Home > How we express ourselves > Family Stories

Family Stories

This morning we will take it in turns to tell and listen to stories that are told in our families. Quickly, write a very short description of the story and where it comes from.

  1. 18paulah
    August 16, 2010 at 8:02 am

    My story is from my grandad and is about an adventure when he was still a beginner pilot and he flew between 2 thunderstorm clouds.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 16, 2010 at 8:37 am

      Sounds scary, when did your Grandfather tell you this story?

  2. 18michaelt
    August 16, 2010 at 8:04 am

    My dad told me a story is about when my dad went to ethiopia to work he had to sleep in a house made of sticks and mud hunndreds of cokcroaches came out of the walls and onto the floor he gotbug spray and sprayed the cokcroaches but even more came out so he just put the covers over his head and slept like that.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 16, 2010 at 8:38 am

      I have a similar story about cockroaches in Africa, and another one about ants.

      When was your Dad working in Ethiopia?

  3. 18jinj
    August 16, 2010 at 8:07 am

    My mom told me this story when she was in elementary school. My mother was second in the family, they had a dog which which always bit people. One day, my uncle followed my dog and he went to a far place, and my grandmother was so angry that she hit the dog and she threw the dog outside.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 16, 2010 at 2:00 pm

      Was your grandmother angry because the dog bit people or because it went to a far place?

  4. 18samantha
    August 16, 2010 at 8:08 am

    My dad told me a story about how my great grandfather, my grandfather and my father and how they were really poor and they kept on having problems like losing there jobs.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 16, 2010 at 2:01 pm

      How did your father overcome these problems?

      • 18samantha
        August 16, 2010 at 3:05 pm

        My dad didn’t really lose his job or anything, he was just really poor. When my dad was small my grandfather and grandmother used most of their money to put him in a school. My father worked hard and tried his best. After graduating school my dad was really smart and made his own company (Global Water Enineering).

        • Mr. Sam
          August 16, 2010 at 3:14 pm

          Your Dad must have worked really hard and been extremely organized in order to set up his company. Do you think he would be willing to come in and talk about it during “How we organize ourselves”?

  5. 18jonf
    August 16, 2010 at 8:09 am

    my mom told the storey, it is called the ‘Donut Ring.’ it’s a story abowt my mom and dad

    • Mr. Sam
      August 16, 2010 at 2:02 pm

      Can you give us just a little bit more information? The title of the story makes me curious!!!

  6. 18rairatc
    August 16, 2010 at 8:14 am

    My story is about what happened to my great grandmother to me. My mum told me about it but it’s about her side of the family My great grandmother’s parents owned a book shop close to the grand palace. Then the World War 2 started and there ere bombs so it hit my great grandmothers parents shop so they passed away. Then came my grandpa ad his other 4 brothers and then my mum with her 1 brother ad other 2 sisters. Then obviously came my brother, then me and my twin. We always meet together so that kept us going as a family.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 16, 2010 at 2:03 pm

      Wow… I didn’t know that Thailand was bombed during WW2. What buildings now exist where your great grandmother’s shop used to be?

  7. 18pimboonw
    August 16, 2010 at 8:15 am

    My grandmother and great-grandmother lived in the World War 2. She told me that they had to hide away from bombs, etc.. And then after the World War 2, My grandmohter owns a part of land and became a Land Lord. She owns this place in a province,(I cant remember) like a farm,and she lets people/farmers rent the place for agriculture.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 16, 2010 at 2:04 pm

      It would be interesting to know where your grandmother’s land is… can you find out?

  8. 18manisha
    August 16, 2010 at 8:16 am

    My dad told me the story about my grandfather who was a freedom fighter who fought with Nizam state(Andra Pradesh) in India.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 16, 2010 at 2:05 pm

      That sounds really interesting… what happened in the fight? Who won? Did your grandfather survive?

  9. 18yeachanh
    August 16, 2010 at 8:17 am

    my mom told me a story. when she was in elementry school,her father brought a e magnet pencil case. it was very hard to buy them.but only she was had the magnet pencil case.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 16, 2010 at 2:05 pm

      Does she still have the pencil case?

  10. 18gabis
    August 16, 2010 at 8:18 am

    my story is about my granparents, mom,dad and rothers.
    I am half thai half english my mom is half thai and half chineses my grandmother is from china and came to move to thailand and met my granfather that as thai.
    my dad is english, and my grandparents are scotish but came to move in england
    my dad was traveling around the world and met my mom and had my two brothers sebi and oliver and me.
    my two brothers go to boarding school in england.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 16, 2010 at 2:06 pm

      Wow… I feel like you need to draw a diagram to explain your family history, it is so complex and interesting!

  11. 18paulk
    August 16, 2010 at 8:31 am

    ,y dad told me this story it is about my family in world war 2 and my uncle paul who was a spy pilot in the messengers from isreal

    • Mr. Sam
      August 16, 2010 at 2:07 pm

      Can you give us a bit more information? It sounds very interesting.

  12. 18johanl
    August 16, 2010 at 8:31 am

    My story is about my grandma when she was in the world war 2 and where she had to escape from her village. But the problem was that her dad was a govener in a small city so he couldnt leave with them. Then they had to leave on this big buses where only children and mothers where a loud to go on.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 16, 2010 at 2:08 pm

      Was this in Sweden? What happened to your family, did they find each other again?

  13. nine
    August 16, 2010 at 8:34 am

    My father told me a story about when he went to watch the football FIFA world cup in Africa he told me that he camera was stealed and his i pad was also stealed and his blackberry was stealed and his p.s.p was also stealed his whole bag was steal every thing he bring to Africa was stealed EVERY THING !!!!!! HE CAME BACK WITH NOTHING LEFT…………

    • Mr. Sam
      August 16, 2010 at 2:09 pm

      Was it all stolen at the same time or was each thing stolen at a separate time?

  14. 18saeyeono
    August 16, 2010 at 8:34 am

    My dad said in 1950 when North Korean and South Korean were
    fighting my grand father esaped from northe to south
    but my grand father’s parents did not maded to south
    then he begain to work hard in n south later he married a
    kind woman and had a great life. (True story my gand father is alive today with grand mother!)

    • Mr. Sam
      August 16, 2010 at 2:09 pm

      Did your grandfather ever see his parents again? Do you still have some family members in North Korea?

  15. Shikhar
    August 16, 2010 at 8:35 am

    im going to tell you a story about my grandmas sister she died from diptheria which is a diesese. she told her grandad before she died that met me in my next life and they actually did.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 16, 2010 at 2:10 pm

      Can you explain about what she told her granddad a bit more clearly? I don’t understand.

  16. Odette
    August 16, 2010 at 8:35 am

    My story is all about Christmas in the Philippines which is told to me by my mother. I like this story for some reason.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 16, 2010 at 2:10 pm

      Can you give us a little bit more information?

  17. 18aayushk
    August 16, 2010 at 8:36 am

    My grandma told me this story. This story happened in Thailand.
    This happened during World war 2.

    There was a War going on between England and Vietnam in thailand.
    My grandma’s family made a shelter undergroun to stay safe. THey stay in the shelter for 6 hours.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 16, 2010 at 2:11 pm

      Can you check to see if the war was between England and Vietnam or the USA and Vietnam? I’m pretty sure it was the USA.

      Where was the shelter?

  18. May
    August 16, 2010 at 8:36 am

    My grandpa told me that he was an engineer before. He fix plane.

    • Mr. Sam
      August 16, 2010 at 2:12 pm

      Can you give us some more information?

  19. 18ken
    August 16, 2010 at 8:37 am

    My mom told me that my grandpa had brothers and they went to the war

    My mom told me that my grandpa saw a volcano erupt and he saw the small rocks coming to there village

    • Mr. Sam
      August 16, 2010 at 2:12 pm

      What happened to the brothers?

      Where was the volcano?

  20. Pin
    August 16, 2010 at 8:40 am

    My story is about my mom. When my mother was 15 she got a puppie from her neighbor. The Dog’s name was belle. It really loved my mother and every 5:00pm when my mom comes back from work it will come and wait for my mom at the car park. Then when my mom was marrying to my dad she left Belle at Home. Then Belle saw that my mother was driving away. It began to run on the street to go with my mother but a truck crashed it because the driver didn’t see the dog.

  21. Mr. Sam
    August 16, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    Oh…. what a sad story!

    Does your Mum still get upset when she tells this story?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

