Session with Ms. Ashley

We watched this video first and then discussed the issues that it brings up. We talked about how our behaviour can sometimes change when we are in groups and that we can be influenced by our friends in positive and negative ways.

Then we watched a really excellent presentation by a guy called Trevor Romain – what was the main thing you learned from Trevor?

At the end of the session, some of you said how much you enjoy your conversations with Ms. Ashley. Why are these conversations so special?

  1. Jin
    November 3, 2010 at 3:50 pm

    I think that the girls are too mean and cruel to that girl who is alone. If I am treated like that, I would go straight to a teacher and tell the incident and the girls would be suspended

    • 18michaelt
      November 3, 2010 at 5:19 pm

      I would also do that but I think the girls should only get in trouble a little bit with their parents and then be warned that they wont do it again or else they will be in big trouble.

    • 18paulah
      November 4, 2010 at 5:23 pm

      I think Jin it would be better that if you were in that situation you just say something powerful back and stand up for yourself I think a big reason for doing what they did was because one or two or maybe even all three of them were under peer pressure and they wanted to feel big and cool and be popular but actually they showed the opposite.

      • Jin
        November 4, 2010 at 7:48 pm

        I agree
        Thank you Paula for giving me a good thought back. I didn’t even think of that.

  2. Terrie
    November 4, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    I think that three girl is rude, because the people can’t really hurt the people, that rude.
    I think the three girl isn’t hurt that girl; they hurt the world.

    • 18paulah
      November 4, 2010 at 5:20 pm

      I think that what you just said is very powerful and I really agree. Those three girls are embarrassing their parents guardians counsellors teachers and whoever teaches them manners. Most of all they embarrassed themselves. they showed lack of respect.

  3. Johan
    November 4, 2010 at 7:05 pm

    WOW that is a very good example of how words really hurt people. There is no pointt of saying those kinds of stuff because you will just get in trouble.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

