New Goals for Gradual Release of Responsibility

With your parents, spend some time looking at the Gradual Release of Responsibility diagram outside the classroom:

  • Explain how the diagram works
  • Share your cards with them by taking them off one-by-one and finding somewhere to talk about each one
  • Find out if they think your cards are in the right place on the GRR
  • Discuss how you can work together with your parents to progress
  • Decide on one or two goals for the next couple of weeks
  • Make a comment to tell us your goals and a bit of information about the conversations you had

Remember, make your goals:

Sustainable (you will carry on doing it)

Manageable (it is not too much to take on)

Achievable (you can achieve success with it)

Realistic (it is appropriate for you)

Timely (now is the perfect time to work on this goal)

  1. amberrabbid
    September 21, 2010 at 10:18 am

    My Mum and I have decided that my goal should be to wake up by myself by setting my own alarm clock so I can be more independent.

  2. Jin
    September 21, 2010 at 10:19 am

    My goal is to help my mother at doing the washing because sometimes she complains that we are too lazy and that me and my brother are not helping her. Only sometimes, I help her by putting the clothes in the basket. But my brother is too lazy and he just puts his clothes on the floor and he just takes a shower. After that, he forgets about the clothes and the clothes gets smelly and my mom have to work extra-lot. Because even i sometimes act like him and both of us make our mother angry. Most of the time, even my father puts his shorts on the chair and the smelly clothes are everywhere. So even though my brother and my father are not helping, I want to help my mother a lot and make her happier.

  3. .pin
    September 21, 2010 at 10:20 am

    My goal is when I hear the alarm clock I have to wake up because when I hear the alarm then my mom has to touch me again.

  4. nine
    September 21, 2010 at 10:23 am

    Miss siew thinks that all my GRR cards are all in the right place and because she have see my doing it or she knows that I have been doing all those things.My goal is to not forget to doing what I wrote on the GRR cards.

  5. May
    September 21, 2010 at 10:24 am

    My goal is to make my own bed. I can achieve that by waking up 5 minutes earlier to make my bed. I will set my own alarm. I can start doing it tomorrow.

    My mom and I talked about my goals. I had many goals but I choose this goal because it is more realistic and achievable. I will keep on doing it.

  6. 18samantha
    September 21, 2010 at 10:24 am

    My goal is to help in the house (Cleaning, Cooking etc.) so I can be more organized. My mum will check if I am doing these this correctly and she will help and support me.
    Another goal I have is to organize my school bag, homework and I will make sure that I read books everyday. I will try to do extra activities or extra homework.
    Another goal of mine is to remember to go to my afterschool activities and not need other people to remind me.

  7. Odette
    September 21, 2010 at 10:26 am

    My goals are the following: cleaning my room by myself, learn more how to brush my teeth properly and continue to develop my own way to dress up by myself, as well us properly organizing myself and things that I need in everyday.Study and do homework on time everyday.

  8. Johan
    September 21, 2010 at 10:26 am

    Me and my mum decided that my goal is to always pack my bag the night before so I have all of my things with me. Also to make my bed when I wake up not just let my mum and maid do it. We chose this goal because these are 2 goals that are very easy to do and dosn’t take much time. We also talked about if mum thought that my cards were honest and if they were at the right place.

  9. 18paulk
    September 21, 2010 at 10:27 am

    My goals for the next two weeks are: Pack my own school bag in the morning. This means i know what day it is and what i need in that day. Everyday i need snack, homework book, money and phone. The other goal is to keep a calender of what i have to do. This will also help me pack my bag. Mom said they will work together to help me. It should be very possible to achieve this goal.
    (My mom and I did this together).

  10. Pimboon
    September 21, 2010 at 10:27 am

    Me and my mom agrees that I should wake up by myself with the alarm clock and not with my mom trying to wake me up. I also should work on taking a shower when she tells me to do it without her repeating herself.

  11. Saeyeono
    September 21, 2010 at 10:28 am

    My goal is to awake my self in the morning. imformation by my dad “You can use alarm clock and mobile phone. It will get rid of mom’s worry every morning.It is true because my son is dilligent.”
    My second goal is to clean my room my self.
    My dad said what will you do to help my room to be clean so i said to
    My dad I will help my maid to clean my room when i make a mess.
    Dad) “It’s very good thinking, and it’s more important to do it than making plan.”

  12. sebastian
    September 21, 2010 at 10:29 am

    One of my goals will be to empty my bag without my mum reaming me.Next goal is to clean the table befor and after meal and to set the table that are the goals me and my mum wants me to improve on.

  13. laurejp
    September 21, 2010 at 10:29 am

    My mom and I think that I should have my goal as being more organized for my homework. I will plan my homework schedule every monday thinking that it is appropriate to my activities and with the quantities of my homework. I could also ask members of my family what they have planned for the week that could impact on my schedule. I shouldn’t forget my homework for world languages and the fact that I need to practice on my instruments.

  14. shikhar
    September 21, 2010 at 10:30 am

    Me and my phoney parents (Michael and Yeachan) said that my goal should be cooking food like helping my dad cook with deserts so I can cook for my self in a few trips and university.So I know more different types of foods and later on I can make my own recipe.

  15. 18manisha
    September 21, 2010 at 10:30 am

    My goals are to tidy my room,waking up by my self,helping my mother in the kitchen.
    I am good at packing my bag,tieing my own shoe laces.The other things i am good at puting my clothes for wash after i come from school.

  16. 18aayushk
    September 21, 2010 at 10:31 am

    I want to start helping my brother by more indipendent so my family does not have to do his work. I want to set a good example for him to follow.

    My granny wants me to go to school by myself by BTS because we don’t live far away. I will need trust to do this.

    I want to do my work by my self so my mother is not worried about me.

  17. 18gabis
    September 21, 2010 at 10:31 am

    my goal is to do cooking and make my own lunch.

    I also want to quit the swimming team so i can learn how to cook at school.

    Gabi’s mom writing:
    I suggest you oranise your time and plan a day well then you do not have to stop swiming and you still have enough time to cook too. i will help you.let try.

  18. 18michaelt
    September 21, 2010 at 10:31 am

    My fake parents (Yeachan and shikar) and I talked about what goals we are going to achieve and how we are going to achieve them. We told each other why we need to achieve these goals. I told them that I need to try to set an alarm clock in the morning because my dad woke me up. I also told them that I have to help my mom clean up and help make the bed because we have no maid. I think I can achieve these goals by buying a alarm clock and making a schedule for when I can help my mom clean up but I also need time to my kumon homework and my normal school homework.

  19. yeachan
    September 21, 2010 at 10:32 am

    Me and my fake parents (Michael and shikhar) talked about what are goals we are going to achieve and how we are going to achieve them.we told each other why we need to achieve. I told that I can clean my room and packing my school bags by myself.But i need to improve that study more hard.I can cook easy things,but I still needs some helps.

  20. ken
    September 21, 2010 at 10:41 am

    I should keep my room clean and clean it more often when my table has a lot of stuff and keeping it clean
    I should set two alarm clock so i can wake up without my mom waking me up

  21. jonjon
    September 21, 2010 at 10:48 am

    my two goals are to clean my room becouse my room is realy dirty and if I can clean
    my room I can acomplish my setting my alarm clock goal and my other goal is to manage the time well like for example when I get to my cusion house I would start my homework at 5 olock in stead of when I get home because if I do it when I get home I am afraid that it will take all day to finish

  22. 18paulah
    September 21, 2010 at 10:51 am

    My mum and I decided that I should keep an eye on time; do things in a time frame, get even better at time management.
    Another goal is I should start doing more chores around the house so practice house work like ironing and cleaning my bathroom.
    The goal I want to focus on first is the time management.

  23. aclarsson
    September 21, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    Thanks a lot for a very nice coffee morning! I really enjoyed and I think that you all have done an excellent job with your goals. Annika (Johans mum)

  24. September 22, 2010 at 4:50 am

    Hi Year 6. I’m a teacher in Australia who thinks your blog and your teacher are great! I really like th eway you are using the GRR model for your goals Can someone explain to me in a bit more detail? I’m wondering what’son your cards?

    • Jin
      September 22, 2010 at 5:17 pm

      GRR is really important if you have a goal that you really want to achieve to make your life easier. Just like Pin said, it is really important to be organized in Year 7 because in Year 7, they take you seriously. Also, if you write something on GRR, you also need to be toil because you can’t just achieve your goal by being lazy. My goal is to help my mom doing her washing. Because to be honest, I am really lazy and I don’t really do anything at home except homework. So I want to help her more in washing so that I can prove to everyone that I am an organized person and I can make myself proud. Before I was helping my mom with her washings, I was so lazy than anyone in my class. But now, I am really toil and I put my clothes in the basket so my mom doesn’t have to pick up the clothes and put them in the laundry. That’s what GRR for. To write something that you want to achieve. It’s really serious for the people to wants to achieve their goals.

    • Am
      September 22, 2010 at 7:17 pm

      Well the GRR means Gradual Release of responsibility. It is very important because it helps us be more aware of being organized and it helps us take more action. Mr. Sam wants us to be really organized in Year 7 because it’s a very tough year.
      At the top of the GRR it says “modeled-adults do, you watch” ao we have to write a card and if my mum or dad or a adult does it I put it up there. Say on a card I write “I need to wake my self up because my mum wakes me up” I would put it up at the Modeled section. When I improve more I move the card down and down and when I reach indepedent it means that I am waking myself up and my mum is not waking me up any more. This includes a lot of honesty because if you lie when our parents come to look at our GRR cards they will automacticly know that it’s not true.
      This helps us be more succesful in our lives and be more oraganized and independent.

    • Pimboon
      September 22, 2010 at 7:42 pm

      GRR actually stands for Gradual Release of Responsibility and its just organized for US to be more organized. GRR is like a chart to scale yourself where you are at the moment and you can change yourself if you had improved. Theres a modeled section where you know that the adults show you what you should improve on organizing and a shared section wheres its for usining to help that you are SHARING that part of organization with the adults and then theres a guided place where you do the stuff but adults just guide/help you to improve it. The final one is independent and that means that you are 100% organized on that thing and you needno adults help at all. You have to be taking it seriously so that you improve and then parents will come and see the list and you have to be honest because they can tell imediatly when you are lying about your cards.

  25. Pin
    September 22, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    Well GRR helps us be more organized and it makes our life easier in the future. We have GRR (Gradual release of responsibility) because we wanted to be more organized because it is our responsibility and we set goals for ourselves and it must be goals that we want to accomplish to have a easier life in the future. Mr. Sam said that we have to be organized because in year 7 it is going to be much harder and we have to be so organized to accomplish our goals and be succesful in life. Thats why we need GRR. On my card I wrote to wake up by my self all the time because i only wake up bymyself some days……… (Thats one example) I feel that I have improved a lot in being more organized and I feel more succesful in my life.

  26. May
    September 22, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    The GRR makes us be very organise. On the GRR board we have Model, Share, Guide and independent. Model: Things that adults do and chirldren watch. Share: Things that adults do and we help. Guide: Things we do and adults help. Independent: Things we can do by our self without anyone telling us. I have a card on Model it says ” My maid wash my clothes for me” and also this one ” My maid always make my bed.” So when my mom came to see my GRR cards she told me that I should start making my bed because it’s the easiest thing to start with.

  27. May
    September 22, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    I think the GRR helps us alot and we can be more organise with it.

  28. Pin
    September 22, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    and Modeled means You are not very organized at doing something like you don’t wake yourself up but your mom or dad has to wake you up that is in the modeled section. Modeled/shared means that you are improving in being organized like your mother cooks food for you but you help a bit that is in the modeled/shared section. Guided means you have improved a lot more like, you pack your bag by yourself but you still need your mother or father to remind you that today you have swimming and you have to pack your swimming bag that is in the guided section. Independent means you are now doing things by your self with no adult help. Example: You pack your own bag every day and you don’t forget any thing at home, You look at the schedule and you pack every thing with out your parents reminding you. That is in the Independent section. This how it works: I have a card that says “I can hear my alarm but my mother has to touch me a few time so that I can get up.” If I improved it and my mother doesn’t have to touch me then I can move my card to the next section 🙂 “Hope you understand how it works……”

  29. 18gabis
    September 22, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    GRR is our graduial release responsibility wall we use it to improve our independence.
    one of mione is to get better at cooking and when we get better at it we mofe the next level till we are independent.
    The levels are i think: adults do you watch,adults do you help and the rest i cant remember but i can remember is you do adults watch. now for the cooking i am mostly near to the end.
    when all of ours are at the end we are all organized:)

  30. 18gabis
    September 22, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    🙂

    • 18pint
      September 22, 2010 at 3:27 pm

      😀 I agree…

      • May
        September 22, 2010 at 3:34 pm

        😀 I agree

        • Jin
          September 22, 2010 at 5:18 pm

          me four.

  31. September 22, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    GRR is very organize because it has the steps like Modeled, Modeled and Shared, Guided and Independent. We put on our cards what we working on at home, having stuck at home and etc. Like in the modeled section I put cleaning my bedroom and I moved it at Modeled and Shared Box because I clean my bedroom sometimes. In the Guided column I put taking a bath because I cannot reach my back so I need help and also I put there brushing my teeth because I miss a lot of parts on my mouth. For the Independent I put dressing up myself because I really know how to dress up by now because were older. For my opinion the GRR is making my life organized like dressing up myself. Also we had a coffee morning with our parents to show the GRR and our work that I did in class. It was fun telling our parents about the GRR for my opinion.

  32. September 22, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    I like when Mr. Sam created GRR because it’s organized just like I told on the first one.

  33. September 22, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    I like when Mr. Sam created GRR because it’s organized and making my life easier.

  34. September 22, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    I didn’t know that I did twice.

  35. 18saeyeono
    September 22, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    If you use GRR you can change your life more easier.
    There’s diagram of GRR there is modelded, shared, guided and independent.
    modelded means that you watch other people do it for you modelded means that you help other people helps guided means you do other people help and independent means that you are already organized. I have wrote down this in the card: “my goal is to woke me up by my self so I can get ready for the school.” I puted this in independent spot. The GRR is helping me develope my future well and more independent.

  36. 18saeyeono
    September 22, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    opps i wroted helps two times at modelded!

  37. Aayushk
    September 22, 2010 at 6:10 pm

    I think the GRR chart is to find out what you need to improve on and to see how much you have improved. I wrote that “I want to pake my bag in inpendently” and Now I can pake my bag independently. I think that you should do this in your class to because children like me are eager to put everything in the independent section. So I try my best to be organized.

    • Am
      September 22, 2010 at 7:18 pm

      I agree Aayush. The GRR helps us be more oraganize and independent and helps us improve.

  38. Yeachan
    September 22, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    I agree Jin’s.

  39. 18paulk
    September 23, 2010 at 5:34 am

    i think the GRR chart is like a reminder chart and like a chart that can help us improve. me and my mom when we made my goals we put all my cards together and formed 2 big goals for me. the card i am most proud is now at the independent but at first was at modeled and that card is setting alarm clock everyday.
    So the GRR does empower us to achieve.

  40. Will
    September 24, 2010 at 9:00 am

    Great use of the blog guys. I actually adapted the gradual release of responsibility to a presentation that I used with parents a few weeks back. I used the ideas of how we learn different things as children.

    For example we learn to read by having our parents reading to us, then we join in, then we read with their help, then we read to them, and finally we read independently.

    But when we learn technology we often learn things in a different order. With most technology kids have learned it first and then adults have learned it later.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the GRR.

    Mr Will

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

