Homework – Expert Groups

Thursday, you will become experts in different areas of camping and surviving in the wild! It is important that you choose to do something that suits your personality and is something you would be interested in and good at. Read the choices, think, talk to someone and then make a comment to tell us your choice and explain why you chose it. People who choose “Big Picture and Camp Layout” will need to be good leaders, so really think carefully about that one:

Shelter Building

Water Purification & Hygiene

Cooking

Orienteering and GPS

Fire building & Safety

Safety, First Aid and Risk Assessment

Camp Layout and Big Picture

  1. Paula
    November 11, 2010 at 3:30 pm

    I have chosen to do cooking because it is something which I have passion for and it brings back old experiences, I would also like to do this because it matches my personality and I will be able to use a lot later on during life.

  2. 18Terrie
    November 11, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    I think I can be cooking. Because one of my hobby is cooking, and some time I cook dinner to my family. And I help my mother to cook meal, and prepare vagetables and things we eat in the meal.So I think I can chose cooking.
    (I talk with my mother)

  3. SHIKHAR
    November 11, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    I have chosen to do ‘shelter building’ because I want to know how to build shelter if I am lost or something and I really want to know what type of things we are going to use. Shelter building also matches my personality I am pretty happy to do these type of tasks.

    🙂

  4. michaelt
    November 11, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    I would choose shelter building because I read a book called my side of the mountain and the far side of the mountain and the main character relies on shelter building allot and the book also teaches us how to survive in the wild. I choose this because if I get lost I can find materials to build a shelter and how to build one.

  5. 18manisha
    November 11, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    My mom and i decided cooking because i am experienced and i help my mom sometimes when some guests come.I also love to cook and i am intrested to learn more about cooking.

  6. Pimboon
    November 11, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    I think I would choose Shelter Building because I really want to know how to build a shelter so then when I get lost or doing some challendges/adventures I would beable to build one and have a nice place/thing to cover me. I like to do these kind of types of things because it just feels right for me and its sort of my personality.

  7. Jin
    November 11, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    I wouldn’t be too bad on shelter building…

    I think that mine is also cooking because I like to cook because it is fun and you can enjoy it very much. But I am a total amateur in cooking course menus and I only know how to do simple dishes :))

  8. Am
    November 11, 2010 at 4:43 pm

    I would like to do Water Purification and Hygiene because to be honest, I am a hygiene person at times. I do like to have fun and play in sand but I don’t like having mud on my hair and stuff. I like to take care of myself and be clean because it can be important to our lives and its just part of my personality. I was interested in water Purification because I would like to know what we are going to do and it seems like we are going to see how pure the water is and all that and I really want to know how pure the water is in Kanchanaburi but if its’s something else I won’t mind because it sounds interesting to me. I think that I will be good at those 2 because I am a hygienic person and I am used to being clean all for the water I think we are going to learn about the pureness and all and it could relate to cleanliness and I think Ishould be good at it.

    • Pimboon
      November 11, 2010 at 5:17 pm

      Youre not hygiene at times. Youre always hygiene.

  9. ken
    November 11, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    I want to be in cooking but I help my mom cook the side dishes around everyday so i choosing shelter building. Because I liked to build houses with boxes so maybe shelter building will take back my memories

  10. sebastian
    November 11, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    I have chosen Safety, First Aid and Risk Assessment because I enjoy it and me and my mum said this will be the best one for me because I am determined and I am experience. I think I will be quiet bad at the rest of the thing’s because I have tried and I failed.

  11. May
    November 11, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    I think I would like to do ‘Shelter Building’ because I like challenges and I never build a shelter before. I also think that if I know how to make a Shelter when I go out to camp with my family or ect. I can also teach my parents how to build.

    • Pin
      November 11, 2010 at 6:14 pm

      I thought that u have to be good at it…

  12. Paul
    November 11, 2010 at 5:27 pm

    I will choose Camp layout and big picture
    because when i am in a group i always kind of act like the leader
    and i think it will be very fun.

  13. November 11, 2010 at 6:08 pm

    I chose fire building and fire safety because I like to play with fire but I want to play with it while being safe and not burning myself. I think this one is good for me because I like taking risks and fire building could burn you. I also think that it is right for me because I really like this and I will be interested in making fire which will help me concentrate more and pay attention to make sure I don’t burn myself.

  14. gabi
    November 11, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    i dont get this can someone please explain??

  15. 18aayushk
    November 11, 2010 at 6:27 pm

    I have chosen “Camp Layout and Big Picture” because I am used to being a leader and I really want to know how things are organized in camp. I chose between
    “Fire building & Safety” and “Camp Layout and Big Picture” but at the end of that debate I chose “Camp Layout and Big Picture”. I think this will be an opportunity to develop my organization , manegment and leadership skills. Also I am excited to work with other children and adults.

  16. jonjon
    November 11, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    I would choose cooking beause im not quite sure how to do the other activites but I have done cooking before and I pretty good at it

    • Mr. Sam
      November 11, 2010 at 7:39 pm

      Hi Jon,

      Sorry, cooking is full now. What is your second choice?

  17. jonjon
    November 11, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    hey gabi it is like you read your options and pick wich option you want to do and explan why

  18. jonjon
    November 11, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    I think

  19. Pin
    November 11, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    I think that I should do shelter building because I like challenges and I want to try out this. I like to do challenges because I feel quite good when I finish it. 😀

  20. Johan
    November 11, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    I chose fire buliding & safety because in Sweden why hike a lot in the forests and when I do that next time we go hiking and we bulid a fire then I will have more experience and knowledge about how to start a fire in the forest. It is also good to know more about safety in the nature.

  21. Johan
    November 11, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    sorry for my mistakes in the writing you can probably figure out what it is supposed to say. 🙂

  22. November 11, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    I chose Safety, First Aid and Risk Assessment because it’s a challenge for me and I like new challenges not old challenges.

  23. ninestien
    November 11, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    I choose Water Purification and Hygiene because i wasnt to know how do water pure looks like and i want to know in Kanchanaburi will pure water be clean because there is a news of flood everywhere will it be in Kanchanaburi so i want to know will it be clean or not. For Hygiene i have been kind of a dirty person quiat offten i want to keep myself clean that is why i choose Hygiene.

  24. ninestien
    November 11, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    Mr.Sam is Water Purification and Hygiene free because i really want to do it please not full.

    • Mr. Sam
      November 11, 2010 at 8:02 pm

      Hi Nine – yes it’s free! You’re in it.

  25. ninestien
    November 11, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    by the way this homework is for expert group which i am not in expert group.

    • Mr. Sam
      November 11, 2010 at 8:31 pm

      You are now!

  26. 18Anirudhv
    November 11, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    I think I would like to try “Safety, First Aid and Risk Assessment” OR “Water Purification & Hygiene”. Safety because that is very important especially when we are away from home. Its important to have clean water to stay healthy. So looking forward to the camp!!

    • Mr. Sam
      November 11, 2010 at 8:30 pm

      Which one do you want?

  27. 18saeyeono
    November 11, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    I think I would try shelter building because i have so many surviving books. And i want to make my self more chellenging.

    • Mr. Sam
      November 11, 2010 at 9:54 pm

      Hi SaeYeon… I’m really sorry, Shelter Building is full now.

  28. Yeachan
    November 11, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    I have chosen “Safety, First Aid and Risk Assessment” because I’m intrested in take care of people and FIRST AID.I think first aid is important because first aid can save people.

  29. Sam
    November 12, 2010 at 6:14 am

    I would’ve chosen ‘Cooking’ but I read that it is full now so my second choice is ‘Fire building & Safety’. The reason I chose this is because I am interested in building fires and I think I don’t know much about fire safety so I would really like to learn it. This doesn’t really suit my personality but I want to do something different for once.
    My other choice would be ‘Water Purification & Hygiene’. This is because I am pretty hygienic so I might be good at this activity. Another reason why I would like to do this is because I would like to know more about water purification since I am not such a expert at it.
    If both of those activities are full I would chose ‘Safety, First Aid and Risk Assessment’ because I would like to know what to do if somebody, or I was really hurt. I also would like to know more about safety because I want to know what is safe and what is not when I am in a big situation.
    If all of the above are full (which is unlikely) then I would chose ‘Orienteering and GPS’. This is because I am not so confident with using GPS’s and/or a compass. I think this might come in handy in the future.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

