Home > How we express ourselves, Kanchanaburi, Writing > Homework: Bring some “real-world” examples

Homework: Bring some “real-world” examples

Find some real-world examples of the kind of writing you have chosen to do and bring them to school.

So, if you are writing a review then you need to find some examples of real reviews and bring them to school. We will use the examples to learn about the features of different types of writing.

You could bring some books, newspapers, magazines, print-outs, leaflets, brochures etc…

Make a comment on here to tell us what examples you will bring tomorrow and where you found them.

  1. November 29, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    The examples are in a bag. There are:
    Juice
    Boat
    Comics
    Different types of Flowers
    Different types of Dogs

    I found them in my 2 year old newspaper cabinet.

  2. 18manisha
    November 29, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    I tried to find some good recipes in the magazines and my mom’s but i couldn’t find so i thought searching the internet will be a good idea so These are some recipes which has a good layout,design and picture that i have found in the internet:

    http://swishycoat.com/blog/

    http://www.blog.whimsyflavor.com/tag/recipe-box/

  3. 18manisha
    November 29, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    I have found these pictures in google.

    • Mr. Sam
      November 29, 2010 at 7:59 pm

      Found what pictures?

  4. Jin
    November 29, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    I will try to find other classes’ good blogs for example and print them out. 😀 😛 😉

  5. 18samantha
    November 29, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    I am going to make a recipe or if I have time a recipe book.
    I looked through my moms cookbook shelf and I searched the internet. I am going to bring:
    – 500 soups (cookbook)
    – Muffin bible (cookbook)
    – Super Salads (cookbook)
    – A BBQ recipe template
    – Fabulous French Toast Recipe (from the internet)

    I am bringing 3 cookbooks. This is because they have different layouts and little parts that I might want to use in my recipe or recipe book.

    • Mr. Sam
      November 29, 2010 at 8:00 pm

      This sounds good, I look forward to reading them with you – although it might make us very hungry!

  6. 18Terrie
    November 29, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    I finding some picture on internet.

    • Mr. Sam
      November 29, 2010 at 8:01 pm

      Some pictures of what?

  7. 18gabis
    November 29, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    i got a sample from the internet but i came out small but you can still see it..

    can we try making oyur own?
    gabi

    • Mr. Sam
      November 29, 2010 at 8:01 pm

      A sample of what?

  8. 18gabis
    November 29, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    there was a really good example in calss that was about plants.

    • Mr. Sam
      November 29, 2010 at 8:02 pm

      A good example of what?

  9. 18gabis
    November 29, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    i also have a good book called picture atlas.

  10. Yeachan
    November 29, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    I found some pictures in some newspaper and magazines.

    • Mr. Sam
      November 29, 2010 at 8:03 pm

      Pictures of what?

      • 18yeachanh
        November 29, 2010 at 8:12 pm

        Pictures of first-aid and CPR.

    • Yeachan
      November 29, 2010 at 8:05 pm

      Also I searched the Internet.

  11. May
    November 29, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    I am going to bring some print outs about how can we write a good story and I’m going to bring a print out of how to write a good summary.

  12. 18shikhark
    November 29, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    I followed the instructions to make a paper airplane and successfully made it.

  13. Johan
    November 29, 2010 at 6:50 pm

    I am doing blog postings and like Jin said I have also looked at other class blogs and printed the pages out.

  14. Aayushk
    November 29, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    I found some instructions examples on the internet such as how to use twitter and how to make plants grow well.
    I also found a very good book which has hundreds of examples. This book is called “Living Wild” by a famous Author named Bear Grylls. Bear Grylls is a UK Chief Scout and Star of the TV show Man vs Wild.

    • Mr. Sam
      November 29, 2010 at 8:04 pm

      The book sounds good, are you going ot bring it in?

  15. sebastian
    November 29, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    I am doing blog postings and I have looked at other classes blogs and I checked BBC.

    • Mr. Sam
      November 29, 2010 at 8:05 pm

      What did you find on the BBC website?

  16. jonjon
    November 29, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    me and my dad found a cook book called better home and gardens NEW COOK BOOK it has meny great examples of recipes this is a great book because it has pictures whot you need and how to make it.

    • Mr. Sam
      November 29, 2010 at 8:05 pm

      That sounds good, Jon.

  17. Pimboon
    November 29, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    I am going to bring a print out sheet of a instruction piece of writing about how to develop/create a website. I got the writing on the internet searching by Google, because I didnt kind any in newspapers. 😦

    • Pimboon
      November 29, 2010 at 7:52 pm

      Find sorry, not kind.

  18. Am
    November 29, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    I am working on reviews today and I just got some reviews from the internet about a hotel in Phuket and they were just printed. I didn’t get a review from the newspaper from I couldn’t find one and I was sitting there reading briefly for about half an hour. I will try to find a few more reviews if possible.

  19. 18Anirudhv
    November 29, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    I am going to try to write a guide so I found from home: Road Map of India, Guide to the Genting (Malaysia) Theme Park and Australian national Maritime Museum. It would be fun to share with everyone.

  20. Pin
    November 29, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    I am working on reviews. I got some reviews about hotels in Chiang Mai and some other places. I didn’t get a review because I couldn’t find one.

  21. 18saeyeono
    November 29, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    I also going to bring how to guide in a print out. I just founded these things: How to teach adults, How to manage students despperation. ( I think this might help to guid)

  22. 18michaelt
    November 30, 2010 at 11:22 am

    Mr. Sam I wasnt here today or yesterday so can you please explain to me what we are doing?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

