

          Oops my bad because I just looked at the picture not the words 😛

      • Terrie
        January 17, 2011 at 12:16 pm

        Think you for the imformation .

  2. Jin
    January 5, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    So if people contact from far away won’t they use websites to chat or use phones to contact each other?

    • 18paulah
      January 8, 2011 at 5:39 pm

      Yes, this picture only consists of all the people contacting over facebook. If this ma would consist of many different websites chats and phones then I am sure the map would look very different.

      And as some of you might notice this map will continue changing because people will start contacting with more people and they might stop contacting with others on facebook; so this image consists of people who were contacting in December 2010. I wonder if we could get images from a different period of time and try to tell the difference.

      • Jin
        January 14, 2011 at 9:07 pm

        what’s a ma paula?

  3. michaelt
    January 6, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    I think the message of this photo is that to many people are using facebook and its causing the web to become slower

    • 18paulah
      January 8, 2011 at 5:41 pm

      I never thought it that way, interisting thinking.

  4. Mr. Sam
    January 10, 2011 at 4:12 pm

    This is a brilliant infographic, Paula. Thanks for sharing it.

    I found it interesting to see which parts of the world Facebook is not being used at all or not very much, and then to think about why that is. For example, Facebook is used a lot in most of Europe, but not that much in Spain. Why is that? Also, look at China, Facebook is not used at all in that country. Do you know why?

    I also found it very interesting that most connections between people in different countries are horizontal!

    • Jin
      January 10, 2011 at 7:07 pm

      Mr. Sam my brother told me why china doesn’t use facebook

      Because there are too many people in China to use (please exclude India) My brother said that the connection might be really slow so they banned facebook in China.

  5. pin
    January 12, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    Like many people in Nist play Facebook. I agree with this infographic…. I’m not sure what the message is…. 🙂

  6. 18terried
    January 17, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    I think this photo mean many people use facebook, even whole world use facebook. his photo show the one country conneting other country, one city conneting other city. Which mean facebook is very powerful.

  7. 18terried
    January 17, 2011 at 12:21 pm

    Why some part of the world can not see? I have no ideal.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

