The Library Inquiry

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6SS students are now at the stage where they are making choices about the sections of the Library that they want to inquire into.

Here’s some examples of what they are interested in:

Pimboon and Am are learning about the series trolley where you can find series like The Berenstain Bears, Walt Disney Books and Madeline. They chose that part of the library because they didn’t know much about it already. They told  me that their audience would be students from around EY2 and their parents up to about Year 2.

Jon, YeaChan and Ken are looking at the Horrible Histories and Goosebumps section. They said that the books were aimed at students from around Year 4 upwards and were particularly for kids who like horror, scary things and stories with twists in them. When talking about Horrible Histories, Jon said that “they teach you real stuff but in a way that makes you want to read it.”

Sebi and May are learning about the Early Non-Fiction section of the library. They felt that although the section is designed mainly for younger kids, some older kids could and should still use them when looking for information.

  1. Jin
    September 14, 2010 at 11:28 am

    I also like Horrible Histories because it tells the legend or facts and it comes in handy

  2. Jin
    September 14, 2010 at 11:34 am

    I think that it is more comfortable if the books are in their right sections because in our classroom, some books are in the wrong sections like non fiction books are in Science fiction section. Also, even if putting the book in the right place that you found is boring, it is good to have patience.

  3. Jin
    September 14, 2010 at 11:35 am

    to put the book in right place. (the top one, continued.) Full mark is just a mistake.

  4. sebastian
    September 14, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    I you feel better Jin and nice comments

  5. sebastian
    September 14, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    Me and May are looking in the early non fiction area. We decided to work their because its a place in the library we have never got to know about.We learn a lot from the non fiction section because we thought it was all for very young but we found out some books where suitable for are age.

    WHAT WE LEARN
    We found out that it is all so for are age and that some books had things in it that we never knew before. We had two question one of our question was can these books fill a little kids brain of information? and it was yes we found out it could even full are heads of information. Are next question was can these books give you enough information to start a research and it was yes because even the books that weren’t long and some very good question and answer.

    • Am
      September 14, 2010 at 5:07 pm

      I think that your questions where really interesting Sebi. I think that your section would be interesting to inquire on and I would like to know about the early non-fiction books too. 🙂

  6. September 14, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    I and my partner Pin are working on Junior Fiction Paper Backs we don’t want to go work on another one because we want to stick with these so we can learn more.

    • pin
      September 14, 2010 at 9:21 pm

      I kind of agree but i also want to learn some new sections. I think that I want to learn other sections because I think that i know a lot about these sections too 😀

  7. Jin
    September 14, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    Thank you sebi and I will come to school tomorrow

  8. 18mayw
    September 14, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    Seb and I are looking in the early non fiction section. After we been looking at that section we found out that some of the books it hard for early years – y4.So we thought that it is okay for year6 to read. We learn that the books is lining in the alphabetical order and it also have numbers on it. Then Mr. Sam ask us that what does the E in the non fiction section stand for and we were guessing that is means easy but then Ms. Jenifer told us that it’s stand for early.

  9. 18anirudhv
    September 14, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    Me and my partner Shikar are investigating on the elementary resources. We decided to work there cause we did not know the place very well.

    A LITTLE SUMMARY OF WHAT WE LEARNED
    We learned that at the top of the shelf is the dictionaries. And at the bottom there is the encyclopedia.

  10. Am
    September 14, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    Pimboon my partner and I are working on the series trolley. We are working very well together. However there are 3 series trolley with many different series of books. So each series have a variety of people who read them. We are thinking about main other questions about the different key concepts (form, function, connection). We have got a fair amount of information but I think that we have to work on it a bit more and make it easier to understand.
    My tutor talked to me about how the trolley can be organized in a different way and she said that first, you have to cut a coloured peice of cardboard and stick it in the book shelf. Then get stickers that are the same colour as the cardboard and stick them at the bottom corner of the book. After that you write numbers on the stickers like 1,2,3… followed by the alphabetical order. It is organized like this so when you put a book back, say it is a book with a green sticker and the number 1 you put the book in the green section and put it as the first book.
    This way will be easy because even though you are a small kid, you can still indicate the colours.

    • Pmboon
      September 14, 2010 at 7:35 pm

      Yeah I agree

  11. September 14, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    Me and Aayush are doing hard cover junior fiction. We chose to do a power powerpoint on what we have discovered in the library inquiry. We also decided to write a book about the organization of NIST involving how they are organized in the library.

  12. Aayushk
    September 14, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    Me and Julien did Junior hardcover fiction. We learned that Junior hardcover fiction is organized just like others. It’s simple and the books are easy to find because the books which start with A are in the “A” column. There are books like The Hardy Boys and Roald Dahl books for children in Year4 – Year6.

    We decided we would make power point presentation and present it to some classes.
    We are making a book called Nist organization, which focuses on how the library and classses are organized. If you would like to help us make that book please inform me or Julien.

    • Aayushk
      September 14, 2010 at 5:19 pm

      I meant year 4 onwards.

  13. September 14, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    Aayush and I have been working on hard-cover Junior fiction books. We have decided to create a powerpoint on what we have learned. We have decided also to write a book about NIST’s organization and how NIST is organized. Our book will involve how the library is organized. By the way Aayush was I allowed to write this or was it suppose to be a surprise? If it was SORRY!!

  14. September 14, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    Aayush I never knew YOU were going to waste the surprise!!

  15. 18paulk
    September 14, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    Me and Johan are doing fairy tales. we think fairy tales are really cool and fun to read. Me and Johan like fairy tales a lot that’s why we did fairy tales.

    We learned that in fairly tales there is always a problem a solution a bad guy a good guy and love. A lot of fairy tales are folk tales from cultures all around the world.

  16. 18paulah
    September 14, 2010 at 5:38 pm

    I am working on the yaerbook section which I thought would be interesting because i never spent much time in the area around the yearbooks its quite cosy actually.
    I want to meet some young students that can’t read yet and present to them because little kids usually just go to the picture book section and chose the book with the prettiest cover and I think they deserve to be taught more about our library. I was wondering if I should do a presentation like a powerpint or prezi with my group or if i should meet them at the library where we can show them how the yearbooks are organized. I think that they would learn the most out of it if we teach them in the library but then it wouldn’t be easy to get them settled and motivated in a short amount of time and it might be a bit stressful for their teachers since the younger students are quite time consuming. The thing that my group will do next is type up our information and decide how we want to present.

  17. sebastian
    September 14, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    I know May but i also said that it was hard for year 4 and 5 and thanks for telling me Am there is not munch about the non fiction.

  18. sebastian
    September 14, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    Wow that are so many interesting areas in the library.

  19. sebastian
    September 14, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    Paul i like your comment but i think you come up with a bigger reason why you chose fairy tales and i think you know more about fairy tales.

    • Sam
      September 14, 2010 at 5:54 pm

      Seb, I think you should reply to people’s comment instead of making comments 🙂

  20. Sam
    September 14, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    Paula, Gabi and I are doing the yearbook section. We don’t usually go to the yearbook section and we wanted to know about it and that is why we chose it. Some people don’t even know there is a yearbook section in the library so I think those people would be the best to present to. I think the yearbooks are for 5 year-olds and over. I think this is because there are a lot of pictures in the yearbook so the people who can’t read can just look and enjoy the pictures.
    My group hasn’t decided how we are going to present it yet. I think we will discuss this tommorrow.
    I think everyone should know where the yearbooks are and the should know about it. Although nobody usually looks at the yearbooks, it is very interesting.

    • Johan
      September 14, 2010 at 6:17 pm

      You are right i dont think many people know the yearbook area so that might be a good time to show them where it is and how it works.

  21. Jin is infested
    September 14, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    I am uncertain about coming to school or not.

    • Sam
      September 14, 2010 at 5:55 pm

      Are you still sick?

    • Mr. Sam
      September 14, 2010 at 6:53 pm

      What did the doctor say?

      • Jin
        September 14, 2010 at 6:58 pm

        The doctor said that I am almost turning back to normal and if I don’t have any coughing, then I can come back to school tomorrow or the day after tomorrow.

        • Pmboon
          September 14, 2010 at 7:36 pm

          Friday, you mean

          • Pmboon
            September 14, 2010 at 7:40 pm

            No, wait, Thursday, sorry

  22. 18jonf
    September 14, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    I picked the horrible histories and goosebumps trolley because goosebumps is one of my favourite book and I’m sort of interested in how it is organized. The people in my group iare Ken me and Yeachan. We don’t know what we are going to do like a power pont or a video but when I go to the library next time there are some questions that need to be answered.

  23. Johan
    September 14, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    Me and paul decide to do fairytales because we both like fairytales and they ussually have pitcures in it and that for me makes the book a bit more fun. Like Paul said nearly in every single fairytale there is always a bad person. Also we learned that a lot of fairytales are like short books not long chapter books and also usually have pictures in it. Me and paul haven’t chosen how to present this yet but we will soon get to that part.

  24. Jin is slowly recovering
    September 14, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    No, but I have got a sore throat. And it hurts a lot.

  25. sebastian
    September 14, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    do you think u will come back to school jin

    • Jin
      September 14, 2010 at 6:59 pm

      I don’t know. I might be coming back to school at next day or two days later. It’s so boring and sputums are coming out of my mouth.

  26. sebastian
    September 14, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    Wait is Sam Mr. Sam

    • Pmboon
      September 14, 2010 at 7:38 pm

      No, thats Samantha

  27. Jin
    September 14, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    My mother said that I must have got infested from someone else.

  28. Jin
    September 14, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    I want to know how many sections are there in the library because I think that there are innumerable sections in the library and heaps of books.

  29. Pmboon
    September 14, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    Am, my partner and me are inquiering into the Series Trolley. We chose this section because there was alot of series and we wonder how they organized it. We found out that series are together so parents, kids, and the librarians can save time finding them. People in all ages can actually read them but they are moslty for little kids. We found a fair amount of information and we think that we shound make it easier to understand. I was also thinking that the Library might want to color sode the diferrent series and its also easier for the kids to find and evenso, the little kids can indicate them.

  30. 18manisha
    September 14, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    I like the idea of writing what we don’t know, what we already know and and what we learned because we can learn more about the library.

  31. 18manisha
    September 14, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    Me and Terrie choosed picture books.We have learnt many stuff like we didn’t know why they put some books on top of the shelves because they are the best picture books and many children get attracted to it and borrow those books.

  32. 18saeyeono
    September 14, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    me and Michael are working about non-fiction area.We chosethis section because
    we want to know how is it organized and how do they work. there are two
    areas for big kids and for everyone,but in the computer it is
    sometimes big kids book we are looking forward to make them find the book for Y3.

  33. 18saeyeono
    September 14, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    I do not get what just i said but i did my hardist

  34. 18saeyeono
    September 14, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    [i just]
    sentences

  35. shikhar
    September 14, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    Me and my partner Anirudh were working at the elementry refrence section. We learned that if a book has a big Red sticker on it with a big black R on it it stands for Refrence, which means you are not allowed to borrow it. Dictionaries thesaureses and theese kinds of things are put in the elementry refrence shelf. Ms. Jennifer also mentioned that the elementry refrence shelf is very small because many people use computers to find things.

  36. pin
    September 14, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    Me and my Partner Odette is working at the Junior Fiction Paper backs. I think that it is interesting because I know about the section quite a lot but I didn’t know that they were more things about that section that me and my partner did not know about.

  37. Jin
    September 15, 2010 at 11:16 am

    mr. Sam, how many sections and books are in the library?

  38. michaelt
    September 15, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    me and my partner saeyeon worked on the non fiction section we are going to make a video about it

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

