Who we are

This is the central idea of our next unit:

“The changes and challenges we face as we grow help us to understand who we are.”

We will be looking at this central idea using the concepts of function, change and responsibility.

These are the lines of inquiry:

  • Physical and emotional changes during puberty
  • Coping with challenges
  • Changes in responsibility

Discuss all of this with some people at home, such as parents and older brothers and sisters, and then make a comment to answer these questions:

  1. What do you think this unit will be about?
  2. What do you think it should be about?
  3. What do you think it should not be about?
Image from yankodesign.com
  1. 18saeyeono
    October 11, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    I think it will be about how can we grow up and be like adultes.
    i think it should be about who we are.
    I think it is not about organization and i think we are going to learn how we are going to grow.

    ( I dont get what should i write but i did my best.)

  2. Aayushk
    October 11, 2010 at 6:08 pm

    I think this unit will be about physical and mental changes that occur as we grow up. If we know what to expect in the next few years the changes won’t surprise us.

    I think that it should be about finding out what your strengths and weaknesses are and appreciating yourself for who you are. Also it should be about being more responsible and independent, accepting the changes ahead as we grow.

    I don’t think it should be about organization because we just did that unit.

    • Terrie
      October 22, 2010 at 12:10 pm

      Yes, Aayush I think so.I agree with you.

  3. shikhar
    October 11, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    I think this unit will be about how our bodies change at puberty. I have seen changes in boys voices and getting beards and mustaches that happen during teenage. I really think that is what it should be about.

  4. Jin
    October 11, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    You’re right.

    Yet I heard from older kids that they do Who We Are at almost the end of Year 6. Just like Shikhar said, we learn puberty and I don’t want to learn it because it tells you that you get hairs and furs and I think that it is pretty nasty.

  5. gabi
    October 11, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    I think this unit will be about changes to our body and phisical changes that are normal and not funny whenever Mr. sam says changes to our body most people laugh but i dont really think it is funny.

    i think that this unit should be as normal as other units but i also think that finding out what we are good at and what we bad at ( to see our strengths)

    This unit should not be about learning how to not laugh at the word puberty and organization because we should already be good at that.

    Gabi

  6. 18anirudhv
    October 11, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    I think that it will be about how our bodies will change and how our thinking will change.

    It should be about what will happen to us when we grow up.

    It should not be about what we have already learnt.

  7. Jin
    October 11, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    To be writing very seriously

    I think that about the puberty, I know that your voice will change because of the puberty. When I callled my older cousin and when he answered, he seemed like an adult. Even though he’s the same age as my brother does and my brother’s voice is not that weird. Another example that I have for the guy who’s passing puberty is _______ in Year 6. Because at first when he came to Year 5, his voice was so manly I’d have thought he was supposed to be in Year 7 along with my brother. To be honest with you, I don’t want to get through puberty because I don’t want to get pimples (But I have to reluctantly)and I don’t want hairs to grow. Even though I just only want a little hair to keep myself warm. I think that this unit of WHO WE ARE should be about how we change into teenagers. In our WL (Korean) Several kids have pimples but their voices aren’t that like teenagers. I feel sorry for those guys. Because they’re just like my brother (my brother is more humilating) because as you know his face is covered with pimples and my father calls him bad names. Such as sandpaper. I don’t really knows what it means but I think it’s really bad for my brother to feel it. Because my dad laughs when my brothers makes a face. I think this unit should not be about growing hairs because the other day when I was in Year 5, I saw Arne with this book so I asked him what it was, and he said that Mr. Sam had lent it to him, and I looked inside, and there was a cycle of how fur grows out of man’s penis (Sorry Mr. Sam I can’t help it) It was too disgusting to watch and I don’t want to learn gross and disgusting lessons. But if I have to,l I have to.

    • michaelt
      October 12, 2010 at 3:54 pm

      Yeah I agree jin but I think we should learn it in a way where we dont laugh.

    • Mr. Sam
      October 12, 2010 at 7:49 pm

      Hmmm… I’m not sure that there was any fur growing out of a man’s penis, Jin! You may need to do some research so that you don’t think that really happens!

      I don’t really think you should mention any names of people who are going through puberty, so I removed that name… OK?

  8. Pimboon
    October 12, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    I talked to my tutor because she was he only one there but also because she is also a girl and I decided and she could give me real examples and help me understand. To me I think that this unit will be about how we change in emotions, phisical changes and behaviour. When we grow up our body changes and we should be aware of that otherwise we won’t know what to do. I think I will be about behaviour because we will/could act differently as we get older and that leads ino emotions and our actions of what we do. My tutor said that this unit will be about changes and how we grow. She said that we should learn it in the right way so we know what to do as we get older.
    I think that this unit should be about learning about changes and learning about the future because we need to know how to handle the changes later on. The changes are physical changes, emotional changes and beheviour changes (like I said above). I think that we should be serious and learn about out bodies and how they develop and how we should feel about it. We shouldn’t just not learn about it and instead we should learn how to change and handle physical changes to be able to face the world. Physical changes also leads to emotions and how we feel about ourselves which leads to how we act. We might feel uncomfortable and not say about anything that just changed to us but that is not right so we should really learn about the right things to do.
    To me I think that we shouldn’t learn about the negative stuff like not telling your parents what happened o you and how you have changed. I think that we shouldn’t learn how to act in the negative way and handle it badly. My tutor also thinks the same as me that we shouldnt learn how to handle changes in a negative way because we should know how to handle it correctly and be ready to face the world.

    • Am
      October 12, 2010 at 4:58 pm

      Oh sorry that is me Am not Pimboon. She used this computer and I forgot to chnge the username! Sorry!!

    • Mr. Sam
      October 12, 2010 at 7:43 pm

      Wow, Am, you have had a fantastic conversation with your tutor and done an amazing job of typing up your comment. It would be very interesting to inquire about the behaviour changes that people go through as a result of puberty and what causes them.

      • Pin
        October 13, 2010 at 6:54 pm

        Its am Mr sam 🙂

  9. sebastian
    October 12, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    I talked to my mum about this unit. It is about changes that happen to your body. The time that it starts depends on the jeans mostly. If your parents started puberty early then there is a chance that you will start early too. I think it should be about puberty and sex because this is the age when we need to learn about theses things so we know when we get older and so we are not frighten or worried about theses things because if you don’t know u could get scared when theses thing happen to you. I think we should not learn about are very sensitive parts in our body.

    • Mr. Sam
      October 12, 2010 at 7:40 pm

      The information about our genes (not jeans!) is interesting, I didn’t know that.

      What do you mean by “our very sensitive parts in our body”?

  10. ken
    October 12, 2010 at 6:06 pm

    I think this unit will be about how we change while growing up. I think this unit should be about looking at positive ways of growing up and coping with challenges. I think this unit should not be about looking at negative ways of growing up.

    (This was my sister May year 8 secondary)

    • Mr. Sam
      October 12, 2010 at 7:36 pm

      Nice thinking, Ken. Can you explain a little bit more about what you mean by positive and negative ways of growing up? I’m not sure what you mean.

  11. May
    October 12, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    These are the things that I discuss with my mom:
    We think this unit will be about puberty and the physical changes we go through. And also it will be about how puberty effect our emotional changes. We think it should be about how our body changes and how we should behave during these changes. We will learn what to expect and understand what will come so that we will not be SHOCKED!!! My mom said it should not be about relationships.

    • Mr. Sam
      October 12, 2010 at 7:35 pm

      You’re right, May, we will talk a lot about puberty and the physical changes you will go through and that some people are already going through. Many of you don’t know that these changes sometimes affect your emotions too, so we’ll learn about that also. I agree with your Mum, relationships are not really that relevant to you guys at the moment so we are not likely to talk much about that.

  12. 18paulk
    October 12, 2010 at 6:27 pm

    I talked to my dad about this. he said it will be about changes our body make when we are older. Also respecting boys and girls puberty over the next years.
    He thinks it is really important we know about this and be ready. He said that he remember that he learned about it when he was a kid, he thinks it is really important to learn about it now. When I asked my dad he told me the most important steps of puberty, some people are going through now.
    My dad said it should not be about Hiding stuff or being shy about things you are worried about.
    I think this is going to be a very personal unit. we will learn lots from it.

    • Mr. Sam
      October 12, 2010 at 7:32 pm

      I really like what your Dad said about not hiding stuff. Teachers need to be prepared to talk about the things that students want to know about. Of course, many of you will be shy about things and we will try to make you feel as comfortable as possible to help you overcome that.

  13. 18manisha
    October 12, 2010 at 6:43 pm

    I think this unit is about responsibility and facing challenges. I think this unit should be about getting to know more about other people and more about you.I think this unit should not be about organizing things because it will be simlar to the the unit we are doing right now.

    • Mr. Sam
      October 12, 2010 at 7:31 pm

      What kind of challenges do you think we’ll be looking at, Manisha?

  14. Yeachan
    October 12, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    I’m not sure,but I can feel some changes(emotionally). I hope the emotion and physical grown up together like the 3 flowerpots.
    If physical and emotion are uncooperative, we could get unharmonious.
    Through this unit, I want to know who we are and what kind of change will comes to me.

    I think this unit will be about as we grown up, it will come many changes(physical & emotions).

    I think this unit should be about time of change would help us, We can go through puberty.

  15. Pin
    October 13, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    I’m not really sure what we should learn in this unit, I think that we should learn about how to grow up and how our changes have a effect to our lives. I asked Prae and she said that we should learn about our lives and growing up. I also think that we will learn about our body and us growing. I don’t think that it should be about looking at ourselves in a negative way and we should handle it properly

  16. Johan
    October 13, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    I talked to my dad about this.

    I think this unit will be about us growing up and becoming more like adults. How the body and our feelings are changing (physical & emotionally).

    My dad told me that sometimes when you get older your hobbies can change and for some the temper varies more. He also told me that when he went in to puberty he could get angry at his parents for no real reason. It could sometimes be hard to be in between child and adult. When he was in that age he also got more intrested in girls. My dad also thinks that it’s important to ask all the questions you have regarding growing up and also discuss it a lot at home.

    I think this unit should be about our changes in our body and feelings so that we know what we can expect and handle it better.

  17. 18michaelt
    October 14, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    I think this unit should be about what changes we face when we grow up (puberty). I think we should learn this because this will happen to all of us. If we learn this then we wont be surprised if this happens to us. I dont think we should focus about reproduction to much because I think we should learn that when we are older.

  18. 18julienn
    October 14, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    1.About how to prepare yourself for secondary school and also preparing yourself to face and challenge puberty and having responsibility for the laptops and to take care of them and make sure they don’t get damaged. Also facing classes and teachers because there are really good subjects for you and really bad subjects for you, really good teachers and really bad teachers to you.
    2. I think it should be about how you face puberty and how you will cope with the bad subjects and the good subjects for you as well as with the good teachers for you and the bad teachers.
    3. I think it should not be about how you cope with certain teachers because that could cause you problems with the teachers because he or she would know that you think their a bad teacher so they might not be as nice.

  19. October 14, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    I talked about this with my dad.

    It will be about persons. We will be talking where we came from, how do we exist and where do we go. Also it will be about how do we do things and how we solve problems. It will be about how do we deal our daily lives. It will be about cultures and traditions. I think it shouldn’t be about the earth itself.

  20. Sam
    October 14, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    I talked about this with my sisters and my brother.
    I think this unit is going to be about the changes in our body and about things that happen during puberty.
    I think this unit should tell us at least some information about what happens during puberty since we are now in year 6 and we will be going through puberty soon.
    I’m not really sure about what this unit should not be about.

  21. Pimboon
    October 14, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    I think its about us growing up into Who We Are, so then from we were a toddler, into a boy/girl and then into a teenager and then a adult and see the changes and how we changes our personalities and likes, so thats how the community works and then its Who We Are! And then when people cahnge the puberties will change by our reactions. I think that it would and should be about the community and how they are and Who We Are can make a change to the things I dont know about the inquiry… its like a who we are thing and how we express oursleves into the community and puberty…

  22. January 15, 2011 at 8:06 am

    N.I.S.T must give awards to new line of thought provokers:
    New discovery submitted to Royal astronomical society:
    Very the Reversible pole flow dynamics Quasi natured Nebula will be found out: This must be an intermediate evolution of a neutron star having reversible pole dynamics in between matter and antimatter flow will be initiating a new propulsion systems. The possible pole reversal and fast mass flow must be available at some other region which requires a tracking as fluid flow dynamics with reference to combination of Bernoulli z dynamical high pressure to low pressure, low velocity to high velocity reversals and middle breaking points contribute a very fast wormhole dynamics still to b found out. The z dynamics twisters and breaking point as comparable Bermuda dynamics of bosons is as well applicable to fermion-boson quasi-particles and such merger will reveal the new propulsion system says Sankaravelayudhan Nandakumar ,project coordinator Cape Renewable research center. Such a “H” dynamics is observed in Uranus boundary as comparator. The rotational axis perpendicular to magnetic field axis in between the reversible poles which will be very strange and a surprising system of clockwise and anticlockwise rotational spins in between the Bernoulli rotational difference finds its fluid dynamics.
    Copy submitted to 1) HON.Roger Davies Weltton professor,Oxford astro
    2)Hon.Marteen Rees ,former president of Royal astronomical society
    3)Hon.Stephen Hawkings Dept of Applied mathematics and Astrophysics ,Cambridge university
    Solar photovoltaic research study at CRERC:
    Your call CNSHD806440 regarding New discovery on reversible pole dynamics Neutron star submitted to Royal astronomical society-reg has been received. Outreach@stsci.edu

  23. January 15, 2011 at 8:10 am

    The information given by Sankaravelayudhan Nandakumar seems to be very interesting and may give a clue on new neuron dynamics of slow thinking in case of fast thinking based on reversible neuron pole dynamics.
    N.I.S.T must encourage for an award as a special case by reviewing their contributions and citation given to news@nature.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

