What are you reading this week?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tell us about:

  • Why you chose that book
  • What you like about it
  • A character you like/dislike
  • A great part of the book
  • Describe the setting
  • Tell us about the author
  1. Pimboon
    September 27, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    Im currently reading a book named Valentines Day Disaster by Geronimo Stilton(again) and I chose this book because I find all the other Geronimo Stilton books I read interesting so then I wanted to read more. What I like about all (and this one) the books is that the way he describes the words and emotions and the adventure is so cool and yeah…

    • Mr. Sam
      September 28, 2010 at 8:35 am

      The design of the books is also pretty cool isn’t it?

  2. September 27, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    I’m reading There’s a Boy in the Girls Bathroom by Louis Sacher and I chose this book because on the blurb the information that is given there is making me reading this book. Louis Sachar writes funny books like There’s a Boy in the Girls Bathroom, Small Steps Dogs Don’t Tell Jokes, The Boy Who Lost His Face, Stanley Yelnats’ Survival Guide to Camp Green Lake, Holes and etc. The great part of the book for me is when Bradley met the counseler, Carla.I like Bradley because he keeps on going to the counseler by telling him everything which is good because in other places they don’t have a counseler.

    • Mr. Sam
      September 28, 2010 at 8:36 am

      Did you always like Bradley or did you grow to like him as you read more of the book?

  3. sebastian
    September 27, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    I am still reading The Boy Who Lost His Face. I chose this book because the title of the book said the boy who lost his face and i thought it will be good because he loses his face and the book we are reading right now there a boy in the girls bathroom that is really good the same author wrote the book i am reading so thats way i chose this book. The character i like is david because he goes throw alot of hard time that he take care really well.

    • Am
      September 28, 2010 at 5:21 pm

      I also thought that that book would be interesting because the title already pursuades you to read it! Louis Sachar is a great autour to me 🙂

    • 18paulah
      October 5, 2010 at 6:33 pm

      The boy on the cover of the boy who lost his face looks just like the boy on the cover of Theres a boy in the girls bathroom.

  4. September 27, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    Just now I just finished the book, there’s a Boy in the Girls bathroom and at the end it’s a really sad ending.

    • Mr. Sam
      September 28, 2010 at 8:40 am

      Don’t tell us any more!

  5. shikhar
    September 27, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    I am still reading the sixth grade secrets.I chose this book because it seemed to be intresting and I am going to the sixth grade next year and the picture of the book is very intresting.I really like the characters in this book espescially Laura, because she is very confident and strong headed the way Louis Sachar describes these characters is very realistic.

    • Mr. Sam
      September 28, 2010 at 8:41 am

      You’re right, Louis Sachar’s characters are always really good aren’t they?

  6. Pin
    September 27, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    At class time I am reading Geronimo stilton the mona mousa code. I finished it so now I am reading the mermaid apprentices at Home and at school Its is a very cool book though I heard some of the people said that it was quite comfusing and they didn’t understand it. On Face book I was chatting with Pieretta Dawn and she told me that she is still working on her book and she is finishing in (not soon) ……..
    🙂 😀 😦 😛

    • Mr. Sam
      September 28, 2010 at 8:42 am

      Wow, isn’t it cool to be able to chat with an author on Facebook? That is a really good way to use it, not a waste of your time at all!

  7. Jin
    September 27, 2010 at 6:31 pm

    I am still reading the book “Dogs Don’t Tell Jokes” it sure is quite a long book.
    Anyway, I chose this book because I thought it would be suitable for me and I thought when i chose this book I thought that this book was at my level and it was appropriate. Also, the title seemed interesting so I chose this book.
    I like it how the main character Gary Boone tells jokes to others. Also, I am wondering where he got all those joke books from. Because he gets his jokes from the joke books. Also, if the joke needs to be approved, Gary makes it better so that he can make the other people laugh. I like Gary Boone because I don’t know how to tell jokes because I don’t really like telling jokes. But I like to entertain people by making them laugh because it will make them happy. But, I think that you can’t beat Gary Boone against telling jokes because he is a master at it.

    The characters that I really don’t like is the gang that calls Gary “Goon” because one day Gary tells them seriously to stop calling him Goon and the gang said “Okay Goon.” I think that gang is horrible and they need to refresh their ears to listen carefully. Because we did a session with Ms. Ashley and she said that if someone solemnly says stop doing this and stop doing that, she said that you should really stop it. But I don’t know why the gang is keep calling Gary “Goon” If I was the guy in the gang, I would tell the guys in my gang to stop it because it’s not appropriate and it can really hurt the person’s feeling that you are teasing.

    • Mr. Sam
      September 28, 2010 at 8:44 am

      I love the way you have made connections between the book you are reading and the session with Ms. Ashley, it’s very powerful when you can make connections like that.

      • 18paulah
        October 5, 2010 at 6:28 pm

        Mr. Sam,
        I was just wondering why don’t you write the book you are reading at the moment and I can take a picture of you reading it.

  8. michaelt
    September 27, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    This week I am reading the boy who lost his face and I expect that I will finish it this week. I think the authors style is very good and louis sachar is very funny. It is kind of inapropriate because they say some swear words like sh_t and things like that. I almost to the end and it is getting very exciting!!

    • Mr. Sam
      September 28, 2010 at 8:45 am

      Which characters use the bad words? Do you think the author wants readers to know that it is OK to use those words or not OK to use those words?

      • michaelt
        October 3, 2010 at 9:49 am

        I think the author is telling us not to use those bad words because when the main character did the middle finger to his mother as and experiment he got in trouble!

      • 18paulah
        October 5, 2010 at 6:26 pm

        I think that the author is trying to get the message that it is not OK to swear I know that the author of this book is Louis Sachar I don’t think that Louis Sachar would try to get a message like that across I think that he would write these swear words in a way for people to realize it is not OK to use these words.

  9. May
    September 27, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    This week I’m reading a book called ” Rumor Has it.” It’s about girl wants to be friend with a new girl. I think in this book at first it’s quite boring but When I read it till the end of chapter two it’s quite interesting so it makes me want to continue reading it.

    • Mr. Sam
      September 28, 2010 at 8:46 am

      Why did it become more interesting?

  10. Johan
    September 27, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    I am still reading the boy who lost his face. I choose this book because when Mr. Sam started reading there is a boy in the girls bathroom I thought it was really good so i thought that Louis sachar might be a really good author and he might have some other books which are really good too. So then I went to the Louis Sachar section and just took out one of them which was The boy who lost his face and then i stated reading and i thought it was really good and I just wanted to read more.

    A character that I like in this book is Mo she is a girl who is really cool. If someone calls her bad names or anything like that she says something so that they sometimes just walk away. So she is someone who is not afraid of saying something back to the people who have just called her something bad.

    • Mr. Sam
      September 28, 2010 at 8:47 am

      I like Mo’s attitude, but sometimes when you say something back to people it can make the situation worse. Sometimes it is best just to ignore people, don’t you think?

  11. 18anirudhv
    September 27, 2010 at 7:05 pm

    Right now I am reading two books the first one is called “The Red Pyramid”, and my other one is called “The devil in the fog”.

    First Book: I chose this book because I like the pyramids and Egypt. I like about it because even though it is a thick book it has many simple words for me. I like the character called Carter because he knows a lot about Egypt and he is a sword magician and it is amazing. I dislike the character Sadie cause she talks to much and she is normal magician. A great part of the book is when Sadie’s cat Muffin turned into the Egyptian god Bast. Bast has a cat head and a human body which is quite weird. The setting is everywhere because as we know that Sadie is a normal magician she, her brother and Bast can go through Portals. The author of this book called ” Rick Riordan” who also wrote Percy Jackson has a very creative ideas and I think he loves writing books.

    Second Book: I chose this book because I liked the title “Devil in the FOG”. I like that it is NOT a thick book and a rather small book. I DO NOT KNOW ANY CHARACTERS, PARTS I LIKE AND THE SETTING BECAUSE I JUST STARTED. I think that the author likes devils and believes in devils.

    :)PLEASE TELL ME IF I HAVE SPELLING MISTAKES.:)

    • Mr. Sam
      September 28, 2010 at 8:48 am

      Where do you think Rick Riordan gets all his amazing ideas from?

      • 18anirudhv
        September 28, 2010 at 4:03 pm

        I think he gets his Ideas from going to the different countries. I think that he has to travel a lot.

      • October 4, 2010 at 3:46 pm

        Or mabye he writes down ideas in his bbble catcher.

        • October 4, 2010 at 3:47 pm

          Correction: bubble catcher

  12. 18saeyeono
    September 27, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    I am still reading “Dogs dont tell jokes”
    I chose this book because I dont know alot of jokes yet
    and i am still read a little bit of pages ( 58) but the main
    guy is very funny so i will finish that book in next and next week.
    the author is called Louis Sacher i like this athor because this guy is very funny
    and smart ,so this guy has lots of books.
    dont remine me if there is a spelling mistake or not making sentence thingy!!

    • Mr. Sam
      September 28, 2010 at 8:50 am

      Which guy is funny… the author or one of the characters in the book?

  13. 18sebastianw
    September 28, 2010 at 8:58 am

    I am still reading The Boy Who Lost His Face. I chose this book because the title of the book said the boy who lost his face and that sound really intresting so that way i chose this book. The character like is david because he goes throw alot of hard times and he does a good job of ingore.

  14. 18anirudhv
    September 28, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    Now I have decided to just finish off “the red pyramid” because I am almost done with it.

    I am still reading The Red Pyramid well i chose this book because I have never ever read that thick book. The thing I like about it is that it is fun to read and interesting. I like the character called carter because he does not talk a lot. A great part about the book is that when Sadie holds a feather she only tells the truth. right now where the part I am on is in Egypt and in the land of dead. I think that the author likes Egypt and adventuress books.

  15. Pimboon
    September 28, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    I read a book by Geronimo Stilton again named Field Trip to Niagara Falls and I chose this book because its in the series I am reading currently and I also have nothing to read that’s kind of a short book.

  16. Am
    September 28, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    I am currently reading the “Lightning theif” and I love It. Rick Roirdan, the authour is a fascinating authour. He describes each part so well it seems like the characters are actually talking to me! I love reading this book so much on rotations I always keep it last because I finish all the work to not worry about anything and I always save the ‘best’ for last. 🙂
    I chose this book because the movie was amazing. However I didn’t read when the book came out. I started reading before the summer that just passed and I stopped and continued it at the first day of school.
    I love the book and I can’t wait to enter the world of the book again!

  17. 18manisha
    September 28, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    This week I am reading the 6th grade secrets.I choose this book because I like the way the author louis sachar writes.The characters of this book is a girl and 2 boys.

  18. 18manisha
    September 28, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    I just found out the girl’s name it is laura and the boys names are allison and tiffany and 1 more boy named gabriel.

  19. jonjon
    September 28, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    I chose Diary of a Wimpy kid 2 because I read the first bookandI understood the story. I could read it and it was a good book. So I wanted to read the 2nd book. The book is very funny and interesting and has good pictures. I don’t have a favourite character. They’re all special in their own way. My favourite part about the book is that it has a combination of text, drawings and graphic novels. There are many settings in the story like home, school and so on. I don’t really know about the author.

  20. Aayushk
    September 28, 2010 at 6:08 pm

    I am reading “Holes” in school. I gave up ‘6 grade secrets’ because I did not enjoy the first three chapters at all. So far in the book ‘6 grade secrets’ three kids made a Pig Club. The Pig Club started when “Laura” who is a one of kids bought a hat which says “Pig City” on it and then the three kids had a discussion about the name Pig. In the club they share embarrasing moments. That’s all I read and I have not liked it.
    I have started reading ‘Holes’ because lots of people have recommended it. I am not sure if ‘Holes’ will be a good book because I have only read 2 pages.

  21. 18gabis
    September 28, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    I choose this book because i saw everyone else reading it and it looked interesting.
    I like how how the author describes about each person
    the person i like is Scoot because he is always doing evrerything and i dont really like the teacher they stole the cane from.
    I just started the book so i dont really know much but right know i like when they stael the cane from the teacher.
    the setting is at school and other people houses.
    the author louis sachar describes alot
    Did i mention i am reading the boy who lost his face??

  22. ken
    September 28, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    Hi everyone I am reading geronimo stilton im half finished and before i read this book i was reading the mermaids apprintece but i didin`t get it so i am going to save that book until im secondary or in a more advansed level at reading.The geronimo stilton book im reading is called ‘The curse of the cheese pyramid’and the author is I don`t know because it dosen`t say the author`s name,this book is about geronimo getting sent to egypt by his grandfather and to interview Proffeser alrat spitfer about how to make a new way of making energy.

  23. Yeachan
    September 28, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    I finised reading ‘Gulliver’s travels’.I choose this book because when I was doing ESL class, Ms Kyla showed some books to me and Terrie.Espcially,Ms Kyla borrow books.She gave me ‘Gulliver’s travels’,and she gave Terrie ‘Alice in wonderland’.In this book,it has one part of whole story(Gulliver went to a land of pigmies).
    The characters are Guliver,Lilliput people and Blefescu people.
    The odd and funny parts of this book is in Blefescu,the kings made one of the silly rules;they must creak the eggs small end.
    The author is Jonathan Swift.He is the novelist.He was born in Ireland.He wrote Gulliver’s Travels, A Modest Proposal, A Journal to Stella, Drapier’s Letters, The Battle of the Books, An Argument Against Abolishing Christianity, and A Tale of a Tub.

  24. Sam
    September 28, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    In the picture I was reading ‘Harry Potter and the Order of the Pheneox’. I think this book was really interesting and very exciting. I have already finished the book. I finished it yesterday afterschool.
    I like how there are so many things happening at once.
    I think this book has been really sad because one of my favorite charcters died.
    It was a really sad moment. I think a lot of people heard me saying that that person died.

    J.K. Rowling is the author of all the Harry Potter books. I think she is a really talented author. She is my favorite author and her Harry Potter books are my favorite books. She makes things really interesting and it looks like it took her years and years to write her books because they are amazing.

    I am now reading ‘Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince’. That is the 6th book. After I finish that I am going to read the 7th book. I don’t think I will be more addicted to a book like that in a long time.

  25. 18paulah
    September 29, 2010 at 7:29 am

    I am currently reading “Small Steps” by Louis Sachar. I think this book is really interisting so far even though I just started reading. The main character called Armpit seems to be a very reflective person because he always thinks about things deeply before he decides to do something for example when his crazy friend X-ray tells him that he can double the amount of money he has he takes his time to think if it really is a good idea to trust his friend. Another good example is how he sets himself five goals:
    1.Graduate High School
    2.Get a job
    3. save his money
    4.Avoid situations that might turn violent
    5. get rid of the name “Armpit”

    • Jin
      September 29, 2010 at 8:14 pm

      Armpit is a guy in Holes.

      Also, X ray is a guy that is in Holes.

      Armpit is not really his name but his real name is Theodore. I think it is good for you to read the book Holes first because it is connected.

      • michaelt
        October 3, 2010 at 9:51 am

        If you like small steps you should read holes it is the first book. small steps is the sequel so it is like holes number 2

  26. October 1, 2010 at 11:38 am

    For the moment I am reading a book called Ark Angel which is in the Alex Riders series that was written by Anthony Horowitz. Ark Angel is the 6th book in the series. I think that Anthony Horowitz has a great way to write. He writes like it is a story from inside him and his stories sound like they are true but that there is very little chance that it would happen. My favorite char

  27. October 1, 2010 at 11:38 am

    sorry

  28. October 1, 2010 at 11:41 am

    My favorite character is Alex Rider.The reasons for that is because he always ends up doing really cool stuff. Another reason is that he does things in the book that I have always wanted to do or to have learn. Like he has learned and perfected all martial arts which is my dream, and he is a spy which I find to be really cool.

  29. October 4, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    I’m reading Sixth Grade Secrets. I chose this book because when I read the blurb It was against 2 clubs: Pig City and Monkey Town. Louis Sachar is funny author she writes funny books. The great part of the book when the Pig City Club was invented by Laura.

  30. Pin
    October 4, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    I am reading Geronimo Stilton My name is stilton Geronimo Stilton. I think that it is a great book because I really like Geronimo Stilton it entertains me a lot and every book has a Cool Layout which keeps people entertained and doesnt make people bored.

  31. Pin
    October 4, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    Also I am re-reading Walk two moons. I LOVE IT. I really really really really extremely extremely very very very super reccomend it. Its kind of for Secondary because in the library its in the Secondary section. But I’m sure you will understand it. I really like this book because its about a girl called Sal. She is trying to go to her mother in another state. I think that she is a very brave girl. This is a very very very fun adventure. But some parts is a bit weird.

    • 18paulah
      October 5, 2010 at 6:18 pm

      Is this book a realistic fiction book I love realistic fiction.

  32. gabi
    October 4, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    I am reading 6 grade secrets and it is about a girl who has a club called pig city and right now she looks for members who want to join and the girl is called laura.
    laura is always getting notes from a bloy called gabriel and shelia is changing them to funny and nasty things.
    My favorite charactar is gabriel and laura.
    what I found out cool is that Laura cannot lie if she does then she has to cut her hair and she dosent want to.
    gabi

  33. Sam
    October 4, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    This week I am reading ‘Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince. I have enjoyed this book a lot so I am already halfway through! I think this book will turn out to be my favorite.. It is amazing!
    I like how there are many mysteries and some of them get solve later in the book so when it gets solve you say “Oh Yeah, I forgot that happened!”
    I have heard that the ending is really sad and now I know why…my FAVOURITE (not one of my favorites..my favorte) character dies a very sad death 😦
    Unlike the other Harry Potter Books, so far I don’t think the book has so much to do with the title. J.K. Rowling only mentions the ‘Half Blood Prince’ 5-10 times! The other Harry Potter books are different.
    I don’t know what I would read besides Harry Potter- it is my faorite book series!

    Sam 🙂

    • Mr. Sam
      October 4, 2010 at 7:44 pm

      What will you do when you have read them all?

  34. Julien
    October 4, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    I am currently reading Snake Head which is the 7th book in the Alex Rider series which was written by Anthony Horowitz who wrote quite a lot of other books. Right now in the book apparently Snake Head is the biggest terrorist company in the world. But in the part that I am now on, its just amazing, right now in the book Alex Rider`s mission takes place in Bangkok, and by the way Alex is a spy. In Snake Head the part that I am reading Alex is fighting in a Thai Boxing match against the champion who is called Sonothoris. Alex had to chose from dying or fighting. He chose fighting which would be probably what I would have chosen. If I had to chose which character I had to be in the book I would definitely choose to be Alex because he does such cool stuff.

    • Mr. Sam
      October 4, 2010 at 7:43 pm

      How cool that the book is set in Bangkok… are any places mentioned that you know or that you’ve been to?

  35. Am
    October 4, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    I am STILL reading the “”Lightning Theif” and I love the part that I just read. It was a trap and the authour explained it so well, I felt like I was in the book! My favourite character is Annabeth, the main girl. I like her because she is a strong character to me and she has a strong personality. What I mostly like about this book is how the characters are acting and how the characters speak and stuff. To me it’s mainly because Rick Riordan is a great authour. My trouvle of reading is sometimes I don’t understand a book AT ALL but this book it’s really easy to understand maybe because of the text the authour is using.

    • Mr. Sam
      October 4, 2010 at 7:42 pm

      This is not an easy book though, what is it about the language that makes it easier for you to understand than other books?

  36. Johan
    October 4, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    I am still reading the boy who lost his face I really like this book because it has a lot of details in it and the authour Louis sachar tells all the parts so well. I wouldn’t want to be any character in this book because some characters are really mean and there are 3 people that nobody likes so I wouldnt want to be any of these characters.

    • Mr. Sam
      October 4, 2010 at 7:40 pm

      This book is taking you a long time, have you thought about taking it home with you so that you can read it faster?

  37. Jin
    October 4, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    Currently I am reading the book HOLES. I have finished reading Dogs Don’t Tell Jokes. Also, I have watched HOLES by the movie and the book. Despite the fact that I have already finished reading HOLES, I am reading it again because it tells more about the story and the characters and HOLES have got NEWBERRY Medal
    Even though I have finished the book and even if I wanted to tell until the ending, I’ll just tell the beginning.
    First, I chose this book because before I came to Year 6, I didn’t even know who Louis Sachar was. The fist ever Louis Sachar book that I have read is There’s a Boy In the Girls’ Bathroom. After that, my mother borrowed a book from the library named holes. I also wanted to read it because when I saw the cover of There’s a boy in the girls’ bathroom, it said that (The Winner of the Newbery Medal for HOLES) and I thought about reading it. Also, there are some famous characters in this book (in the movie). So that’s it.
    The character I like is Stanley Yelnats and Zero (Hector Zeroni) Because first of all, it is pretty bad for Stanley to get sent to Camp Green Lake just because he was accused of stealing a pair of sneakers which he didn’t. Zero actually did(but that is in almost the back of the book) but when he was tripped by someone in the Wreck Room, he didn’t just walk away but resisted against the guy who tripped him, (The guy who tripped Stanley said, Watch it dude, and Stanley said You watch it.) I think he is pretty bold. Secondly, I also like zero because he’s not tempered and I like people who doesn’t get tempered. Someone like Aayush. Because when Mr. Pendanski told Stanley about why he was called Zero,(He called Zero names and said mean things about him), he didn’t like hit Mr. Pendanski but just stayed silent. The other weird thing was when Stanley told the other guys in his tent that he came here because he stole Clyde Livingstone’s shoes, Zero said a word. Because Zero had said nothing before Stanley came to Camp Green Lake.
    The Great Part of the book is when Elya Yelnats listens to Madame Zeroni and carries the pig up the mountain (I mean, a good part for me.) and I think that Elya Yelnats is so stronger than John Cena or Undertaker. Because when Madame Zeroni said that you must carry the pig up the mountain and let it drink while you sing a song, the pig will grow fatter and fatter and more fatter than Igor Barkov, (Who is a guy that is trying to marry Myra Menke, and Elya Yelnats is carrying the pig up the mountain to make it fatter and give it to Myra’s father so he can decide who is the person that’s marrying Myra)Of course later, Elya makes a mistake. He forgot that the last day he was supposed to carry the pig up the mountain and let it drink for the last time while he sings, but he forgets and when Elya and Igor’s pigs weighed the same, Myra’s father lets Myra decide, but Elya tells Myra to marry Igor and tells her to keep his pig as a wedding present. He also made another mistake. He was also supposed to carry Madame Zeroni up the mountain and let her drink from the stream while he sings, but he fails and Madame Zeroni said that if he fails to do it, he and his descendants will be cursed for eternity. But Stanley didn’t believe in curses.
    I think that Louis Sachar should make more books, but it’s his choice to decide whether he will or not. I do really hope that one of his books gets Newbery Medal or Carnegie Medal (They are both good awards) I want him to be the best author in the world.

    • Mr. Sam
      October 4, 2010 at 7:40 pm

      Wow, Jin, you have written so much about Holes and about Louis Sachar. I’m very impressed by the way you write and by how much you are enjoying reading at the moment. Fantastic!

  38. Jin
    October 4, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    Currently I am reading the book HOLES. I have finished reading Dogs Don’t Tell Jokes. Also, I have watched HOLES by the movie and the book. Despite the fact that I have already finished reading HOLES, I am reading it again because it tells more about the story and the characters and HOLES have got NEWBERRY Medal
    Even though I have finished the book and even if I wanted to tell until the ending, I’ll just tell the beginning.
    First, I chose this book because before I came to Year 6, I didn’t even know who Louis Sachar was. The fist ever Louis Sachar book that I have read is There’s a Boy In the Girls’ Bathroom. After that, my mother borrowed a book from the library named holes. I also wanted to read it because when I saw the cover of There’s a boy in the girls’ bathroom, it said that (The Winner of the Newbery Medal for HOLES) and I thought about reading it. Also, there are some famous characters in this book (in the movie). So that’s it.
    The character I like is Stanley Yelnats and Zero (Hector Zeroni) and also X-Ray. Because first of all, it is pretty bad for Stanley to get sent to Camp Green Lake just because he was accused of stealing a pair of sneakers which he didn’t. Zero actually did(but that is in almost the back of the book) but when he was tripped by someone in the Wreck Room, he didn’t just walk away but resisted against the guy who tripped him, (The guy who tripped Stanley said, Watch it dude, and Stanley said You watch it.) I think he is pretty bold. Secondly, I also like zero because he’s not tempered and I like people who doesn’t get tempered. Someone like Aayush. Because when Mr. Pendanski told Stanley about why he was called Zero,(He called Zero names and said mean things about him), he didn’t like hit Mr. Pendanski but just stayed silent. The other weird thing was when Stanley told the other guys in his tent that he came here because he stole Clyde Livingstone’s shoes, Zero said a word. Because Zero had said nothing before Stanley came to Camp Green Lake. The reason that I like X ray is because he is kind with Stanley and he is poor because even though he’s been in Camp green lake for almost about a year, he couldn’t and Stanley did so he persuaded Stanley to give it to him so he can get free time and Stanley getting tortured by doing extra work.

    The Great Part of the book is when Elya Yelnats listens to Madame Zeroni and carries the pig up the mountain (I mean, a good part for me.) and I think that Elya Yelnats is so stronger than John Cena or Undertaker. Because when Madame Zeroni said that you must carry the pig up the mountain and let it drink while you sing a song, the pig will grow fatter and fatter and more fatter than Igor Barkov, (Who is a guy that is trying to marry Myra Menke, and Elya Yelnats is carrying the pig up the mountain to make it fatter and give it to Myra’s father so he can decide who is the person that’s marrying Myra)Of course later, Elya makes a mistake. He forgot that the last day he was supposed to carry the pig up the mountain and let it drink for the last time while he sings, but he forgets and when Elya and Igor’s pigs weighed the same, Myra’s father lets Myra decide, but Elya tells Myra to marry Igor and tells her to keep his pig as a wedding present. He also made another mistake. He was also supposed to carry Madame Zeroni up the mountain and let her drink from the stream while he sings, but he fails and Madame Zeroni said that if he fails to do it, he and his descendants will be cursed for eternity. But Stanley didn’t believe in curses.
    I think that Louis Sachar should make more books, but it’s his choice to decide whether he will or not. I do really hope that one of his books gets Newbery Medal or Carnegie Medal (They are both good awards) I want him to be the best author in the world.

  39. Jin
    October 4, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    The first one that I wrote is not real.

  40. 18saeyeono
    October 4, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    I am still reading dogs dont tell jokes i am a slow reader
    but i like to keep reading this book because i want more stories from
    the main character. i really like the athur and there is a bad boy who is keeping the main character down. it is fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  41. Pimboon
    October 5, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    im now reading a book called Watch your whiskers, Stilton! by Geronimo Stilton. I chose, and read this book because people from the class and out of the class has been telling me to read this book because they find it really fun. Ive finished the book and I really enjoyed it. Again, the main character is Geronimo, but this story is a Slight change from others, at first its surprising and then in the middle its so much like a drama scene and its exciting and then the end was sad and then happy again… so then I find it kind of weird…

  42. 18paulah
    October 5, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    I am currently reading this book which is called small steps by Louis Sachar.
    I have chosen this book because I have read another book before from Louis Sachar which is called Sixth grade secrets. I really enjoyed that book a lot so I wanted to read another Louis Sachar book. Now i have ended up with small steps I really like this book as well but I’m not as engrossed it as I was in 6th grade secrets.
    The thing I really like about this book is that the main character is a character which is not really the popular kid in school at all. The reason I like this is because I like reading about the unpopular kids and the problems they have and get in school because they are not popular. I think this is very interesting because I want to try and learn why popular kids want to do some bullying to kids who are not popular. So far I still think that popular kids have no reason to do this. As well as that I think that the popular kids belong into the spots of the unpopular kids and the unpopular kids belong in the spot of the the popular ones. I think that the most things that the popular kids do are not very nice but I do realize that there are some very nice and good popular kids those are usually the popular kids because they are nice and good.
    A character in this book whom I really like is X-Ray whom is very crazy and sometimes also un-mature I like him because it is funny to read about all his crazy ideas. Another character I really like is Kaira DeLeon she is a famous singer and it is engrossing reading about her interesting life as a famous person. I really like how Louis Sachar writes about the worlds of two very different people but the story is slowly connecting the two characters.
    So far in the story there is no character that I Dislike I think that they are all very interesting people.
    The bit in the book that I really like is when Louis Sachar explained in detail about Kaira Deleons life and what has happened in her life and is going to happen this bit was really holding my attention.
    The setting of the story is mainly Austin. This is where the main Character : Armpit lives he lives in East Austin and the other small bit of the story setting is where ever Kaira DeLeon is around the world in that moment where she is performing.
    I have tried doing a bit of Research about Louis Sachar and I found this really cool website where I found a great article about Louis Sachar and his past and Future. The things I found the most interesting in this article was him telling about his inspirations of stories. It really blew me away when I found out that when his wife Carla was his inspiration of the counsellor Carla in the book we are reading in class “Theres a Boy in the Girls Bathroom”!! AS wellas that I found it astonishing that he was once Louis the yard teacher himself and that all the characters in his book Sideways stories from Wayside school were based on the kids of the school where he was Louis the yard Teacher his schools name was Hillside.
    And here is the link to the article I read:
    http://www.louissachar.com/Bio.htm

    • 18paulah
      October 5, 2010 at 5:55 pm

      And for the advanced english speakers and readers wikipedia also has some very interesting information about Louis Sachar in higher level of language so I think this would be interesting for people with advanced word knowledge.
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Louis_Sachar

      • Jin
        October 5, 2010 at 8:25 pm

        I know about it and you are just writing long to get amuned from the lights. You don’t need to worry about that because you don’t get in trouble often and what’s the point of being amuned? Mr. Sam said that if you do something wrong even if you are amuned, he will put you on the next light. I don’t know why he made that kind of strict rule because it’s badgering me.

        • 18paulah
          October 11, 2010 at 6:37 pm

          That is not true because just like you said there is no point of me getting immuned because I never go on the next light anyway. Also I did another article that was also quite long, plus Mr. Sam wouldn’t let a secound person to get immuned. There is just a lot I want to write about OK?

          • Jin is hahahahaha
            October 13, 2010 at 7:36 pm

            so?
            Who cares
            no one
            who does
            no one
            see?

          • Jin is hahahahaha
            October 13, 2010 at 7:38 pm

            Yeah but I often get on the next light because I’m troublesome.

            WHO CARES
            NO ONE
            WHO DOES
            NO ONE
            SEE
            P
            A
            U
            L
            A

            NO ONE CARES AND YOU’RE NOT TROUBLESOME AS ME

          • Jin
            October 31, 2010 at 9:45 pm

            sorry but before I thought it was

  43. Aayushk
    October 5, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    I have just finished reading Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone at home. I have finished “There’s a boy in the girls tiolet”. I am really enjoying the book. I am reading this book because I saw my mom reading it and I told her to read one page to me, I really liked it so I carried on reading it. I have now finished the first Harry Potter book and I am trying to get the second Harry Potter book in my hands. I am waiting for someone else to return the book to the library.
    In the story my favourite character is Harry because he is in the center of all the exciting happenings. This was his first trip to Hogwarts so he did not know magic at first but then he learned it. In the start his uncle and aunt took care of him really badly.
    The story is really confusing because there are so many things going on. Initially I did not understand some parts and didn’t know how they were a part of the story. However as the story went on, a cool and extraordinary story unfolded.

    My brother did not understand one word of the story. This is a funny thing that happened. I was reading the story aloud and he asked me what was ‘foggy’. I said a sky with mist when you are unable to see. He said what was mist. So I said when the clouds are low. He said what are clouds. I did not know what to say!!

    In the story Snape is Harry potter’s enemy. At the end Profeser Dumbledor tells him something that is quite shocking. I was as shocked as Harry Potter that Snape was trying to help him because Harry Potter’s father had saved Snape. So Snape was actually trying to help Harry. I did not understand the end of the story because it was just a bit too confusing for me. All in all I have enjoyed the first Harry Potter with all it’s magical excitement and I hope to read more Harry Potter books.

    • Jin
      October 7, 2010 at 5:59 pm

      Aayush

      I have Harry Potter 2 at home

      Do you want to borrow it? I don’t mind.

      • Mr. Sam
        October 7, 2010 at 10:23 pm

        That’s really nice offer, Jin.

    • Jin is hahahahaha
      October 13, 2010 at 7:39 pm

      Sorry for my writing it’s you’re not as troublesome as I do.

  44. 18anirudhv
    October 5, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    I am still reading the book called ” The red Pyramid”. The part I like the most is when Bast get a RV and they ride all the way. Then in the RV Carter practiced her sword moves. right now I have not read so much because I forget to bring my book to school.

  45. May
    October 6, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    This week I’m reading a book called ” I’m too found of my fur.” I think this book is quite interesting because it’s about advernture. The characters in this bokk are : Geronimo, Thea, Trap, Benjamin, Yeti ( Hairy beast who lives in the mountain), and Professor Paws von Volt. The charaters that I like are Benjamin and Thea. I like Benjamin because he always say good things and I like Thea because she is funny and annoying.

    • 18mayw
      October 7, 2010 at 3:22 pm

      Yesterday I read alittle bit but too day I read so much so it’s starting to be more interesting. The book is about climbing up the mountain Everest to go find the Yeti and Professor Paws Von Volt.

      • 18mayw
        October 7, 2010 at 3:24 pm

        corection: today

  46. michaelt
    October 6, 2010 at 5:58 pm

    I just read a book called clockwork its pretty scary but really fun

    right now i am reading dogs dont tell jokes. It is very fun. It is about a boy who likes to tell jokes so he is called goon.So at school there is a talent show and goon wants to tell jokes so then during the week he tries to make up jokes. I think i might finish it in a few weeks.

  47. Paul
    October 6, 2010 at 6:17 pm

    At the moment I am reading two books one is “The Boy Who Lost His Face”.
    The main reason I choose that book was because of the author Louis Sachar.
    I have read “Holes”, “Small Steps and “Someday Angeline”. They are all very good books. I have loved all of them but I must say my favorite was “Small Steps” because it is so deep and moving and it is really enjoyable and you just cant stop reading it! The main reason I choose “Tintin” was that my dad brought them home from his trek and brought my back some really good “Tintin” books. Before then I thought that I did not like graphic novels . After reading “Tintin” i changed my mind. My favorite character in the book is Captin Cutts he is a very rich man that is very tough and has a short temper put he also has a soft spot.
    In the boy who lost his face my favorite character is Larry.
    Larry is Davids (the main character) best friend.
    Larry is a really cool kid he wares blue shades and has a crush on mo a girl who is really nice but also really tough.
    I strongly recommend for you guys to read them they are really good BOOKS!

  48. sebastian
    October 6, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    Right now i am reading ”The Boy Who Lost His Face” and ”Percy Jackson”. The main reason I chose ”The boy who lost his face” is because Louis Sachar writes some amazing paragraphs in his stories that make me want to read more and more even though I am a person who doesn’t like to read that much. One of my favorite characters is Scott because he is really funny but he can be really mean for example when David came to his house to buy the cane off Scott ”he said go to hell you freak”.

  49. 18anirudhv
    October 6, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    I am still reading ” The Red Pyramid”. I choose this book because I like the author Rick Riordan and his ideas. The thing I like about it is that it is not boring and that it is simple. Now I like the new character Zia because she is an expert on magic and she has experienced a lot of battles. A great part of the book is when Amos Carter and Sadie’s dad brother battles the Desjardins. Then suddenly they summon a fire god. I think the author likes reading and writing books.

  50. 18manisha
    October 7, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    I am still reading 6th grade secrets. First i thought it was boring and when i continued reading it was not at all boring.In the last comment i wrote 2 boys but they were girls not boys.Laura(the main character)is a very naughty person.She never behaves good at class.There is one connection beetween the boy in the girls bathroom and the 6th grade secrets that laura is in love with her teacher and also bradly is love with carla the only diffrence between that is carla is a councler and laura’s teacher is a homeroom teacher.

    • Mr. Sam
      October 7, 2010 at 10:22 pm

      I wonder why Louis Sachar writes about students who love their teachers?

  51. Yeachan
    October 7, 2010 at 7:43 pm

    This week I’m reading a book called ‘Alice in wonderland’.I choose this book because when I was doing ESL class, Ms Kyla showed some books to me and Terrie.Espcially,Ms Kyla borrow books.She gave me now ‘ALice in wonderland’,and she gave Terrie ‘Gulliver’s travels’.
    The thing I like about it is the magic.If the magic bottles (bigger and smaller) are in the Earth,we woild be very confused.
    The author is Lewis Carroll.He was born in England.He wrote ‘Alice in wonderland’and ‘Alice in mirrorland’

    • Mr. Sam
      October 7, 2010 at 10:21 pm

      Have you read this story in Korean before?

      • Yeachan
        October 31, 2010 at 9:25 pm

        Yes I had.

    • Yeachan
      October 31, 2010 at 9:26 pm

      sorry ‘woild’-would

  52. nine
    October 7, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    Now i am still reading there is a boy in the girl bath room by Louis Sacher
    and i am also reading percy jackson the lighthing thief. every time i read more it gets more fun for me. I like the part that bardley for in love with carla and i think it kind of funny that a kid love someone who is older than them.
    For pecry jackson i still don’t know whcich part i like because it is all fun.

    • Mr. Sam
      October 7, 2010 at 10:20 pm

      I noticed that you started reading There’s a Boy in the Girl’s Bathroom today – you really wanted to see what happened didn’t you?

  53. ken
    October 7, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    I`m reading (There is a boy in the girls bathroom) because i`m getting curious about Bradley but when i read by myself i dont really get the meening but when Mr Sam reads it it makes a good laugh and i get what he says so i think i shouldent read this book indervisualy and let Mr Sam read the book.So i dont really know what i should read so what do you guy think do you think (There is a boy in the girls bathroom)a good level for me or should i chose another one?

    • Mr. Sam
      October 7, 2010 at 10:18 pm

      Hi Ken,

      I usually read my students books that are a little bit more difficult than ones they read individually, so you’re right t probably is a little tough for you. Let’s spend some time tomorrow finding a book that’s just right for you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

