Zero

Do you think you could do any of these things without zero?

We have been looking at the number zero and have learned that this number is more important than we think. Make a comment and tell me if/how you can make these things without zero.

Categories: Feedback, Maths, Photography
  1. Mr. Sam
    August 19, 2010 at 8:44 am

    I’m pretty sure that people told the time for ages without using the number zero, usually using Roman Numerals from I to XII. No zeros there!

    • Pimboon
      August 19, 2010 at 3:21 pm

      I agree with you, Mr. Sam that we could still use Roman Numerals to tell the time.

      • michael
        August 19, 2010 at 5:09 pm

        But I think roman numerals are a bit hard to understand

        • Samantha
          August 19, 2010 at 6:34 pm

          yes but if you get used to it for a few days it’ll be normal and not that hard.

          • Am
            August 19, 2010 at 6:42 pm

            I agree Sam. It won’t be that hard because we learnt normal numbers first. If we learnt roman numbers first it would be easier…

          • Jin
            March 13, 2011 at 9:07 pm

            I like roman numerals

            Let’s teach newborns how to speak roman numerable instead of numbers! 😀

  2. 18pint
    August 19, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    I agree with you Mr. Sam that if we didn’t have a zero then we could use roman numerals. But I think that roman numerals is really complicated to count. Also if we didn’t have a zero then we wouldn’t actually able to count to ten. We would only be able to count to 9 and number’s and zero is really important to us. I think that if we didn’t have a zero then I wouldn’t be able to make or bake food. Because if we needed to weigh 100 grams of flour then we wouldn’t be able to know how much.

    • Samantha
      August 19, 2010 at 6:36 pm

      I agree with you, Roman Numerals are complicated. But if you get used to it it would be kind of easy. You could measure 100 grams. I thing 100 is M in Roman numerals! 😛

      • Am
        August 19, 2010 at 6:44 pm

        I agree Pin. I also agree with Sam. Roman numbers will be less hard once you get used to them.

      • Jin
        March 13, 2011 at 9:16 pm

        Isn’t it C? I thought M was 1000

  3. Pimboon
    August 19, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    We might beable to tell the time without a zero because we could use Roman Numerals, they never have a zero. But then we might replace the number sero with a close number so it doesnt make any dfferece… We wont beable to do alot of things we do now without a number zero.

    • May
      August 19, 2010 at 4:41 pm

      I agree with you Pimboon we could use roman numerals because they don’t have zero.

    • Am
      August 19, 2010 at 6:45 pm

      I agree pimboon. We can use Roman numbers because there is no zero.

      • Am
        August 19, 2010 at 6:46 pm

        Sorry I said what May said. 😦

    • Samantha
      August 19, 2010 at 6:58 pm

      Yeah, thats true. There are clocks with Roman Numerals nowadays. I think it looks better

  4. 18saeyeono
    August 19, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    I think we can’t tell the time with out mumber zero because
    in 0:38 with out an zero I do not know how to tell
    the time with out zero.
    In math decimal could be disapper. [ I think]

  5. 18anirudhv
    August 19, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    I think that we can not tell the price of food in a restaurant, digital time, the year 2010 without a zero. We could probably use roman numbers but it would take up a lot of our time.

    • Samantha
      August 19, 2010 at 6:59 pm

      It would be easy after a few days of practise

  6. 18anirudhv
    August 19, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    I think that we can not tell the price of food in a restaurant, digital time, the year 2010 without a zero. We could probably use roman numbers but it would take up a lot of our time.

  7. May
    August 19, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    I think without zero we can’t do lots do things.

    • 18mayw
      August 19, 2010 at 4:45 pm

      I mean lots of things.

  8. 18aayushk
    August 19, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    I agree with what Mr. Sam said about roman numerals. I think roman numarals is complicated and not many people use it now-a-days. I think that we can do every thing without zero. You just need to change some things for example in phone numbers we can just not use zero. We can write the year like B29 and we could skip 30 and go to 31. In that way we don’t have to use number zero.

    • Am
      August 19, 2010 at 6:50 pm

      I agree Aayush. Roman numbers can still be used but nowadays we use the ones we used now (i forgot what they were called!)

  9. 18gabis
    August 19, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    cant belive there could be so many zeros in number and stuff.

    • Am
      August 19, 2010 at 6:48 pm

      I agree Gabi. Fisrt I thought zero was not so important.

  10. sebastian
    August 19, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    mr sam my homework for this is in the sun Dail comments

  11. Samantha
    August 19, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    I think we could live without numbers. I Romans used only Roman Numerals and they still lived. People a very long time ago didn’t use zero but they survived. It would be hard to live without zero, but what I am saying is that you could live without it. I agree with Gabi, I can’t believe there are so many zero’s and I didn’t know it was that important in life.

    Sam

  12. 18manisha
    August 19, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    If i want to ask the shopkeeper that i want 10 chocolates we don’t need to use 0 because we can talk in roman numbers for example i want X chocolate that means i want 10 chocolates

  13. 18manisha
    August 19, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    but i guess that we can’t add,subtract,divide or multiply

  14. jin
    August 24, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    It’s not good to use Roman Numermals because I disagree with what Samantha said.

    Because writing 4, 9, 40, and numerals that you need to add more than three. IT’S SO UNCOMFY.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

