Home > Forgot to categorize > Andy Goldsworthy

Andy Goldsworthy

today in art we looked at 2 videos which recorded Andy Goldworthy’s Art. I think his artwork is great and I think that it was a very good idea of Mr. Josh to show this to us so that we could get inspired for our own Artwork. But Andy Goldworthy’s art isn’t the type of Art we are going to do in Art class we are not going to do something as big as this but we have a chance to take his ideas and turn them around.

I think that what Andy Goldworthy is doing is a great way for him to express himself because people really see your personality. I think that if people know about your personalities without you telling them verbally or over technical communication then that is very very powerful.

I have been thinking about if I have anything that shows my personality and after a bit of thinking I thought of course my picture of me reading my book really expresses my personality because:

1. I really love reading especially in English

2. One of my favorite authors is Louis Sachar

3. The title of the book shows people what type of books I like which then shows what my interests are.

I thought a bit more and then it came to my mind that I express myself every time I say something and the way I act.

I also thought I express my self every time I draw a picture and every time I make any other type of Art I am expressing myself.

I could get thousands of ideas of how I express myself if I kept thinking but I also want to think about how and with what I want to express myself in the future.

I think that I want to express myself much more through Art, Drama, and Music during this unit.

In art I would like to do a lot of Photography and in Drama I would like to act verbally but I would also like to do some Mimes and I don’t want to do one long act I would like to do a few small acts in which I express very powerful messages. In music I would like to start playing an instrument and have a lesson every week and I would like to keep up my singing.

Categories: Forgot to categorize
  1. michaelt
    October 6, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    I think andy goldsworthy is trying to express how nature is getting destroyed so he used these things that last for a day and then go away. I think thats why he also used pollen to make fake blood. It expresses how nature is dying and feeling pain.

    • 18paulah
      October 11, 2010 at 5:31 pm

      That is very good thinking micheal I never thought of it that way.

  2. michaelt
  3. Jin
    October 6, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    I like Andy Golsworthy

    • May
      October 7, 2010 at 4:03 pm

      why?

  4. Jin
    October 7, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    Because he’s amazing

  5. Mr. Sam
    October 8, 2010 at 7:43 pm

    I really loved watching these videos, Paula. It really connects with the conversations we’ve been having in class about calmness and peace – I felt very calm and peaceful when I watched Goldsworthy’s beautiful creations. It also connects with our conversation about Zen Buddhism that started because of There’s a Boy in the Girl’s Bathroom because it reminds of Zen gardens.

    It would be amazing to try and create some similar works of art at NIST.

  6. 18yeachanh
    January 13, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    I agree with Jin. He’s so amazing and creative.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

