This week’s homework

This week’s homework is quite simple. On Friday, to celebrate the start of the winter holiday, we are going to have a “banquet”… and you are going to do the cooking!

You need to cook a dish that you love, and that you would like everybody else in 6SS to try. Of course, you can have adult help, but get adults to teach you, not do it for you. The best is to get them to teach you one day, and then make it yourself the next day.

Criteria for the food:

  • Savoury food only – 6GD are preparing dessert
  • Try and cook things that are healthy and rich in vegetables
  • Think about how your fo0d is presented – make it look good as well as taste good
  • Don’t be too ambitious, simple food is often the most delicious
  • Don’t cook too much, just enough for each person to try
  • Make something that is easy to warm up, or doesn’t need to be warmed up

Make a comment to tell us what you are thinking about cooking and why…

  1. gabi
    December 13, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    what king of english food is there

    fish and chips…………….

    Any thing else??

    • Mr. Sam
      December 14, 2010 at 6:56 pm

      Roast Beef, mashed potatoes! Maybe stick to Thai food, much more tasty.

  2. Julien
    December 13, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    I dunno Gabi but i think that there should be at least one person who should bring some cutlery or stuff so it’ll make life easier.

  3. Julien
    December 13, 2010 at 5:40 pm

    or maybe we can borrow cutlery from the staff room instead of buying 24 plates forks etc.

    • Mr. Sam
      December 14, 2010 at 6:57 pm

      Good thinking.

  4. Jin
    December 13, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    I think that I will bring shrimp fry because it is very simple to cook and it needs to be warmed up 😀

  5. Jin
    December 13, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    SORRY fried shrimp 😛

    • Mr. Sam
      December 14, 2010 at 6:57 pm

      That sounds good, is it Korean?

      • Jin
        December 14, 2010 at 7:44 pm

        Not quite I don’t really know the country of it.

        • Jin
          December 14, 2010 at 7:46 pm

          Maybe it’s public!!!

      • Jin
        December 14, 2010 at 7:47 pm

        Mr. SaM WHAT TIME does the party start at? Because I just wanna know it.

      • Jin
        December 14, 2010 at 7:48 pm

        I think that it is part Japanese part anything because I typed it in Google Images and the skin of the tempura is thick and the skin of the fried shrimp is crispy.

  6. Pin
    December 13, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    I’m gonna bring a vietnam food that is “Ngaem Ngerng” pronounced: Naam Nuang..
    I really like it its simple and I think that it is quite new for some people 😀
    Its also really common in Thailand not only vietnam!

    • Mr. Sam
      December 14, 2010 at 6:58 pm

      That would be great. Do you know how to cook it?

  7. Sam
    December 13, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    Mr. Sam,
    I know that this blog posting is named ‘This week’s homework’. Does this mean that this is the only piece of homework to do for the whole week or will we also get other homework?

    Sam

  8. 18manisha
    December 13, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    Ya this is only one piece of homework for the whole week.

  9. 18manisha
    December 13, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    I am going to bring a english food which is very delicious.And you don’t need to warm it.It is also very easy to make.It is made out of small pieces of bread.First you need to dee-fry it and then put small piece of celery or lettuce and put some sauces which you like. I think it is a bit healthy.

    • Mr. Sam
      December 14, 2010 at 6:59 pm

      Sounds very tasty… are you sure it is English?

  10. December 13, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    I am going to bring carbonara which is delicious. It is a little bit hard but my parents is gonna do it with me not doing it for me.It will be very yummy in your tummy.

    • Pin
      December 14, 2010 at 2:09 pm

      Cabonara isn’t really healthy but its yummy! :O

    • Mr. Sam
      December 14, 2010 at 6:59 pm

      I love Carbonara. It’s quite difficult though because you have to put the hot pasta into the eggs very quickly.

  11. 18Terrie
    December 13, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    I’m not sure what can I take. Maybe china has many cutlery food, but more of food need warm……

    • Mr. Sam
      December 14, 2010 at 7:00 pm

      We can warm the food up, Terrie.

  12. 18saeyeono
    December 14, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    I think my mom said to make duk-bok-gee it is yummy spicy Korean food.

    • Mr. Sam
      December 14, 2010 at 7:00 pm

      Can you cook it?

      • 18saeyeono
        December 15, 2010 at 6:59 pm

        I can make a bread pizza but I can’t cook this with out an adults help.

  13. michaelt
    December 14, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    My mom sugests I should bring sticky rice with chicken

    • Mr. Sam
      December 14, 2010 at 7:01 pm

      Can you cook that at home?

      • michaelt
        December 15, 2010 at 4:17 pm

        can I bring grilled pork?

  14. michealt
    December 15, 2010 at 8:15 am

    I’m afraid not.

    • michaelt
      December 16, 2010 at 4:05 pm

      I didnt write that

      I can make it at home

  15. Cassie
    December 15, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    This all sounds so delicious. Wonder who you are going to invite? 🙂

  16. Aayushk
    December 15, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    I am thinking of bringing pasta because I know how to make it and it taste good. I also think that it is good to make pasta because you don’t need to warm it.
    I was thinking of making somosa (a indian course) but my mom said it takes a very very long time to make it.

  17. Sam
    December 15, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    I’m not so sure yet but I am planning to bring Tortillas. I am pretty sure that this is Mexican.

    Why?

    I want to bring this because:
    – I think it is a savory food
    – It is healthy/is rich in vegetables
    – Almost all the people I know like it (such as myself)
    – It isn’t so hard to make (it is pretty simple), so I can make it by myself
    – It can be warmed up easily at school

    Another one of the reasons is because Sebi isn’t allergic to any of the ingredients used. If you don’t know what ‘Tortillas’ are than it is pretty simple to explain. It is just vegetables wrapped in a special Mexican thin bread thing. I am pretty sure you will like it. Here is a link to a photo I found of it- I hope the link works: http://www.iskandals.com/edx/wp-content/uploads/2009/02/iskandals-tortillas.jpg

    Sam

    • Sam
      December 16, 2010 at 3:16 pm

      The Tortillas actually have CHEESE so Sebi is allergic to it but I can make one without cheese- or am I not allowed to put cheese at all?

  18. Am
    December 15, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    Apologies that this is late but I’m going to bring fried pork collar and sticky rice. It’s a thai food and it’s realy tasty. I am going to cook it by preparing the meat and mixing it with this sauce and then frying it friday morning. I want to make this because I like it a lot and my maid knows it really well and she is going to help me. 🙂

  19. Johan
    December 16, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    I am going to bring pankake baked in the oven with bacon. We eat this quiet a lot in Sweden and my mum teached me how to cook it a long time ago. It is simple and it’s best if you warm it up becuase then it tases much better.

  20. Yeachan
    December 16, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    I am gong to bring bear and rabbit-shaped gimbob, which can make easily and quite simple.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

