Home > ICT > What skills will we need?

What skills will we need?

As I am sure you are all aware the world has changed since I was at school and I was wondering what skills the children of today will need in the future.

I have been working with a fantastic group of teachers on a document that highlights the areas students and teachers need to focus on. I am really interested in getting your feedback on this.

So here is what I am asking of you:

  • Do you feel the diagram is effective? Why
  • Does it cover the skills that students will need to have in the future?
  • Does the wording of the skills make sense?
  • Is there anything missing?

Framework for Learning

Students of the today and of the future will need to:

Investigate
Investigating is to carry out a purposeful inquiry or research to discover new information and create new understandings. Through investigation learners critically evaluate a variety of sources, making connections and synthesising findings to apply knowledge to real-life contexts.

Create
Creating is a process through which learners are provided with an opportunity to be innovative. Learners construct meaning, apply critical thinking and original ideas to real world situations, and share knowledge through self-expression, problem posing and solving, and reflection.

Communicate
Communicating is the exchange of information with varied audiences using a range of media and formats. Effective communicators build cultural understanding, make informed choices when deciding on tools to articulate meaning, and provide relevant, significant feedback to others.

Collaborate
Collaboration is the process through which learners validate and negotiate ideas and reach a deeper understanding through active participation in creating and sharing knowledge. Learners are empowered through digital mediums and environments to gain a wider perspective and global understanding.

Organize
Organizing is the structure or arrangement of connected items. Learners understand that ICT systems can be used to inform, adapt, manage and problem solve during their creative, communicative, collaborative and investigative processes. Learners make connections, transfer existing knowledge and independently explore new technologies.

Be responsible
Being responsible involves making ethical and informed choices while acting with integrity and honesty. In a globally connected digital world, learners are empowered to be responsible for their actions, value others’ rights and practice safe and legal behavior.

  1. Pimboonw
    October 6, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    I think that this diagram is really effective because it explains the understanding of ICT. I get some of the paragraphs in this posting and I dont get some. Some words are a little too hard for me and some are easy. The text includes a lot of infomation and I learned alot.

    • 18samantha
      October 6, 2010 at 2:21 pm

      I think somewhere it should say that this is about ICT. I only knew it was about ICT because Mr.Sam told me.

      • Pimboonw
        October 6, 2010 at 2:28 pm

        There is a ICT part that they explained

      • Mr. Sam
        October 6, 2010 at 2:52 pm

        This is a very good point, Sam. Maybe it needs to be really obvious that this is all about technology?

    • wkirkwood
      October 7, 2010 at 10:54 am

      Great to hear so many of you like the diagram. It took a while to develop – we actually came up with lots of different models and we weren’t sure if this one would work. But from the sounds of it this one is a success

  2. 18samantha
    October 6, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Mr. Will,
    I think the diagram is great and I understood it well.
    The only problem is that kids our age do not understand all these words you’re writing. I don’t really understand lots of the text.

    • Am
      October 6, 2010 at 2:24 pm

      I agree Sam. I understand the diagram but not the words!

    • Pimboonw
      October 6, 2010 at 2:27 pm

      I agree with you too.

  3. 18mayw
    October 6, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    Hi Mr. Will actually I don’t really understand the words that you type up there. I think you sould make it easier so we can uderstand it more easily. I also think that you type too much words and it’s tired to read it all.

    • Pin
      October 6, 2010 at 2:25 pm

      I kind of agree when you said ” I think you should make it easier so we can understand it more easily.” I think that Mr. Will is a adult so he had to put a big amount of words. 🙂

      • Pin
        October 6, 2010 at 2:26 pm

        also you spelled should as sould and you spelled understand as uderstand 🙂

        • 18mayw
          October 6, 2010 at 2:29 pm

          I know that I made some mistake it’s because I didn’t check my spelling before I submit the comment. 🙂

  4. 18mayw
    October 6, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    I agree to Sam abd Pimboon I think the diagram is realy good and I can uderstand it well but I just need the words to be more easier. 🙂

    • wkirkwood
      October 7, 2010 at 10:55 am

      Does the diagram make the words easier to understand? In other words does the diagram help you understand what is being said (the big picture)

  5. 18manisha
    October 6, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    These words are to hard for me to understand please make it more easier and i dont understand what you mean by ‘I, they, We’ in the diagram.

  6. Odette
    October 6, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    Hi Mr. Will we got some feed backs for you. Odette and me (Pin) we really like what you did. But we got confused with some of the words. Like The Investigate one there were some words we didn’t understand like.
    critically, evaluate and synthesising.
    Also Creating we got confusing with some of the words.
    innovative and critical.
    Communicating:
    articulate relevant, significant
    Collaborate:
    validate and negotiate
    We didn’t get confused with Organize!
    We only got confused with one word in BE RESPONSIBLE.
    The word is integrity.
    Thank you for making this Post Mr. Will.
    But I also like the way how you made the graph it is easy to look simple to the point. It also makes it more realistic and easy to look. 🙂 😀 😛 😦 😉

    • Pin
      October 6, 2010 at 2:21 pm

      I actually wrote the whole thing with Odette’s help. 🙂 😉 (in Odette’s account) 🙂 😉

      • 18samantha
        October 6, 2010 at 2:29 pm

        I could tell.. You always put a whole load of simleys 🙂

    • Am
      October 6, 2010 at 2:29 pm

      Yeah I agree oddete. Those words you put for example(like significant etc)-I know none of them! Well i know some but most are new words.

      • 18samantha
        October 6, 2010 at 2:31 pm

        Yeah, I agree. When I started reading I didn’t know what ‘critical’ meant so then I searched it on Dictionary.com and there were 10 different definitions!

        • wkirkwood
          October 7, 2010 at 10:57 am

          I like the way you are thinking here. Nice idea to use dictionary.com to find out the meaning of the word – even if there was 10 definitions

  7. Am
    October 6, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    I think that this diagram is really effective because it explains the understanding of ICT. It is effective because the words represent about ICT.
    Yes it covers the skills we need because we all need to investigate, create, communicate, collaborate, be organized and be responsible.
    However the words are hard for me to understand because there are many big and hard words that I just don’t understand.
    I don’t know if the words of each skill makes sense because the words are too complicated.
    However I don’t think that there’s anything missing though.

    • Pin
      October 6, 2010 at 2:29 pm

      I agree Am The diagram is really effective because it explains the understanding of ICT. Yup and the words are quite complicated. and I agree there is nothing missing.

    • wkirkwood
      October 7, 2010 at 10:56 am

      Thinking about it now maybe we could have a glossary of terms so people understand those longer more difficult words. Thanks for the comments

  8. 18mayw
    October 6, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    sorry I think that I spell too many worng words. 🙂 😦 😛 😀

    • Odette
      October 6, 2010 at 2:31 pm

      That’s okay because people make mistakes.

  9. 18gabis
    October 6, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    i agree with this diagaram because you can use it all the time and you dont always need this to be sucesful in a way friends can help too beacuse friends know alot.
    When iread this i dont really get some words like validate in callaborat
    when you use this diagram i think it is important to work on it one at a time and clarly you need to do what shows to be sucesful sometimes people dont really need the diagram but we should use it well and often.
    I think the thing missing is a circle can be plan.
    gabi

    • wkirkwood
      October 7, 2010 at 10:58 am

      Nice point Gabi – I was thinking that planning would come under the “Organize” idea. As in we need to organize ourselves, our ideas and our work. Do you think that works?

  10. 18paulah
    October 6, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    I really think that if you follow this diagram you will be very sucessful. I think that you won’t just have to follow it in school I think that you should follow this throughout your life. I think that the thing that is missing is do your best/work hard, and maybe cure your friendships. I think that the things that I have just added are very important because the harder you work the more sucessful you will be but when you do your best and work hard you have to be careful that you don’t do to much work otherwise your work won’t be as good quality and you’ll be very stressed out and tired and you might be be able to then enjoy other things as much. I think that you need to be able to cure friendships and have friends so that you will be in a good mood all the time and it also fires up your imagination.

  11. wkirkwood
    October 7, 2010 at 10:53 am

    Thanks guys for the very interesting feedback. It has really got me thinking – maybe there would be room for a document which is directly aimed at students and one for teachers. In the teachers one we could have the more complicated language and for the younger students we could explain the same concepts in more child friendly language.

  12. Layla
    October 9, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    Hi,
    I was wondering if it was worth exploring the words that you didn’t understand.
    Maybe sometimes we just keep using old words that don’t mean exactly what we want them to. Some teachers might think kids can’t really get to understand new and maybe better words to use (even if they are a challenge) . I think people shouldn’t use hard words just for the sake of it .. but sometimes a word is exactly right and in this case maybe some words here are exactly right and worth adding to your already wonderful thinking skills. PS I work with many children and so believe we shouldn’t dumb things don… you are all so smart. I think words are sort of like a colour chart… each colour has its own richness and is special. In the colour charts you buy at the paint store there are sometimes 20 blues… each one fabulous!

    • Mr. Sam
      October 9, 2010 at 4:23 pm

      I agree with Layla completely and really think it would be fantastic experience to truly explore the meaning of what we are trying to say about these skills and to express those meanings in words that could be understood by kids, without “dumbing down”. It’s a little bit like central ideas isn’t it?

      Maybe one version would be best???

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

